Rent Condemned 2: Bloodshot for PS3
view large frontback

Condemned 2: Bloodshot

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

2556 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Next-Gen Survival Horror.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

31 out of 34 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I am an avid fan of the Playstation, but I will admit that I borrowed an Xbox to play a few games (Condemned, being one of them.) I never finished the game because it never quite drew me into the plot. Condemned 2 changes this, drastically.

Everything that was mediocre within the first title has been revamped and made, for the most part, better. The crime scene investigations require the player to be intuitive in selecting tools to do the job right, wherein the first game simply told you what to do with a certain tool. I actually enjoyed surveying a crime scene.

The gameplay is a bit different in that the team at Sega has included a slew of new guns, an element not explored in the first outing (for good reason though.) Regardless, the weapon selections are amazing! The first 10 minutes gives the player an opportunity to beat a man to death using a prosthetic limb... I can't think of many other titles, save for Earthworm Jim, that allow you such a moment to shine. While fighting, you may even be given the opportunity to perform a special finishing move... a T.V. to the face, perhaps?

Atmosphere is where this game truly performs. It is creepy, moody, dark, and downright scary throughout. I love survival horror games, and God knows that Jericho was a disappointment for us, the PS3 gamers. This is a no brainer for those wishing to appease their inner horror junkie.

Oh, almost forgot. The multiplayer is just as weird as the actual game. Sort of what I'd imagine serial killers to do for fun... you know, outside the other hobby. Essentially it uses the same mechanics of deathmatch, team deathmatch, capture the flag, and king of the hill but adds a disturbing twist. Multiplayer is ONLINE ONLY and has no co-op feature. From what I've played, it's pretty fun. It won't replace UT3, CoD4, RFoM, or Warhawk anytime soon, though.

If you're looking for a good way to kill some time and enjoy a relatively frightening gaming experience, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best random games I have ever played.

posted by Pmbumfoi1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Some may find it boring but I was hooked the whole way through. This is a FPS but its a fighting game too. What I loved about it is that the fighting was in first person and the combos were fun to learn. The graphics are not even close to the likes of MGS4 but the wackiness of the game makes up for it. Some times is scares the stuff out of you where some of the kills are absolutely hilarious. I have been telling everyone about this and totally recommend this game to people looking for a violent, bloody game. I mean where else can you use swords, pistols, shotguns, rifles, bowling pins for weapons and drink booze at the same time. Get this. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Creepier Then The First

posted by Alintransi (SPRINGVILLE, AL) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

24 out of 27 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I know a lot of people rate games just based on its overall gameplay, graphics, sound, and all of that jazz.. With Condemned 1 it was an ok game, especially for it being a launch game. The thing that really made it stand out from the rest was how terrifying it was. Nobody had ever seen anything this terrifying in a game before.

Condemned 2 brings it back, with better visuals, better sound, and many more terrifying experiences. If you think its going to be like the first, think again. It has just enough gunplay, unlike the first. Online play. Graphics similar to the Darkness, (which impressed me) and tons of scary moments.. not just cheap scares, but creepy moments that stick with you.

I don't want to ruin it, but man some scenes in this game are just ridiculous. If you are a thrill seeker, and you love horror games, then check this one out. I feel like it deserves more credit then just an average score.. because its really hard to scare people in video games, and this one does it. It deserves a high score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Downright creepy

posted by salami (PEEKSKILL, NY) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I can't remember being this creeped out playing a video game since Resident Evil. The lighting effects are amazing and the paranormal flashes of what's to come compliment everything so perfectly. The crime scene investigation aspect is not really a huge part of the game but it really helps break up the monotony. Gun play is pretty cool too. The guns you acquire don't always give you an upper hand. You don't stock up on ammunition but you can reload within the environment. You also don't collect weapons. It's all about finding weapons within your environment and really adds to the desperation of the character. I would defiantly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another game underrated..

posted by tank017 (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Solid thriller thats dark,scary,and very gory.

unique fps melee combat thats fun and satisfying

Forensic scenes are fun and actually make you use your brain.

people are setting the bar way too high these days,this is yet another game that deserves a higher score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated. Solid 8.

posted by blind88 (PORT WASHINGTON, NY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would recommend this game to those who like real horror games. This game has a decent plot, though it would be a good idea to play the first one on the PC or 360. As far as graphics are concerned, they are great. This game might seem a little dark, but it's actually much much better than Silent Hill. Melee and gun fights are awesome, and there is always an element of surprise. I highly recommend to play this game in the dark.

The gameplay may seem a little tough. Some enemies always hit you first before you hit them. Also, you cannot carry any additional ammo which can be a little annoying, cuz sometimes I had to go back to pick up guns that I left behind.

Anyways, I'm a big fan of horror games and this one is one of the best. If you liked Dead Space, there is a high chance that you would like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Accurate to real life isnt always a good thing.

posted by GravisZro (FAIRFAX, VA) May 28, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

note: My review is for single player mode only.

----The Good----

Not your typical FPS:

While there are some guns, the majority of the game is melee fighting. However, melee can get boring so they added combos (with slow-mo action) and various ways of fighting as well as being able to pick up just about anything and hit someone with it or throw it.

An interesting bit of the game is the forensics/chatting element. The game has you figure out what happened but it's multiple choice so it's not impossible to proceed. Additionally, your responses are ranked by accuracy, so you dont have to have the exact answers to proceed.

There are also optional segments to the levels. The more you complete, the better the upgrade you get for the proceeding levels. You can also replay previous levels to obtain upgrades without loosing your current progress.

----The Bad----

Storyline Issue:

I didn't play the first game (Condemned) so there were a couple things that didnt quite make sense if you didn't play the first game. However, they spell it out for you so you know what's happening but it still feels like something is missing. The storyline is a continuation of the previous game so I recommend completing the first game before playing this one.

Player Control Issue:

As you find out in the the game intro, your character is a drunk. They incorporated this into the game by making you walk a bit hobbled. This can get annoying and something makes things annoying to control. It's supposed to be like real life but I think they over do it a bit. Oh and if you get motion sickness dont play this game or you will be sure to feel ill.

Puzzle Wording Issue:

At parts where there are multiple answers, the wording isnt always clear. I recall one puzzle I got stuck on that I knew the answer to but wasnt choosing the right descriptions of wires that were right in front of your face (seriously, numbers or colors would have been a better way to go)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Different style of First-person game play..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Condemed2 isn't as bad as what some have announced it to be. The controls are what made the game more challenging. The story-line has a twisted plot as like Bioshock. Condemed2, game interaction has its own feel to it. You basically, use nothing but melee, fighting techniques, to beat down the enemy, literally. Using anything you can find, wood planks, bricks, electrical conduit, or anything that you can tear out of a wall to use as a weapon, Condemed2 has you basically street fighting threw out the whole game. You will also investigate crime scenes in the game, where you use your wits to find out clues, which gave the game a more RPG flare to it.

You play as a investigator named, Eathan Thomas, who works for the SCU forensics unit, that investigates abnormal activities. Eathan Thomas doesn't really keep in mind that he is a investigator or legal authority. Which at his day and time nothing seems normal, as an entire city is broken into chaos by strange happenings. Eathan is called back to duty, because he has knowledge of these type of events from before.

Sega and Monolith, made a very different and very fun game. I got aggravated by the controls. But found that once you get the hang of using L1 for left punch, R1 for right punch, and R3 button to kick you really find this game is pretty unique. Which it also becomes a breeze to run threw, after you get the hang of all the motion that the enemy does. When you clobber them over the head with a sledge hammer, the bums, and other enemy stagger sometimes when you have dazed/stunned them, which they sometimes come back around with another swing. You really have to stay on your toes when your beatin them down cause the AI is very hostile. Which made the game very hilarious. Throwing bricks and watching the AI grab their head, because they didn't know what just hit them, was always funny.

This game is different and worth a try. Has a boring multi-player, but the single player was definitely fun and humorous to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

None others like it

posted by ginsyy (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never seen a game like this before on any console. First of all the weapons such as the pipes , electric conducts and the wooden planks are very fun to use. The guns are not that great, but then again this is not meant to be a first person shooter. Overall this game well deserved the 8 out of 10 I gave it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My wife loves it

posted by nbafan99 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

She'll plant herself in front of the TV for hours with this game. The graphics is great. Very smooth play. I still have a hard time with the controller (we're both new to consoles). She loves putting a beat down on someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game...

posted by DVSMP88 (ANAHUAC, TX) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well... where to start, OK first we will start with the story line. I makes no sense what so ever. Why would a man that hates his FORMER job (that he resigned from previously) help them out with nothing to gain. Its just plain stupid. The actors/characters in the story are lame and corny... YES both. Things just seem to appear magically and disappear again. No its not really a big deal beings that this is a video game but come on one way or the other here. ALSO this guy hallucinates WAY to much for way to long, in the middle of a cut scene this idiot startes tripping out. Yea you could blame it on the alcohol but any one addicted that severely could NEVER do a quarter of the things this man does. I could seriously go on for a couple paragraphs, but I'm not going to devote that much time for this excuse of a game.

Second the graphics... My n64 has comparable graphics. huge unproportioned men on here look ridiculous, and the sad attempt to simulate walking wobbling the camera back and forth as you step is annoying. It seriously makes me think I am bowlegged. The controls are awkward and there is really no difference in enemies besides bosses. They all fight the same just vary in health. So save yourself the time and a rental space and skip this "game" and I use that term very loosely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

creapy and intense

posted by jvgocavs (winston salem, NC) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Enjoyable melee combat, creepy dirty atmosphere and a chilling soundtrack. These are the best features of Condemned 2: Bloodshot.

Graphically the game is in the top 25 percentile of next gen titles, although to call it beautiful would be offensive to the design intent of the game, which is to create a chilling and dark suspense filled atmosphere in which to bash skulls.

Most of your time will be spent exploring the frightful backdrops in the game (doll factory, magic house) and attacking drug attics, freaks and monsters with an easy to use melee combat system (wrenches, crowbars, gumball machines). In addition to the melee combat, there are some interesting forensic (puzzle) scenes, as well as a handful of FPS moments scattered throughout. This is definitely a melee first game, but these additional elements add just enough flavor to keep the game play interesting and fresh.

The story is dark, twisted and very sci-fi, picking up where the original Condemned left off. The story and protagonist in this game are slightly darker and more adult than the original. It’s obvious that this game is just a chapter in a larger series, and the story serves to bridge the gap from the original to the inevitable sequels to come.

If you’re a fan of survival horal games with an emphasis on melee combat and gritty atmosphere than this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Didn't Expect it to turn into such a fun game

posted by DirtaSouth (ELLENSBURG, WA) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I have never played Condemned 1, but this game has a lot of fun to offer. Ethan starts off this drunk in an alley but finds his way back to the forces.

The story is riddled with twists and turns, makes for some great confusion. Had some good jumps and creepy moments, but nothing to overwhelming. The AI in the cinema was well done and when there was story i never knew what to expect and i think that was great about this game.

I give Condemned "Bloodshot" a 7 because the graphics weren't the best, most of the "condemned" were made out of 5 of the same people. Also i thought it lacked in the creepy department, it made me jump more than a few times but only a couple times made me think, "wow thats gruesome".

Pro's
-Good story
-Good cinema
-Fun weapons (exploding dolls)

Interesting
-Fighting style
-combo's
-weapons (toilet seat)

Con's
-Not that creepy
-to many of the same bad guy
-repetitive fighting
-no extra ammo for guns

Overall - completely worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't waste your time

posted by cbtrey3 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I REALLY wanted to like this game. The screenshots and trailers I saw for this were very impressive. However, after playing this game for about 4-5 hours all of my hopes for a fun experience were pretty much dead.

Where do I begin.... I rented this game for the PS3 since I just bought the console. I've played about 6 different games on my PS3 since I got it and I've never had any issues. With this game I seem to get a crackling noise while I'm playing after certain sound effects. This isn't from my TV, the console, or any of my connections..... trust me I tried everything to fix it. This semi-constant crackling noise will drive you insane when playing this game.

Besides this there are a ton more problems. The most annoying thing I can think of in a game is when small tiny objects block your path. Picture yourself running from some kind of crazy enemy only to find a 2" x 2" trash can in your path. Any normal game would either let you jump over the trash can or go around it. Not Condemned. This trash can is clearly an un-passable object and there is no way to step over it :/

The game's graphics are also completely un-impressive. Practically 90% of this game takes place in a dark room. In these areas you have to use a flashlight to see ANYTHING at all. This means that you are pretty much playing by viewing a small white circle in the middle of the screen as your point of view. While the graphics in this tiny slightly lit area look pretty good, you can't see anything else anywhere.

This game does have 1 thing I found to be pretty cool. You act as a cop throughout the story and are asked to solve crime issues. You will see things like a bullet hole or a blood splatter and you will be prompted with a series of questions and answers. If you figure out what happened based on the evidence you are sent to a different area. If you fail, you need to go through another gauntlet to "figure out" what happened. I thought this part was pretty cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Condemned to die, again, and again, and again....

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i dont know if this was intentional, or not, but on easy, which should be a cakewalk, the junkie thugs in the very beginning of the game whoop you stupid. so i thought a weapon would help. the thugs throw their weapons at you before you even know they are there. very cheap. no radar, no music cues, just blind wandering into an onslaught of creatures you cant see, until they are already beating the tar out of you. and dont forget to grab a stick or something, because if you forget to grab a weapon you didnt know was there, the thugs or whatever will grab a better weapon than you; i.e. the SHOTGUN.......after slogging through what i believed to be a significant portion of the game, i learned that i only made it a third of the way thru the first level. final thought: EASY SHOULD HELP YOU LEARN THE MECHANICS OF THE GAME. NOT AGGRAVATE YOU TO THE POINT OF LACK OF INTEREST IN THE OUTCOME OF THE GAME!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by shaun77 (JACKSBORO, TN) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I did not realy care for this game, because the game play just was not there. the story was ok and some spooky parts, but overall they could have made it better. its worth renting, but not buying !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak!!!!

posted by sinceatari (RANDLEMAN, NC) May 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The controls, and gameplay, are the beginning of the end. The storyline is pretty average, but I couldn't get over the horrible gameplay. It is choppy at best, and ultimately boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2 buttons really that's it?

posted by RippeR (SPRING HILL, FL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

2 buttons L1 and R1 is the only buttons involved in te game play of this game. The story was a little interesting at first that's why I didn't give it a weaker rating. I didn't play the game all the way through because I got so board maybe the the good part where coming up. the graphics where also mid range at best if your plying on a standard tv you probably can't tell though. I wasn't terrified, when everything is black all the time why would you be at the edge of your seat at times when the game things get darker. the game was a big zero for me makes me wonder who SEGA paid off to get good reviews. I hated this game and I think if you like interact games that challenge your mind a Little you won't like it either except for the crime scene parts which are not the main part of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dejavu Game

posted by Joshuaredd (RINEYVILLE, KY) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

It is a slow and repetitive game, not very original or challenging, albeit entertaining. It's o.k. as a fill in if you have nothing else to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Condemned should stay condemned

posted by Hannibal (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Okay before I start bashing Condemned 2: Bloodshed let me just tell you that I loved the Resident Evil games and I actually really liked Fight Night boxing...but...those two genres should never be put together, unless you have come up with some really great concept in which my mind will blow up because it's "so cool." Condemned 2 thought they had this "great concept" but they end up with a piece of garbage.

The Fighting: push the jab button as many times as you can...no real thought into it...just when a gross dude comes at you...just punch..punch..punch...look at the cool graphics...punch punch punch...then he falls....you run around two blocks...OH..another dude...and start the punching all over again. Thus, the fighting in this game is VERY elementary...I would put it into the same category as Mike Tyson's Punch Out!...but then again Punch Out was a BOXING GAME thus the fighting style worked. AND...the game tries to teach you how to fight...telling you these combo moves to perform...in which the combos are highly unnessary and NOT FUN.

The Main Character: who gives a steamy poo! I don't care about my main character who is desperately trying to be like cousin Max Payne...but can't quite pull it off.

The Bad Guy: some feminine white/asian...go figure. I think this guy fell right off the Final Fantasy boat but really liked the movie SAW and thus puts his face on TV to give you messages...come on guys...get more creative.

Oh...there are some good qualities...I enjoyed the 2 minute prelogue movie...very well done. During my boring "punch punch" fights...I actually liked the blood that spirts from the face of my victum. And finally the sound effects when a crazy tar faced dude comes at me...very nice.

In conclusion...I think Condemned 2: Bloodshot should "be" condemned to live it every lasting life with Satin in that burning place he calls home.

But...this is just one short man's opinion...take it how you want it!

- Hannibal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Condemned 2 Bloodshot

posted by F201222 (BEDFORD, PA) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Possibly the worst game i have ever played. The graphics are poor and it is impossible to kill enemies. I hit an enemy 45 times before he died on easy mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scary Good

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is terrifying, and the combat is brutal and excellent...and the detective part is fun as well......also you get to explore some interesting locales and the story is excellent.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dated Horror BS

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) May 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This game definitely shows it's age poorly...too dark to see some places, slow and aggravating combat, bad story, and dull gameplay!! SKIP THIS ONE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

scary!

posted by leg_mcMuffin (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

the only reason i would say to rent this game, is for the whackyness and thrill. there is NO TROPHIES which really bothered me, but i still played it. fairly scary, so if you are a little baby, dont rent it. pretty easy to ge tused to, but ery difficult at times. and can you say, the BEAR SCENE? haha, this game is worth every bit of $7 that i spent on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by Bulldawg79 (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Condemned 2 Bloodshot
While getting this game cheap for only 10 dollars I wasnt really expecting much.. I did enjoy the first condemned but wasnt expecting much from this game.. After playing through it however I found it a greatly enjoyable game that is both scarey and beautifully done.. The gameplay consists of making your way through dark areas inhabited by crazy homeless people and creatures.. You fight with your fists, guns, or an assortment of pipes and melee weapons. There are finishing moves that can be done as well if you time it right.. The overall feel to the games combat is brutal as it should be.. You can pound an enemy with the trigger buttons then slam them to the ground and break there neck with timed button presses.. The gunplay in the game isnt that bad and certain levels have you primarily using the automatic rifle which is a nice change of pace The enviroments are opressively dark and creepy and make you want to get the heck out of there.. The story for this game I would say is its weak point because its just ridiculous but the cutscenes are still enjoyable.. The graphics in the game are great and most of the animations are done well.. The characters all look pretty well done as well.. The sound effects and voice acting are all pretty well done nothing spectacular but still good.. If you liked the first condemned and havent played it yet you have to play it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse