Rent Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe for Xbox
view large frontback

Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, PSP Movies, DS, GC, PS2
GF Rating
5.7

430 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Wonderful Movie, Bad Game

posted by taialex (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I truly enjoyed the books and the recent movie that came out, only to be disappointed by the game. The game has an interesting format, where you get to pick between characters and perform various tasks to move through each level. This format has worked wonderfully in other games, like the Lego Star Wars games, but does not help this game at all. The beginning does give a good way of exhibiting the controls, but I feel that the tasks that you perform are not exciting at all. At one point, the boys use a stick to knock down ice and wolves. Susan uses tennis balls to keep bats out of the house. And they also have to hide from their nanny, Mrs. McCray, which you do by pressing A. This part was the most confusing and most wasteful part of the game. It just felt like all the excitement and awe of narnia was washed out and replaced to meet the means of a children's video game. If you have a young child that is barely started to play video games, then this game is for them. Other than that, the only way to be excited for the next movie, Prince Caspian, is to watch the movie again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by swflboys (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was really a waste of time. It was a bit confusing to use four characters and the "team up" feature was just silly. I loved it when the older brother threw his little sister into ice to break through walls.

Where's the Child Welfare folks when you need them?

I like adventure games but this one was just not up to snuff. I played for about an hour before I finally ran out of patience for it to get interesting. Definitely not something you want on the top of your Game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Narnia

posted by slave1 (DENVER, CO) May 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was just plain silly. It had no manual so I had to get online and find a walkthrough for many parts. Also it is very repetitive and actually quite hard and pointless in some spots. I finally gave up on it at 18% completion since it wasn't worth the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by bigbadford (HERRIMAN, UT) Jun 2, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun and challenging. It followed the movie and I really enjoyed every level. There are a few levels that you need to play with someone else because it is too hard fight by yourself (but that isn't until you get to some of the last levels). Loved the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a very good game for the entire family

posted by keiths64 (COTTONWOOD, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

rent it for your kids my 5 year old son played it to death

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trickster

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is what I call a "Trickster Game'". That means it sounds like it is awesome by the info posted about what you will be doing in it by Gamefly but when you get it home it reeks. It stared really exciting but soon lost its fun and storyline. I did not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Chronicles of Narnia

posted by Mike783 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

While I enjoyed the game I got frustrated with the cheat codes. i was able to find cheat codes for the game, but they never seemed to work.
Even on the easiest setting the game gets difficult too quickly. I didn't like the fact that you couldn't switch between siblings when they weren't nearby. There were times when I would have liked to have one sibling doing one thing and another doing something else somewhere else on the map.
Overall I give this game a 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and clumsy

posted by Euryleia (LA MIRADA, CA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The movie clips bridging the levels really slowed the game play down and the point of the game play was too simplistic for my tastes- it reminded me of the old Sonic the Hedgehog games, if they had been played in slow motion. The game is a straight story line walk through without any ability to explore and follows the movie so closely that if you've seen it then there's no reason to play the game because it offers nothing new. The team up function was confusing because the wrong characters kept stepping into the way, and the inability to change the camera view meant that half of the time you were moving your character around blindly because there's no way to see what was in front of him/her. Also, because you could only cycle through the characters in one direction, switching characters during fights- or any kind of action- was a hassle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »