Rent Coded Arms for PSP Games
view large frontback

Coded Arms

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

982 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by Bryant008 (EL CAJON, CA) Dec 22, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rented this game and i got it last night and since then i can't take my eyes of my psp. It took me awhile to get use to the controls. its now one of my favorite games.

It has awesome guns and levels, but it does lack health packs another down side of this game is it gives u ammo for guns that u barely use like the sniper and the laser but i would recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice game i rot atv nice

posted by ATVCOOL (CLOVIS, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my favorite psp game. it takes a lot of effort to unlock strong weapons in this game.you can search levels for hours looking for the exit. i love this game. i love the vulcan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as I expected.

posted by Plasma (Little Silver, NJ) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game good but it got repetitive after the first area. The game is unique with an extensive weapons list. What the game lacks is health packs. I went through 3 levels without seeing 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not that bad a game

posted by DaMoose (MIDLAND, TX) May 7, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, so this FPS isnt Halo or Farcry. But for what it is, its a good game. Graphics for the PSP on this game is really good. The way the game is done is very interesting as well. You can swap out any weapons you have at anytime because they are "plug_ins" or something like that. The controls are what takes some getting used to. I use control type C, which is the right 4 buttons are for moving and the joystick for looking. Good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Coded Arms was a bit disappointing

posted by wedge1620 (MANITOWOC, WI) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought this game with high hopes. I was hoping for a great game and the PSP first FPS. Well, I was wrong. I never got used to the control scheme and the graphics were very dark and hard to see what was going on. I put about 2 hours into the game and gave up.

If you can stand the controls and really want a FPS for your PSP, it is not a bad game. But if you are looking for something that reacts like a normal FPS, look for something else...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prepare for Legal Hacking!!

posted by DeltaMarine88 (BELTSVILLE, MD) May 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

OK, let me just say that this is a truly unique FPS experience. I honestly think Konami put their heart into this game.

Presentation:
This game may not look visually stunning, but this is do to the capabilities of the PSP. It might actually surprise you that, even though it might look bad, it is really fun and addicting.

Gameplay:
This play the same as any other FPS.....sort of. It might take some getting used to the face buttons as the camera controls, but their is a handy controls screen.

The Verdict:
Overall, this is a fun, different kind of FPS. At the end of the game, you unlock Infinity, an endless level. Yes, I said ENDLESS.
If you like FPS games play this.

Presentation
10

Graphics
8

Sound
6

Gameplay

9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

game coded arms

posted by 4132 (GASTON, OR) May 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

good game but guns need work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was good

posted by kcordisco (JAMISON, PA) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

sure my life was going smoothly until i found out tht it wass stolen along my the psp and some of the games i managed to restock some of them but i don't know wat to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good game

posted by random3905 (CORONA, CA) May 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

the lock on almost never works but its pretty fun anyway. i have not played any online, however so dont trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

CODED ARMS

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

I had played but not beat the game CODED ARMS. POSITIVE: the weapons are ok. You can find upgrades at certain levels. This game also includes multiplayer. NEGATIVE: the graphics are not that good. The levels can get a little confusing at times. This game is ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Think tron, time splitters, and call of duty mixed

posted by Joker3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Coded arms is tron meets war. it has good graphics and fun gameplay. The controls can be difficult at times but they have 4 versions for controls so you will find one that suits you.So if your looking for a game to pass the time with good gameplay fun missions and good graphics this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really, the only good PSP game.

posted by Falcon4 (FRESNO, CA) Aug 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

So I got to borrow a friend's PSP and games. In his collection was Coded Arms. That PSP never got much usage, because all the other games seriously sucked. Coded Arms was the only game I could really get into and, well, for the most part, enjoy. Sometimes I was barely able to contain my rage at the game (eh, if by barely, I mean, just barely NOT snapping the PSP in half), but for the most part it's a great game.

Its controls are ridiculously easy to learn once you switch to a more usable scheme - the one that puts the "two" digital pads as direction, and the analog stick for selection/reload/zoom. That analog stick is worthless for a FPS since it provides no depth-to-position feedback. After you master the controls, learn to save. Save a lot. Save at the beginning of every level, or more for long levels. Learn to use the map screen to find areas you haven't explored, and the map. It keeps me fully entertained for hours.

The downsides are few. Randomly generated maps are gimmicky and remove any sense of map layout, leaving you often desperately searching for "HEALTH PLZ". All-same-icon ammo pops up for guns you never use, and you don't know you can't pick it up until you do, and it tells you that you can't use it. And possibly the biggest annoyance is that all enemies in a room see you simultaneously, so the only strategy is "KILL EVERYTHING IN ORDER FROM MOST PAINFUL TO LEAST". Sometimes enemies have weapons (like the flamethrower) that are far more powerful than the armor you've acquired to that point, and 2 seconds in front of them will go from full health to dead. Things that just make you rage.

But it'll keep you busy, that's for sure!

(Seriously, Gamefly, why the heck is an asterisk or underscore called "problematic language"?! It's called EMPHASIS!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by youface9 (KRUM, TX) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

First off I must tell you that this game is a little hard to get used to at first. The reason being is that the aiming controls are just a little shaky without a second analogue stick.

Besides the slight aiming disability, this game is great fun, it is definitely worth renting, and probably with a low price tag is definitely worth buying. The reason for this is that the game lasts incredibly long, there is alot of fun to be had (messing around or just trying to kill stuff with different guns and such).

This game is also among the best fps' on the PSP.

Get this because- its cheap, lots of guns, almost never ends, very good for a fast paced fps on the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fair to Lousy

posted by vtsquirm (HARRISONBURG, VA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since May 2005

i rented this game for about 2 days. Controls are very weak, you run into the same enemies over and over again. I like that its a 1st person shooter, but other than that, not much else. This really seems like they were in a big hurry to put a shooter on this platform without addressing the "fun factor".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not A Good Start?

posted by Chargerboy (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

By far one of the worst FPS on the PSP. The game had some pretty decent guns, once you put the time in to unlock them. The environments where a bit close quarts, and had a tendency to suck everything in, making it hard to spot and aim for monsters. The boss fights where challenging and fun, but a poor showing for the PSP's first shooter overall. If you enjoyed this, you might want to cheak out Dead to Rights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Coded Arms

posted by alagesia (SURPRISE, AZ) Oct 2, 2006

Member since May 2005

Coded Arma is a good game.The only problem is the game is repetitive.All you do is run around and shoot guys nothing else.Plus why won't people go online!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »