Rent Combat of Giants: Dinosaurs 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Combat of Giants: Dinosaurs 3D

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $8.99

GF Rating
5.5

121 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Should be extinct

posted by HLarge4 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Apr 7, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Combat of Giants: Dinosaurs 3D sets gameplay back as far as the titular reptiles. A mindless series of running down a straight path and fighting fellow dinosaurs, there is little to nothing giving incentive for players to move forward.
The painful story sees the dinosaurs of the past losin there narrated harmony and peace when the four chieftans bite it and made-up dinosaur baddie Arakosaurus (or something like that) steps in and appoints 5 more fictional dinosaurs to replace the 5 chiefs. If that math seems wrong (4chiefs doesn't equal 5) then your not alone. But the story isn't important. Unfortunately, nothing else is either.
From here on you choose between four continents, divided between the four dinosaur types. Predators, Hunters, Defenders, and Chargers. Don't assume that means variety, as each terrible lizard controls the same as the other. You'll customize your beast with diffrent skins such as green stripes and pink flames. Dont get too excited, most of the customizaton is locked.
From there you proceed to play through five stages, killing off three real dinosaurs before going up against the fake lieutenant, who look like they were designed by an artist with a spike fetish. The stages are one long windy hallway with nothing interactive beyond piles of rocks to smash and logs to crush in the hope of collecting bones for unlockable customization options, a skeleton costume, or dinosaur facts. There are five for paths for each stages, and they are repeated on ll four continents to a fault. To be fair the enviornment does look nice, with cliffs showing of scenic vistas, lush jungles and fiery volcanoes. Although the "desert" stage looks shamefully similar to the home of a certain road runner and Wiley Coyote.
Lastly is the combat. Your dinosaurs teleport onto a narrow penninsula through magics I suppose where they face off. And I mean face off, as you stare at each, unable to move except dodging and attacking. Every dino is exactly the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for 20 minutes

posted by captainzhao (BRIGHTON, MA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics actually show off the 3DS's 3D pretty nicely. It uses more layers of depth and perspective than some of the other launch titles. The gameplay, however, is boring and repetitive garbage though. Once more games that utilize depth come out this game will be a one, but for the time being it's a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A step back.

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

Compared to the one on the wii this is a step back for the series. I love the series do not get me wrong, and when i played the wii one i was in love with it because of the gameplay being way more like a fighter. But this? Except for pretty scenery this game is bad..just pure bad. You can literally mash the attack button and side step every other attack, nothing very new or innovative, the reason I am giving this a 2 instead of a 1 is because it is pretty graphics wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

combat of giant: dinosaur 3d

posted by MGB_12 (TACOMA, WA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

it is fun at first but it is boring after the 2end dino

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive

posted by starnight71 (REDLANDS, CA) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game play for this title is simply repetitive. You walk your dinosaur from battle to battle with little else to do. The battles are a process of figuring out the timing and button pattern to push to defeat the other dino. Once the pattern is determined, every dino enemy of the same class are defeated with the same moves. It takes little time to master the patterns. After doing this with one dinosaur champion, its the same pattern for your next dinosaur champion. Needless to say, this got boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Best for ages 10 and under

posted by Avataraang8 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game is very primitive, only 4 buttons are useable throughout the game. To be honest I only like the game because of my fascination with dinosaurs but the game truly is very simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My desire to play went extinct fast.

posted by Legostu64 (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game starts out as really fun and cool. The 3d in it is awesome, really shows great depth and when you turn around and start running at the screen it looks like the dinosaur will jump right out of the screen.

STORY: this is something the game lacks. the extent of story development is only 3 or 4 pictures with captions. I was hoping for an awesome movie clip to explain the whole purpose of the game but no. What the story is is that a dinosaur called the archosaur has takin over the dino world and you have to get one of each group of dinos so you go have your final showdown.

Graphics: im really to good with identifying good graphics but i do thing they were really good, especially for a handheld, and the 3d works great with this game.

Gameplay: it is simple yet fun. you run around each of the five levels with a pretty good variety of dinosaurs collecting bones to unlock fun facts and customization items as well as equipment to up your stats and stuff. The customization was my favorite part. The problem with this was that yellow and orange were only a tint added to the standard green. However this was still a cool feature. The battles were simple, when you first start playing the game with your very first dino it will tell you what the enemies weakness is then you must remember that and use it against them. Dodge the flash red and then do your attacking, thats it. This is all you do and after getting the first four dinos to beat the final boss i was bored with it.

Summary: its great but is repetitive. DO NOT buy unless you REALLY like it, but definitely rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I should have check this with gamefly first!!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

I made a blind purchase from gamestop, and it serves me right that this was LOUSY! My regret is that I should have rented this stupid game first from Gamefly! Had I rented first I would have put it back with in the hour! Yes, I have buyers remorse, but let this be a lesson to you, RENT it FIRST!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must rent!

posted by Monhondew53 (NORMAL, IL) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is fun, but gameplay will become repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »