Rent College Hoops 2K6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

College Hoops 2K6

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
5.8

1546 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OK

posted by rrainge (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The game was much more than I expected since I am an EA fan. The real b-ball game play was very impressive. The only thing I would say was a downfall about this game 2k still has not perfected the user shoot system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The best college game

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game has alot of great features. first off it has smooth and esy gameplay. you can pick it up and go no learning curve needed. seconly it has a ton of features like coach and manager modes, and create your own school. Overall the graphics are not that impressive but are clean and smooth. it is a ported XBOX 1 game. I has lots of replay value and well worth a rent.
the achievemnets are very easy as well i got 3 of 5 in 1 1/2 quarter quick game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

College Hoops 2k6 2ksux!

posted by Mikefat (TINLEY PARK, IL) May 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

18 out of 33 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Simple plan for this game. Rent, get the 850 easy achievement points in 1 game, then send it back. There is no reason to keep it longer than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quick, Easy 1000 XBL Gamersore Points

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

XBL Gamer Tag: snakel337

First of all I’m not a big Basketball fan but this game is defintily an improvement from NBA’s game(Live 06). In this ‘review’, I am not going to give an opinion of the game other than what I just said, however, I will let you know how to earn 1000 points in 40 minutes or less.

First of all it’s important that you know this game has a stat altering function in that you can make your team perfect. Some people have reported when they altered the stats they do not get the achievements…I found out that if you alter it WHILE playing then you don’t get it. However, if you alter BEFORE you go into the game you’ll get all the points. Having said that, go into Options and get to work. To make it real simple set the HOME team to perfect. (just move it all the way to the right). Press RB(the top R button), then go into the Advance Defense and Offence Maneuvers. Once you get in there and looking at the achievements you should be able to figure out what to increase.(Blocking, Stealing). The next step is to set the other team. Go into the Away setting and change all their stuff all the way down except the “Mid Shot Tendancy”, and the other one that makes them shoot from the inside(this makes every person in the other team shoot for only 2 points therefore making it easier on you to block their shots).

After your done setting up the Stat Altering go into the Gameplay option and set it to simulation, put it at a 20 min Half, and turn down foul tendancies. You can also make it easier if you like and turn off fatigue etc.

Now just go into the Quick Game option from the main Menu, pick your team(set to home), and pick any team to go against(away). You’ll see that your team almost makes every shot they take(even from half court). However they might not do good in blocking, so set your defense at the highest level, and set the play where your team focus’s on inside defense. Using the settings above in one game or so you'll be done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

worth renting not buying

posted by buttbutt98 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Compared to nba 2k6 this is just another clone.The graphics might look good but the gameplay ISN'T.Unlike the other games for the original xbox this one has very little to do. infact the best thing you can do is a tie between air hockey in the student lounge and the pontiac tourntament.There is no dynasty or rivalry games in this one in fact just rent it don't buy it, believe me i bought it ,and i wish i had rented it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SUCKS!!!

posted by babyraylew (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS IT'S LIKE A REMAKE OF 2K6 THE NBA VERSION. THIS GAME SHOULD BE LOCKED IN A CLOSET AND BEAT UNTIL IT'S IN PIECES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

easy 1k gs

posted by lordcleavage (MIDWAY PARK, NC) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

If your looking for a 1k gs boost in under half an hour of play time, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty fun

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Not as good as NBA 2k6 but still lot of fun to play,plus easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

College Hoops 2k6

posted by Renown_Recon (ROBINSONVILLE, MS) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The game is pretty much a gamerscore booster. If your looking to be wow'd by awesome gameplay or graphics then 2K6 isn't your game (obviously).

The game really shows it's age now days, but the achievements are great. You can gain just about every achievement in one 40min sitting. If you have two controllers you can cut this down to 20mins or less.

Be sure to look up some game guides on how to set up your settings as this will be crucial for your achievements. Also note that you may want to get these achievements offline.

(Why?) Well there is a small technical problem that can occur while playing on Xbox Live. If you play on Xbox Live be sure you do not get disconnected while playing your game. If you do then you will receive a message at the end of the game stating that your Achievements have not been earned because you "Switched Gamer Profiles".

So to protect your achievements I suggest simply playing the game offline.

Overall any 2K6 game is a good choice to boost up that gamerscore, and College Hoops is no exception.

Enjoy!

~Renown Recon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy achievments!

posted by Travis9342 (ATASCADERO, CA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

The game is god awful

but if you want easy achievments .... go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you need points, definately worth getting.

posted by ShazamFTW (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you are looking for achievements, this game is a 100% rent (which is good, because you're reading this on GameFly). It takes 1 game of 12 minute halves to blow out the full 1k of achievements.

However, if you're wanting an actual basketball game, I would run away as fast as you can. This game is REAL ugly looking, and you could do a lot better. This would pass as an OK game graphics-wise on a PS2.

So, achievement gatherers, get this now (for that matter the whole 2k6 series of games), anyone else should avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Super EASY

posted by wait4pop (DALLAS, TX) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

had a day off from work.destroyed this game in under 3 hours.had time to drink a be%r as i watched the clock run out! VERY EASY 1000 POINTS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Old Game = Easy Points

posted by TheGags (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Grab two controllers for about 1-2 hours and earn an easy 1000 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's great for Gamerscore boosting

posted by DrPepper23 (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

The game itself is really just average in every way. There are basketball titles from the last generation that are better than this.

However, the game only has 5 Achievements, with only 1 of them being at all difficult, which is "Get 6 Blocks With Any Player" since the blocking system in this game is garbage.

Just an okay game, nothing special. If you're gonna rent a basketball for fun, and not Achievements, don't rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Achievement

posted by Mosizzy (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

The ONLY reason i give this game a 10/10 is due to the easy 1000/1000 gamerscore that can easily be attained in about an hour or less of gameplay. If your struggling you can just adjust the sliders and make the other teams stats very low. Other than that, pretty bad graphics because its a 2K6 game and rather boring. Get it if your an achievement guy, like me :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Job, Take Two.

posted by Pikachu (MORRILTON, AR) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

This game was pretty good, considering the fact that I only played one game.
Pros:
smooth gameplay-no stuttering or glitches during the game
Cons:
no actual players names-(at least some, because Florida doesn't have Joakim Noah or Corey Brewer)

I used Michigan State and did well, only losing to Florida by 8-10. Soooooo, it was pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Past its prime . . .

posted by TheItis (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

let's be honest, the only reason someone would even look at this game now is for the quick easy acheesements. Personally, I got them all in about 45 minutes playing one game. Not something I would have bought or even rented otherwise. Gameplay . . . not awful, but not spectacular either. Animations seem dated. Voiceovers are repetitive. Even the interface seems very last-gen, which is completely understandable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Achievement hunters dream....

posted by GoodAtMath (WILMINGTON, DE) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Game - A decent launch title that is a solid hoops game. If you are looking for a great hoops game, though, theres no reason not to skip this one and move on to 2k7.

Achievements - One of the easiest games out there. If you play your cards right, you can get all 1k/1k in one game with full 20 min halfs. 1-2 hours for all 1000 points, can't argue with that, can you?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game problem

posted by buddha13 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

college hoops 2k6 did not work for me. i was hoping to play the game but every time i tried to play a quick game it would say that the disk had an error or froze my xbox. i tried to clean the disk but nothing worked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, for a basketball game

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This game has good graphics and is fun for a short time. As with all basketball games for me, it doesn't take long for it to get a little boring. Having said that, this game was fun to play. I would recommend for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay

posted by aramis (YORK SPRINGS, PA) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

rather boring after 3 houres.
good for achievments.
kinda glitchy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not great

posted by crooklyn (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

If you happen to be one of those crazed basketball sports fans that can't just survive by watching professiaonl basketball alone then this is the game for you. There are so many colleges represented in this game you can spend literally hours just trying to find a school to root for, which is a good thing. the controls are tight and really make you feel as if your down there on the court rooting for your college's best player as he runs down the lane going for a slam dunk at the end of the buzzer.

One of the downfall is the graphics in the game but it is easily by pass once you get online to play with your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre At Best

posted by JStayton (MARTINEZ, CA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

As far as basketball games go, this one was decent. However, it is hard to play through more than a couple of games since the achievements are so easy to obtain. I personally got all of them in the first game. This severely restricts the game's replay value. What's more, the game is not that difficult and, as with all college games, you do not have the actual names of the players on the screen. If that doesn't bother you, then the game will suffice, but with a newer basketball game already out there is little reason to rent this one. The only reason why anyone would rent it would be to get the 1000 achievement points, and trust me, they are VERY easy to get. This game would have scored below average if it weren't for the gamertag score. I felt that even though the game wasn't that great, the rental was worth my 45 minutes of time just to get 1000/1000.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth Getting At Any Price

posted by BondsJuice (DAVENPORT, IA) Jan 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Like the title says.. This game is worth getting at any price, but the deal that you can get here from gamefly makes this a MUST have.

Youll never get a game this good for under $10. Its a fact, the Gfx on this game are great, the game play is FUN FUN FUN, and the depth might even be too much if theres such a thing.

If your like me and dont really follow college baskeball but enjoy baskeball games, then this is a good game to have.

Over all I would recomend this game highly for any one looking for a great find in the bargain bin of game fly.

I would give this a 9 (Of 10)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was OK

posted by Burned (MIAMI, FL) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

Well to really like this game u have to into basketball games its not a good game to pick if u just started to play basketball videogames.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse