Rent Code of Princess for 3DS
view large frontback

Code of Princess

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

217 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun and addicting RPG

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great action, hilarious dialogue, addicting gameplay. This is a true hidden gem. Don't be fooled by the title or the cover, this game is one of those games that people don't expect to be good but turns out to be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't worry! It's not what you think!

posted by herpofool (WHITEFISH, MT) Nov 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The cover and title are terrible marketing ploys, I'll admit it. Nobody would want to control a princess; but I have to be clear here, 'Code of Princess' is a GOOD game, enjoyable by both genders and multiple ages.
One shouldn't weigh the means of trying this game by how the cover looks; they just need an inherent liking or toleration of goofy anime. That's just what this is: a comedic anime with a script that's highly laughable, and charmingly unique characters that turn their respectable character classes on their heads. From the self loving elven bard (or sage) Allegro, the Frankstein zombie necromancer Zozo, and the primary character of the unusually scimpily dressed Princess Solange (seriously, I can't call that a bra); to the hilarious villains of Sergeant Emble and Ergeant Semble, along with the awkwardly hilarious Ninja boss. Voice acting is notably above average; a strangely rare and pleasant surprise.
On the subject of gameplay, make note this is by the company that made such unique games as the Trauma medical series and Catherine; they love experimentation. This is no different: it's a basic 2-D beat-em-up at its core, with added rails that you jump between to give it a more 3-D feel. It's by learning to utilize the various unique mechanics and (as I learned) particularly dodging attacks by jumping to another rail that you trounce the hoards of soldiers and monsters. However, one has to note that, unless you're flexible, this game is HARD! Most boss battles feel almost impossible as you may never get a chance to even attack back. Luckily, one can play through old or bonus stages so as to level grind to the point you can overpower them, and the four different characters you play each have a unique playstyle for all types of players.
This is a very peculiar kind of game, and I'll admit it has flaws; the flaws kept me from completing it. However, it's certainly something to just look at; you'll probably get hooked on its overflowing charm, I assure you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring. Not Cute.

posted by justinetruant (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ugh, this game was incredibly boring. Some people call the dialogue funny, I call it stupid. Gameplay was boring. The characters weren't developed beyond being girls in skimpy clothing jumping up-and-down. Weapons and equipment aren't fun. The only thing that I kind of enjoyed were some of the monsters -- they were developed with at least a sliver of creativity. If you really, really, really enjoy beat 'em ups, then you'd probably still only enjoy this as a last resort. The combos weren't even fun.

I really do not recommend this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too repetitive

posted by PipsMcClawski (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game has some hilarious dialogue and is great for casual relaxed play if you are looking to kill time. But its very repetitive and you'll find yourself spamming the same 2-3 attacks over and over again. It can get old real fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Time for a little GIRL POWER!!!

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

For fans of Treasure's "Guardian Heroes" or just plain old beat em up fans, go for this game. There's tons of great fun to be had, and with RPG elements you can power up the characters, primarily the main characters, and tons of characters to play as. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game but easily beatable.....sadly...

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

This game is alright in terms of gameplay. the characters r Japanese anime graphical and the story is neat ,all u do is fight things. the combat was really fun especially when playing as a big breasted girl. as u progress through the story u unlock more characters to play as under campaign. I didn't play it as much cuz I got bored and went to dark souls. but overall I wouldn't keep this game. I enjoyed the game alot

as for recommendation for renting it: yes I would rent it, its a decent enough game to rent.

overall 10-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gamefly please fix your website! To the reveiw!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jul 10, 2013

Member since May 2010

I couldn't access the review report page from the game Q side??? This game is a side scrolling beat them up RPG hybrid! The game let's you select which stats to pick from, but then it tells you to distribute the stats evenly for each character... So then what would be the point in letting us the player pick which stat to improve, when you also tell us that we must distribute the stats evenly???? Anyway this game didn't seem very fun as you need to grind on each screen to get to higher experience levels, but then it goes and owns you if you advance to early, and it bores you if you take too long...
the experience is only tabulated after each fight screen, and it features a lot of the same enemy types... The story tries to tell a story from different perspectives, but it seems to come up short in the end.. It seems that this game is trying to sell cleavage more than anything else...
If you like side scrolling brawlers with an RPG mix then by all means give this thing a whirl! This game isn't to my tastes... I like the humor and the girls are nice to look at, but it for some reason just seems tiring to play this... Weapons and armor upgrades are few and far between, which means a shop would be nice to outfit the characters, but that obviously isn't happening..
Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The 1st Full 3D RPG...

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2007

...has not yet arrived.

In fact I am afraid I have to call Atlus out on this one. The person who decided that it was perfectly acceptable to continuously switch between 2 and 3 Dee presentation needs to be FIRED. A mere 30 min. play session is enough to send your eyes into watering spasms of exhaustion.

It's an unfortunate flaw for what seems to be a key element in bringing a full 3D RPG to the system, with a Dungeon Fighter-inspired combat system that almost seems MADE for the platform.

One could argue that playing the game slider-down may make the experience less exhausting, but it will also be less 3DS. Also, sadly, I don't have the time to hand-hold games into usability.

In Conclusion, this is not the full 3D RPG the system has been waiting for, but even worse, its not worth biding your time with this attempt. Play something else in the meantime. The game we all want will come...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I got bored of this game really fast for some reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sidescrolling fighter with rpg elements.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Jan 3, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

The characters and story are mildly entertaining(if a little off the wall). It plays more like a simple fighting game with the addition of the ablity to level up your characters and buy equipment for them. You also have the ablity to play various levels from each of the 4 main character's points of view but there usually isn't much difference except for fighting techniques. Overall this game is worth a rental at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh...

posted by caotic_hero (WACO, TX) Dec 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

Its an alright game. But the annoyance of the main characters, I couldn't get over it. It was very repetitive and I couldn't get into it. Maybe if I had more time to devote to it, maybe I could get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »