Rent College Hoops NCAA 2K8 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

College Hoops NCAA 2K8

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
7.2

1197 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was always an EA Sports fan growing up, as most were...but 2K is clearly superior now for anyone over 10 years old (as in, out of the arcadish stuff). This game isn't quite as real as NBA 2K8, it still looks a little cartoonish by comparison. But overall, its the best college basketball game to date. With the lesser schools (I haven't played with any big boys yet), getting defensive rebounds is a chore. The computer gulps up offensive rebounds at will. Adjusting the sliders did me no good. The computer can also can shoot a ridiculous percentage, especially from downtown, so that is another slider adjustment I had to make.
I was pleasantly suprised at the preseason, weekly and tournement selection shows. After a few seasons you start to see the repitition in them, but they did a very nice job with them none the less.
I love the adjustments you can make to the players shooting style. Its the same in NBA 2K8, but is a nice advancement. I hope the football games take note, and allow adjustments to the throwing motion, runningbacks style, etc (maybe they have?).
I like this game and might buy it instead of sending it back. I wish they would have personalized the pre-game run from the locker room. Even if it wasn't the true teams lockerroom, they could have varied it by school size or something. Another improvement I'd like to see is being able to build a new arena (maybe already in and I just haven't gotten to it yet?). Occasionally a college team goes from nobodies to powerhouses in real life and builds bigger and better facilities, which is what many of us like to do in video games, but I don't want to be playing in a 1,200 seat arena with the #1 team in the nation. Heck, mesh it with NBA 2K8 and give me the option to play my Boston University games at the Celtics home court.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by TheClarks (PURVIS, MS) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm kind of ashamed to admit this, being such a big basketball fan, but this is the first next gen basketball game that I've played...and it's totally blown me away. I'm amazed how real it feels, how great it looks and how competitive it is (even on the easy setting) Don't expect to walk into Cameron Indoor with a no name squad and walking out with your dignity. This is the standard that all sports games should try to reach. Great game, had a hard time puting the controller down long enough to type this review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow what a game babyyyy.

posted by miguel1885 (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply the best college Baseketball game ever. The graphics are amazing. Animation is top notch. Environment was insane. Felt like i was playing at an actual game. Only gripe i had for this game game was that the faces models were very ugly which is why instead of me rated it a 10 i had to lower it to a 9. I loved this game so much i kept it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow

posted by XBox36007 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very impressive. The legacy is the best. Havent played a bball game like this in a really long time. Rent it its awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

College Hoops 2K8

posted by deftone7w (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like the NBA 2K8 you will enjoy this as well. The graphics aren't as crisp or detailed as the NBA version, but the gameplay is right on. My eight rating is purely for the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid basketball game

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

2K has made some pretty good basketball games over the past few years. College hoops NCAA 2K8 is the best college ball game out on any system. But, like many sports games out there, this is very similar to last year's game (and the year before that)

Improvements: More animations, the crowd is the best it's ever been (still fake looking) and the "All American Challenge" is the best improvement in a long time.

I'd whole-heartedly recommend this to basketball fans, especially hoop-heads in college right now. You can have a couple of friends over for a tourney and play all night. On-line play is good, if that's how you roll.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best College Hoops Game in the entire Series!!!

posted by Indigo72 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I started playing this game once I first got it and if you want to know how much I enjoy playing it I will summarize for you: On my second dynasty mode already, Pulling my hair out in the new All-American Challenge but still playing, been online playing ranked matches till about 4am knowing I have to work at 7am!!!
If that isn't enough reason for you than I don't know what is. This has to be by far the best College Hoops in the series (i know i know. It is next gen compared to the original XBOX version). The graphics are amazing and I mean amazing. The crowd animations mixed with the player animations just makes the entire experience worth while. I can't even begin to explain to you how hyped up I was when I went to Cameron Indoor Arena with the Blue Devils up by 15 in the second half with 8 mins left on MOP mode and how I made the greatest comeback by shutting that entire place up with my buzzer beater. Yea, I know I should be hyped up with the crowd on my side and me winning if I was Duke, but the crowd reaction meter really does effect the game just like in real life. It seemed like my team couldn't make a shot, keep missing lay-ups (yea that BS is back) and just turning it over. My attributes for my players really went down and Duke's went up. But when I started making stops, and converting 3's and pulling down broads and that crowd got quiet and started to boo and my attributes jumped up. It felt like I was the underdog in the big house biting the guard in the back. Trust me, when you play and when you experience what I am telling you: YOU WILL KNOW!!!
The Dynasty mode is back and deeper than ever. I tired pulling the number one recruit who was dead pressed in going to USC and when I played them and beat them by 12 guess who's interest in my program suddenly changed???
I won't keep filling this balloon up with anymore of my air. Not because it will blow up, but because I don't wanna pass out trying to fill it up. Hands down...go get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Thoughts...

posted by Azraelrs (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is probably the best College Hoops game out right now. 2K Sports excels at basketball games and this game is no exception. Easy to learn and pick up. Sticks with you for a while. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Basketball Simulator

posted by Orion328 (EL CAJON, CA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The 2K Series will be sadly missed if it gets absorbed by EA Sports, but regardless, College Hoops 2K8 is a fantastic simulator. The career legacy will keep you play for a weeks, if not months, if you plan to make it to coaching for a UNC or Duke team. I have coached through 10 years and am at Maryland, so not too bad, but still has girth to the content.

The All-American training will refine skills of the game and allow people to understand that concept of shooting, post moves, and playing defense.

The only downside to the game is the foul calling. It is virtually impossible to draw a charge (someone coming straight at you from the 3-point line is about the minimum for drawing a charge) and the reach fouls are a little bit unreal. Also, the inbounding mechanics are a little out of wack, causing a few too many turnovers for my liking.

All in all, I give the game a 9 because it is a stellar game that will keep even the casual basketball gamer going for weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must buy for hoops fans!

posted by miamifan3 (MIAMI LAKES, FL) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NCAA College Hoops 2k8 is the best college basketball game on the market. This year's game is not only vastly improved from last year but it is head and shoulders above March Madness which I found to be unplayable. The few flaws in this game and the 2k franchise overall are frequent inside misses and shaky post play which I hope to finally see resolved in 2k9. The visuals although not as stunning as the NBA version are passable as the players resemble their counterparts as opposed to March madness' use of set player models. Although the feature that set the game apart for me was the 2k file share which is a must for all Xbox live users which allows you to download real names for every player as well as share highlights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still The Best Basketball Game Title

posted by getyo1226 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game can still not be beat by any other b-ball game out there. Graphics are still excellent, game play and controls are almost exactly the same as last years with a couple of added features like the career mode now has in-season training, ABL leagues, and the new maximum passing which allows you to do all different kinds of passes. The game hasn't needed to change much since nothing was ever really wrong with it. keep it up 2k.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ACustomer (JACKSON, MS) Nov 21, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks, the new recruiting system is sweet, the new deeper legacy mode is sweet, and the new 2k file sharing is even more sweet. The online play is just fantastic! Everybody who loves college basketball should buy this game!! 10 out of 10 for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most fun I ever had with a sports game

posted by LuHurt (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Buy this title CH2k9 will not be released next year and EA sport's game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Confusing

posted by rcergo (BOULDER, CO) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had fun with NBA 2k8 so I decided to rent this game also. I played it once and then returned it. With sports games, I pretty much just like to play, not do all of that BS like ticket prices and tv contracts. But I do like to manage my team, make trades, recruit, and stuff along those lines. When I entered the dynasty mode or whatever it was called, I was baffled. It was the most confusing thing ever and really irritating. When I got to the game it was worse. It seemed a lot different than NBA 2k8 and was pretty bad. If you had to choose between two games get NBA nor NCAA. Believe me, I hardly ever say that with sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game ever!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by duke18 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I have ever played. It was impossible to navigate, it was awful. DO NOT BUY OR RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

How do you play as 79, 88, 2007 teams?

posted by Safe2Say (OAKLEY, CA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

How do you play as those teams? These acheivements are confusing. I search everything I could and found nothing. Can you help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

typical 360

posted by sooners8 (JONESVILLE, VA) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

As usual with the xbox 360 the graphics are good but horrible game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ea sports killed college basketball games for now

posted by ill937 (FAIRBORN, OH) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Listen i played live up to 2008 i would always download demos and that year i downloaded nba 2k and nba live and it was clear 2k had basketball on lock the gameplay is so much better more real i can't wait for 2k11 but as far as college hoops 2k8 if it could have evolved with 2k where it is now man i would need it this game is a blast from the past its like 2k8 gameplay with 2k7 graphics funny enough its still better than ncaa basketball 2010 but ea sports got a monopoly on college sports just like NFL so i guess i just won't be playing college basketball for a while but if i do it will be 2k sports
p.s. who wouldn't want a team up on college hoops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER

posted by syrkid777 (CICERO, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I have played this game a lot and ive read all of the other reviews. The only thing wrong about it is that there is no 2k9. Navigating is confusing but you will get it 2 days. The shotting stick is the best thing ever. Getting by people isnt easy but alls you have to do is double tap B. NCAA basketball sucks so this is a must buy game. If you play this game you know me as cns7baseball who by the way won 250,000 in the pontiac tournament. BBBBUUUUUYYYYY THIS!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay

posted by OUpride21 (ALTON, NH) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

good game but nowhere as good as NCAA 09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game is OK but not great

posted by ballenn09 (NORWALK, CA) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

collage hoop's 2k8 is not all nice.i whish they would give this game more features after 3or4 hours on it it gets boring.i do like the all american challenge they have. they should put 24/7 mode on it, this will make them 1up march madness. they should just let u jump in and start a dyanasty.overall i give this 6 out of 10. i declare a tie this year. 2k just could not get over the hump.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good College Basketball Game

posted by Boricua954 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I like this game but I prefer NBA 2k8 if your looking for a great basketball experience like no other. But if you like college basketball then pick this one up. It is better than the NCAA March Madness series and the crowds go crazy. Thats the best part of this game is hearing the crowd scream and chant for your team.
Overall I give this game a 7.5/10 because even tho its not great, its still the best college basketball game out there. Thank you for checking out my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by gdiaz2087 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The game is a lot of fun to play and has very realistic scenario, however, when I play I feel very limited to what I can do. I feel as if the majority of the college basketball games eem to have this rpoblem also. Other than that it is a fun game and you should at least check it out and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

overrated

posted by kentstate (STREETSBORO, OH) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game is not that good. I don't understand why people like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WEAK!!!

posted by Bowl2Win (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Personally speaking and granted I'm a very casual College Hoops Fan and Player but 2k8 to me feels like a repackage or 2k7.

The commentary is a little better, the menu presentation is sharper and easier in 2k8 but the game itself.....just feels like more of the same. I understand from year to year that sometimes it's only the tweaks that need done because 2k7 was excellent. My only hope is when 2k9 comes out they have some nice new stuff in store for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »