Rent Clive Barker's Jericho for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Clive Barker's Jericho

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.8

5314 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The only review you need to read

posted by Bengals123 (WARE, MA) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

54 out of 65 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First of all this game looks a little boring, but it has an amazing story line. After I played this game though I thought differently. This is the type of game you want to get when you feel like playing a game for awhile. This game will keep you sucked in so you will play for hours on end. I like the weapons and how freaky the game is. The game isnt much like Doom since Doom was basically have something jump out at you to scare you, but this game you will see the enemies coming and still be frightened by just their looks. The weapons are good every character has a "special ability" like telekenisis etc. You can also switch to any character at any time which is a downside for me because you can send one guy in there do as much as you can then just switch and revive him after. Great game worth a rent maybe a buy if u like survival horror games. Big downside NO MULTIPLAYER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better

posted by bsoverns (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game seems to be more story driven than gamplay drive, which I do not have a problem with. To be honest, I wanted to continue playing the game just to continue the story. The story of the game and dialog between the characters in gameplay and between gameplay is unique and very good. The four major problems with the game are

1. The AI team couldn't fight their way out of a paper bag.

2. The normal enemies are actually harder than most of the bosses.

3. There are choke points in the game where enemies will just materialize behind you.

4. For the most part, all of the enemies will focus their attacks on you, but the AI team still seem to die.(There was one boss that killed every AI because they wouldn't take cover during his special attack)

Overall the game is really fun, but certain points in the game make you want to stop playing the game forever. I would definitely buy this game at some point, but you should try it before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

surprisingly good

posted by samovict (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this game surprised me it has a very good story that keeps you playing and the bad guys are unique to say the least if at first it does not jump out at you keep at it as i said it is surprisingly good the graphics are decent and the characters are tastefully done the game however is a little dark but you get use to it in my opinion this game is as good as halo in the campaign mode if not better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Most Gore Ever...

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I only got this game for a comparison to the PC version and for the gamer score but it stacked up pretty well. It's not quite as shiny, has less anti aliasing, less antistropic filtering and runs at fewer frames per second but it looks pretty good as far as graphics. For an X Box game it actually looks really good. You've got a team of, well they call them witches and warlocks of the Army Chaplan Corps. They each have their own special abilities and weapons. It's really cool. You can switch between characters at any time to utilize each persons special abilities and there's 6 characters. 3 guys and 3 girls. One of the chics is a sniper, she has a special ability called ghost bullet that slows down time and allows you to aim it as it's in the air. The camera actually follows the bullet, and you can put it through 3 enemies. So you can actually head shot 3 people with one bullet. It is so sweet. One of the guys has dual pistols with scatter, standard and explosive rounds, one guys has a magnum pistol and a mini gun with tons of ammo. The others weapons are pretty standard. If you're into horror first person shooters at all you have to check this game out. One of my buddies hated it because of the dialogue which I thought was funny. My cousin loved this game as much as I do. So 2:3 ratio, not too bad. You go back through different periods in time so the enemies change pretty frequently. This game has the most gore of any game I've ever seen before, there's blood everywhere and guts too. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game - Not sure why the LOW reviews

posted by TegmoGames (BOWIE, MD) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I just want to say I think this is a great game. I enjoyed it thoroughly. I thought the story was great and I thought the dialog between the characters was great as well.

I am not sure what folks look for in a game these days, I am OLD school, I remember my first Atari w/ Space Invaders for Christmas.

I have watched the games get better and better over the past 30+ years, this game is definitely worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad at all

posted by twilight79 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Great storyline. Pretty fun and occasionally challenging. There were a few times that level design made objectives confusing or enemies would suddenly appear behind you even though you were in a corner, but those issues were few and far between. Great visuals of gore and horror. All in all this game is super entertaining and totally worth checking out if you're not a complete FPS snob. Not every game is half-life, kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best game with horrible squad AI ever.

posted by jonedge (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

get the big negative out of the way.

your squad AI is going to suck. youll spend a lot of time just reviving teammates and theyll spend a lot of time not being able to hit the broadside of a barn. its frustrating. but it doesnt ruin the game.

and the small negative.

this game would have been amazingly better with multiplayer. as it would have alieved some of the gripes about having a dumb squad, plus it would have made for better game dynamics.

now for the positives.

the storyline is hands down one of my top 5 favorite in any game ever. clive barker is such a great writer, and the world he envisions for the game is so unique that i would have put up with a lot worse things than bad squad AI to get through it.

the squad is also a lot of fun to play. all the different powers and different weapon specialties make getting through the game a ton of fun. learning to play each character changes how you approach fights, and makes how you approach mobs different everytime. ghostbullet has to be my favorite ability. clear a whole hallway with one bullet and 5 headshots. great.

id like to see a sequel where the voice acting was a little better, there was a multiplayer component and your squad was actually helpful...but since the game was so badly received im guessing thats just a pipedream.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but not rewarding

posted by JonCookie (LONGWOOD, FL) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Jericho is a game by horror writer Clive Barker. This alone can sell the game to some, and for those who know the man's works, his mark on the game is obvious.

The atmosphere is filled with a lingering sense of dread and impending doom. Every corner you turn is covered in blood or foul excrement. Rivers of corpses run beneath the player's feet, and the damned wail for help from behind locked cages. The game itself isn't very scary, sense you and your team are armed to the teeth with weapons, but the look and feel of the game is superbly horrific.

But that's not the say the actual levels are great. The corridors and hallways are, while pleasingly aesthetic , incredibly linear and cramped. This can prove irksome to gamers who like to flank or surprise the enemy, since players will be forced to take the enemy head-on. This is especially frustrating when dealing with monsters that explode when they come close and when they die.

But that's not to say the game is hard. There are -many- characters to choose from in the squad, each wielding their own special abilities (not all of them are useful, however). This gives the game a hint of strategic play, making players decide who is best to handle the situation. While the amount of characters to play with may seem daunting at first, the game does a great job of introducing you to each character one by one.

The game's story is actually very good. It has players traveling through time, each point in history rendered exceptionally well. If I was stuck where Jericho squad was, even with a gun, I would wet myself. That's how amazing these environments are. The story is intricate and thought-provoking, but the progression of it can be rather sloppy, and the biggest problem is that there is no climax. The game pretty much just ends at a very poorly-chosen point. It makes room for a sequel that probably won't come.

Still, in spite of that, Jericho is a fun ride that you will enjoy from beginning to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jericho Review

posted by Koncept (FORT COLLINS, CO) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To start, the cinematography and graphics are great for a dark FPS. I would for sure recommend this game because it has innovative ideas on the standard fps system. It will give you some grotesque fun for about 6 and a half hours, and although the game is short, its fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much better then people give it credit for

posted by livingsynd (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Great atmosphere
Squad based play
great magics and guns
Unique characters
Good Story

Cons:
Enemies that blow up are frustratingly annoying
Squad AI tends to run into Enemies that blow up
Ending was weak

All in all much better game then people give it credit for. Was a lot of fun to play. They could fix a lot of peoples gripes buy reducing the damage that a blow up yellow puss creature does to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated, but frustrating

posted by enjolias (WARREN, NJ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is great. It is fun with a good storyline and great graphics. The squad mechanics are good, but this is by no means a tactical shooter. Some puzzles and bosses are frustrating because it is unclear what you have to do, but the most annoying thing is tese exploding enemies, like those flood in Halo that explode. But these will seek you out, and can only be destroyed if you hit a certain spot. Your team doesn't seem to get this, so they will conmstantly rush over the body, and consequently be killed. This might be okay, if your character could run away fast enough, or if there was room. This gamne taakes alot of slow mo elements from fear, and a very gears revival system.

Overall, if you like heavy first person shooters and some scifi elements, aswell as a few frights, make sure to put jericho on your list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

almost too good.

posted by boxmasta (COTTONWOOD, CA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since May 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

well first off. my opinion might be a little biased..because i absolutely love horror (Clive Barker in particular) and i love fps. so this game already had everything i could hope for. but the game also surprised me with two incredible things. its frantic and fast paced and spaced out enough that it doesn't get too repetitive. and the story is incredible. but what could you expect really from Mr. Barker. the entire idea was perfect form the get go and i honestly know that this is one game that will truly leave a mark on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Barker fans will be AMAZED..but its just a fun fps

posted by teamevil (LYONS, CO) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This is a VERY linear game. That is intentiaonal, since its supposed to be a cinematic experience, and on that level it is a fun ride.

I have been a Clive Barker fan since the early 80's, and a LOT of my enjoyment of this game comes from that. If you are a longtime barker fan, this game is ESSENTIAL. Just buy it. The atmosphere and music are a delight for any horror fan.

If the name Clive Barker is no different than Stan Tanker Mangbow to you, than this is a well crafted, horror-driven squad-based FPS that does a lot of things right.

However, its linear, un-open nature has garnered low reviews......to me, those issues did not diminish the mayhem filled gameplay. Its not rrying to be GTA5:the Horror.....its building atmosphere and tension that is well integrated into the gameplay.

Far from a perfect game, but one of the better horror games I've played, and that is most of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why JERICHO is good

posted by BLOODYMAN2 (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Clive Barker's Jericho is an ultra bloody game all though it doest explain the charters it has a very scary story line but the game also has the best Idea from Clive Barker's mind and is very easy to beat the enemies are the most disgusting thing in the game epically when the fat boss comes y'all barf and when you meet a charter called leach he is the main boss in the game but you never face him and so if you want a game where its ultra disgusting or a great shooter this is the game but if you want to play a game like viva pinyata you picked the wrong game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jericho: great bloody fun in the dark.

posted by hybridxero (HARVEY, LA) Jun 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Clive Barker: the king of grotesque and the master of bloodtastickness strikes again! Jericho is a hellish joyride into a twisted version of the past. This horror shooter really impressed me. With its very original story, interesting game play and unforgettable characters, Jericho has something for everyone (as long as you don’t mind morbid and disturbing that is) over all this is a very well put together game. I won’t delve into the plot to far. But you command a squad of 7 supernatural soldiers that have been sent in to close a door way to another dimension that has been opened. What is on the other side of this door way you ask? God’s first discarded creation. “The firstborn” and as you can probably guess, it didn’t like being discarded. God who could not destroy his creation locked it away inside “the box” which is a little slice of reality that he removed to put the firstborn in. every so often the door gets opened again and when closed it takes back with it another little slice of our world. Flash back to the present and it has been opened again. You control your 7 outcasts as you fight your way inside “the box” into a whole new world of pain and torture. After a few minutes of game play you can switch between your characters (some you will find are better and cooler than others) to do different tasks and overcome obstacles. All the while horrible looking abominations are attacking you. Sounds like a blast right?! Like I said over all a great game what it lacks though is the game itself is too short. And above all NO MULTIPLAYER! This game would be perfect if you and a couple of your buddies could co-op the team through the hellish maze. But nope it’s just a single player. Hopefully if a sequel is made Clive will add in the co-op feature. Because nothing is better than ridding the world of evil with your friends J

I give this game 8/10 for its original story, Fun game play, good graphics and cool characters, creatures and weapons. Downfall is the short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

To rent or not to rent?

posted by FViral (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Jericho is a game that I'm sure many people were planning on playing, but in the wave of November releases it got lost in the crowd.

Most of the reviews from IGN, GameSpot, etc. are correct. Jericho has a redundantly repetitive level design and clunky controls that will take some effort to ignore. The one thing Jericho got right was the story and the art direction. The game looks pretty and the different enemies are aesthetically pleasing. The story is just as compelling as you'd imagine a Clive Barker story to be. However, the game reveals a rather short narrative with no real ending. Perhaps to open up for a sequel. Jericho sports some boss encounters and neat interactive cut scenes A La Resident Evil 4. Which will keep the controller in your hands almost all of the time.

Whilst the game has it's issues and surely should be played in small doses or all at once; Jericho is more like playing a move than a game. If you're a gamer who can enjoy a title despite it's flaws and absorb the fiction, the go for it! If you're trying to decide to rent or not to rent; I say rent. The game offers a unique experience that probably intrigued you at first and will keep you interested at least for a while. Playing through the game on hard will land you at least 500 gamescore points so perhaps a spring rental when the deluge of AAA titles subsides after the holidays.

Also, the exploding cultists are not as bad as most reviews make them seem. They move fairly fast, however you can knock them down, giving your team time to escape their wrath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by emordecai (FREMONT, CA) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I don't think this game has had a fair review yet. I have read the other reviews on it and I think the complaints that have been made are not valid. For instance I have read complaints about the monsters that explode and that they are cheap and too hard to avoid. I thought they were pretty easy to kill, it is just a matter of knowing which character is best for each situation! That's what this game is about. You have seven characters each with unique abilities. All the characters are fun and interesting to play with. The graphics are sharp and highly detailed. The story line is interesting along with the character development. The only problems I have with this game is that The level design is a bit simplistic, the game is too short and the characters cuss too much. Besides that, it was a great game and I would hope for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics, but lacks story content

posted by JDavis (HOUSTON, MS) Nov 3, 2007

Member since May 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The gameplay and graphics were good. The only thing that truly made me dislike this game, was the fact that everything seemed so repetitive. When you enter a room, you can expect some spawning creatures...kill them, proceed to next room, repeat. The different time slices in the game were good, but as the story progressed, the era you were in seemed to have no meaning as to what you were originally supposed to be doing. The squad's abilities were a cool feature, but that alone did not make the game great. The boss battles were ok, but the squad AI made them difficult at times. The lack of online play was disappointing. The game's story started out good, but then just got repetitive as well. The ending was really horrible and leaves you scratching your head. I'm sure others that have beaten the game feel the same way.

I, for one, wished I had rented this game before I purchased it and recommend anyone else do the same. I think this game was alright, but it was just another FPS which seems to be the trend of games released now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Straight Forward, Straight Scary, Straight Fun

posted by EjAmEs (ORONO, ME) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Jericho is what it is, a straight forward shoot'em up with tons of gore.
Although the majority of the game is spent blasting away at zombies, demons, and other monsters the game does a great job sucking you into a pretty deep and interesting plot.
You control a team of seven, brought in to stop the end of the world from taking place.
I think I enjoyed every aspect of the game from the look, the sounds (including some great voice acting), and especially the non-stop action.
Although when you reach the end you might feel a tad cheated before watching the ending credits roll, but up to that point the game is non-stop fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOLID STORY

posted by dauggette (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excellent story, good game play. I was not expecting this game to be that good. If you play the game on hard, it is so intense that it'll remind you the insane campaigns of Gears of War. Fighting or shooting at those creatures is not too hard but somewhat strategic and levels are excellent and creatures are not easy to kill. Great team work your team mates are not really idiots that will let you do all the work they will try to help you if they can such as if you die several times and kill themselves saving you or or simply take the pressure off of you. The whole game is all about strategy with your team and how to deal with different creatures. This game is pretty unique, because it is first person shooter, with strategy and survival horror tactics and combo button push up. The story makes it stand next to those great horror games like Silent Hill, Resident Evil and Fatal Frame.
A lot of people like action adventure games but not much of strategic games fan. Such as tomb raider and Mortal Kombat.But they are excellent games.I believe that this game is not dry at all when dealing with strategy .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Underrated

posted by Zan595 (LODI, OH) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that if you like FPS and horror games, this won't disapoint you. If you're a fan of F.E.A.R and Silent Hill, give this a try.

I honestly don't see the reason why so many people resent this game. One of the numerous complaints is that "Exploding enemies do too much damage." Certain characters have abilities to pick them off at a distance, so that they can't hit you.

The best part of the game was the storyline, which I found amazing. All in all, a worthy rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I couldn't continue...

posted by FLOWDANGO (MORRISTOWN, NJ) Nov 19, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about an hour and a half and after that I could not take any more. Lets start out with the graphics, they are ok but one thing that is so wrong is that the levels are completely black! You cannot see a thing, the flash light does not help at all. As for the story, it is actually semi interesting but I could not bear the game enough to play through it. And the game play is where it really bogs down. First you control seven people and to do this you must cycle through a list of last names where they only talk to each other by the first... Really annoying, and the enemies just keep coming so the sniper is kinda useless... And the fighting is very glitchy. Also the support of no online does not make the game even worth trying since if you can get through the game there is no reason for coming back. Personally this game is horrible, it tries to hard in all the wrong places. Oh and one more horrible aspect is the button pushing sequences that pop up at the most random times, most times you are not ready for and die right away. It feels too tacked on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better as a book

posted by DrSatan (TAMPA, FL) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game play was awful if i wanted to spend 70% of my time healing squad mates i would have played a doctor game. Which i dont think anyone has made a game like that because it wouldn't be much fun..... go figure. The only reason i finished the game was for the story line, Clive Barker is a good story teller. Maybe he should stay away from games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game just fails

posted by cyberdrive (WEIRTON, WV) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first off the high notes.the graphics are good as well as music and story.
now the bad.the first major flaw is the jericho team itself.there very underpowered.heck most act like paranormal activity is new to them.leading me to believe that all the true jericho members are either dead or got better stuff to do.leaving these weekend warriors to save the world.
next is the level layouts.there made more for a single person so imagine what it's like to have six teamates cramed in a tight corridor.yeah it's that fun.
then the gameplay.walk a few feet fight a horde of bad guys walk a few more fight a horde of bad guys.nothing to look for no secrets abound.just that game mechanic over and over again.
the only true highlight is the very last level which consist of a string of boss fights that actually mix things up and make you think.to bad the rest of the game was'nt like this.but it comes to such an abrupt end.that your left unfullfilled.
now matter how you look at it this game just sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jericho

posted by yeaaaaaaaa (LAS CRUCES, NM) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing. if u are a person who likes demons jumping out at u than this is the game for u.the graphics are amazing and the charters look like real life people incloding the demons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse