Rent Clash of the Titans for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Clash of the Titans

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.3

863 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Release the

posted by CaptainX79 (AVERILL PARK, NY) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

48 out of 51 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Ok first I want to start out by saying this game has been unfairly rated and reviewed by my fellow Gamefly members, if you don't like this sort of game Don't rate or review it, it's that simple. clash is by no means a candidate for game of the year but in the same right it's not up for worst.

This game suffers from an identity crisis. It wants to be to many things at once. like a hack and slash adventure game or a platformer. the problem is you are restricted in where you can go and what you can do. If the game had been an open world action RPG or even a boulders gate clone I think it would be more enjoyable. I'm not saying I don't like the game because so far I do. I like leveling up my sub weapons, I like the action sequences you undertake to steal enemies weapons and life force, the graphics are not bad and the voice acting is better than most movie games.

I don't however like the invisible walls that keep you from leaving an area, the quest system is annoying. Whats the point of giving you a choice to take on a quest when you have to do it anyways to progress in the game. At least some quests you can repeat to gain more materials for weapon upgrades. One more thing that bothers me is that you can upgrade your sub weapons but there is no form of experience points to level up Persius.

So all in all this game is not horrible it's just not for everyone just because you liked the movie doesn't mean you'll like the game. but seriously you gotta give it more than 5 min or one battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Was the movie this boring?

posted by NeonLotus (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Clash of the Titans is an interesting one. Had no opinions about it but it looked like it could be fun and, low and behold, it was. I've never played God of War but I've been told game play action is a bit similar though fans of GoW would probably shudder at the comparison.

This wasn't a bad game, I was enjoying it and really getting into the story in the beginning; it made me a little curious to go see the movie. Then, there was this part that came. I won't spoil it but it simply has a lot to do with spending quite a bit of time proving your worth to people in movement restricted contests with wooden swords before 'the big mission.' With as much time as the game spends on this, I would have to expect Perseus proved himself for at least 45 minutes to an hour of screen time. It's silly and ridiculously repetitive. Perhaps it was in front of me all along but the game hides it's repetitive nature well until this part; they just apparently gave up it seems.

Maybe it's a movie game thing; maybe seeing the movie would give reason to the madness. Perhaps Perseus did spend that hour proving himself; whatever the case, it's lead to a repetitive game.

Clash of the Titans has potential with it's fun game play and interesting, Greek mythology behind it but it falls down flat for redundancy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse. Game. Ever.

posted by Brodieking (LIVERPOOL, NY) Aug 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just wanted to point out what might be a typo in the games title. This game is so horrible, I'm sure it should have been named TRASH OF THE TITANS. I have a high tolerance for bad games, but they at least have to be playable. While I was in the middle of the game, my wife asked me to take out the garbage. I then grabbed two large waste bags, and this game, and took them all outside. Good riddance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can only be described as boring.

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For the most part I can see why folks rated this a one. This game is so boring it makes the game almost unplayable. I quit playing after getting off the first island. My son did play on past that and got to Calabas, but I saw the fight there is no explanation or indication of what to press and when to press, so the fight was impossible to say the least. The quests are linear in the extreme, really no exploration to be found. I thought Voice acting was ok, as well as graphics. If I had to choose one thing, I would say just the striped down nature of the game is what made is so boring, you really don't care about the story or characters. Since its based off a movie, it had scenes that departed from the movie, and skipped scenes that movie had, so I am not sure why they did that for, not that the movie was the best anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by spqr67 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Made it through 20 minutes before I got fed up with the billion plus control configurations. Boring and endlessly frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One Big Bore

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Tryed to like this Game i played it for about 5hrs- I could not take it no more the Awful Voice Acting the Ugly Graphics plus on and on these small Missions you do are so so boring- 5hrs of play and not one big Boss Fight its these small missions kill this go get this go find a Golden Cup Gessshhhh give me a Break from the Bore of it- I Played some bad Games in my time this one Wins the Prize- Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is absouletly terrible.

posted by Xcrunner14 (THORNTOWN, IN) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like honestly, don't even waste your time getting this game unless you're a complete achivement "hunter" i'd use another word, but that's beside the point. I own a ps3 and a xbox and i'm a huge God Of War fan and i honestly think they should sue the people who created this game because they resemble each other so much. The graphics are terrible; it looks like i'm playing runescape on a console. If you want to waste hours of your life playing something that's terrible then this is your game! The only reason i'm rating this a 3 is because the movie was awesome so i can't dis it completly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is really bad.

posted by RageGhost (EL GRANADA, CA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is really bad. Nothing really grabbed my interest when I started this game. As soon I fought the first enemies I knew this was going to be a horrible game. The gameplay will bring you no satisfaction once so ever.

Dont even let this game take up a space in your GameQ. It's not even worth that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CLASH OF THE TITANS

posted by father2six (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 42 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I hope the movie is better. The game was rushed to the market and this game shows it. This game is a total waste of my time and the time it will take you to press " rent"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Rent!

posted by FlyerGoal (OCOEE, FL) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 45 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

What a bad game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I tried, I really did!

posted by DungForever (WESTMINSTER, CA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I'm a HUGE fan of Greek Mythology which is why I even rented this game to begin with, but along the way it lost my vote. I got through half of the game before calling it quits. The story strays very far from the actual Perseus myth (though I doubt anyone here actually cares about that). The gameplay isn't bad but can be incredibly repetitive. The most annoying thing is that you don't get to see the enemy's health bar unless they're a boss. Maybe if the game is ever on sale for $10 and I'm SUPER bored, I'll give it another shot but for now, I'm going to pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better than most movie titles

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Mar 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

This game closely follows the recent movie with Sam Worthington, but it does also veer off in its own path in an attempt to create a better gaming experience. There are 10 missions and they will take you more than 8 hours to complete them all, since each mission has a few side quests to complete.

The God of War type action adventurer is actually quite a deep little fighting game. There are surprisingly 50+ sub weapons and powers you can acquire and customize/upgrade, so you'll have lots of options for fighting.

But obviously the budget movie games are solely for promoting the movie. So with that said, graphics are poor, gameplay is laggy and a little stiff, sound quality was poor, and none of the original movie actors wanted to do voice-overs... for obvious reasons. The maps on each mission also recycle for each side quest, so it gets so stale like a day old pizza.

The button masher is designed around having your regular non-upgradable sword, and then 50+ sub weapons that can be slotted with the D-pad. They range from swords, axes, magic, bows, and hammers, etc. You can upgrade them with XP to unlock moves and abilities or improve strength. Most of the weapons have recycled moves also, just like the maps. But it does keep it interesting if you choose to experiment with other sub-weapons.

The 1 difficulty level can be frustrating and cheap at times, but the game is not that difficult. It will yield you some easy achievement points too, which is always a plus for me. To wrap it up, I'd rent only for the gamer points or if you are a giant Greek mythology nerd who loves Clash of the Titans more than anything else.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This was a stupid game..

posted by solasweethart (SULPHUR, LA) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The hint boxes that popped up was so small that u could not read them..game started out hard and got worst as it went...Once u are in a area, u are stuck there till u defeat the evil guys...There's no way to heal in the beginning or getting better stuff...game was very boring too...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by danstroup284 (GILLETTE, WY) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have played hundreds of games over my like. I can say without a doubt, this is a HORRIBLE game. Glitchy, poor graphics, bad dialog, frustrating game play. The list is endless. When will the industry realize that not every motion picture needs a game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Clash of the Titans

posted by Kjahrens (SEATTLE, WA) May 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game is based off the movie which of course doesn’t fair well because it can’t come close to the awesome CGI of the theater. Overall the combat is a very slow and clunky and they put to many choices of weapons to use which can actually be a bad thing. They also have long pauses during the characters speech so they can turn towards another character and start to say something instead of justc ontinuing the conversation. Not one that I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a Bad Game But Not a Good one either

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Feb 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

This is an ok game nothing to shout about, but then again Niether was The Movie it is based on. I read a review That said It didnt have anything to do with the Original Movie at all, well theres is a Reason for that, it isnt a Game based on The Original Movie with Harry Hamlin. This game is Based On The Remake of the Movie and about the only thing the new Movie has to do with the old one are the Names. It isnt a game where you can go do what you want to do where you want to do it because it isnt supposed to be that type of game. As Far as Having to Do The Quests To move on in the game, it would make a very Boring Game if you didnt have to do the main Quests. The gameplay is Ok as are the Graphics. This is game Is a Rental for those that Liked the Movie but if you didnt like the Remake of the Movie you probably wont Like this game either. I wouldnt buy the game but it is Ok for a Rental, while i wait for Them to send me My Next Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

clash of the titans

posted by eckertsre (ROLLA, KS) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

wow wow wow, this is one of the most disapointing games i have played in a long time. the flow well let me say lack there of and inability to go anywhere that you wanted to was laim. The game makes you agree to quests without being a change in the path of the game no matter what. Other than if you agree to a quest you may proceed in the game . Yet if you did not accept the quest you just could not go any where. the graphics were early 90s or so it seeme with lack of anythought to the original movie at all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by maddjkr (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Biggest waste of time ever. period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid as

posted by redvsblue1 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

wow i seen horrible games but this beats it its rushed and bad the movie was better then this worthless excuse for a game so the krakens coming out but should ov stayed back in

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »