Rent Chulip for PS2
view large frontback

Chulip

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

122 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Chulip. One boy's journey to the heart of a girl.

posted by Sildra (POINT PLEASANT BEACH, NJ) May 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The graphics in this game are crude, true, but that's to be expected. The game was made a few years ago, only recently has it been brought over... They're charming, true enough, but sometimes they leave a little to be desired...

The main focus of this game is to win the heart of the boy's one true love. Obviously, the only way is to increase your heart's power by making out with anything in sight. Any living critter can earn you a kiss. But not just anyone will kiss you, no no. The conditions have to be right. YOU HAVE TO SNEAK UP ON THEM. Get them when they've dropped their glasses, or are distracted. Intriguing as this is, in practice it can be quite infuriating. Although sometimes it's relatively easy, just sneak up to them... Sometimes characters have set times you can kiss them. And if you run in front of them when trying, you get smacked, hard. There's one section of the game, a playground, where if you don't bother reading an out of the way sign, you'll not know that touching nearly ANYTHING there will kill you.That type of difficulty, that smack you in the face feel, it's inexcusable. You'll be aggravated... But it's so quirky, you'll keep trying.

Adding to aggravation, sometimes the game will leave you with absolutely no clue whatsoever to do. Literally no leads, nothing. How am I supposed to know that the only way to kiss the Doctor is to mix a love potion? This frustration is frequent, unfortunately, taking away from it's natural charm. I recommend this game to all fans of quirky games, like Katamari Damacy... But don't go in expecting a master piece. Expect men dressed as utility poles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Chulip

posted by hollyb48 (PITTSBURG, CA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, this isn't an action packed game. Its a puzzle game. If your sick of the same old types of games this game is a welcome change.

You play a boy who wants to kiss his dream girl. In order to kiss her you need to get your reputation up. That involves kissing others but hey the people in your new town arent that easy. You need to solve a bunch of puzzles to earn the chance to even try and kiss someone.
Ok I know what your thinking ...I have to go around a kiss people??? gag. It aint that bad. I didnt think I'd like this game that much but find myself oddly addicted to it.

If you like games liek Pikmin, Harvest moon and games in that nature your sure to love this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by Mercury589 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) May 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think the game had potential, but fell short. The graphics aren't the greatest, who cares. It's okay, but you have to do a lot of random things to be able to kiss anybody. I feel there should have been hints more in this sort of game. Just know what you are getting into before renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A list of things I'd rather do then play Chulips

posted by Aulifir (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Watch water boil
Contract a disease
get kicked in the groin
Lick the sidewalk
get assassinated by ninjas
Take whatever drugs the creators of Chulips are taking
Actually go out and kiss old men living in trash cans

WHAT WERE YOU THINKING JAPAN!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

so weird

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is so weird i quited in the start of it chulip gets 1 kiss out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Entertaining

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was possibly one of the most bizarre games I've ever tried. It was a welcoming and entertainingly unique idea that I feel was overall executed very well.

The puzzles are somewhat obscure and a guide may be required to fully enjoy the game, but the story, game concept and gameplay are pretty entertaining.

The game and graphics are very cutsie and the game is a big joke that doesn't take itself seriously. If your your sense of humor is a little odd, then you will probably find this game very entertaining.

The game is very short (beatable within 2 or 3 days) so plan on spending the weekend with this comic masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chew Poo

posted by puggalug (CLEARWATER, FL) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Beware of this spinning disk of doom. At any cost. My dog hates this game. My cat hates this game. My birds hate this game. My fish hate this game. I enjoyed it more when I inserted it upside down in my X-Box! Thanks Chulip for ruining my life!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

it would be alot better if everytime you die you have to go back to your house

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Weird but good.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I think the game is weird but it is fun. I think the boy is a wimp! He gets beat up ALL the time! Well...Long Life Town is full of danger. I hate that his dad just reads the news paper all day! ....? Is it the same paper everyday? What I like is you can find cool stuff in garbage cans! In this game strange stuff happens like.... ghosts, underground residents, upset teachers dressed like poles, a lady that cooks the worst food EVER! Lots of weird stuff! But cool things happen too! Like being the manager of a factory for a day, searching for an invisible man, watching movies, giving eggplants to a crazy woman. Lots of stuff like that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Fun and Enjoyment!

posted by buterbals (OAKLEY, CA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This game is really underrated. The story and purpose of the game is odd but thats what makes this game fun and enjoyable. Im tired of playing the same thing over and over again, same type of linear storylines that Ive seen in past games. This game is original in everyway. If you enjoy Harvest Moon games, or Metropolismania or anything made by Natsume then you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Chulip

posted by Ringoc (MOUNT PROSPECT, IL) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Interesting game, Funny humor but like the japanese one better coz of Lost in Translation (LOL).The graphic is kinda out dated, the game should have come out here in US sooner.

Overall good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »