Rent Cold Fear for Xbox
view large frontback

Cold Fear

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
5.3

714 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Survival Horror

posted by STRAT0CAST (LIVERMORE, CA) May 31, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a great survival horror, not as great as say Resident Evil, but its still a good game, pretty much the same dynamics but with a few changes. I would strongly reccomend someone with a next gen, or last gen Xbox to rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not get the game.

posted by cameron77 (FRISCO, TX) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is very bad and is a cheap imitation of other games this is not good at all don't waste your money. If you like wierd confusing imitateing games this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slooowwww

posted by barbeau (FORT WORTH, TX) May 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is just that. Slow. Slightly boring.
pretty much a scare fest, but only if you are patient enough to get there.
A suprisingly weak showing by UbiSoft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best, but some nice unique elements

posted by DaffyFan (MOBILE, AL) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Yeah yeah, it's just another Resident Evil clone, blah blah blah. That's not the point. While there are MANY RE clones available to the gaming public, this one brings something different to the table. I loved that I could look down my sights and still be able to move around, and having to deal with the motion of an angry sea made it just challenging enough for me. It caught my interest because you play a Coast Guard officer responding to a search and rescue instead of some elite counterterrorist task force etc., but of course once you get into the story he's just another guy with a nifty assortment of guns and a complete inability to kick a darn door open.
Yes, it's RE on a boat (at least at first). But it's an effective diversion and a nice bargain bin find if you happen to spot it somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Survival Horror

posted by OKRecords (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Cold Fear is proof that Capcom (Resident Evil) isn't the only company that can make a great survival horror game. The story is erie, and the gameplay is great.

Cold Fear is the Resident Evil Xbox owners couldn't have. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cold Fear

posted by gamemonste (PASADENA, MD) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

Cold Fear is a very good game. It say's that it got a 5.2 out of 10. That means it is a 52%. But the game is very good. If you have ever played the game Fear and you liked it then you will like this. Now the game does not have Rag Dolls. Nor are the Graphics the best in the world. But the gameplay is what matters. If you like the kind of game were things just jump out at you then you will like this one. You might be walking and a guy with out a head or arm or even everything on his body gone fall right out in front of you. But i will sat that the game can be very hard at points. What i mean is you could be attacked by a alien and you have to worrie about falling of the edge of the ship. But in the end it's a fun Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Your time is better spent elsewhere...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

I should admit up front that survival/horror is not really my favorite genre and this game epitomizes why that is the case. Don't get me wrong, the setting looked to be fine and the graphics were ok given the age of the game and the system. However the controls/camera views were clunky and the basic interaction with the game was confusing. You seem to spend a lot of time wandering around waiting for disk loads looking for that one particular area in a room that has the "activate" button enabled or trying to figure out what can/should shoot. If I had played it longer I might have changed my mind, but it didn't grab my attention and was already starting to get boring after the first hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

remake?

posted by airfocre1 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is a remake of the Sega game Resident Evil it plays just like it. It's hard to get the hang of the controller and has no real up down manuever unless you have it in aim mode, all in all it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »