Rent Chrono Trigger for DS
view large frontback

Chrono Trigger

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

2225 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still one of the greatest RPGs.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I remember playing this game back on the SNES back in the day. I worked hard to get all the endings and find all the secrets. This DS version retains all that with added anime scenes and a couple of bonus dungeons which offer some nifty items if you care to take the time to fully explore them. I also liked how the menu interface can be easily accessed via the bottom screen and has touch capabilities. It made managing the inventory and equipping items much easier. I liked the little bonus menus that showed enemy stats and kept a log of all the endings. This game needs to be redone in full 3D on PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hey, not half bad.

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Nov 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Chrono trigger is about a young hero who gets enthralled in a huge journey to save the world(Classic RPG) Accept in this game, you travel through time! (By the way, Chronos is the Greek personification of time, so it's a fitting name.)

You meet many kinds of people from different eras and times. Learn fantastic combo moves and fight monsters.

Personally, I thought the plot line was a little blah. It had a good story and potential but you didn't get to know the characters as well as I'd like to. There was nothing wrong with it but you can't really get attached to the characters like you can in other RPG games.

All in all, it's a pretty great game. I definitely recommend renting it. Good job Square Enix! Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Trip Back in Time

posted by TonyMFuss (Easton, PA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Chrono Trigger has always been a favorite among RPG fans, and rightfully so being one of Square's greatest departures from Final Fantasy. This port is no exception, and is, in fact, more than a mere port of the original. It is everything the PSX port was meant to be and more. Where the PSX port suffered great lag during gameplay transistions--most notably when entering battle--this one does not. And it still retains the additional anime cutscenes.

On top of all this, an addictional dungeon, new last boss and new weapons are thrown in for good measure. Oh, and a new secret ending that ties things to Chrono Cross, the oft-disregarded sequel, much better.

Other than this, the game remains the same. The same great characters, same simple yet addicting battle system, same replay value, and same strangely haunting musical score and graphics. This is a must play for RPG fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great rpg

posted by Calikittie (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember playing chrono trigger on super intends with my brother when we were kids. Just like with the original final fantasys, if you did not grow up with it you will not be able to appreciate it as much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest game

posted by Zelier (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would have to say, this was a great game when it was on SNES and it is still a great game. I would recommend it. Great story, good battle/strategy system, and lots of game play for a DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Phenominal Game that Transends Time...

posted by timmer919 (BEL AIR, MD) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

41 out of 49 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Chrono Trigger originally came out on the SNES back in the 90's and was quickly accepted as one of the best RPG's ever created. The game was later ported over to the PSOne and was given some new cinemas created by the artist behind Dragonball Z.

Chrono Trigger is now available on the DS. Is it any good years and years after it was originally released or should it be forgotten like many remakes?

Let me just say this...

"If you don't buy this game, you are a moron!"

Chrono Trigger is STILL one of the best RPG's out there and in my opinion, it IS the greatest RPG ever made. Seriously, how could a game about time travel, robots, and a talking frog not be the greatest?

The game is almost unchanged from it's original release on the SNES with the exception of some new content and the use of the touch screen. The new stuff comes in the form of fetch quests and a few new dungeons. It isn't ground breaking content, but it certainly doesn't hurt either.

Chrono Trigger should be played by all fans of RPG's, even to this day. It's still my favorite RPG of all time and it is still the greatest RPG in my eyes. Forget Final Fantasy, i'm all about Chrono Trigger.

I'd give Chrono Trigger on the DS a 10 out of 10. It's almost as if Square was reading my mind when I thought about a portable version of my favorite RPG ever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Faithful port of a Classic

posted by Eakin3 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Let me get this out of the way up front: Chrono Trigger is one of my favorite games ever. It's the product of a collaboration of some of the greatest minds Squaresoft ever hired at the company's peak. The story focuses on a small group of adventurers who travel through time to prevent a dark post-apocalyptic future from coming to pass. The battle system is streamlined and accessible to newcomers, but just deep enough to keep RPG veterans satisfied chaining together double and triple techs. Admittedly it is not an especially difficult game but it's a highly enjoyable one.

So why didn't I give it a 10? My only critique is that the new features tacked on for the DS port are sub par. There's a new "monster arena" type area as well as a new town that's full of fetch quests that opens up near the end of the game, but neither of them really offer much incentive to use them or add much to the story.

This game is, hands down, a must buy if you like RPGs but never experienced the title on the SNES or the PS1 port. The main story is a good 25-30 hours long and the new game + feature and a dozen possible endings make multiple play throughs rewarding. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent game no matter when you play it!

posted by Akumakei (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was going back and forth whether to buy a PSP or DS, and finding out that Chrono Trigger had been ported to the DS made it no longer a question. This game alone makes the DS worth the investment.

If you've never played Chrono Trigger before, buy it because you will love it.

If you've played Chrono Trigger before, buy it because you will remember how awesome it is!

If you already have Chrono Trigger, play it again because it never gets old!

Finally this game that many (especially those commenting here) believe is one of if not the absolute best RPG ever written is portable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply the best

posted by DarthEnder (DANIELSON, CT) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For all intents and purposes, the best RPG of the 16-bit era. And probably the best storyline of any j-rpg ever.

Now I can play it on the DS? Fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect says it all

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Having written over 50 reviews for the Wii this is my first review for a DS game. Why? because Chrono Trigger is that awesome. I got a DS for Chrono Trigger alone. I played it 14 years ago on the Super NES and loved it then. I just finished the DS version and I must say it is even better than I remembered it. (Let's just say it passed the test of time).

Let's start off with the time travel. I love that you can do certain things at a previous time point and then zoom ahead to see the results of your actions in the future. You can get several different endings based on the choices you make. Next, I love the characters. Each is very memorable and adds a great flavor to the game. Each has their own theme music. I love to hear Frog's theme music. Then when you go to fight Magus with the heart thumping music in the background you will really be drawn into the epic battle and story.

The music overall is fabulous. The DS version has an option where you can go back in and listen to every song throughout the game. I do this often. The music is the best ever. The graphics are also nice with some really cool cut scenes added in the mix.

If you've never played Chrono Trigger then you should. It captures the awesome story telling and music of Square Soft without the obnoxious random battles that you have to deal with in Final Fantasy.

If you have played Chrono Trigger then you should play it again. It is an experience where you will say "Oh yeah that game was awesome" That was the best game of all time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great!

posted by LuvLee (Four Oaks, NC) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My first time playing this game, never played any other but reviewed alot of about this game. I liked everything I read about it. Sooo... I wanted to purchase it but was not willing to pay $40 for it :-(....
Just happened, last weekend while on gamestops website, I noticed this game was selling for $19.99 :-). I did not even wait to rent it, I went and bought the game, and I love it.
Haven't been playing it to long yet but the graphics are very nice, the way the menu is utilized is great. You save anytime while on the main map or you will have save points within hunting areas. And I also like, its not random encounters, there are actual monsters you engage.
I love the game. I am glad I bought it. Give it rent or even a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best RPGs ever made

posted by ChaoKuang (TAMPA, FL) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I remember when Chrono Trigger first came out on the SNES. It was an amazing, great game then and it still is now. Not much was lost in its journey from SNES to PS1 to DS. The added cutscenes are a nice touch. The music is just as memorable as ever, albeit a bit hard to hear sometimes from the DS.

The use of the touch screen makes playing the game easy and access to menu screens very convenient, with the added bonus of not cluttering up the battle or dungeon views. It's great having the world map to move around in on top and the minimap, a bit enlarged, on the bottom screen for easy navigation.

While some of the dialogue has been changed(one of the more notable changes in bringing Chrono Trigger in line with the times is the change of the "dialogue" when you eat in the dungeons in the year 600 to 'nom'), the game is still a classic with a great story to tell. The characters are amazing and all lovable, it's hard to choose who to have in your party because you just want to take them all.

The Arena where you can grow your battle pet is a nice addition, but the game would have been fine without it. Leveling your pet can be annoying and a little tedious. You can spend time training them up, but then watch them come back and have lost 10 points in one stat just randomly.

This game is great for those of us who loved Chrono Trigger back in the day and for anyone new to it. This is a must-have in your collection for any RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must Have on DS

posted by Mesuto (BOTHELL, WA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since May 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game was an instant classic long before its sequels kind of screwed it up, and 2 have it on ur DS, 2 new dungeons Game mode,and movies from the PSOne version this is a literally must have 4 any hardcore gamers. the only problem with this game is the new monster arena mode kind of pointless because if u want monsters 2 battle each other get Pokémon, trust me its more fun. besides that get this game if not rent it because this guy who hardly plays on his DS can't stop playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game was ASOME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never played the original Chrono Trigger but the DS version is cool. It has a final fanticy style fighting system (of course it's made by SQUARE ENICS) and the story is vary easy to understand, it has its hard moments but you get thought them. I also liked the fact that your side characters get experience if there not out so you don't have to worry about leveling up at all. It also has a loose story and there are like 13 endings to this game so its fun to have that kind of ability to controle the story. I gave it a 10 out of 10 and you should to if you play because it is a realy cool game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

did goku get his hair dyed?

posted by copperman7 (RAMONA, CA) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Chrono Trigger, the best game i've played on ds, one of the best rpgs ive played period, one of the best games i've played period. I gave this game 9 of 10 because the game storyline is solid, the graphics were good for ds, great for the snes original, I also deeply think chrono, the main character who has red hair, looks like goku from dragon ball, but anyway, i played with these settings, you choose the settings in the beginning and you can change it in the options screen.
Classic battle interface
waiting, which means you have more time to pick an attack
just pretty much every thing on the right except movies are on
problems, one of your characters wears very little clothing.
But its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't Even Own a DS

posted by JoshParson (WELLSTON, MI) Jun 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

But I know that Chrono Trigger is one of the greastest rpg of all time. When I seen that it was at the top of the user rated list I knew why. Even it's later made sequel Chrono Cross wasn't as awesome as the first. Some of my best gaming memories are of that game. The fight will Lavos is an epic battle to remember and has to be one of the hardest rpg fights in gaming history. The game was just a well created rpg, all rpg after that were compared to chrono trigger. The one thing that stood out with this rpg amung all the rest, are the dual attacks you good do were awesome. I love the intro that was given when brought to the PS1, the same artist that drew the Dragon Ball Z did that intro and it was awesome. They should've had an anime movie made for the big screen, it has potential to be a blockbuster. Well back to the PS3 section, I just had to drop a line being a old school HUGE chrono trigger fan!
PEACE OUT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome? yes yes it is

posted by MJW0000000 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is way fun the fight style is pretty tight i think it could be longer but w/e ya know its a sick game i recommend it to anyone who likes fun also play dragon quest 5 so cool it gets a 20/10 while this one gets a 10/10 also i never played it on the snes but the graphics are cool frog is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great rehash. 'But what's the point.

posted by tigerboy01 (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It has been since its first release. If you have never played this game pick it up its a great story with lots to explore. If you are like me and still own the s nes version then I really cant recommend this game. I'm on my second run and I have yet to find any thing new to the DS version. Other that a bit of gimmicicy stylus stuff. Other wise I say go get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Chrono Trigger

posted by Robsmash (PASADENA, CA) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Everybody had been telling me how wonderful this game is, and I have to say it feels dated. I may have had a lot of fun with it when it first came out, but now it feels overly difficult, repetitive, and cheesy. I want to like it because its like a gaming legend but it just doesn't do it for me. Before I get attacked for saying it's too difficult, let me explain that it's not just that it's difficult, it's that it's not all that interesting, AND frustratingly difficult. A difficult game that provides more interest in story or gameplay mechanics would be fine if it was overly challenging, but this has neither interesting game mechanics nor a very involving story. I've never been huge on the japanese RPG menu fight style, it feels so seperated from the action and boring. So I do come to the table with a dislike of that battle system. If you are one of the many people who DO like this style, this game may be more charming to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Started well, got bored after 5th time jump

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

While this game has great graphics and an engaging story line, I found that the game got repetitive and a little dull after the first few time jumps. I guess I just wasn't that motivated to save the world.

A+ to the characters - especially frog and the cave girl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OH MY GOD

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 32 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS. THIS IS FOR PEOPLE WITH NO TASTE IN GAMES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game. Definitely worth the rental

posted by MoBetta (BROOKLYN, NY) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

This is a great game. The story really sucks you in and the use of time travel is fantastic. If you haven't rented this yet. Rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Chrono Trigger

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

great classic game fun must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Portable RPG

posted by wonderboy3489 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Enjoyable RPG, but there is a massive difficulty spike towards the end. I did not want to waste the time needed to level up my characters to defeat the final boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chrono Trigger Rocks the Timeline

posted by snow_ninja (RENO, NV) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I had absolutely no idea what this game was about or what was going on when I ordered it, but I thought it looked fun. After playing it for an incredibly long time, I officially have it rated as one of my Top 3 DS Games, in place #2 (under Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days and above Elite Beats Agents).

Story: 10/10 The story begins with a red-haired dude named Crono (fitting, as both it and the title sound like Chronos or Kronos, the Greek embodiment of time) from the year 1000. At the Millenium Festival (it is the year 1000) that year, when Crono is going to see his friend's latest invention, he meets a strange girl that triggers several events until both him, his friend, and the strange girl are transported through time. It can get slightly confusing with Crono and company gaining new members (everyone from robots to cave-girls) and bouncing around through time, whether the past, the future, or somewhere else in the present. However, the story is deep, though the anime cutscenes don't really tell you anything (they sort of walk around and make emotional noises).

Gameplay: 10/10 It has the classic RPG walk-around-and-fight style that is loved by so many. You'd think it would get dull, but the enemies are very different and avoidable if you don't want to fight (rarely will you find a random encounter moment-you can usually see the enemies). There are several kinds of weapons, magic, and other tools of the trade. Shops are vastly different, and the number of environments are unbelievable. My only problem is that there are a ton of bosses one after the other.

Music: 10/10 The music changes from area to area, time period to time period, even sometimes with the mood of characters. It was creative, both dramatic and soothing, and was almost never repetitive.

Graphics 9/10 I am not one to complain about graphics, but this is technically an SNES game after all. The graphics are quite good.

All I can say is that this game is awesome. Buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse