Rent Cold Fear for PS2
view large frontback

Cold Fear

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.8

429 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Under rated

posted by MasterGuru (BROWNSBURG, IN) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't believe that this game got the credit that it deserves. Granted there are far better games out there, especially today, such as Resident Evil 4.

But if you are a fan of survival horror games such as the Resident Evil series and are just looking for a fun play this game is worth picking up.

This game does have its moments were I was too scared to walk into a room because I knew one of the corpses would most likely get up and start coming after me. This does feel a bit like a Resident Evil knock-off, but it takes place in the ocean, which can get annoying at times when you are outside and the ground you are standing on sways from side to side. The "zombies" are a little more intimdating than the ones fro the first resident evil's but not quite as intelligent as the ones from resident evil 4. They are enough to keep you on your toes though. There is a decent selection of weapons available, but I favored the pistol throughout all but the most difficult parts of the game. The story is decent, the graphics aren't bad, and the voice acting is better than most. The game has its moments, and I did find it enjoyable, but it still has some room for improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game bad advertisement

posted by eternal (RED BLUFF, CA) May 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok yes this game is a resident evil knockoff, but it has alot that resident evil 4 does not. such as the swingin crates the pipelines that shoot fire if shot at, and the oil barrels. the one thing that i thought was really great was that unlike resident evil 4 they didn't leave out the flame thrower (which was one of the funnest guns in the survival horror genre) this game may not be name brand may not be resident evil but if your are looking for a good survival horror game pick this one up it may actually surprise you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review on Cold Fear

posted by vlad34 (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ahh,survival horror.A great video game genre.Trust me if I am Legened had a video game this would be waaaaaaaay better.This game has an intresting storyline,stunning graphics,and gruesome enemies.The game is very challenging,but fun.The only promblem I have with it is that you have to venture back fourth to the same areas over and over again.Other that the game is pretty solid,but not as solid as Resident Evil.A 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AT LEAST AS GOOD AS RE4

posted by JASPER (FAIRFAX, CA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a solid survival game, with a unique environment(s). I like the setting a lot and the GAMEPLAY, CONTROLS AND AUDIO are all great. Not too tough though, I finished on hard with ammo and health to spare. However, this game should have done better than it did(?). I am writing this review hoping some people will check it out and see that it pretty decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE IT

posted by richardw (WINDSOR, VA) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

IT IS A WONDERFUL GAME SO FAR THE GAMES I PLAYED FROM YOU'ALL IS FUN KEEP DOING IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This games Resident evil on a ship

posted by Rixoli (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

This games rubbish in my eyes, its resident evil with zombies which HAVE to have their head's severed along with creatures you'd expect out of a H.P. Lovecraft novel, only all you get is a pistol and MAYBE some close quarter weapon (this is at the beginning mind you, i wasn't playing much longer than 15 minutes ) they get a 12 case of Insta-Destruction at close range...on a enclosed quarters ship.....greaaaatt. The game has lots of potential but it falls short as soon as the baddies start crawling out of the woodwork and the ships rocking constantly so if your a twitchier gamer than i am ( in this case, stay away from the game to begin with as you may end up jumping at every little sound ) aiming for that little melon on their shoulders can be a PAIN when you have to aim for it nearly every time if you want them to stay down for good (Though granted you get 8 seconds or so of peace if you put enough bullets in their torso before they get back up, i couldn't find a way short of removing their heads to stop them from getting back up ) if your just looking to kill a little time, I'd say at least try it to say you hate it of your own opinion but eh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wannabe

posted by NUGGaNOOCh (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jul 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

this is just the same old stupid resident evil type of plot. Where its you and only you that can rescue a bunch of dee dee dee's from zombies.dumb.if your into this type of game just get Resident Evil itself or Silent Hill.if you rent it, you are a dee dee dee yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »