Rent College Hoops NCAA 2K8 for PS3
view large frontback

College Hoops NCAA 2K8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic

posted by jilla22 (FPO, AE) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game when it first came out and I still get the exact same enjoyment as I did when first purchased (mainly cause there are no more college hoop games out there.) The Legacy mode is the best thing out there just because you have to start at a small school and work your way up. If you love college hoops you must buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by biluey (SURFSIDE BEACH, SC) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is absolutely amazing. a must buy. i can't believe that they don't make the college 2k games anymore. way better than ea sports version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game, But...

posted by BigDuke (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked all of College Hoops, so far. Mostly because of the deep Dynasty mode.

For 2K8 the mode is back and it is deep as before it is still the best Dynasty mode out there of any sports game, being able to recruit throughout a high school player's career, moving up through the smaller schools and getting hired by bigger schools is great. I am surprised other sports games have not followed suit, wouldn't Madden or college football Dynasty modes be much better if you were forced to start at smaller schools or weaker teams (i.e. Dolphins, Arizona) and work your way up.

The graphics and sound were very very good, even down to the moving shorts, though the crowd was still a bit stiff (but very noisy), ala NBA Live '95. It must be hard to put in real life crowds because no game has really mastered that.

The game play was good, but it has the problems of all basketball games as the play can get stagnant, you miss way to many open shots, it is also too hard to make easy shots easy (you can be right next to the rim and he finds a way to miss or get blocked. Also, if you are on the far side baseline you can still hit the back of the backboard even if you are inbounds (a common basketball game glitch)

I am done, all and all it is very good and the best College game going, with that being said 2K9 will probably be the exact same with only minor changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like a fine wine, CH2K8 just gets better with age!

posted by Indigo72 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you are wine taster then the title I made up will hit you right at the sweet spot! This years 2K8 CH is beyond what it use to be. The graphics and gameplay are very much improved on the PS3 and with the addition of Crowd Meter it really gives you that College Hoops feel when you watch a game on TV or if you are at the actual arena. Dynasty Mode is still a big plus with a recruiting system similiar to the NCAA 08 Football. The look mimics the NBA2K8 series alot as well as the gameplay of it as well. I am very much impressed with this years CH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

buggs

posted by bigggfacee (DETROIT, MI) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

this would be a great game if there wasn't so many bug and malfuctions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent recruiting system and career mode

posted by eugene22n (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Usually the reason people play college versions of sports games is for the ability to run a "college franchise". The games dynamics are are based on NBA2K7 which are great so there is no concern there. They are better than the EA alternative.

The recruiting system system is where the game shines and really makes the franchise experience last. The game is fun because it allows you as a coach to progress from a tiny school to your favorite utilizing different strategies along the way. The player gets to weave a great basketball coaching and playing experience along the way.

If you love college basketball this game is definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING!!!!!!!!!!

posted by golfer11 (MASON, OH) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

no fun at all but when your playing against a friend its fun. graphix are good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games I've played

posted by fgrdods (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

When I first turned the game on I wondered if I had gotten a PS 2 game rather than a PS 3 by mistake. The graphics were horrible starting with the menus and continuing through the game play. The game play was only slightly better. I didn't even make it through my first game before it was back in the mailbox. I'm glad I got this game on Game Fly rather than making the mistake of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Been Playin' Basketball games since '87...

posted by BARoby (NOTTINGHAM, MD) May 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Play This Game! This game has the unique ability to make it the kind of game you want it to be. I'll break down the basic pros and cons, but in my opinion, it's among the best I've seen in 20 years (and I'm only 26, but I've been gaming for a minute).

The Pros:
Great realistic play-post play is phenomenal and players move in very fluid manners, regardless of what moves you are trying to execute; not choppy like games of old.

Fully customizable players-control everything about your player, down to the way he releases the ball when he shoots. Create the next NCAA super star, or modify what you have to fit your needs.

Dynamic gameplay-the crowd does come into play when you are pushing to make that comeback...nothing like them going wild when you dunk the ball on two bigs AND get the foul.

Fun coaching options-start at a small school and work your way into the power divisions, or just choose whatever team you want from the get go. customize your coach from his look to his book, and have a ball inspecting new coaching offers at the end of the season, with the goal of obtaining a lifetime contract.

The cons:
Uniform gliches-just so you know, there will be times when you show more thigh than you really want to.

Game difficulty-there is none (for me, a 20 point game is the benchmark for close)

Coaching Career-I chose to focus on a coaching career-start small and earn my way into the school of my choice. Doesn't quite work that way. You can only get a contract to teams that are hiring (i'm on year 8 or 9 and haven't been able to find an opening at either Saint louis U or Mizzou as of yet) which leaves no guarantee that you will go where you want in a reasonable time. However, I started with Howard, won 5 straight titles was offered a Coaching Position at Duke.

Confusion-what should be a block ends up being a rebound-frustrating at times for stat keeping.

Other in game features make this one a winner; don't starve yourself any longer!! PLAY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too many things to concern yourself with

posted by MrRobert (MIDDLE ISLAND, NY) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

way too many things to control. this game should have been simplified

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but not much changed since last year....

posted by Scott2hot (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was really expecting big things from this game, but unfortunately it was mildly disappointing. It still has the hard to navigate menus (you have to push the right analog stick to the left to bring up the main menu options.....yuck!). Playability wise it felt almost exactly the same as last year's version, with a few minor tweaks. Everyone was all hyped up about the new crowd interaction, but I really didn't notice that much of a difference with my surround sound cranked up even.

I give it a 6 only because it is fun and the CPU AI is very competitive. The player models REALLY need work, they still look like they came straight off the PS2 IMO.

Bottom Line: Don't rent it unless you absolutely have to play NCAA College BBall before this October when the new version comes out (and hopefully is an improvement over this one). But if you get that craving to play some College Hoops, definitely take this one over March Madness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

...eeehhh

posted by lycaeus (TULSA, OK) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

graphics are good and gameplay is smoth other than that just a regular ol' b-ball game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good but needs some more pizzaz

posted by AILDfreak (RIO RANCHO, NM) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

It seems that the college basketball games seem to have been getting a bit overlooked the past few years. The March Madness and 2k games have been very dissapointing. But the new installment of college hoops acually didnt dissapoint me. The graphics are halfway descent and a good amount of thought was put into the crowd with the 3d fans and student section. The shots and passes look very good and so do the blocks. The legacy game mode is very realistic. It features a very good recruiting feature and the experiance of starting at a small college and working up to a powerhouse college. The most satisfying College BBall game yet but it does have a few flaws. For example it can be somwhat glitchy with the uniforms and there arent many player celebrations and cutscenes. You also cannot take your created team into legacy mode which is upseting. It has the basics but it fails to go above and beyond so it gets a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

College Hoops 2K8 is a solid college ball game

posted by LukasD37 (JANESVILLE, WI) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is for sure better than March Madness 08. The main aspect that makes this game great, is "career legacy" mode. This allows you to create a coach and lets you pick from a select number of terrible basketball teams and then coach this team and try to get better jobs. Recruiting needs a little work, but the gameplay is very good. However, one thing about the gameplay that needs work, is offensive moves and better control over your players. Thats all I got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good ideas no go on controls

posted by Sbranz14 (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

I like the Legacy mode where you start out as a small school team and work your way up.

I dont like the controls for the players. I thought it was hard to flow from defense to offense and shooting wasn't easy either. Plust whats up with the foul shooting?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Dynasty Thoughts

posted by Husker2008 (Lincoln, NE) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The dynasty mode is big. You get to recruit players and start off at a small school and try to build up in ranks by coaching better teams. I feel that It was way to hard to coach a good team for a long time even if the team you coached made it to the sweet sixteen. Best team I could work up to was coaching the Northwestern Wildcats. Fun game though but didn't get to play it online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »