Rent Cooking Mama 3: Shop & Chop for DS
view large frontback

Cooking Mama 3: Shop & Chop

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

466 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

the best of the cooking mama series

posted by lmiller (WALTHAM, MA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I felt that this game was the best of the series so far. The recipes added new cooking elements which were fun. It also took more time to complete most of the game so I felt like I got more out of it. I wasn't a huge fan of the shopping part of the game, but the create your own recipe section and the challenge portion was fun. The only new part of the cooking I didn't like was the carrying the food to the table portion, but otherwise the new chopping and cooking methods were great. Overall it was a very entertaining game. Not sure if I would purchase it but it was fun to play so it was a good rental choice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking Mama is BACK!!!!!!!

posted by gamefreak8 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cooking Mama 3 is a twist on the other DS titles with all the new mini games that have been added. As a player you now have the option to go out and shop. In this mode you go to the store and are given a certain item to obtain while at the store you must collect a certain number of the said item and avoid employees and fellow shoppers. Run into and employee and you must eat food samples. The game brings even more cooking techniques and puts some twists on the old one. This game series gets better with each game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kind of hard

posted by xoxoxo (CHIMACUM, WA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is harder then the first one, i honestly liked the first one better. but it is alright, and kind of fun!:D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game suks

posted by heartthrobboy (HARRISONVILLE, MO) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I hated this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Cooking Mama

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) May 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I had Cooking Mama 2, Gardening Mama and one game on the Wii (not sure the title.) I loved Cooking Mama 2 and I thought Gardening & the Wii one would be similar but I was wrong, they kinda sucked. CM 3 though is so much better. It has more recipes and it's more challenging than CM2 so adults can play too :)

If you've played Gardening and the Wii Cooking Mamas and you thought that series sucked, play this one and I'm sure it'll change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Old Thing

posted by SordidAffaire (SULPHUR SPRINGS, TX) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Cooking Mama....again. While the new shopping minigame is different, it wears out it's welcome by the end of the first stage. The cooking has remained the same, with very little changing in the kitchen. Sure, Mama tossed us some new cooking methods and chicken bones, and got fancy costumes to boot, but gameplay is stale. Vanilla. Boring. Tedious. Need I go on? True, there is still that satisfaction of getting gold medals on every recipe, but it's not as rewarding anymore after 3 games of the same old thing. Kinda like Pokemon. Train, beat gym leaders, fill your pokedex has been it's gameplay for a decade. No different here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute and Casual Game

posted by Lawruh (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game is great for the same demographic that likes games like Diner Dash. It's a super casual type game and for what it is it's actually pretty cute and fun. The cooking is creative and it's kinda interesting cooking the Japanese dishes. Even a more hardcore gamer like myself had fun relaxing with this game. I probably would never buy this game or rent it again but it wasn't a waste of a rental by any means :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the many good ones.Maybe the only.

posted by cokeisec (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

This game was pretty fun to start out.The other features were a great new add-on like cooking for friends and family,changing Mama`s outfit and cooking ware,and Let`s Shop!But after a while it gets....
repetitive...BUT overall this game was pretty good.Rent it,or its your choice to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COOL!!!

posted by pickachu23 (LOCK HAVEN, PA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is cool. I play this game when I'm hungry to and it stops my hunger.(not always though) I recommend this game to anyone! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Better for wii

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

If you have a wii and a ds you want to get cooking mama for the wii this game is barly any fun. If you do not have a wii only a ds sell the ds and buy the wii the ds stinks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »