Rent Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.4

2637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Innovative, goofy, beautiful, and just plain fun.

posted by Joshywuff (PINE PRAIRIE, LA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

First and fore-most, I have yet to complete this game.

Intro-
Red Alert is a less-serious conter-part to the original C&C. The original story basically has Albert Einstein back-track in time before WW2 to kill a certain guy, preventing the second World War. This resulted in Russia rising as a super-power, and he would lend his mind to the Allies to stifle this global threat.

Story-
Cheesy, pointless, stupid, and entertaining. To a greater extreme than the predecessors however... in my personal opinion, the cheesier the better. Russia has lost the war, and in haste of retreat, a head-general uses their own time machine to go back and kill Einstein before even gaining recognition. The result is World War 2 once again occurring, and without nuclear technology, the rise of a Japanese Empire, The Rising Sun.

Sound & Graphics-
The visuals in this game are stunning. From the workings and texture of the construction and buildings, to the gardens and penthouses and fish in the sea. Little was over-looked in the graphical beauty. The sound-track is appropriate to each race, but mediocre at best. and the sound effects are rather lack-luster but get the job done.

Gameplay-
If not for this limit, I could go on all day. But I'll sum up all three topics.
The new race, The Empire of the Rising Sun, is very innovative, in the way they construct bases and have transformable units.
Speaking of units, every single unit in the game now has a secondary ability, most of which are extremely useful and innovative.
Another thing about innovation, Many units, as well as structures are 'amphibious,' meaning they can traverse and can be placed both on land AND water. This adds a lot of tactical diversity.
Lastly, every storyline mission is co-op, done with a second player or PC. Sounds risky, but it's VERY well done.

Final-
Over-all, if you play a game light-hearted and just for fun, you may enjoy it more than if you want a serious, captivating story.

Live has a playable demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun strategy game... Empire forces were fun

posted by ShadoShryk (GOLDSBORO, NC) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My mind is best suited for strategy and RPG. I have always know this. C&C:RA3 proved it even more.

This is a cut and dried strategy empires game. Build your bases and armies and defend and/or attack as needed for each mission until you dominate the field.

Each empire has unique units and you have to find just the right units to counter the enemies units that are sent against you. With my military background, this was obvious, yet I still had to make multiple tries at some missions.

I started with the Allies campaign, then ran the Soviet campaign and then moved to the Empire campaign. I think I had the most fun with the Empire, and hated the Soviet campaign the most.

This game is not for the strategy newbie, since trying to control all the different groups of units to defeat your enemies can be taxing once you get to the 7-9th stages of each campaign. All campaigns get much more challenging after the 6th, though generally with one stage that it deceptively easier than you expect it to be after the 6th.

Now I wish I had taken up C&C earlier, but I think I over did Warcraft, Starcraft and AoE back in the day. Now I think I will go pick up the C&C 10 years package for the PC just so I can see what I missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

classic red alert with next-gen polish

posted by drjohn (KENT, OH) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have played any of the red alert games, you will be familiar with this storyline. A time machine alters history with events favorable to the soviet union. This game has a less serious tone than other command and conquer titles. With Jenny McCarthy as an underclothed special forces agent and David Hasselhoff as V.P of the United States, there is a bit of humor added.
There are 3 factions this time, each with its own campaign. Each map is playable in cooperative mode. Don't worry if you have no friends, the game will provide you with a moderately competent A.I. partner. The build/tech tree is smaller this time, but there is still quite a bit of variety to explore.
As expected, the control scheme on the console does not lend itself to the real time strategy game style. Despite each unit having special powers, it can be cumbersome to activate them with precision. This works for small battles but large firefights usually end before you can select the proper special ability, usually not to your advantage. It seems these abilities were included to limit rush/massed tactics. It is a shame it doesn't work so well.
The game requires some rethinking about tactics. Base structures now build on water and many units are amphibious or can fly. I found this limits traditional bottlenecks; for example, your inland base is not immune to naval forces as many boats can crawl/hover on land. Combined with the limited control mechanics, I found the game to still be less about clever tactics and more about hordes of units. It probably works better on the p.c.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great series, Great game

posted by bacchus (LEXINGTON, KY) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Some extra shortcuts make the gameplay easier than Kanes Wrath. The Co-op mode is pretty fun if you turn the difficulty up and will help you learn the units' strengths. The best part is the online versus. You will instantly be in the action. This game is all about adapting to your enemy. Every faction has the ability to neutralize the other. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3

posted by Commando64 (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Over all a great game because of the graphics where outstanding for a Real Time Strategy game (most do not have great graphics), also the story line is awe inspiring and makes you think, is that actually possible? They could have made some of the level harder though. had its flaws though, like every game. one big flaw was how stereo typical it was. I mean Japan having transforming robots... Seriously.
Also it could have been better if some outfit had been less revealing... All in all it was fun and a good game for Real Time Strategy fans but might annoy people who have not played a Real Time Strategy game before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by chris7519 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of the red alert series, then this game is definitely for you!
This is action packed and loaded with awesome units and great scenarios!
I give this game a 10 out of 10, because I'm a fan, and because it's a very well made game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

average

posted by evergames (LA PUENTE, CA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

It's ok not much of a change here. A re-hash of old mixed with elements of the NEW C&C, game balancing in multiplayer is horrible, and there is no point to it when the servers take forever to load, might be different on Console games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I tried

posted by macbookman (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the c&c series since the beginning, Unfortunately with red alert 3 I draw the line. Ive had the game now for over a week and a half and tried several times to enjoy it but it was just bad.Its like after having tiberium wars you kinda expect at least a decent game. this games graphics are poor and the game play is silly something I'd expect on a Wii or PlayStation 2 game.. I hope that next year they go back to the mechanics of tiberium wars. red alert 3 could have been a great game unfortunately I'm sending it back today!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worse than I expected

posted by Wisegamer1 (WHARTON, NJ) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

10 out of 31 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

I became a red alert fan when my friend introduced me to red alert 2, which was hysterical, but I must say I cannot beleive EA did this to Red Alert. I was already upset with the SecuROM bs on the PC so I figured I would give it a shot on the 360 so I didn't infect my PC but when I played the game I could not beleive that it could get any cheesier and closer to soft core P-o-r-n than this. If your looking for a game to play when you get high or want to tear it to shreds for laughs then this is the game for you but for the sophisticated gamers stay away from this because this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The people who made this game need a punch in the

posted by Tribalbeat (FISHERS, IN) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

nose

This game sucks. I wasn't expecting a whole lot from EA since they butchered this franchise, but this is just so bad. People who played the original red alert (or at least ra2) will look at this and see a steaming pile of poo (darn you language filter!). The textures for the models are god awful. EA claims that they wanted this game to be all about fun and mayham, like the original. Like the original? The classic red alert was all dark and sometimes creepy, not all bright with units cracking weak one-liners every minute. It was next to impossible for me to play this game, it was just so bad. Do yourself a favor and don't waste time renting this game. I really was hoping for a serious red alert game, too bad all I got was a cartoon made for 9-12 year olds...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No not Red Alert too!

posted by x0XgodX0x (KATY, TX) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

EA has done it, Ea has ruined my favorite Real time strategy game. How come everything EA gets their greedy hands on turns to disappointment. I downloaded the demo for this game on pc and couldn't even finish the first mission it was so bad. Where could I possibly begin on how bad this game is? Childish and terrible graphics, a terrible storyline (Russia without nukes, the allies without Chrono weapons AND Einstein dead?, a third unneeded faction, stupid and ridiculous units ugh the only reason I gave this game a 3 was because Frank Klepacki did the music which was extraordinary and brilliant! It just seems like another attempt at EA trying to copy West Wood's genius and quality. AND if you doubt or dislike my review, I ask you to go play red alert 2 or 1 before you finish or start RA3 and you will understand my view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by tooeasy93 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I love command and conquer games but this game is great. If you are a command and conquer fan.....GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by Kezman (LEHI, UT) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in this installment. It was not what I was hoping for and was very complicated to use. Just not a fan and hope that you find it more to your style of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

excelent in pc horrible in xbox 360

posted by mtyrey (RAYTOWN, MO) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

don't even think about a rental you want real r&r 3 action play pc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I lost time playing this.

posted by fireangel3 (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game is not the action packed games im in to, It is not good for my opinion. I rate this a 4 horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Its not worth it

posted by MegaStrong (LAUREL, MD) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I rented this game hoping that it could go through and pop a few heads of like Halos 1-3, but this is not that type of game. Finding it under the action and adventure part of gamefly is an incorrect action on there part. If you like to play chess and strategy computer games, then there is a chance you may like this. However if you are like me and, you like action games such as dead rising, halo, fallout, dead space,saints row, or grand theft auto then this is not the game for you. Us "head poppers" must stick together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It was too tough to control

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

I personally didn’t like it. It was too tough to control. To me that’s not a fun game to play no matter how big the hype is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not a bad game

posted by Cooky92 (PRINCETON, IN) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

was not a really bad game it was a little hard at first but when u get the hang of it u do good but till then its hard as can be but can be fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Awesome.

posted by TheSpecialKing (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is really awesome. I like all kinds of games but my favorite game type are RTS games. If you like RTS games this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a bit childish

posted by GeeBaba (ORANGE PARK, FL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since May 2009

couldnt stand it for too long, the tuturial seemed like it was geared towards 10 year olds and just wasnt as good as all the older command and conquer games i have played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

command and conquer 3 tiberium wars is better

posted by Jtg5gt (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jun 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

Ok theres no reason to suffer through this simple rts . You could easily rent Command and conquer 3 tiberium wars on xbox 360 and its a much better game. Infact THE best console rts ever . But this red alert its nothing you'd expect from command and conquer games. Theres not enough customization and no innovation just rehashed gameplay on bland uninspired maps . The campaign is boring no reason to play through it at all other than achievements . The online is horrible only 2 modes really. But Tiberium wars has these modes and MORE plus its older than this trash . Im ashamed to call this command and conquer which is the series thats king of the rts genre.

Thats it in a nutshell don't even rent just get tiberium wars which has everything on here and more . A meaningful campaign with an engaging narrative . The best online in an rts game and so many more positives i give that game a 9.0 amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hiding with my sea Base

posted by Halo1906 (OAKLEY, CA) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Freak-in love this game! Love the new ideas with building sea bases! I like it when am the rising sun. The new ideas the came up with is pretty well done. And in this game the factions actually have there own strengths and weaknesses. Don't like the fact you have to build one troop at a time but it has its advantages like splitting up the team to cover more ground or scouting party's. And cant get enough of the Russians bears! Named it mittens :P

The campaign is a little frustrating... But that's were Co-op comes in Play!
Trust me you need to work with your partner at all times with Co-op. If you get stuck on a LVL just have one player defend the bases while the other scouts and attacks really helps so you don't have to multi task but you are going to have to watch and build your turrets your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game but ment for PC

posted by Marchy (REDMOND, WA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

EA did a decent job making this game playable on a console, but RTS games are challenging when you can only use a controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tremendous Disappointment

posted by ChAoSnPAIN (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Having been a fan of C&C since the series's inception, I can honestly say I was nearly quivering with anticipation for this game. The plot seemed incredibly cool, and I was really looking forward to the mecha feel that the introduction of the Japanese would bring. This game failed, in every respect, to live up to my expectations. The graphics were hardly improved from Red Alert on the Xbox, and the controls were so touchy that I felt like a tweaker after a particularly huge hit of meth trying to control the cursor.

The game is unplayable in every regard, and only deserves a three for the concept, not the execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What am I looking AT?!??

posted by gliscameri (MESA, AZ) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I generally love RTS games, especially in the C&C series, but this one is especially hard to play. The addition of the radar screen for quick navigation helps, but the graphics are so dense that it's tough to find what you are looking for. I got through the training missions and the first two real missions and put it away. Everything is too bright and cartoony. It just runs together. It was a headache visually. Beautiful at points, but too much for an RTS in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse