Rent Conan for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Conan

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

5773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game - Underrated

posted by Nilloc (Somerville, MA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'm going to keep it simply. This game is a lot of fun and I think it is very much underrated. I'm not the type of person who likes really bad games or games that most people don't, so you can believe me when I say that. The combat system is awesome, the weapons/combos are sweet, and even the story is decent.

The only real downside to this game was that you can't replay it with the skills you unlocked and mastered the first time around. You always start out with a fresh slate. This being said, it's still fun to replay because you simply play through with a different weapon set and get a fun, new(ish) experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but frustrating

posted by DPRoberts (ERIE, PA) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I had fun playing this game about 60% of the time. The other 40%, I was highly annoyed. The camera angles suck and often cause unnecessary deaths. The boss fights are all way too long and repetitive. Overall, it was a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10 Best God of War ripoff to date

posted by CaptAhab (WARSAW, NY) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The best way to describe this game is a God of War ripoff on the Xbox, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The game itself feels and plays very similar to God of War with the fluid combat system, learning new skills with your weapons, and gore aplenty.
The game is more in depth than just your average hack 'n' slash style game, as you learn and master new moves and combos for your different weapon types, and the combat is very rewarding when you pull of just the right combos and counterattacks to stylishly slaughter groups of enemies.
The story draws from the Conan universe and while not exceptionally good, it all makes sense and doesn't seem cliched like most games these days. While not much, there is some replay value after your beat the game, as you unlock cool cheats that can help you on your next play through on hard or king mode, and sort of make the gameplay more fun.
All in all this is a great game and shouldn't be passed up by anyone who likes their games fun and violent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game with terribly flawed game mechanics

posted by Noirling (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

29 out of 41 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is like playing a designer impostor version of God of War and Prince of Persia combined. The artwork is incredibly good, the storyline is somewhat intriguing. The problems with this game lie in the mechanics. In boss battles, like in God of War, you are expected to push certain buttons in a sequence to execute stylistic kills. Conan tries to copy this, but fails miserably. The reason it's such a failure is that the button you're supposed to push flashes for only a split second. By the time your mind registers it, your window for pushing said button has closed. Only if you're lucky can you pull off these ridiculous button pushes in time. Even if you are able to fight the boss multiple times in your quest to mash the buttons properly, there is no guarantee that they will be the same the next time around. In other words, even after that final boss kills you for the 20th frustrating time, you will be no closer to memorizing the sequence of buttons the 21st time around; therefore, prepare to die, often, while pulling your hair out in frustration.
Another problem is that there are too many moments where the controller doesn't work with you. In Prince of Persia, when you had to execute a leap, you could almost execute it perfectly. Conan's poor imitation is likely to have you leaping into the abyss five times before you master the exact angle you're supposed to be pointing at before making the jump. SImilarly, there are too many moments when you'll find yourself running around aimlessly wondering where you're supposed to go. A map or compass would have done wonders here. After a while, you will realize the developers were trying to be clever by putting in a few puzzles to break up the monotony of button mashing to appease the hack and slash set. Unfortunately, this doesn't make for a good game. It makes a player angry. This is definitely worth a rental, but replayability is lacking, so don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

who does't like a clothing optional hackn' slash??

posted by goBlazers (HILLSBORO, OR) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Bodyslams, piledrivers, dismemberment, and decapitations are what Conan is all about! oh yeah, and rescuing topless maidens too.

This game is what I was expecting and more. After the first big boss battle, I really couldn't wait to see what was next. There are lots and lots of different combo moves to unlock. Different weapon types have different combos.

One of the downsides is the set camera angles, but oh well. This game does a good job of capturing the spirit of the old Conan movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Irritating

posted by snizzard (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The good:
There are several cool looking weapons and you can switch between them. If you make it through the game, you'll get 400GS without doing anything extra. Which is good because you won't want to do anything extra.

The bad:
Very, VERY choppy, in every sense of the word. The physics glitch constantly. It was frustrating to get swamped by enemies that attack in such a way that you can't move. And you can fall off any edge. And there are seveeral parts of the game where you have to jup from ledge to ledge grabbing on to each one. Only the jumping physics are quirky. Also the grabbing. and the final boss is effing torture. It took me an hour to beat him on easy due to constant dying from attacks I can't avoid. And there's no achievement for beating it on normal or easy, and King (very hard) isn't unlocked till you beat it once, which is one too many times to have to hack it in my opinion. So it would take 2 or even three times to beat to get all the achievements. And I don't think Ghandi has the patience to sit through Ron Pearlman's God awful voice over. And the Graphics are nothing to write home about. Music is okay but but stops suddnenly for some reason. Overall not worth wasting a slot on your que for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Check your Blood Pressure

posted by r4kolb (ALLENTOWN, PA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential to be great. Don't get me wrong it is a good game worth the rental, however, some of the Boss battles are way too frustrating. I got to the last Boss battle on Normal difficulty only to have to play the game over from the start on Easy after spending over an hour trying to beat the last Boss on Normal. You will find Easy is too easy and Normal is ok up to some of the Boss's. I consider myself to be a pretty good gamer and can beat any game I've ever played on Normal to Hard but this game got way to frustrating. Seriously be ready to blow a gasket at times because this game will raise your Blood Pressure at points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Prepare to be frustrated!

posted by oldtimer63 (LEWISTON, ID) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game play up to most of the boss battles is pretty good. A couple of the boss battles though will leave you either throwing things or wanting to crush your controller! After dying, no kidding, 47 times on the final boss, I'm really not sure the points is worth the stress. You only get 30 to beat it on hard mode! Good luck! Could have been a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Xbox 360 - Conan

posted by Spykezxp (AUBURN, NY) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

When I first looked at this game, I thought that it was probably going to just be a "Hack & Slash" game. I was wrong about that. It is more than just that. It actually does have a Good Story line to go along with the game. Conan is a game similar to Gods of War, but is different. The Critic reviews do make some good points about the game, but it is a fun game "nonetheless". If you are a parent that is worried about this game being suitable for your child, than this is not a good game for your child. There is Female "upper body" Nudity in this game. If you are a older Teenager that likes playing a game that you kill alot of people, than this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Half Way Conan Review

posted by StaticGraz (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First lets start with the bad things.
On occasion when jumping to a ledge you have to be E-X-A-C-T on where you land, even if there is a lot of ledge on either side. And Conan doesnt always jump between gaps...little so-and-so.

Onto the good stuff.

The Boss fights are INCREDABLE much gore involved and, between the 3 I've fought so far, I can say that it's not the same widdle the hp down and win, and even if you get the hp all the way down you can still loose.

The Dames are awesome. My Girlfriend keeps telling me "This game was made by men! You can so tell." I usualy just tell her, " Honey... it's a game about a barbarian."

The Dames aren't completly nude just topless and there hasn't been any Coffee Mod scenes..yet?
I dono, even if there weren't any in here I'm still satified with the game. I'm waiting to see if my characters skills can transfer between diffaculties, how to get better at parrying and striking, and; most of all, to figure out if when it slows down is purly cosmetic?

I feel that No Multi-player takes it down a notch too. 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bloodiest Game Ever

posted by ConradoRBD (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game is too much like God of War but it's fun nonetheless. The graphics are easy on the eyes and very detailed. This game deserves more than a 6 or a 7 i mean seriously. This a game that should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BOOBIES!!!!

posted by jharvey31 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME HAS BOOBIES EVERYWHERE !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HMMMMM......

posted by haterh8r (OCALA, FL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Lots of similarities to God of War..Most definitely not a bad thing. Awesome combat, lots of blood, easy to navigate. Of course, no God of War ripoff would be complete without breast-icles. Only played for about an hour so far, but decent. Totally decent. Worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'd rather mow the lawn in the rain

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game must have been left behind from the N64 days or something, but its hardly next-gen. Its like playing Golden Axe (remember that oldie?)in higher tech theater. Mechanics are weak, story is pointless, and the gameplay is repetitive at best. From button mashing combos, annoying enemies, and an inability to rotate views, its arguably the worst thing I've seen on 360 yet. It'll be far more enjoyable to put it back in the mailbox than it was to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I smell GOW!!

posted by Pioneer10 (CLARE, MI) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok blood and gore are what its all about great game great finishing moves, graphics ect. all good but it looks like they took a different character and God of War 3 its a great game but i believe online play is needed. not too much replay on this one but very good!!!

Clare Soon to be MHSAA division 6 district champs!!! (football)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

conan rocks

posted by txtank (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

okay its a lot like gow but the blood and flying body parts are beutiful graphics rock great story dont listen to critics i just wish i could get by this sand dragon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

whats up w draven

posted by BAPHOMET (PASADENA, TX) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i loved the game but whats up with draven. omgb its a retarted battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Till the end

posted by Danondrums (TOLUCA LAKE, CA) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game but the last boss is so hard and repetetive I just turned it off and never looked back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is stupid

posted by bling27 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dont rent this game unless you want to be mad throught out whole period you play it and to top it off you cant beat it because at one point at the very end you have to jump of a gap and you character never grabs the leadge. so i give this a automatic one for that reason. waste 6 hours of my time to find out y out you cant beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What is not best in life

posted by OldMan (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unfinished, unrefined and unresponsive are the three words I'd use to describe this game.

You know there is something wrong when the actual game play looks better than the cut scenes and a major game mechanic is loosing control of your already fairly unresponsive Cimmerian avatar. Sure Robert E Howard's barbarian is a little uncivilized and unpolished himself but that doesn't mean a game devoted to him should share these qualities.

On the upside the team did an excellent job at capturing the look and feel of the Hyborian age and despite itself the game is for the most part fun.

However, in the end the only lamentations that were heard were my own as the game disc was driven before me back into the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Conan review

posted by Deejay (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was fairly interesting in the beginning. Cutting enemies in half does have its moments. But repetitive battles with the same enemy throughout the levels begin to take there toll. Failure to have an enemy lock on feature begins to get frustrating when trying to master your combos and finishing moves once acquired later in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very glitchy

posted by Kadzima (STUDIO CITY, CA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Without the glitching this game was eh, ok. Really if I weren't so shallow and the occasional bit of gratuitous nudity didn't keep me going, I probably would have never finished this game. It is a complete God of War rip off almost down to the woman narrator's voice. It was a fun game to play until I ran into the glitches. I HIGHLY recommend multiple different saves if you play through this game so you can go back somewhere close in case you encounter a glitch. But with all the great games on the 360 I say just give yourself a pass and save the frustration!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game on 360

posted by garsduc (MACOMB, IL) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The camera angles are terrible, graphics shoddy, and this game tries to be like god of war without all the fun. The only and I mean only redeeming quality of the game is the voice acting of the person that voices conan. Very frustrating game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its simply Conan

posted by MetalShock (MIAMI, FL) Oct 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If it bleeds you can kill it? Hel yeah !! in the name of Crom ...grant me vengeance !! THIS IS THE GAME !!! Oh yeah pure Conan ...the magic stuff..ok trying to change it a little but its still awesome !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah

posted by Htorihpes (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

An incredibly sub-par game. Run around killing things and rescuing naked maidens all while you get to listen to Christopher Walken voiced enemies yell. Sounds good doesn't it? Well you would be wrong because it takes a hack-n-slash to an all time low. Poor graphics repetitive game play and a bland almost non-existent storyline are what makes me regret ever picking up this game. But, on the plus side the maidens are. . . well I guess you could say rendered well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse