Rent Clubhouse Games for DS
view large frontback

Clubhouse Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

414 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

great but not without (minor) flaws

posted by Transfer (LOMBARD, IL) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

thanks to nintendo for coming out with clubhouse games. the interface is great, the games are faithful representations the physics in the more lively games (bowling and darts in particular) is solid if a lttle tricky to get the hang of. the graphics are nice, but who could mess up cards. the flaws i found are mostly with wifiand they are flaws not problems, first as in all ds wifi games they still havent put in the ability to add friends throught the game, (IE i am playing bowling with someone on worldwide and like to play them i cant just click on their nick and select add to friends)
irritating but tolerable.

second flaw the pictochat on wifi great idea but its not pictochat they give you some pictochat options but the sendable text is pre selected (IE you use the touch to scroll through a list of thing like Nice!! akkk!! sorry!! one more!! good game!! and when the one you want is highlighted you hit send) come on at least a keyboard if we cant use the full drawing function for size transmission reasons or whatever.

o and the rules for some of the games are rather cryptic. but the way its set up to play makes you play correctly even if you dont understand the strategy and lose you still cant break the rules.
other than that one of the very best games for ds this and tetris ds are my 2 current favs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I've played for the DS.

posted by njdmmoe (BUTLER, NJ) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No hype, no BS. This is one of the most fun games I've ever played for the DS and the best game on any system I've played in a long time. 1st off for one purchase you get over 40 games. Bowling, darts, dominoes, billiards and their version of certain games like Stratego and Battle Ship. A MULTITUDE of card games like Texas Hold 'Em, Rummy, Old Maid, Bridge and Blackjack. There's a lot of other stuff in there that I'm forgetting I'm sure.

The best part of me is the online play. I can get a room of my friends together or just sign on and play people around the world. Playing another living person is a lot more fun than the computer, and when you play friends you can chat and what not.

I highly recommend this game to anyone. It's not fast paced or graphically beautiful but it's a lot of fun. Plus you'll want to play it a lot longer than most games because of the online part. Even after you unlock things and master different games, you can still go online to challenge people. That spices it up for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good assortment of games, very addictive

posted by LynneR (KING OF PRUSSIA, PA) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The number and variety of games in this collection makes it well worth the rental (and the Keep It price, too). There's bound to be at least a few games you'll enjoy.

The rules provided for each game are very detailed and helpful, and the ability to set the skill level of your virtual opponent is nice, too.

Note that some familiar games are here under unfamiliar names (probably due to copyright issues). "Turncoat" is really "Othello", and "Word Balloon" is similar to "Wheel of Fortune".

This was my introduction to Nintendo's Wi-Fi Connection, and this game makes great use of it. Super-easy to set up, and very cool to be able to quickly find a live person to play a few hands of Rummy with!

All in all, a winner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Fun!

posted by MrCrypt (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of the most fun DS games ever. Remember all those good times back in high-school playing card games. w00t w00t! It's back agian. You can play over 42 games. Card,board,bowling,darts and so much more. Most of them which if Wi-Fi..that's where the real fun comes in. The Wi-Fi for the game is amazing and the games work out quite fun. This is a must OWN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lack of options kills this game

posted by madrain (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Wow. 42 games! Fun, right?

Well, just to give a little warning, this game has almost no options. I mean, they give you a pretty good amount of face icons to choose from, and that's about it. You'll spend forever trying to beat Challenge mode (frustrating) just to unlock some different music. Whenever a game gets close to ending, it plays this frantic music - keep in mind that some games can go on for 20 minutes like this, with the same annoying music blaring away. No option to turn it off.

Most of the games have few or no options to customize them. If you've never played any of these games before, this probably won't bother you. If you're used to playing any of the card games, for instance, forget common house rules being included.

Mahjong in particular annoyed me as all the edge pieces glow with a pulsating yellow light, and there's no option to turn it off. It makes the game more annoying, although quite a bit easier (which may not be a good thing - to me it's not).

Player Speed would have been nice when playing single player, since you'll have to play through Stamp mode in order to unlock all the games. Some of the card games in particular are retardedly fast and it's hard to keep up with what's going on. An option to slow down the computer players would have been wonderful.

A few of the card games are hideous. There's one in particular, I forget if it's pig or spit or what, but there's honestly no need for a human player at all. The game automatically tells you what card you're going to play, your only input being to press okay on your turn, until you find out if you win or lose. No skill to it at all. Also, no fun.

If you're a fan of most of these games, give the game a rent and check it out. I bought it and love it, but I thought there were things about it others might want to know before throwing down their hard-earned cash.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Jenpooh (STATESVILLE, NC) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is a ton of fun. My favorites so far are Bowling and Dominoes. You can link up with another ds (singlecard) and battle it out. Me and my daughter have played it daily checking out all the games. The word balloon game is similar to hangman only you lose balloons instead. It is awesome...and I wish it was for sale on here cause I so am not ready to return it yet. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not for me

posted by horsumhack (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

You may want to take my brief review with a grain of salt since, despite being semi-obsessed with video games, they constantly disappoint me, and even those I like best I consider to have serious flaws and weaknesses. Okay then…

pretty much as it says. i'm strictly a single player gamer and, though this game did make a sort of single player progression that was not bad, the difficulties of the games were sort of erratic and alot of these classic games are sort of, well, boring, so i didn't last terribly long. for the right audience it seems pretty well made, comparatively, to other games of this ilk. of course, that's why i even bothered to try it (i am a slave to good reviews!). but in the end, its a perfunctory sort of game, perhaps something to play with others, and that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Lots of mini games to play. Old school games and new ones. Some games have different titles than what I used to call them so I was quite confused at first, but it is fun and worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Talk about variety!!!

posted by FrozenSilv (ANDOVER, MA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I gave this game an eight because it touches both quality and quality. Quantity: WOW, this is the only game I have seen with Bowling AND Mah Jong. Seriously. Darts and old maid, Pool and Solitaire, Chess and 7's. Pretty big selection. WITH chat and multiplayer functionality. Quality: These games are very true to their originals. For me, it even brought back a little nostalgia. In acting camp, I remember playing one of my favorite card games: that-if-I-said-the-actual- name- of- I- would- get- in- trouble- on- this- site- .All the time, I had a blast, the games were intense, yet friendly. But anyway, back to the review. This game brought that back to me. And I'm just a teenager! Plus, it allowed me to try out some really cool games I had never tried before!!! I really enjoyed 7's. Worth a rent? DEFINATLY! Click rent it now! But you don't have to move it to the top of your list.

Didn't get a 10 because: Well, there isn't really a story, and some one game I couldn't stand (Pig).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great variety of games

posted by foxy42 (YONKERS, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Card games, dice games, board games, a little something for everyone. What I didn't like about this game, which is why the rating isn't higher is that the card games go too fast for me. I can't enjoy a game where it always seems to be my turn to play and I don't have any idea who played what and why. Also I think tutorials where they walk you through a game you are not familiar with would be very helpful. On the other hand there were games here that I liked very much. Their backgammon plays very well at an intermediate to advanced level. Better than any other handheld or online backgammon game I have tried. I also enjoyed the Ludo and the word balloon. There are plenty of others that I did not try that I would probably have enjoyed as well if I owned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game!

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) Aug 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

I thought this game was a lot of fun. It is very re-playable, because you can just play one or 2 games over and over! I mean think about it; solitaire and minesweep on computers; you could sit and play that for hours! And this has 42 games, a lot of which I had never played, but really enjoyed learning (i.e. koi-koi; I want to learn the ins and out of that game and master it!!) I sent it back because I can't keep it forever (well, I could, but that would be dumb!). I would like to buy it. Once again gamefly is the best. I have had games I am SO glad I didn't buy, and ones I know I want to buy now! Thanks again gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very addictive

posted by szeven (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

I rated this game a 7 because of it's power to be addictive. Some of the games on it are unique and not quite my style but most of them I couldn't stop playing. The dart board is touchy and very responsive to the stylus movements as with billiards and bowing. The card games are easy to play but some of them take some time to master. This is a good game for tavern style games in which a bunch of people sit around a card table with some good drinks and some good conversation. Try it out. But you might lose track of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great for older kids..

posted by bobnrl (CHICOPEE, MA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

My son is 9yrs old and thought the game was ok. I think for the older kids it would be more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SUCKS

posted by millertv (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

i'm an old school gamer i played all these titles on their OG systems. this collection sucks. the controls are weak and not responsive enough, i played each one for not more than two minutes and then i was done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sheer Genius

posted by nnaatteedd (BIG STONE GAP, VA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I rented this game long before I got a Wii!!! I can't stop playing this game long enough to play the wii. It's the best blend of games and online play I've ever seen!!! I can play billiards online all day long!!! Though I may not understand some of the games (I'm talking about you koi koi) the rest make up for it!!! I highly recommend it for anyone and everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »