Rent Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
5.8

2160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Alert 3

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Anyone who is familiar with the title, Command and Conquer, knows that this strategical war game is apart of first games of its class.
For those who are new, Red Alert 3, is a Omni-present type game.
(as like The Sims, Tom Clancy's End War)
You have full control over your army.. soldiers, tanks, and aircraft. You control a entire army using your strategic maneuvers.

You play as a commander. A army is at your disposal and you have to lead them to victory. You have three sides to choose from Soviet, Allies, or the Rising Sun. Each side has a separate story, different structures, vehicles, soldiers, and technology that are all unique; requiring you to use strategic battle fronts to lead your army to victory.

Electronic Arts has continued the Command and Conquer series, Red Alert, nicely. They have not slimmed the budget, at all, on the title. With couple of familiar looking actors, and actresses like Jenny McCarthy, as Tonya. The graphics are all now complete 3d. No more 2d motions anymore for this title. The aspect has been changed, which you can now zoom in and out and even rotate around everything completely.

Notes-
-The controls took me a minute to figure out and is only what I really didn't like of Red Alert3.

-I'm not sure if Red Alert3 is mouse and keyboard compatible..

-The skirmishes are still available.

-There is a Co-Op mode, with the ability of playing the game with a buddy, but you have to wait for a user to join before launching the game.

-There isn't a very huge selection of Multiplayer maps but they are still fun. There is no random map generator.

-Ore doesn't grow anymore its all in a large compound that you have to fortify.

-Everything looks completely different, but Unit commands are still available, only thing that is different is the controls.

This game really is not for everyone. But if you like a strategical challenge. You should try the game that lead the class of the strategical games, Command and Conquers': Red Alert3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

C&C REV

posted by Deuce21 (JACKSON, AL) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think it was the best RTS game I ever played on the PS3She
had good mechanics (although it took me awhile to figure them out) and it didnt bomb-bard me with to many different controlls like the others did.And when C&C RA3 came out....i was going jump up and down (with excitement of course)to the very thought....of me.....a lil short person.....playing C&C.And to see who'll win in the Red Alert Universe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Command and Conquer Red Alert 3

posted by lacobudera (PROVO, UT) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of C&C. I love to play RTS and/or TBS(turn based strategy) games. I thought it was ok but, not the greatest. It took awhile to get use to the controls vs. pc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is Very Good

posted by JASONSPAZ (HAVERHILL, MA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have been playing all the RTS game's that have come out on the console. And by far I feel, this is the best one yet . It looks so much better on the PS3 than it does on the XBOX360. It has full support of Sony Online features (ie) voice chat, in game invites.
However I will say that Microsoft still has the best online communication with LIVE. It is very enjoyable on the 360, but the graphics and refined controls shine on the PS3 version.
I feel all the professional reviewers simply dont give the game a chance. They compare it to PC rts games and disregard the game. Let me tell you that if you learn the controls which are so smooth, You will be able to wage war quickly and micro manage with ease.
I am a fan of RTS on the console. And so far this is the best yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where did my keyboard go!

posted by monkspank (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game looks nice not great and has lots of depth in the strategy department. By the way does EA know you can plug a keyboard and a mouse into the PS3? I mean W...T...F! That's what you'll be saying when you try to command an army with your thumbs. Why EA, Why?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Many positives but its just didn't work for me

posted by jasoncourt (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game looks good, pretty much everything else what you would hope and expect C&C to be on the PS3. The problem is that is is just to clunky trying to control it with a game pad. I felt like I was moving in slow motion with one hand tied behind my back.

That's not to say that the controls are terrible. I think they did just about the best they could, and if you have quick fingers and are pretty good at real time strategy, you may be able to have a good time with this. But otherwise just be wary that they didn't break the mold with this console version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RTS on console is not fun

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game for a few hours and saw all of the familiar C&C mechanics that the other games had. This looks like a really fun game for the PC but the controls and visuals just aren't suited for a console. Selecting units on the screen is difficult and the radial menu can be clunky. I'm not saying there's a better way to do it just that this way didn't work for me. There is also limited zoom options so I couldn't zoom out and see as much of the action as I wanted and there were times I felt I couldn't zoom in far enough. I found it difficult to differentiate between infantry unit types so usually ended up selecting them all, then using the radial menu to narrow down the selection.
All of the control mechanisms were there, such as grouping and multiple selection, but the console control scheme was just too much of a pain to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WTH was that?

posted by demonseeds (CALABASAS, CA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

EA did what they always do, take a great franchise and make a joke of it.

If you like flying bears, circus clowns, spiders, power ranger gundams and bubble warp fields then sure, give this game a go. The game is so over the top that even if you where on drugs you would probably stop and say... ok now THIS is just lame.

Otherwise.... go and buy some C&C red alert... 1 or 2 or anything before EA decided to ruin the franchise. I dont always hate EA, but this game is a complete joke and just does a really good job of reasserting my dislike of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best command and conquer game ever

posted by dudeinutah (MAPLETON, UT) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i love this game everyone should try this game at least once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the controls kill the game

posted by shauncole2922 (ENDICOTT, NY) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i am a big fan of the red alert games but this games controls make it almost impossible to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Red Alert 3

posted by thefootballfan (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Good small Videos (especially the intro). Good graphics. Great idea for the theme. But I'm not big on the type of game it is (I'm more for games like Medal of Honor or Call of Duty).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

red alert 3

posted by fatwe1992 (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

For those of you who are familiar with command and conquer, you know the name has been around and is synanamous with the word ''commander'' this command and conquer is interesting. it has the name, it has the campy dialog, it even has tonya! But the one thing it has thats wrong is a console. Command and conquer was made explicitly for the pc. So while this is a great game, worthy of the franchise, it just doesn't feel right with a ps3 OR xbox 360 controller. For a better command and conquer experience i would suggest playing it on your computer first. don't get me wrong playing it is alot of fun and i had a blast playing it but, command and conquer just wasn't made for console use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

un readable disc

posted by paulG (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

ya once i got this game in the mail i was happy but only to find out the disc was unreadable, the system gave me an error code so i called tech support and them that the game was unreadable because it was a copy that they created. i was not very happy about that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

could be better could be worse!

posted by wildcatfan (FLATGAP, KY) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I'm into real time stragety games,especialy one like c&c and the old warcraft games.don't look for spectacular graphics in this game,but just like warcraft used to be it's fun building a base,protecting it,then going after and destroying the enemy.i'm just not to crazy with trying to put real actors in front of a camera to create cutscenes for a game.But it was something i could deal with.but there were to disapointments that really stood out to me.(1)You had a limit to how many units you could have on the battlefield at one time,(2)sometimes when going into a mission i had no audio for whatever reason don't know it was a glitch in that paticular disc or what but it would cause you to have to start the mission over.possible more than once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tough to enjoy on a console

posted by darthvrla (GASTONIA, NC) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The mechanics of the game are best suited for a PC. I love this game on PC with mouse and keyboard control. The limited number of buttons on a controller and lack of mouse navigation make this game difficult to fully appreciate on a console. It's a difficult hurdle to overcome for almost any RTS title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another EA Disaster: AVOIDANCE RECOMMENDED

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

RTS is my favorite genre of game, and this was the first time I've ever picked one up for the playstation, and it might be the last.

I couldn't play this game because there was no sound. I mean literally no sound, silence. I tried for hours, thinking of everything to get it to work and it didn't happen. I read that not all gamers had this issue, and it was a HDMI/DTS vs Coaxial Cable/stereo problem. Even when I did change it nothing worked. Plus, its extremely unreasonable and farcical to require that gamers have to remove their HDMI cable and plug in the low quality video/stereo cable that comes with the PS3 just for this game. And like I said, it still didn't work. EA, you hurt my brain!

There was sound in the very beginning, but immediately after the introduction in the first level all game sound was absent. End of story, enough said.... DON'T PLAY THIS GAME!

I'm becoming more confident every day that gamers will file a class action lawsuit against EA for releasing games that have known fatal flaws. EA does this all the time and gamers are getting really sick of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Classic RTS Action

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

When I heard C&C: Red Alert 3 finally came out for the PS3, I was excited. It's been a while since consoles have gotten any RTS games. Red Alert 3 is great. The only issue I have with it is that it's a little "too" classic, there isn't a lot of new stuff that hasn't already been done in the Genre when it comes to this game.
It is, however a good game in it's own right. Just takes time to get used to using a controller for a RTS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WOW well that was ok

posted by masterspin (WATERFORD, CA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

played the demo from the psn then got the game on game fly not living up to what i want. the missions are boring sometimes and resource gathering is too easy for some factions the final mission on the rising sun sucks and the co comanders are not good at building a force to attack. most games the com camander is wiped out because the base defenses were not good. epic no seems like a fail to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game but the Graphics hmmmmm!!

posted by pike01 (RICHMOND, TX) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

If you like the strategy games then this is the the game for you! The graphics i thought could of been alot better and the weaponry could of been on a greater scale. Overall i give it a decent game to play. Alot better then i thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

red alert 3 great... (maybe on pc)

posted by kodylyo (SEABROOK, TX) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

red alert 3 is a very good rts, the units all have special abilities and as the commander u get a few powers such as air drops bombings etc, but controlling the batlefield is very hard. the ai is taught to widdle you down, which, uf on pc would be fine, however on a platform it is hard to get to multiple areas at once. also sometimes your units just sit there when attacked, as opposed to warcraft or others where a non combat unit will run from combat units(although the anomoly is not limited to non combat units).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Soviet Power!

posted by ShadowRide (RIO RANCHO, NM) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This game is amazing all who like RTS type games will love this game.

Pros:
Controls are simple and easy to master
3 campaigns each different then the other two (not intertwined)
FREE DLC Map pack
Online Enabled
Skirmishs against 9 enemy AI
Tons of maps
Cinematics well beyond excellent (live poeple!)
Trophy Enabled

Cons:
Only 720p or 480p (no 1080 at all)
Co-Commander not always easy to control
Cannot choose AI player type (rusher, turtle, balanced ect.)

All in all if you rent this game you will be satisfied there are some problems but the games other parts makes up for it. A definite rent i would buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

puhleez

posted by kedubyrag (ITHACA, MI) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this feels more like a transformers game than anything.

playability is mediocre at best, replay value is nil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best console based RTS game to date

posted by tone28 (EIELSON AFB, AK) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

I have been a fan of Command and Conquer ever since it started with the Red Alert series being my favorite. if you remeber this is not the first time that this great series has hit the consoles. After the first time I played it on something other than a computer or laptop I almost cried because it was so bad. the controls sucked and the game play was unresponsive.

Fast forward many years later we have in my opinion the best RTS game for the console. This is the one that all other RTS's should look up to. The controls are spot on and I hope that because they did such a good job on them that there will be many more Command and Conquer games for consoles.

The graphics are great and the game play is fun and very addictive. I highly suggest getting a friend and laying through the campaign mode with or you will just have a dumb AI controlled partner that is usually little help unless yu tell them exactly what you want them to attack. All in all this was a great game that is worthy of a rental through the great thing Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay, but should stay on PC

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

I remember playing the original Command and Conquer years ago on my computer. It was addictive. Playing it on a console for the first time just doesn't feel comfortable. Selecting troops to move them is combersome with the control knobs (PS3). Moving around with a keyboard and selecting things with a mouse is infinitely easier and more productive. This particular game was fun in that it had several recognizable Hollywood actors in it, but that alone isn't enough to rescue the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So.. Dissapointing

posted by SargentAss (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game has a lot of good potential if you like 3rd person strategy games. But the interface and lack of difficulting ratings on multiplayer makes it frustrating to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse