Rent Cooking Mama: Cook Off for Wii
view large frontback

Cooking Mama: Cook Off

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

3618 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking mama: cook off review

posted by Yopeeps259 (ROCHESTER, NH) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cooking Mama: Cook Off Might sound boring, because it's a cooking game, but they do a great job of keeping you into it and it has GREAT multiplayer mode. Also it has pretty good replay abilty but sometimes you might have to cook dishes you have nver heard of. So that is a downside, but even if you're an "M" guy, or an "EC" guy, this is an AWESOME game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Kids Love it

posted by frank10 (INDEPENDENCE, OH) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've read all the negative reviews on this game. That's fine. I've given the high rating for one reason, my kids love this game (ages 4-9). They've been playing it for a week, learning some of the basics of cooking, and having a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't stand the heat?

posted by TyBoyTwist (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. I am a chef my self and i love cooking games. ihave not played the fisrt one for the ds but i rented this one on my first day of gamefly. Cook on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Game!!!!!

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was the best! It was so fun cause you get to learn how to make all different types of foods. Also, it felt like that you were actually cooking too. You can make plenty of recipes and challenge your friends that are in the game. That is all I can say or I will ruin the surprise of the whole entire game. All I can say is this game was the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank you cooking mama!

posted by disaster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have problem with my wife. Everytime I leave house for work, she spend all my money. With new cooking mama training tool my wife now stay home and learn how to cook meal for man. Excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking Mama ROCKS !!!!!!!!!!!

posted by trewqw5435 (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love this game. Its alot better than for the ds. You get the feeling of being in the kitchen. And you might learn something from this game. I did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a "9" for my nine year old.

posted by Doc2toxic (SUFFOLK, VA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

My Daughter loves this game. No clue why!! Cute, very busy, and challenging for her. Always wanting to rent it.

Pros: I don't know. My daughter just likes it! Electronic baby-sitter if you need one.

Cons: Liek most Wii games the graphics are BASIC. Annoying music and sounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This was soooo fun!

posted by SuzeeQzee (CASPER, WY) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I'm 38 yo, but we rented this for the kids & even I had a great time with it.

It takes some practice with the WII remote to get the movements just right to perform the cooking steps - peeling & chopping vegetables, fruit, meats; stirring & mixing ingredients; cracking eggs; pouring mixes into containers; etc.

Overall I gave this game a 9, because it was fun, there's no violence whatsoever, & it taught my kids something really useful, that being that cooking can be fun.

Since we rented this game, my kids (7 & 10 yo) are asking more to help w/ the cooking & learning about measurements, reading recipes, kitchen tools & oven safety. This IS a mild game, but it's highly entertaining & my whole family enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweetest game !!

posted by JezzJezz (TARZANA, CA) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game is super sweet, i love to play it!!! i dont know its really addicting and i learn some techniques for cooking a recipies as well !!

BETTER THAN MAMA !!!!

YOU NOT MINE!!

SSZER-WONDERFUL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by kittyluver (DOVER, DE) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

If you love to cook and want to grow up to be a cook pick this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking Mama

posted by tigersfan1 (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Cooking Mama brings you a game that will have you wanting to cook in real life. I got addicted to it within 30 minutes. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fun and entertaining game. It will make you want to cook in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Chef school for the gamers

posted by Ray00796 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

We has come out with many things and now it comes down to cooking. The game is fun and the controls are easy. The only thing bad: THE ANNOYING VOICE.
Many people might get used to it but i never did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking without the cleanup!

posted by craftecook (WEST CHESTER, OH) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

I loved this game!!! Even though it has instructions for each step of a recipe, my 5 year old flew through these so fast I couldn't read them. In that case, on each screen, it showed what you should be doing with the remote to complete the recipe step. This is not a "game for girls"...my 3 sons, DragonballZ/YuGiOh/Naruto game players, LOVED IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its cool n makes me fel lik i can ACTULLY cook

posted by 24454426 (MURFREESBORO, TN) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

hey u ppl complaining about the controls. i barely had ne trobule with that.n id rather play the wii version, cause id b a terrible cook. its simple and fun. u just need to get used to them. I never played the ds version, but this 1 really caught me eye. Hard at times mostly cause the aiming n finding the senor bar which im sure many have trobule with other games. its abit lik wii bowling. have hard time playing really bowling but i feel lik a pro on the wii version. this game is also the rarests times i actully break a sweat. i find this version n this game awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Loved this game

posted by tuczippy (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

FUN FUN FUN!
I am a gaming virgin, I guess I'm part of the target market for Wii. 50+ male, haven't played a video game since ATARI.
The Wii-mote reaction was very good, only problem I had was with washing dishes.....hmmmmm have that same problem in life. Sent it back last week just because I was ready for something new, I'll rent it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Addicting!

posted by AngstBoy (RESTON, VA) May 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

Cooking Mama is such an addicting game! It's got a user friendly interface, anyone can pick this game up. The hard part is putting it down! No, there aren't any complicated plot points, but it still is whole family enjoyment! Challenges range from cracking eggs, chopping onions, kneading dough, and everything in between! This is a fun little way to learn about different cultures and their foods, and to harness the capabilities of the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking Mama Cookoff, Now with added Japan Accent!

posted by duuuuude (SOUTH BOSTON, MA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This was a good game. Everything is realistic (especially the meat. Have you seen that stuff!?).
The sound is awesome. The voice acting is funny.(or as Mama would say "ze woice aktng es voony") There was just one thing that annoyed me...maybe two. There weren't enough recipes. Although there is a fun last recipe (I'll give you a hint, it's from Japan, it starts with "i" and ends with "e") And it was cool that you could get golden kitchen utensils. But I wish there were more than two Indian dishes, Irish food would be cool too. It was nice how you could make desserts like cream puffs, truffles, and chiffon cake (although I haven't a clue what chiffon means.) All in all though, This was a really good game that is good for all ages!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun....

posted by Tricky12 (DULUTH, MN) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is fun, it has it's tough areas.....but is getting old quick, its alot like Wario where it goes super fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Calling All Amateur Chefs!

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

43 out of 53 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Turning cooking into a series of minigames is a natural fit. I love to cook, and I've often thought that cooking was a lot like a video game.

This game won't automatically feel just like the real thing, but (as with almost every other Wii game) once you understand the controls and movements, you'll be cooking like an Iron Chef in no time. Don't assume that the motion controls are just "off"; as with SSX Blur, take the time to learn what the game is asking you to do.

This game falls somewhere between the exacting professionalism of Trauma Center (but without the annoying storyline) and the minigame mayhem of WarioWare (but without the manic ADD-ness). Even though the recipes aren't exact, they're close enough that they've given me some new dish ideas for actual cooking. Some dishes focus on elegant simplicity, while others focus on rich, flavorful complexity; bake elaborate cakes, simple vegetable dishes, unusual meat preparations, and complex seafood plates.

Many cooking details are incorporated into the gameplay. For example, when sauteeing ingredients (called "stir fry"), you must choose the order you put them in the pan based on relative cook times. The "stew" minigame also closely resembles the kinds of things you do when actually stewing ingredients. I was thoroughly impressed.

Dishes are all organized by country of origin, but almost all of the dishes seem like a Japanese take on those international dishes. Also, the voice acting (mostly from "Mama") is done with a humorously bad Japanese accent. Hearing "Blavo!" or "Hoolay!" or "Wonduhuhrl!" for the 50th time is still funny. I do wish there was a wider variety of national cuisines represented (especially Latin American), but I'm mostly satisfied with what's there.

The ranks, medals, and scores will keep you busy for a long time on single player, and if you have another amateur chef/gamer around, multiplayer will keep you busy even longer. Highly recommended to current and aspiring chefs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bot a bad family night game

posted by mommagamer (STICKNEY, IL) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I think this game was a good fit for me, it's not too hard and it encourages my two sons to listen, follow directions and helps to increase their hand eye coordination, so since my sons are only 4 and 3 years old I think that is a strong benefit of the game. Also, it si something they enjoy and I myself don't mind too much. Cooking Mama is a good, clean, wholesome game for anyone with young children and a couple of free hours to just hang out and game with the family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something fun my daughter and I can do together.

posted by Taylor9 (UPPER DARBY, PA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I am not a video game person. I am from the pac man generation, but the Nintendo Wii is one of the best video game systems ever. It is truly for everyone. I had no problem understanding how the game flowed and I even beat my daughter in a couple of games. I have put cooking mama on my Christmas list. Thanks for making a fun and easy game for the real cooking mama's to play with their kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My girls loved it as a rental

posted by SBoland (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Not sure this would have the staying power for ownership, but a fun diversion for a rental. Gave my girls some great ideas to try real recipes in the kitchen, so that was fun to take some play into practice.

The game play is pretty simple, cutting with the Wiimote, flipping, stirring, etc... The anime styling is pretty over-the-top, with almost stereotyped Japanese-accented encouragement coming from the game speakers constantly. Harmless fun for a two-week run with two ten-year-olds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mindless FUN

posted by TajaZeus (HOLIDAY, FL) Dec 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

I think this is a really great game. It is a bit silly, but it is fun. You get to "cook" with the Wii remote. You will chop, dice, slice and much more. This is not a game for a serious gamer but if you are looking for something fun and enjoyable, this is your game. It is a bit short, I made all of the recipes and found myself wanting a little bit more but it is definitely worth renting.
Kids and parents will enjoy playing together.
It is Runderfull!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

seconds anyone?

posted by traceman11 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This game was great for anyone who wants to cook, but in real life SUCK AT IT! You get to prepair food in many diffrient ways..and in some ways I may never want to see again....The more you play it the better you get and unlock diffrent dishes and rives to cook against! For all those bad chefs out there i recomend this game!..but please don't try it in real life...you will find you will not get the same results..trust me i tried..o-0 This game was very fun to play, but can make you very hungry! drool...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wario Cookware...

posted by cyberjob (WHITE, GA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Very similar setup to WarioWare for Wii...lots of minigames which require good timing and odd angles from the Wiimote. Nice head-to-head. Looks and feels like Wario so if you like that, you like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse