Rent Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs for PS3
view large frontback

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Platinum

posted by duff916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For you guys out there that are platinum hungry this game is for you. You can Platinum this game in a day.

But a side from being an easy game it's also fun for adults and kids. It even has 2 player co-op so you can play with a friend or your kid(s). Some of the levels are mostly red-ish in color so it can be a strain on the eyes. But other than that the control is solid and easy. Graphics are simple like most if not all games like this one.

Great weekend game if there is nothing else to rent. I thought it was better than Disney/Pixar's UP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for the kids

posted by steveguy (EL PASO, TX) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids really enjoyed this game. Usually the PS3 controller makes it painful to watch them play any game and they call me for help when they can't make a jump in a game. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs was not one of those games. They had the opportunity to play it before I did and even my 5 yr old and 6 yr old played it with ease. It was fun having them coach me through the first couple levels and cheer me on. It is a great game for the whole family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Platinum for kids

posted by Dudei812 (WARE, MA) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son and I are big fans of the story,movie and now the game. Seriously though for an adult gamer it is a very easy platinum. As for my son it was a very enjoyable adventure. We both ran throught the game and achieved platinum...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cloudly with a Chance of Platinum

posted by thesilentchild (HUDSON, FL) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game isn't to bad. You can beat it in a few days. I say a few day because you will get tired of the game play quickly and want to put it down for a bit. Trophies are pretty easy and if you have someone with you playing you can get it done a bit quicker. Overall not a bad game but not a great one either. Anyone Platinum Hungry should pick this up. good booster for leveling up. If that is what your into also check out megamind which you can also platinum in about 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A decent game overall

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are renting Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, then 9 times out of 10 you are renting it for the platinum trophy. Well despite it being a easy platinum, it isn't a bad game either.
LIKE
Cloudy is actually a fun game. Is it a fun as, say, Uncharted? Oh no. However, for the 6-8 hours you will be playing it you'll have a decent time. Gameplay is simple and the graphics are pleasant. The old-school 16 bit cutscenes for each Act are neat and well done.
MEH
When I said the Gameplay is simple, it really is. If you're looking for a deep game then don't get Cloudy. The music is actually not bad but it can get repetitive towards the end of the game.
DISLIKE
There wasn't anything I just hated about the game, but the replay value is rather poor.

Overall, if you're looking for a quick game with easy trophies then look no further. If you're looking for a awesome movie-based kids game then this might not be the game for you.
5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Fun Simple Game For All!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was very simple and had an easy control setup for anyone to use. I actually thought they really did a good job with the gameplay. The animations and physics on all the objects and hit system was very well done. The level designs are nicely designed and the level length is pretty short. This game can be completed in about 6hrs or less, depending if you want to find all the items which are mostly easy to find and the co-op adds a little fun as well.

I know someone else has said this and I'm going to keep it in the loop, watch the volume on your TV when starting this game. The audio for the company bumps and cutscenes are set very high and the actual gameplay is set much lower. Also the cutscenes for the story are little videos that looking like they were made for an 8-bit system and the audio for those are very stadic (cracking sounds) and are a little loud as well.

I recommend this game if your looking for something for the young one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs

posted by Bishop1983 (KINGSTON, PA) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game along with UP, and I would have to say it plays very well. Easy game to beat as it is a kids game. Still fun. However, I have a PS3 Slim, and after talking with other people I found that the problem I had with the game follows the Slim. Upon starting every level I had to shut my controller off and turn it back on to be able to use commands. Now it isnt a problem with the game I got from Gamefly, it is something to do with the PS3, so keep that in mind when renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay game but PS3 owners be warned

posted by hiryu3 (RICHMOND, VA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have a 5.1 surround sound system as well has 3.15 FW PS3. With that being said when you start the game with a surround setup the intro videos and any cinematic videos are horribly out balanced. It blasts very loud. Also for some reason the buttons stop responding after every loading. You need to constantly turn off and return on your controller for the game to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

come on now

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

playing this game hurt my brain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It good game

posted by mp1968 (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

It is a good game but it is do easy. I pass the game I it is fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by charger101 (WILDOMAR, CA) May 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

its boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh...its ok.

posted by Nintenfan123 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game wasnt to bad but all i really rented it for was to get the INSANELY easy platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Platinum!!

posted by krakuz (san ysidro, CA) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Platinum Hungry should pick this up. good booster for leveling up.When I said the Gameplay is simple, it really is. If you're looking for a deep game then don't get Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs.Overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Loving it!

posted by shawny8351 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Easy and entertaining game for kids (and some women)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun for all ages

posted by gaming_genius (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

my step-daughter picked this one out, and i must say i was a bit upset when it did arrive. lol but quite the opposite of what i thought this game was actually fun for more than her. it has a two player co-op which we played so i could help her beat the game (even tho i found myself playing it while she was asleep to get the platinum trophy). this game was so fun that she wasn't "my friend anymore" for 2 days lol. if you have kids get if you are a kid get. this game is a must play for all fans of the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Short painful Platinum

posted by justinmccain88 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Rent for the Platinum. Its utterly boring. The 3 is for the relatively smooth frame-rate and the short Platinum trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Platinum!!!

posted by Punkrocker061 (VALLEJO, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The only reason I rented this game was cause of its easy platinum. As a game its fun to play as a rental but not to keep. I rated it a 6 because of only its platinum and the game is kinda repetitive on what you gotta do. It only took me a day to beat and platinum and now my friends is gonna play it and platinum it too. Other then that the game is fun but too repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Basically a trophy boost

posted by Hatchetmen582 (MEADVILLE, PA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

I'm a straight trophy (w)hore, and thats the only reason i rented this game. I played it for 5 hours and got the platinum, very easy trophies. The gameplay was ok and the graphics were pretty good for it being based on a movie. The only draw-back was that it made very hungry having food fall out of the sky and it laying all over the ground. The story was really short and wasn't very in depth. That probably would have helped if i watched the movie then the events would have seemed so random.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TROPHY

posted by Capealio (OXFORD, NY) May 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

PLATINUM

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

easy platinum but...

posted by tyrod332211 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is an easy platinum (4-6 hours) but the graphics are a joke, the gameplay is very boring and when you finally do complete this game, you are very excited to send it back. Yet this is a decent game for a child, although toy story 3 and ice age are much much better for the children. The graphics are lame, there is no tutorial, and gets boring fast, I expect more from a big name movie video game, but they all can't be winners. Only for trophy hunters or kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Platinum!

posted by vkarthik (HILLSBORO, OR) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I loved getting the easy platinum trophy. The game is great for 10 yr old or younger, but not likely to amuse adults much (that is subjective, though). None of the trophies is too challenging, and the gameplay is very easy going (having kids in mind). I had not watched the movie and had no idea what the story was about. My only intent was to grab the platinum and I got it easily. The ignorance didn't matter one bit though. Foodpod hunting (which is required for platinum) was probably the only thing that required some care, since a few of them weren't in plain sight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad by PS2 Standards

posted by LilDemon (LAWRENCE, KS) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

There are graphics in here that are worse than 8bit gaming would allow. I like the drop in and drop out gameplay, but no difficulty settings and game length about 3.5-5 hours. Whether you like the game is up to you, but I was stunned at how angry playing this made me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cloudy with a chance of meatballs

posted by Tazzelhoff (VICTORIA, TX) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game is great for kids and adults. The graphics are simple during a lot of portions of the game and then fantastic during others such as the view from mount foody. For young players the fact that your lives are endless makes it even more appealing, my four year old is able to play at his own pace and have fun with it. Trophy wise this game is incredibly easy. If you search for platinum trophies this one can be achieved with little effort. I think the slicing of 25 marshmellows was probably the most time consuming trophy to achieve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fix the Glitch

posted by CPParent (LEANDER, TX) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Every time the screen changes you have to reboot your controller. I don't know much else about the game because after one level it was not worth it. I looked online and found out that this is a "normal" glitch and they just decided not to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For my trophy hunters

posted by xenonative (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

if u want some easy trophies this is the game for u. took me about two days to hit platinum and thats between working and going to school. im always looking for fellow trophy hunters to add to my friends list so hit me up if u have a ps3. My psn id: xenonative Let me know that u seen this review on gamefly or else i wont accept your friend request. peace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse