Rent Conan for PS3
view large frontback

Conan

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.2

2145 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

A lot worse than God of War

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only played this game for two hours tops before returning it, so, perhaps I did not get to the good parts....

I am a big fan of the God of War series and this game does not even come close. The graphics are very bad in my opinion, could have been done better for PS2. The characters look fake, the world is also poor in my opinion, looks very cartoonish.

Another huge turnoff for me was the dialog and the voice acting for Conan. Sounds like a robot with no emotion at all.

all in all I'd say to rent this game only if you're utterly bored and have played everything else, otherwise, skip it. Much better titles out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Hack 'n Slash - Perfect renter for Conan fans

posted by WingT74 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are like me, you grew up watching Conan the Barbarian, Conan the Destroyer...even Red Sonja! The Conan character was always a favorite of mine.

I also enjoy 3rd person games...FPS are fun, but to me they are all the same.

POSITIVES

Fun game, you get to kill a nice variety of different foes using a ton of different (but easy to execute) moves, 3 combinations of weapons (Dual wield, sword/Shield, 2Hand).

Graphics to me are pretty darn good...not great, but not embarrassing by any means.

sit down, relax, blow off some steam, and cut some bad guys in half (or thirds). Play the game on Easy too IMO.

NEGATIVES

Jumping, climbing around is really clumsy...and you can always tell where the heck to go. It gets frustrating staring at the screen thinking "ok, now where".

Boss Battles: First couple were fun, then they just get stupid hard...plus, the last two I played, my framerate dropped to nothing. This is when I packed the game up and shipped it back to Gamefly.

SUMMARY

Definate renter. Do not buy. But rent it, have some fun...and move on to the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Conan game review

posted by raapho (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There’s not much that’s better than average with this game. The overall storyline is interesting, the graphics are sub-par for a Playstation 3 system, the sound is adequate, and the gameplay ranges from “pretty fun” to “downright annoying.” An average gamer will be able to complete the game in about 12 hours. An above average player or advanced gamer can probably finish in about seven hours.

Being a fan of the Cimmerian barbarian, I had high hopes for this game. I could tell, however, from the absurdly long load time at the beginning of the game that THQ was relying more on the name recognition of the character than in creating an efficient and well thought out game. As previously mentioned, the graphics would have looked pretty decent for a PS2 game, but if I had paid $60 for a new copy on the PS3, I’d have been a little upset. The in-game graphics were decent, but the cut scene animation was pretty pathetic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Run-of-the-mill, short. Fun for a few days.

posted by anonymoose (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This brutal button masher features the legendary character Conan the Barbarian, who stumbles upon an evil wizard whose soul is sealed in statue and finds himself once again on a mission to save the world. Conan is a straight forward button masher, with comfortable, easy-to-learn controls and a story that doesn't stop moving. Add to that a massive array of weapons, moves, naked Amazonian women, challenging enemies and more naked Amazonian women, and a used copy of Conan is a game well worth it's weight in gold. Unfortunately, there's nothing to separate Conan from other button-mashers (God of War III, Dante's Inferno, Devil May Cry); the graphics are sub-par for a next-gen system, and at under 10 hours to beat this game will take only a few days to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Conan the Libraian

posted by johnnyjunk (MANTEO, NC) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Boring just boring. Yeah there is swords and boobs but man this is a dull game. Get your fingers ready because all you gonna do is mash some buttons dude. But at least you get some boobage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not fun

posted by goodboy (BEEVILLE, TX) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a waste of technology, those who want a good game that is worth the time spending on it, pass this one up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Ok

posted by WolfBrthr (PARKVILLE, MD) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This review doesn't need to be long and drawn out. Graphics are terrible. Acting is terrible. Game is fun but got boring. I returned it before i finished it because it just became the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Total bust, on what had alot of potential

posted by Drakken (RIVERTON, WY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has a great setting, cool characters, but the actual gameplay does not evolve at all, when most action adventure genre video games do greatly. You seem to just not improve or gain at all. The combat system had great potential, but they didn't take a little extra step to just show it I think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hack and slash with a touch of class.

posted by lilpomel (CHARLESTON, WV) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Conan the Barbarian - "BY CROM! Was a very good game. I know all the talk about how it's the same as God of War. But, this game can grow into something on it's own. Maybe even away from being called "just another God of War knock-off." The graphics are very good and when they make another one -(wink, wink) they will be great. The game pretty much works like God of War, but the maidens made it worth while to look for secrets. Push the mature rating to it's limits and you can add more puzzles for the guys to look for. The story goes right along - Simple. - I like. - The voices were excellent. I have been saying "BY CROM" even when I stub my toe. Plus, I have been calling friends and family "dogs" - but that's nothing new anyway. Overall, very good game and I'm still working on beating it on "KING". Wish me luck. I enjoy it so much I will probably keep if for the great price GAMEFLY is offering. There you guys, a nice commerical plug. Your Welcome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Conan: I Like it!

posted by CrazySteve (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Conan is your standard hack and slash style action adventure game. Game play is pretty similar to that of god of war. Conan is a bit slower in his movement, but not overly so that it hampers game play. Conan has the ability to pickup weapons of his fallen foes giving him the following stances: single handed, duel wield, single with shield, and two handed weapons. Each stance comes with a collection of different moves that you can purchase with XP you gain thought out the game. The strongest and you will find it your most popular stance will be two handed weapons. Occasionally i used 2 handed, but i found 2 handed to be just more powerful.

Game quirks:

1. when you die the game will reload to your last checkpoint, while this is extremely nice as most checkpoints are not far from where you died, for some reason the game takes a good 20 seconds to "load" your last checkpoint. which is odd because you were just freaking there. This becomes specifically annoying on some of the jumping areas, when you can easily fall to your death and start over.
2. Some of the enemys are extremely hard, and if you are caught between a few of them, you can find yourself stuck and unable to do any thing but die.
3. The last boss of the game is insanly hard and tedious i died 33 times while fighting him( see number 1).

All in all this game was quite enjoyable, but i doubt i would ever play it again. This is one of those games i will send back to game fly and keep only the memorys of playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's so sad to see a resurrection fail so horribly

posted by IamDiesel (AMES, IA) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Poor Conan! He has been hanging on by the thread of his devout cult fan base for years now. Imagine their elatement when the rights to Conan were purchased and shortly after that announcement a game was voiced to be coming out. Conan fans ringed their hands in anticipatory collective delight. Oh how sorry I am people. This game is so friggen bad. There seems to be a trend lately of games that have bad mechanics, horrible non-customizable controls, weak story lines and mind numbing repetitive game play. Glitchy combat system, character response lag (jumping especially), mobbing your character to the point of immobility, even the voice acting is bad and that so bothers me cause Claudia Black (Farscape) is one of the voices. I appreciated the art direction of the cut scenes and think it's great they tried to do something different and give it that "comic" feel but nothing about any part of this game gelled for me. This was so reminiscent of "Bouncer" for the PS2 in how horrible the game played and how detached everything was from the whole of the game.

I think even with a ton of polish this game would only be average. I can't even see any potential that got misguided or lost along the way. it's too bad that this was such a failure. Not because this is essentially slaughtering a classic comic character (shhh lets not talk about the movies), but also because they announced they are going to be doing A LOT with this franchise. I can only hope that they listen to the feed back and really take the time to push the envelope of the next game and take their time to polish it and thoroughly test it to make sure it's fluid and adventurous. No more getting stuck between objects or having the game crash in the middle of the final boss battle.

Conan will need that evil magic to bring this flaming kahkah bag back from the torrid land of sulfur.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't rent it!

posted by olpdog (FOUR LAKES, WA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts out ok, but that doesn't last long. The first issue I have is the player has absolutely no control of what direction Conan is looking. There are some areas where you are supposed to jump large gaps and it is so very difficult to see from behind the player where you need to jump. If you put up with that, there are some positives to the game. It is somewhat entertaining until you get toward the end of the game. Toward the end, you start being forced to beat the same opponent over and over again. The last stage you have to beat the same 2 creatures 3 & 4 separate times each, I think, as I quit after I got through beating them 2 and 3 times. It is just the same thing over and over again. The borders on the game remind me of an old Sega game, as there is only 1 path you can take on each level. It has a few positives, but the game itself is actually pretty bad. It gets so irritating to have to fight the same creatures over and over again. I've killed the creature 4 times, how does it keep coming back?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monotonous Hack and Slash adventure clone

posted by Rajahai (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game after the buzz of Age of Conan put it to light thinking it might do something interesting, though as I think about it now, I'm really not sure what I was expecting out of it.

To put it short, it was returned the next day after I received it. Now you can take that two ways: either that I barely played it and thus my review doesn't mean that much, or the game is just outright terrible.

I played God of War, and thought it was an okay game, I enjoyed the puzzles, but the hack and slash got tiresome after a while. It was only the epicness of it all with the larger than life bosses and the "kill a god" story that kept me going through the monotonous button mashing of each level.

And it seemed to me, that Conan was simply God of War, without the puzzles, without the epic bosses, and storyline. In fact, after playing the game for some 3-4 hours, I was still unclear as to what the basic story even was, they essentially toss you into Conan's shoes with a wink and a nod, in all the expectations that you know exactly what the backstory is and just want to get going with it. I'm no huge fan of Conan, I watched and enjoyed the movies, but I've never gone past that, so maybe I'm simply left out of some sort of inside backstory, but it seemed like for a good deal of levels they just toss you into a ton of Badguys with a "You know what to do" kinda overtone.

If you're looking for a completely hack and slash game with less focus on story than they have on blood and boobs, then this may be for you. Otherwise, you may just want to pass this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre At Best

posted by Artist2mt (BRIGHTWATERS, NY) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game after reading a few reviews on a site I frequent, which all amounted to a simple synopsis: gore and boobs. That's about the only thing that really caught my attention from this game. An obvious clone and knock-off of God of War, the game felt clunky, it lacked style, the story wasn't interesting at all, and I felt in just about every battle that the controls were imprecise.

It's great for a rental, I would never suggest someone spend $60 on it. However, even as a rental I would be wary. I got more than halfway through and just gave up out of boredom. Yet, there was always plenty of gore and dismemberment to at least elicit a smile or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cumbersome!!!

posted by mcfaddent (ROUND ROCK, TX) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lame, lame, lame... Game has no flexibility and you can't change the camera perspective and the levels are near to pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your time

posted by deerkiller (PRINCETON, MN) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is really bad!the graphics suck, the game play sucks, just A really bad game for A great system!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Conan

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WHICH IDIOT CAME UP WITH THIS GAME????!!!!This is one of the worst games I have ever played.And that is alot of games,SHEESH!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

conan

posted by fan1970 (ALBERT CITY, IA) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not a very good game. The camera angles are very bad and in many areas of the game it is very difficult to figure out where to go or what to do. There is female frontal nudity which does not seem to have a purpose. Would not recommend to anyone with children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

conan

posted by Cruzer29 (NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL) May 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was really boring, really boring. I made it past three levels before I could take no more. Heavenly Sword or even Gow 2 are way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hard to say

posted by ck0007 (PINSON, AL) May 14, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good game and all, but its to much like god of war. Also god of war has better graphics than this and god of war is much better,but if you have already played god of war then i would recommend renting this game;otherwise, go and rent god of war.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Close but needed to mature

posted by Muchenik (PASADENA, MD) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to start this off by saying that I have always enjoyed this style of action adventure with a mix of puzzle.

Conan has come up short. The backgrounds are wonderful and the action is fairly smooth. The character models seems like they were directly ported from a PS2 file and do not take advantage of everything that the PS3 is capable of.

The quests are very straight forward with very little exploration needed by the player. That is expected for a game of this style so I let it slide.

Following the adventures of the Cimmerian was fun for the first hour but it became more and more difficult to overlook one of the largest shortcomings. Enemies could and would break your combos or would have no problem combo locking you until you perished. The amount of extra health lying around has made it bearable but only slightly.

I would recommend this game for a night or two of play but nothing more then that. The mature theme seems forced and really adds nothing to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Button mashing gone wild

posted by Silentme (O FALLON, MO) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A bore... easy game with a terrible story line. If you like to push a bunch of buttons to kill endless mobs while dodging a few incoming attacks then this is your game. Bosses offer little challenge also.

If you wish to use that hand/eye coordination i suggest looking elsewhere. There are other games well worth you time and money to be playing, of course I cant mention them here.

Did i mention the lack of free look mode even in spots where the camera angle is just awful? I guess i did now.

Happy gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game, definitely a rental though....

posted by Edgarllama (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful


So I rented Conan. As everyone else notes, it is similar to God Of War. However, I think God of War had a lot more puzzles which, to me, sucked. I personally prefer to just pillage and plunder. If I wanted to solve puzzles I'd play Tetris. That being said, the few things you have to solve mostly involve Conan knocking over a tower or something of that sort. You can use 3-4 different sets of weapons, each with unique attacks. You can have Sword and shield, Dual-Wield, 2 handed, and you can also just use your fists. As you progress you can buy attacks with points accumulated from killing people and rescuing wenches. However, unless you are really good it is pretty hard to power up all of the attacks in one play-through. Replay value is not real high. I must admit that after beating the game though I wanted to try out some of the weapons I didn't get to completely utilize. So basically if you enjoy a pretty linear game with lots of bloodshed this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bloody and Violent...

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Those two words best describe this game. There is a story to this game but not much of one. It seems pretty generic. The graphics aren't all that great. Seems this could have been done on a PS2 or XBox. The controls are great and you can do all sorts of combos and moves to slice and dice your opponents. There is no shortage of blood at all in Conan. If you care...there is nudity. The characters seem pretty stiff. The game is worth renting and at least playing through once. Could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crom of War

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Blood and gore and violence galore. Conan is a hack and slash game which almost resembles the God of War games. The controls were almost similar to God of War 2: opening doors, chests, orbs, etc. But that does not seem to be any problem since God of War is a great game.

Conan will stab his opponents, chop their heads off, cut off both their arms, slice them in two or use his bare hands to grab an opponent's intestines. Nice. Just to mention a few things that Conan can do. Boss fights are not your average button mashers, they require puzzles to be solved while fighting them.

Although Conan is a good game, it also has some bad stuff in it. After playing Heavenly Sword and God of War 2, I really found out that the voice acting was so horrible. Unlike Heavenly Sword and God of War 2's vengeance and redemption storyline, I could not feel Conan's lust for adventure. His lines were just boring to be heard. No feelings of anger or rage when he slices his enemies in half. It is just not cinematic enough.

Another problem is that (for me) the final boss was just too hard and frustrating. I finished the game on normal mode and the final boss just seems almost unbeatable. I think luck is a factor for that final fight.

Other than that, there seems to be no major problem with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse