Rent Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena for PS3
view large frontback

Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.1

3015 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it

posted by ben32409 (PANAMA CITY, FL) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you like the riddick movies you will LOVE this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow!

posted by ZKB (RIO VISTA, TX) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very skeptical about this game. I love the movies, but most games based off movies suck. This game however, is awesome! It's a remastering of Escape From Butcher Bay, with an extra part at the end, Assault on Dark Athena. The game is a prequel to Pitch Black. Its very stealth oriented. If you try to rush in "guns blazing" your probably going to die. Wait for your move, then STRIKE! If you like the Riddick movies, playing FPS games, and don't mind being sneaky, then this is the game for you. The graphics are pretty nice, a lot better than some of the other games out there. The combat is pretty bland, block, hit hit hit, block, hit hit hit, finisher. I haven't beaten the game yet, but so far, the story and gameplay is pretty good. Even if you've never seen the movies, this game won't leave you confused. As nothing from the movies needs to be known in order to understand the plot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best First person shooter on the PS3...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

22 out of 30 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The Chronicles of Riddick, the Sci-fi story that followed after the movie "Pitch Black", Comes these stories, and yes 'these, there is two story lines under this title. "Assault on Dark Athena" and "Escape from Butcher's Bay". This game will keep you busy for hours and you really loose yourself. The game is not your basic first person shooter. You spend your time using stealth as your weapon, with melee attacks, and you use basically anything you pick up as your weapon. There isn't many games like Chronicles of Riddick, and the controls are very simple and easy to learn.

You play as Riddick, a Furian, last of his kind, who is hunted down for unknown reasons, but being the last from his planet he handles himself well at the odds he faces. Escape from Butchers Bay endeavours Riddick to escape from the most secure maximum security prison in the entire Galaxy. In Assualt on Dark Athena, Riddick finds himself boarding a Mercenary star cruiser called Dark Athena that found him drifting threw space, while he was aboard a rogue ship that Riddick had stolen.

This game is amazing, motion is superb, graphics are astonishing, and if the story doesn't capture you, the gameplay will. Starbreeze and Universal Pictures has made a marvellous game. It is impossible to explain all the functionality this game has to offer. You battle threw high tech corridors using the shadows as your steps. The AI will drive you insane with their hostility and ruthless intelligence. You will not be able to finish this game within one day. Specially when you find the multiplayer grips you just as hard the single player.

Its hard to say what I did not like of Chronicles of Riddick. I try to play a game enough that I can give a idea of what it has to offer. Not with this one, you engage into this game completely, almost like its a role playing game. With a billions of things you can do
(I spent a lot of time shootin out lights)
it is hard to really say just only one detail, when this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What Lies In Darkness?

posted by KaMaKaZZZ (MIDDLETOWN, RI) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Many years ago, in the distant time of 2004, a game known as The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay debued on XBox and blew the minds of players everywhere with its dark story, rich characters, amazing graphics, and most of all its astounding mix of genres, including ACTION, STEALTH, RPG, SUR. HORROR and a variety of others. Assault on Dark Athena is no different. Butcher Bay is still an amazing (and perhaps even better) gaming experience, and a treat for both players of the original and newcomers alike. As for Dark Athena, the gameplay remains the same as its predescessor (and that's a good thing). Multiplayer is very un-original and nothing special, seemingly tacked on as a gimmick; all except the fast-paced Pitch Black mode, where 5 soldiers hunt for Riddick in total darkness with nothing but flashlights mounted to their weapons. Riddick (naturally) can see in the dark, hunting his prey with his razor-sharp Ulak blades. A tense and frightening experience for both sides made surprisingly deep with Riddick having no true safe place to hide and the guards helpless without a team-mate to back them. Also, a minor weapon-balancing system makes no single gun supreme (ie the better the gun, the weaker the flashlight). Only 3 maps limit the experience, but no one should go without playing this unique online slaughter. in fact, no one should go without playing through the entire Riddick experience as a whole.

"Worthy of rent or buy, none should pass this game by!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then most new games...Rent it!

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

So far I'm half way thru Escape from Butcher's Bay which I've never played. First of all, I'm totally impressed that this game was made in 2004. The gameplay and story is first class. The upgrade in graphics makes this game look like it was made in 2009. I'm totally enjoying this game so far. The truth is, it is better then most new games out now. Surprised that more people are not renting it. Man, they're really missing out. The best part is that when I finish Escape from Butcher's Bay I get to play a sequel on the same disk.

Many of the new games coming out these days are trash but this game rocks. Believe me, rent it and you will also be sucked right into a joyful gaming experience.

I will return and review the sequel. Rent this game people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great story, gameplay has some troubles

posted by kingdeej (GLENSIDE, PA) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The thing that will keep you hooked is the story of Dark Athena. Riddick is an awesome character and is portrayed well in this video game. The graphics are awesome and the voiceover is done very well.

With that said you will find yourself annoyed with the gameplay from time to time. First of all, the imbalance of health stations. Sometimes there's a whole lot close together, while sometimes you will be wandering around trying to survivor with one cube of health, frustrated that a health system hasn't appeared in the last twenty or thirty minutes of gameplay.

The weapons are fun, but again, the health system seems imbalanced. While it takes a small spray with an Assault Rifle to kill one drone, it seems sometimes it takes an entire round to kill another drone no different than the first. It works the other way around too. Sometimes you will find yourself amazed about how much health you have lost in a small gun or fist fight.

The shooting system and hand to hand combat needs work if they're going to make another sequel, but overall, this game is worth the rent if you're willing to overlook the few frustrated times you might have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cybersups

posted by cybersups (Metairie, LA) May 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

chronicles of riddick is as good as any first person shooter game I,ve ever played. It is as good as the half-life series from valve INC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

6.6.? perfect 10

posted by Demsky (COATESVILLE, PA) May 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best FPS you will play on any system! The average shooter cannoth compare to the setting the dynamics and the raw power this double pack of shooter possess dont let the user review fool you this is Vin Diesel's best appearance on screen. You will truly feel like the menace to the galaxy that is Riddick. Remember embrace the darkness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!!

posted by ACNecron (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is almost perfect just long enough and just hard enough. Although some stages on normal level will make you pull your hair out, but overall awesome. The only reason I didn't give this game a perfect score is the lack of replay value, at least right away. maybe in a couple of weeks or so I will want to comeback to it. The variety of weapons and easy of controls make it easy to pick up and play almost for anyone. The only bad thing is that some levels require you to kind of figure things out on your own and there are no hints. The map that you can access in-game is pretty worthless since it looks like it has been simplified to the most basic level and has been drawn in MS Notepad. Almost all of these are really not worth deducting the points since they are so minor and almost unnoticeable that you will be engrossed in the game from beginning to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exactly what I had hoped it would be

posted by Harlock67 (CANONSBURG, PA) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok first I will say that I am a HUGE Riddick fan since I first saw Pitch Black. So I'll acknowledge that this may be a bit of a biased review.
That being said this was a great game for me. I thoroughly enjoyed my trip through Butcher Bay. I was very pleased with the interface and all of the overall game play worked very well. I was also happy to find that there was a real lack if not complete absence of those annoying little control glitches that get you stuck in places, or on objects and cost you a lot of hard work in the process. A well executed game from a control standpoint. The control scheme I was happy to find carried over into Dark Athena. My only critique for the control system would be weapon selection as it can be hard to change on the fly. I also don't exactly have a grand fix for this so as it stands it just takes some getting used to and forethought is all. Over all I am ecstatic with Butcher Bay, and as you might imagine I went into Dark Athena with high hopes and higher expectations.
Rest assured Dark Athena delivered for me on all points. Great game, fun play, engaging environments, intuitive problem solving that didn't leave me searching for a walk through. All told a smooth well executed game that was more than worth my time and effort.
Finally a point on the story, in what I already felt was a great gaming experience I think that the story itself stands out as it's greatest accomplishment. Both Butcher Bay and Dark Athena go a long way to deepening the story of Riddick and IMHO do it's fans a great service. Let's face it it's happened before where the fans get rooked over by people over thinking and thereby damaging established characters by delving into their past or shining too bright a light on an established personality. We all know Han Solo shot first.
My only real criticism of the game overall is the Multiplayer... it was very run of the mill to me and could be interchanged with any myriad of games already on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 Games in One

posted by MFSFNBIR (SENECA, SC) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OMG. This game is so freaking awesome. Playing as Vin Diesel really make you feel like a Bad (well, you know). If you haven't played the first game like me, then don't worry cause they already put the whole entire first game on this one along with the sequel. If only all sequels to games did that. The world would be a better place. Anyway back to the game. Like i said before playing as Vin Diesel makes feel like a Bad (you already know). The graphics are really spectacular. This is more of a Survival- horror then a straight up action. Don't take me wrong this has a lot of action in it. but you have to use stealth and the dark to survive. This is definitely a must-buy. I'm very impress with how this game feels and plays. Go buy it. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by NepTunes (ARLINGTON, TX) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game very Much the action and the graphic are top notch some Of the game play was a times confusing But I figured it out I say to anyone renting Or thinking of renting Go for it you should enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game that's Worth Playing

posted by LukeArp (CLEVELAND, TN) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a fan of Escape from Butcher bay when it first came out for the P.C. and though the game hasn't aged to perfection it still is very fun. Graphically you can tell this is a 5 year old game remastered, but it isn't ugly. Frame rate was smooth through out both games. Butcher Bay did seem to have way too many loading screens, where I didn't notice as many in Dark Athena. As far as game play, the stealth elements work well for the patient. Stealth kills get a little stale do to the lack of animations, but still satisfying. The guns are nothing new, pretty much all the same ones that where in Butcher Bay are back. They added a force gun in Dark Athena along with the Ulaks. Melee combat is still a lot of fun in this game, especially in Dark Athena with the Ulaks. Story line is easy to follow in both games, so you always have a sense of why you are doing what you are doing. Overall this game is just a fun experience. I don't think it is worth buying for $60 because the multiplayer isn't that enthralling, but when this thing is in the bargain bin for 29.99 and bellow, I would definitely pick it up. It's a strong 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Long Enough

posted by Zulu22 (SELMA, TX) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was great, good graphics, nice gameplay, but the game was very short, finished it in a few hours. Thank god for gamefly, would never have bought it. It's nice to see that Butchers bay was on the disc as well, never got to play the it so it was a treat to be able to.

Overall not a bad game, just wish it was alot longer and had more intricate levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IMO

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) May 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I can't give this a pure review but my enjoyment was very low ! The fun factor is not there for me . The graphics look good but the combat system is garbage - I only played 40 mins worth and sent it back . Im having a hard time finding a good Fps these days as they all seem outdated !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by cockzilla (ATLANTA, GA) May 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

great story great game would get the sequal for sure or any other riddick game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not So Good

posted by Luis956Ldo (LAREDO, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Well The Game Has Excellent sound and visual aspects but as for the control system it was very confusing and the P.O.V (Point Of View) style of the game did not make for easy navigation of the difficult to see in emensly dark levels the online gameplay was no different too dark to see where your going. I Would Not Recommend This Game I Give It A 4 Out Of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game informer gave this game a 9.5 (thats funny)

posted by suprkratos (NEW CASTLE, DE) May 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

ive never played a game that takes 20 sec to load at every check point , until now , this game blows like i said game informer rated this game a 9.5 , im really starting to doubt their credibility , the story was good but the gameplay was to hard if you didnt get a weapon your done , its ashame cause the concept is very good .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Story; Dumb Boss Battles

posted by scion91 (BEND, OR) May 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The story and voice acting are top notch. The boss battles are 10-15 year old Japanese hooey. WHEN will game designers figure out that the lame boss-battle ritual kills their market expansion. On 'Easy' mode, the story should dominate, on 'Hard' mode, gameplay skills should dominate. I got to the final boss battle on 'Easy' mode because I liked the story; after a dozen tries, I lost interest. That shouldn't happen in 'Easy' mode. So my game rating went straight from 8+ to 5-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is sweet i couldnt stop playing started out on butcher bay then went to dark athena and its great people who think this sucks just suck at games in general why dont you go play some shrek the third might be your thing cause its super easy the graphics on butcher bay look good not sick but good put it this way it is easy on your eyes and plus you will be having so much fun lurking around the prison you wont notice a thing it will look beautiful to you the controls are nice and fluid the framerate top notch i clocked it at 60fps at 1080p the whole game no slow down even durn those epics battles but any ways thats butcher bay now on to dark athena the graphics amazing gameplay ultra sick its so much fun to sneak around and take down guards in the shadows on a merc ship and they have no clue whats going on and keep geting more scared cause there crew members keep depleateing i cant stop playing this game you lose time all together and anyone that complains about the graphics starbrezze made it in native 1080p not thAT upconverted bull microsoft feeds you and also ps3 was the developing platform to all who have nO clue what that meas that means it looks a thousand times better on ps3 so if you have a cra p tv it will not shine so hope you enjoyed the review im off to take down the dark athena ps rent it dont buy it you will be playing so much you will will beat it in 20 hours and belive me you have so much fun it flys by {l8TER}

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Much Better than Resident Evil 5

posted by gary7354 (WESTLAND, MI) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Surprisingly this is a pretty good game. Unlike Resident Evil 5 you can move while attacking with a knife and even move while shooting a gun. The mechanics are not cumbersome,one button is used for one function whereas it required two for RE5. The graphics are very good, the length is very good as there are two games. The game also uses stealth and you have to figure out how to escape various situations which was interesting .I really liked this game and it is well worth the time to play it unlike RS5. It was not as good as KillZone 2 but better than 50 cent Blood on the Sand and much better than RS5.I would say it was in the same class as Far Cry 2. I think that if you rent or buy this game you will not be disappointed.

Have Fun !

gary7354

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad game

posted by gtgames09 (LAUREL, MD) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't that good, this was one of the worst games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Graphics good

posted by clanc43 (COLLEGE STATION, TX) May 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game had good graphics, the textures and reflections seemed next gen in every aspect. The story line was a bit lame, but its a game. The problems I ran into were the climbing cut scenes. I hated them, and they disorient you when jumping or moving on the top of the thing you just climbed, which is a bear when people are shooting at you, or speed is required. I also found the ranged weapons to be very inaccurate. The Hand to hand combat is also just repetitive. If you push the buttons fast enough repeatedly, you always win.

It was a decent game, but the controls could have been refined, and the camera angles were really annoying sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Riddick is Back. Is that a good thing?

posted by bubers (AKRON, OH) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lets get this out of the way i beat both games in about a total of 15 hrs. Now Escape from Butcher Bay:
STORY: If you like SI-FI or if you like the Riddick saga then you will like this game. If you like stealth games you might like, if you like regular FPS then you will not like.(get into it later).
GRAPHICS:Not the best looking game on the PS3 but is still a very good looking game.
GAME PLAY: THIS GAME IS NOT A STANDARD FPS. I have to stress that because the shooting in this game is barely passable. There is NO zoom in this game so you have to point the lazer pointer and shoot but sometimes you still are nowhere near your target(this problem get fixed in Dark Athena). Ok now to the good, As a stealth action performer this game is great it has some of the best sneak around and not get seen and find the best route game that i personally think is the best(Splinter Cell is to slow for me).OVERALL: As long as you know what you are getting this is a great game and worth you free time.

Dark Athena:
STORY: If you meet the criteria of the first game you like this game.
GRAPHICS:Not the best looking game on the PS3 but is still a very good looking game.
GAME PLAY:This game starts off so good and enjoyable because it fixes my biggest complaint about butcher bay, You can zoom in and focus on you enemy but it still is hit or miss when you shoot a enemy.
The game follows the same controls as the other game so it is easy to play. Towards the end of the game it tries to turn into a standard run and gun shoot luckily that is only for a little bit. And after it gets back into what it does best it ends with a easy final boss battle and then the end of the game is anticlimactic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena

posted by Jevimen (NEW CASTLE, PA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 25 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

The game starts out great, good movies/sound but then you soon realize that even Riddick; one of the supposed best mano y mano combat specialist is simply no match for nearly every entity you come into contact with(dumb/slow drones aside). Starting the attack sequence, with...well an actual attack on most will simply get you to quickly lose life squares...nope here you need to block/parry attack nearly every time with near perfect timing. I found myself wanting to break my controller during the majority of the fights. They definitely could have made the fighting engine more(or less) involved to make the game flow a lot better. Maybe it's just me but I don't like to play the same section of game 15 times in a row trying to beat someone that shouldn't pose a threat to my character. Give me a challenge, I get it but...wow. Once frustration like that sets in I know the game isn't for me. I'll keep playing Resident Evil 5 through and through before being forced to play this one ever again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse