Rent Conflict: Denied Ops for PS3
view large frontback

Conflict: Denied Ops

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.3

1492 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bargain Bin For Sure

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Apr 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game isn't good but its not as bad as most of the reviewers make it out to be. Actually, the game is fun at times, the weapons are good and seem accrate enough and its pretty cool to control both a sniper and machine gunner at the same time. Now, i'm not saying that this is something to put on your christmas list but, its worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard to believe this is only 2 1/2 years old

posted by Solrina (CANDLER, NC) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had never played a Conflict game, and probably never will after this forgettable experience. I played this only because I was looking for a co-op game and, well, this unfortunately qualified.

The story is as cookie cutter as they come. A couple of special forces guys trot across the globe looking to put a stop to some nuclear danger. As expected, the story is just in place to have different locals in which to shoot lots of baddies and blow stuff up. Which is acceptable if the game can excel in other areas...but this one doesn't.

The main problem for me is I felt I was playing a mid-generation PS2 title. Weak graphics, glitches, poor controls, and boring level design. My friend enjoyed the weapons because he was running around with the rocket launcher the whole time, but I found them to be generic. Even worse the sniper was frustrating to use.

The co-op was the only thing going for this title. It's always fun to load up with a friend and just kill people without care. If you have a friend who wants to waste about 6 hours or so, and you have just totally run out of other games, this isn't a bad rent, and you can make fun of how dumb the game is while you kill away.

Looking back I might be a bit harsh, but for me, mediocrity is nearly worse than just a bad title. With a bit of dedication and care this could have been at least a solid game, but it just got the "pump-it-out" treatment and that ticks me off.

As old as this game is as of writing, it feels a good two years older. While there is probably no reason to write this review so many years later, there is darn sure no reason to rent this, as so many better games have come along in that time.

4 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PS3 Physics and gameplay with PS2 Graphics

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game a some solid gameplay, the level and player physics are extremely good. As a matter of fact the physics is better than most all other PS3 games. COD 4, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune, and Resistance are about the only FPS that have more realistic level graphics. The only down side to this game is the graphics, which are high quality for a PS2 game but far from next-gen. expectations. The in game cut scenes are very nice though and are pretty much what one would expect of a next-gen. title.

Back to the physics. I love the level physics due to thier realistic reactions. Unlike most first person shooters, when you shoot a crate in this game it breaks at the exact spot the bullet hit. If you shoot the corner of a crate only that corner is affected, likewise if you shoot it in the middle. Crates, boxes, and other various items don't explode from one bullet, its very realistic.

Blowing holes in a wall is unique as well. If an enemy is hiding behind a thin wall, you can blast a hole in the wall and nail him. For example each gun has different reactions to the enviroment. The pistol will cause a very small bullet hole if any, while the sniper rifle/machine gun will knock a hole big enough to see through and aim the scope of that gun through, the shotgun will blast an entire door down in one shot or a man sized hole in a wall with two shots.

This means that if you can't hit an enemy because their behind cover, you can destroy their cover with the right weapon or even cause the roof to come crashing down on top of them. The RPG/ rocket laucher, which is always carried by somebody, can blast open entire structures, very handing at removing those annoying rifle turrets position on a third story window. The Grenade Lauching is an ad on device for the machine gun and is great for clearing entire rooms quickly.

This game was disigned for Co-Op play at this is where it truely shines. Very smooth integration of levels makes two player Co-Op perfect. Worth playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shouldn't be called a "Conflict" game...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Mar 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

There is always a risk when you change something in a long running game series. Sometimes it works out well, a good example would be how the Ghost Recon series has developed over time. Until Denied Ops I would have said the Conflict series was another good example. When I first saw that there was going to be a game in the series coming to the next gen of systems I was really looking forward to it. However, if you're expecting something in the same vein as the previous ones, like me you're going to be sorely disappointed.

Instead of 4 characters and a variety of options with respect to armaments, you have two characters with fixed weapons. Instead of the expected 3rd person view, it's 1st person. Instead of decent dialog (or at least believable dialog) and ability to set the sound track, you have ridiculous trash talk and hokey music. Frankly there's not a thing about this game I can think of off hand that I enjoyed.

Putting expectations aside, even for a FPS it was kind of weak. Reaction time for most everything (switching between weapon types, turning on the night vision, or reloading) was slow. At times it seemed more like a survival horror/zombie game in the sense that only head shots seemed to kill the enemy. Finally, the AI was pretty lacking too, not only with respect to the enemy, but your partner as well. Frequently even though you give the "follow me" command your partner would lag a room or two behind... or occasionally storm into the next room before you are ready.

If you really like FPSs give it a try, maybe you'll like it, personally I decided to send it back after the third level. Frankly I'm going to wait, and hope, that maybe they'll come out with another Conflict game that lives up to the name. In the meantime I might just have to break out "Conflict: Global Terror" again to purge this experience from my system ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's an Ok game.

posted by JBaker (OXFORD, OH) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Yes, the graphics are horrible, but the game play is pretty awesome, it is more realistic than most, not graphicaly. You can blow stuff up, in most games I have played, you try to blow something up, like wood, and it stays still even though it should be able to blow up. In this game, you don't find that as often. So I think its worth renting, for the game play, but if you are all about graphics, don't waste your time. All this game has going for it, is the destruction, and people need to realize that it takes up a lot of memory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so sad again

posted by cyrus132 (YUMA, AZ) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

So i turned the game on expecting to see a full ps3 game. What i got was a very smooth ps2 game. don't get me wrong game play is ok. Ok that was a slight lie. This is 2008 people. We have invested 4-600 dollars in a next gen game console. This game was a let down. If i would have paid for it I would have been mad.

Graphics
they were weak. The people had block like look to them. Items in rooms had no texture.

Gameplay
ok. very smooth in movement. co-op is cool. scope view sucked no stabilizer button

online
good. very fast paced

I have came to the conclusion that the xbox is holding the ps3 back. This is a multi console game. They are held back xbox lack of storage space. I do undrestand it is the money factor of it all. but plesas we all don t need to suffer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Krappy PS3 Shooter

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is another in a long line of shooters (Army of Two, Fall of Liberty, The Club, Darkness, Timeshift) that have been released without much attention given to quality. Don't buy it. Don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gives PS3 A Bad Rep

posted by pitt24 (DANVILLE, KY) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This was a terrible game, probably the worse I've played on PS3 yet. The game play is horrible and the online play is even worse. When you have a 7mm bullet and you shoot someone three times there is no reason they should be standing. It's even worse in the online play. When using the LMG I stood ten yards from a guy and it took 40 of my 100 round clip to kill him. Games like this is why PS3 is getting such bad reviews. The system is ten time better than Xbox but WHERE ARE THE GAMES? When you allow games like this hit the market it makes you wonder why you even bought a PS3. Xbox 360 was introduced with Halo why couldn't PS3 been introduced with Socom Confrontation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THIS GAME BLOWS!!!!

posted by SCMANN (CERES, CA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

PS2 games are way better. This game blows. But I played this game giving it more chances and it still blows. Every level blows. Glad I have this gamefly acct, because it would suck buying this game. full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok

posted by generaladt (CARROLLTON, VA) Feb 13, 2008

Member since May 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

not the best game in the world, but there is plenty of action, and can be fun. Good for Co-op play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PS-2 ALL THE WAY

posted by JAJohnson (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

NEED I SAY MORE??? THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

conflict denied ops

posted by sniper19713 (NEWARK, DE) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I enjoyed this game and the only problem I saw with this game was the sniper rifle moved just when you would go for a head shot. Mostly you would miss unless you let the red dot circle around the head, and when near or right on head shoot and down they went. If you missed it took 5-6 shots to kill them. Otherwise I enjoyed the game, hope this helps u decided to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Conflict Denied Ops

posted by Scoot72 (LINDALE, TX) May 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Game looked good. I was very disapointed. Very little control. No customized control options

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Help wanted

posted by Tazzer66 (GRANDVILLE, MI) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This game really sucks. Someone needs to back school and learn how to design games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not yet and will comment

posted by Adonis79 (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

Im waiting on this game to come to me in the mail soon and after seeing the clips on here and youtube. I don't think that this is a really bad game. But i give it a 5 out if 10. Lets see if playing will change my mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad rating

posted by avijaycla (Houston, TX) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This is the most weakest Combat game i have ever played. Whoever invented this game should be put in jail. The guns are horrible the help is sorry and the level of play shouldn't be that difficult if its on normal. The health recovery is too slow getting up and at the sametime you are getting shot trying to recover. way to go guys for making the worst combat game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!

posted by TightAss (FLUSHING, NY) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Rented this junk - played an hour of it & wasnt worth the time. Total junk game. First of all, when you shoot the enemy, they suppose to go down or die...apparently in this game, the maker decided all enemies are invinsible or at least require 4-5 shots...

even with a sniper rifle and easy mode.

Dont bother, sucked so bad didnt even want to waste another minute on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They sent me the wrong game

posted by RAPSTAR13 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

this game sucked and besides they sent me the wrong game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

JUST FRICKIN WOW

posted by CHolley (JACKSON, MS) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

what a donkey game. nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yuck

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

straight up, this game sucks. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible co-op, on top of a weak game

posted by PaulinSD (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game did little to push itself into the next gen world. And when playing co-op. It is nearly impossible, challenges met are designed for one or the other player to complete. Leaving the other to sit back while they are useless to help.

Single player was mediocre at best, had that been the end of this game, i would have given it a ~4~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game for PS3

posted by sonofman (KEIZER, OR) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

Average graphic package for a PS2 game. This game sucks, I would not recommend it to anyone. Boring game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful Game play

posted by JPea5USMC (STAFFORD, VA) May 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The game play was awful. Graphics really could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sloppily made

posted by tank879 (MACUNGIE, PA) May 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The graphics were subpar. The story line sucked really bad the game wasn't what I expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Conflict: Denied Ops

posted by walkinhome (GORHAM, ME) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I enjoyed the shoot em up aspect of the game but there were too many times I would tell my partner to get behind me and cover me and he replied in the affirmative but did not do it. I also hate "timed" exercises and that is when I bailed on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse