Rent Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

5858 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game play for XBOX based on a PC Minded Game!

posted by basicanime (FARMINGTON, MO) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually dont play RTS style games on console systems, and I love the Command and Conquer Universe, I mean I have every C&C Made for the PC Including C&C 3. So anyhow I saw It for the 360 and I like earning achievements so I figure this would have been an easy one for me, wow was i surprised. Not only was the controls easy to handle but the game was also beefed up abit, I found myself doing things That I usually dont do on the PC version all in all I found myself enjoying this version of the game more than the PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by HkySk8r187 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) May 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

59 out of 66 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I had never played a Command & Conquer game before but I decided to try this one out. This game has great extensive training levels to teach you how to play which I thought was great. I was surprised that the game was easy to control on a console and I was quickly submerged in the gameplay. For me, it was a little hard at first. I was losing to the AI frequently until after about an hour of playing I figured out all the various vehicles and structures I could build and was able to hold my own. Went online to play a game and got owned, probably by someone who has more experience with the series than I do. Overall a great game that will entertain me for longer than most games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition to an excellent series

posted by en4cerd43 (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Command and Conquer franchise has been around for a long time, and there's a good reason for that. These games always deliver the goods. As far as RTS games go, this is my favorite series. This latest installment is no exception. I was very wary of the control scheme when I popped the disc in my drive. Once I completed the tutorial my fears faded and ultimately disappeared. I felt confident in the controls and the interface works wonderfully well.

There is no substitute for a mouse and keyboard, however. Some of the more furious assaults will be tough with the controller, but you get used to it and will soon find yourself dominating your opponents from your favorite gaming seat or couch.

This game features some nice graphics and sound as fans of the series would expect. The FMV scenes drip with nostalgia and are just corny enough to pull me further into the storyline. Billy Dee Williams and Michael Ironside look half serious and half confused throughout and I loved every cut-scene they were in.

If you are skeptical about the game at all, ask yourself one question. Do I like Command and Conquer? If you do, then you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Fast, Too Furious

posted by GameCouch (PALM SPRINGS, FL) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's nothing technically wrong with C&C's first 360 outing, but the game favors twitch gaming over tactics. I'm more of a base-builder than a rusher and C&C punishes that sort of behavior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

if you dont got it, get it.

posted by Warlock (LOS GATOS, CA) May 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now the 360 is a revolutionary device. But that doesnt mean it has revolutionary games. This game... is revolutionary. Halo 3, this game, and a few other choice games make the 360 worth getting. Anyone who badmouths these games are worse than scum. This game gives you an incredible range of troop choices, strategic maneuvers, and powers all at the touch and hold of a button (or two, depends on what you want to do.) it has an easily understood, if long, tutorial and well balanced gameplay. I give it a nine because the campaign can get almost impossible farther in and takes expert planning and execution. People who are supernoobs will give up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

C&C belongs on the PC

posted by SUPACOOL01 (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not that great on a console. I am sure it is great on a PC, but on the console, it's controls are too weird. I found it hard to manage a battle as efficiently as I would have been able to on a PC. It is a shame, as I am a rabid C&C fan and have been playing these games since the first C&C game was released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same thing you played in 1998 but revamped

posted by Gamer923 (HAYWARD, CA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the Command and Conquer series and I just had to play this one. It was on the older games that I first played online and I would play C&C until the wee hours of the morn. I rented this game seeing how it changed and how different it was. Sadly it is the same ball of wax. You just collect resources and outnumber the opponent with little strategy. I have lost my old love of real time strategy games and this game only helps me move on to other games. Sure they added a few things such as snipers and troopers that jump over obstacles but really this idea is worth putting on the shelf and allowing the old glory days to take residence in the gaming HoF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Addictive

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

36 out of 45 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm not much of a fan of RTS games, even less so on consoles, having been burned by the likes of Starcraft back in the day. I was pleasantly surprised by this game though. The controls take some getting used to, and there is definitely a slower response time than you would be able to get with a mouse and keyboard, but overall it was a very fun and entertaining game.

It's basic RTS fair, you build bases, collect resources, and build units. The tiberium (the main resource in C&C3) actually has some other game play gimmicks besides just being there to ravage for your war machine. Infantry units take damage if they go into the stuff, and certain abilities of some of the different races use the tiberium in different ways, from bonus damage to line of site abilities.

The campaign is entertaining, and the FMV sequences are something to behold. There are quite a few recognizable faces in there, including Lando and Sawyer. It's a bit campy, but it almost feels like it's supposed to be that way.

Multiplayer is quite a bit of fun, though the vision camera deal feels more like it's been added as a cheap gimmick more than anything else, but it is cool to see who you're playing against sometimes.

The biggest problem is that, while you're stuck being a noticeable bit slower because of the controls, the AI is not hampered by these restrictions. There were quite a few times where I needed to order units around in quick succession and was not able to thanks to the controls. The computer does not have that limitation, giving them a sometimes unfair advantage. Overall though, the difficulty seemed to be where it should be.

Overall, it's a game I would recommend trying out, if for nothing else than the somewhat goofy cut scenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

first RTS ive really put any time into.....

posted by tactsims (BASTIAN, VA) May 13, 2007

Member since May 2006

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

im loving it...got it yesterday afternoon and the next thing i knew it was 4am.if you're new to the genre(as i was)plan on putting some time into learning the ins and outs,but its time well spent.my review score may go up after i put it through its paces,havent tried MP yet(i have about 12 hours in so far and about half of that was in skirmish's other half campaign).my scoe of 8 was assuming i could still have some problems/issue's that i just havent run into yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Couldnt put it down!

posted by adrianW (MORENO VALLEY, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

After playing past C&C's, i knew what to expect. Build a base, barracks, troops, and so on. But the last C&C i played was C&C Renegade. So i'd figure id give this a try. This game is EXCELLENT!! It has a pretty legnthy boot camp. But shows very well how to play this game. If you played past C&C's try this one. If not try this one. Worth your time. Make sure you have enough though, matches can be pretty long. Played a skirmish match, lasted two and a half hours!!! Great Game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not to shabby

posted by strongbad (RAPID CITY, SD) Jun 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I got to give this game props. It is always a tough thing to port a RTS game from the computer to a console. I am very pleased with the effort put forth on this game however. I was really pleased with how the button layout came together to make this a very enjoyable game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy as pie!

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) May 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For those of you who have been adapt to playing C+C on the computer, u have got to try this. The gameplay is smooth and is easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by Chromos0me (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic. No discussion. I think what ultimately affects how much fun you have with it, is how you approach playing it. For instance, it takes a little while to get used to the whole thing if you are new to series or even genre. Fortunately, there is an in-depth training mission and the campaign's difficulty is very progressive. This is the first C&C game I have played, and although I have played many other RTS' prior, C&C 3 is very different in terms of gameplay, which needed some getting used to, but it wasn't hard or intimidating. Once you get the hang of it, this game is so much fun. There's nothing more satisfying than leading a flawless assault... makes you feel smart.

On top of that, the visuals are stunning, the universe they have created is inviting and the cut scenes are amazing: HD at it's finest, the whole concept of having real actors works out great, and yes, the writing is a little dodgy but already WAY better than all of the games I've recently played.

Tons of missions in the campaign, and the ability to choose three races in the skirmishes.

The controls are simple and efficient.

I can't really criticize it without seeming nitpicky... so I won't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

EA didn't screw up a CNC game!?

posted by x0XgodX0x (KATY, TX) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's about time EA didn't murder a Command and Conquer game like they did with Generals and RA3. Surprisingly fun and the graphics were substantial. I had barley played any CNC games before Red Alert which roped me in and I must say this is an excellent game! Perhaps there is a God, or EA didn't assign an idiot to design this one? Overall

Fantastic Graphics 10/10

Great Story 9/10

OK music 7/10

Awesome Factions 10/10

Outstanding Gameplay 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ehh, it's ok.

posted by Anaymous (MISSOULA, MT) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I gave it an 8 because I thought that the game was, overall, ok.. but it wasn't worth the amount of time you might spend playing it. The campaign is kinda dumb and repetitive.. and each race has one or two bad-butt guys you need to create as many of you can with all of the upgrades.. and that's it. No defense needed, really, as long as you have some mammoth tanks, fully upgraded, laying around. They'll dominate the ground forces, and take out the aerial forces with little to no work needed. The super weapons are fun, but it's basically impossible to hide them. Even in you use a cloak on them, they will still be visible for at least a brief second by the enemy, and then the enemy will use their super weapon to destroy yours, which basically makes them a major waste of time considering it is one of the only other things you actually work at in the game. So, I gave it an 8 for some fun it gave, though it was far from perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better with a mouse

posted by Kguidry (COTTONPORT, LA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Being an avid RTS fan, I have to admit they did a pretty decent job at attempting to make it controller friendly. It's almost there but they still have a way to go on perfecting this.

Long single player campaign that has a somewhat decent story but what really ruins this game is the online play.

The controls hold you back a lot when trying to Micro manage your units or controlling the camera. This will cause a lot of trouble when trying to use hit and run tactics and focus fire on certain buildings/units.

With a bit more perfection on converting this from Keyboard/Mouse to Controller future titles may have better luck.

Worth a shot if you play the single player but online play leaves you feeling like your not playing to your full skill level due to the controller holding you back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by qbpizza (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game sucks period i liked the demo and so i got it i played the first 8 missions it got so boring and repetitive and there is one mission where it is all most impossible to complete the ninth mission i even looked on the web and found out it was the hardest mission in the whole game and it was at the beginning of the game i got past it played one more level and i just quit and sent it back the controls are OK They do not work very good when you need to do some thing fast and the AI is Crazy they are sometime crazy hard some times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the zooming was the only cool thing

posted by fuego08 (WILMETTE, IL) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i played all command and conquers and this one isnt really that special, like i said earlier the only cool feature they have is the zooming and that there is another side to choose in multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

yesss finally

posted by WSOADE (LANSDALE, PA) May 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Comand and Conquer is a great game series and was on the list of the top 40 game franchises of all time judged by global earnings. i knew this game would be great and i was right. a c&c game on the consoles was due and they beat my expectations. it is actually better then lotr bfme in controls and graphics adn i think entertainment. i havent gotten very far, but ive gotten far enough to say this would be the hottest 360 game for awhile, just forza motorsports 2 is coming out soon. i think this game will bve in m disc drive for a long time and im gonna love every minute of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games you will ever play!

posted by Skeleton (CASTLE ROCK, CO) May 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

C&C3 is extremly fun, fast paced and exciting. Awsome graphics! C&C3 has vedio cameras for online play with your friends! Cool story line with actors in the cut scenes. This Game IS A TAKE HOME. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls are lost in translation

posted by Bedwetta (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say I'm a huge fan of the C&C series. This latest game seems to have done the series justice, I even found the cutscenes to be highly entertaining. The action is fast and furious, and the graphics are beautiful. What brings the 360 version of this game down are the controls. I stopped counting the amount of times I lost a battle because I simply couldn't multi-task and manage the battle all over the map with the controller. I got through most of the GDI campaign before finally calling it quits, I simply couldn't deal with the clunky controls anymore. If your willing to handicap yourself and tune the levels down to easy mode, you can probably fly through and at least enjoy the cutscenes. I wasn't willing to do that, so after about a dozen attempts at one of the final GDI missions I took the disc out and sealed up for shipping. Great game, but this type of game was meant for a mouse and keyboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game, poor interface

posted by araugh (LAUREL, MD) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

On the PC I think this game would be a 8.5 or 9, but on the 360 for me it's a 4. The graphics are good, the storyline is interesting to me, the sides are different but balanced, it's a very good strategy game. I only have two complaints against it, and they're pretty severe.

I hated the interface. I tried and tried to get used to it, but it was too awkward. From unit selection to creation it's all too much of a pain and not worth it. This made the entire game a chore I didn't care to finish.

My other complaint is a lack of randomly created or customizable maps. Larger maps would also be great.

I believe both of these are remedied in the PC version, so I'll have to give that a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just the worst in series

posted by lordsithis (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was most definitely the worst game in all the series. The controls were to simplified and took too long to find what you were originally looking for. There is far too many buttons that go unused in this game making it far too long to master the limited control of the game and very limited and rather illogical troop movement who can be selected as either all of them or 1 of them. Unless of course you are able to master the group creater which does not work at all since the moment you create the group you will try to move it or test to see if the command work and by doing so you have doomed yourself by not only making yourself confused as to who it wont work since every time you take control of the troupe it changes is group number making you very confused but you've just wasted precious time that your relentless enemies who have no command limit and very seemingly limitless resources will come and destroy your base. Unless you have played a RTS on the 360 and were very good at it I do not recommend this game in the farthest stretch of the imagination. If you want to buy this game buy it on the computer it is much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by donnan01 (SAINT PARIS, OH) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is very boring and hard i can't even get past the tutorial. I sent it back the same day it came in the mail. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blemish on the Series

posted by SoftTaco (APO, AE) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that this is for the Xbox 360 version which is all that is pertinent on Gamefly. The control scheme is deplorable. I understand that it is hard to implement a RTS control scheme for a console controller, but if this is the best they could come up with the game should have remained PC only. Other than the controls the game feels rushed, and not I a good exciting way. I can barely take a few actions before an unnecessary cut scene flashes on and takes over the screen. Don’t get me wrong I like to see climatic and some times elaborate cut scenes but not when they are constantly interrupting game play. Lastly where is the tech tree?

Too bad Gamefly doesn’t offer a 0 rating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse