Rent Chromehounds for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Chromehounds

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

4287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing online gameplay, with a few imperfections

posted by Sintrinsic (CONROE, TX) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're considering renting/buying this game, and you have access to Xbox live, do it. Some reviews talk about the bad single player, but single player's really only training, and a way to get parts for your hound(mech).
Once you get online, and get used to the various tactics and hound types, the game becomes one of the most addictive combat/strategy games i've ever played. You can build every part of your hound from many variations of hundreds of types of parts, and you're only constrained in your creativity by physical laws(kickback, colliding parts, energy requirements, weight limitations, etc). Don't give up if you suck for the first couple days. It takes time to find your stride.

Now to the bad stuff... The main problems are simple design aspects that were overlooked(the inability to quit a game's readying screen if someone has ninja'd a long afk, for example). There are also very few maps that are small enough to be good for a 1 on 1 match, and it's sometimes hard to find a match against humans without a little wait(you can always fight AI driven opponents, but there far from a challenge once you get good.) All the problems with the game, though, are easily to overcome/ignore, and once you play it, you'll be hooked for years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Chromehounds

posted by crazyman02 (FORT KNOX, KY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game isnt for your everyday mech player, it requires patience and a lot of skill. I loved this game until i recently bought it again only to learn that there is no longer online play, which in all reality is the only good part about it, missions are boring and kind of irritating, because a lot of the time you get lost and unable to find your way to the objectives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of potential, but riddled with bugs

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Jul 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

70 out of 79 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

To put it simply, this game is merely "good". It's not great, but it's not horrible either. After two weeks with the game, let me share with you my opinion:

THIS IS NOT A SINGLE PLAYER GAME. While you very well could have fun all by yourself, this is really a squad-based game. The offline single-player story mode is basically just the tutorial for playing online. It gives you a good bit of training and experience with the different "role types" so you can decide what you like and what you don't. The "role types", or RT's, are as follows: Scout, Soldier, Sniper, Defender, Heavy Gunner, and Commander. Most of these RT's are pretty self explanatory if you've ever played a military type game before, with the major exception being the Commander. In this game, the Commander is the only one that can see the location of any vehicles on the map that are within range, both allies and enemies.

To most people this game is somewhat slow-paced. For fans of mech games, Chromehounds is more Steel Battalion than Mech Assault. Of course, you're in complete control of how your mech operates, but even the fastest one is a bit slow for a lot of people. That brings me to what is probably the game's biggest asset: customization. Whether you want to build a four-legged mech with nothing but cannons and artillery or a hovercraft with machine guns and pile-drivers, you've got all the tools to do so.

My major problems with this game are the connection issues and bugs. While I haven't noticed any lag, people sometimes get randomly kicked out in the middle of a battle, or fail to connect at the beginning, making teams uneven. Even worse, there is a bug that gives you -$999,999,999. While that wouldn't be a huge problem if Sega Customer Support was more on-the-ball with fixing it, the fact is that they are slacking. I've personally had this bug for almost two weeks, and the latest word is that it will be fixed "possibly next week". With these bugs, this game gets a solid 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, give it a chance.

posted by FlawedChar (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I still remember the first day in chrome hounds. I put together a decent little Hound and went into battle, fairly confident that i would be able to hold my own with my trusty little soldier that was sporting 6 chain guns and a couple of rocket launchers...I knew nothing of the real design aspect that was put into this game, like the right fire-control chipset to use with which cockpit, coupled with the correct chassis and whether or not the Hound would overheat or run out of fuel after 13 minutes...I just wanted to blow some stuff up! So there I was, on a desert landscape with 11 other noobs trying to figure out why we couldn't communicate with each other (we needed to secure the cellphone tower like structers to set up our network, "COMBAS") when I looked out over the horizon...there were no enemy hounds in sight, but I saw what looked like missles flying thru the air about 1000 yards out. It was strange because it seemed like they ran out of fuel half-way thru their flight path; just 4 tiny black dots flying thru the air in a 1500 yard arc, they didn't look like anything to worry about...until they landed all around me...the resulting explosions spun the turret-like cockpit of my Hound 90 degrees to the left, ruined every single weapon I had, leaving me with a machine the would barely move, burning, sparking, and completely useless except to draw fire away from my teammates,one of whom was destroyed in the same salvo-I had been on the receiving end of what was basically the equivalent of a walking four-legged battleship, the dreaded(at that time)"double-double". It was one of the most memorable moments in my gaming history. Over the next 300+ hours of gameplay that I logged, I learned a great many things, and the "persistent war" aspect of Chromehounds has never been duplicated in any other online game. One thing is for sure, if you go into battle without great teamwork(this means playing together ALOT)you will soon end up like me on that first day. A MUST BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Multiplayer only

posted by AtomicBomb (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well first off I'd like to say THIS IS NOT A SINGLE PLAYER GAME as most people say. The multiplayer is awesome in my point of view. It lets you join a squad of other people and engage in the Neronimous War (I forgot how it's spelled) or the good ol' free battle. The war consists of you fighting the rival countries against computers or other squads. Free battle is just you against other people just for the fun of it.

Now for one of the best aspects of the game, Mech customization. You can use thousands of different parts and use them accordingly. You can make them to your liking such as sniper, commander (Mech with a radar on its head), heavy gunner or artillery guy, Soldier, Defender, and Scout.

I really only recommend this game to people that liked the older armored cores (1-3). Four was terrible so that doesn't count. Other then that, it was a game that gave me tons of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SombreAvreage Review (obxlive name)

posted by Teamhound (CREAM RIDGE, NJ) Jun 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ok this is the whole layout of chromehounds this game is for those people who take online wars seriously this is the only game that has a raging war with realtime wins and loses of a battlefield. This actualy has an only war taking place as yo read this review.
The story mode is kind of long and boring but once you get around it which i reccomend you do if you want the all parts medal which is only avialable online like almost all of the 49 medals.
This game has one HUGE drawback like most good 360 games it is ot worth buying renting or even thinking about if you dont have online!!!!
There is something in this game for all online players like the 6 types of mechs which have there own unique advantages and weakness's
1)Snipers-Hard to use online(lag) but really good
2)Soldiers-Very mobile,Very high offensive power
3)Defenders-High armor,High powered,slow,
4)Commanders-Sit in back bark orders,IMPORTANT!!
5)Heavy gunners-Diffucult use,VERY POWERFUL,SLOW!
6)Scouts-Light,fast,low powered weapons,NO ARMOR!!
This game has several good things online if you get in a good squad a medal s easy to get really fast except for gold ones and valors,Ranks determine how well you have proven your self to pilot this machines of war...You can create or like i said join a squad that is placed against either players or CPU(easy unless you are a good pilot or if you have good team mates)Matches can go up to 6v6!!!And the 3 secret weapons more rare than a rookie babe ruth baseball card are near impossible to find but you geta secret achievment for killing 1 of the 3.
Note: YOU MUST HAVE PATIENCE TO PLAY THIS GAME AND BE VERY CREATIVE WHEN BUILDING A MECH OR PILOTING A HOUND,HOUNDS APPEAR TO MOVE SLOW BUT TRUST ME THERE NOT THERE REALLY GOING THAT FAST IN KM/H BUT THE HUGE MAPS MAKE IT LOOK SLOW AND BUILDING A WORLD BEATING HOUND IS LIKE TRYING TO STOP A SPEEDING TRAIN!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game brought down by bugs

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Aug 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

24 out of 29 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Chromehounds is one of those games that people either love or hate; there is no middle ground here.

The single player game is just training for the online play, so if you don't have Xbox live or don't plan to play online, just skip this game.

Online, however, is the real gem here. The main draw of the online mode is the persistent world war going on, in which you choose a nation and each battle you win earns your nation capture points for that area. Once you have enough capture points, that area is taken over by your nation and you can move on to attack further into their territory, the ultimate goal of which is to take their capital, effectively eliminating them from the current war. Once one of the 3 nations ousts the other two, a new war starts.

The greatest thing about the online play is that there is so much customization. Yes, there are 6 role-types that everything tends to fall into, but that is more of a guideline than anything else. There is nothing stopping you from making a scout with heavy guns except for the weight that each chassis can hold. This makes online games fresh and interesting as you never know really what might be facing.

There are some bugs, but Sega/From Software seem to be working on that. Connecting to other people can be frustrating at times for various reasons. You can play against bots, but there is no way to reserve a game being set up for this, so sometimes when you do manage to find a game the other people duck out. Other problems could be people's network settings, but there are times when some people can connect to a game and others can't. The other big bug can cause a player's money to go down to -999 million. This is supposed to be taken care of this week though.

If you can find a good squad that you get along with, the problems with the game become that much more insignificant compared to the great game play.

If you like mech games and prefer a more tactical game than your average FPS, then this could be it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is so totally awesome...

posted by SavingJunk (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

52 out of 68 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is so much fun. Yeah, at first the UI seems really confusing and difficult and it's so annoying just getting into a squad. Once you've passed all that it gets real fun. Customizing your hound at some times is more fun than actually playing. You have to take so many things into account as the weight limit for your chassis to the energy limit produced by your generator. This game is a definite buy, it's just so much hours of online goodness. Did I mention that there was a real war in the game. Not a one battle and you won the war. There can be up to like 100 battles just to push the enemy out of one city, now only 9 more cities to go until you can then attack there capital. Once he capital falls the country is yours for the taking. Now you have to deal with the other country. There are three countries that you choose between when you first come online. So click the "KEEP IT" button now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

online

posted by sleepyone (LIBERTY, MO) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this is an alright game that is kind of like mech warriors
but the best part of this game is the online game play, the month long online wars are awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

chrome hounds review

posted by mattrzepka (ROCKVILLE, MD) Jul 14, 2006

Member since May 2005

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I could not wait for this game to come out. I found out that this game is less strategic then i had thought but the customization of the hounds is very in depth and easy to use. The controls are very straight forward and a little bit like those of halo 2. The gameplay is slower than i had hoped but it will suffice over all because the action gets more intense then i suspected during online play when you play with other humans. The more you play with a certain RT (role type) the harder the levels become. The game says if a role type is easy medium or hard. This is very helpful when picking a rt to create your hound into. Overall this game is fun during single player but you only can experience what the game was ment to be like during the all time war on xbox live. My suggestion is to rent it first then depending on if you like it you should buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It had potential

posted by JSpartan (IOWA CITY, IA) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

47 out of 71 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

This game is way too slow to be considered that fun. It has amazing graphics, but the gameplay, ugh. Soooo slow paces and boring. You just walk forever on a big boring landscape over and over again for each mission. The controls are simple and yet the game tries to be realistic like steel battalion, but its the slowest moving game of all time. When your playing, you just want to walk faster(every mech is slow, even the light small ones) or at least fly. The multiplayer can be fun if you can find people who are willing to help out their teamates, but most often everyone just chooses the mech they like and screws over their teammates. Solid rental, possibly a purchase if the online could get better. Maybe in time when people learn how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mechs with 6+ howitzers on them walk to slow?

posted by redice (COTTON, MN) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Maybe you should take a couple off if you don't like going slow, not every mech in this game is slow nor do any you build have to be. That's right I said build every single part on a mech is changeable and individually damageable.

I have made soldier mechs that can get across the battlefield faster than any of the mechs on mech assault could if they were in this game.

However this is not a twitch based game like mech assault this is a tactics and thinking mans game, not for the feint at heart, gorgeous graphics realistic gameplay "that is if mechs walked the earth" FANTASTIC squad combat this game however is ONLINE ONLY offline is only to get you ready for the real thing which is online squad based combat in matches of up to 6v6.

Oh did I mention its a persistent world game? The online war is ever going your squad can turn the balance of the war and help your side win it. Does the war end? yes it happens at least once a week and they start it up again there's always new parts added during the wars in the way of captured and experimental items, so the game is ever evolving and is updated often. A great game for the true hardcore gamer. And a heck of a lot of fun for the softcore as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Warming Period

posted by CodeRed (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful


For anyone reading this who is wondering whether or not to rent this game the answer is a Resounding yes, But understand one thing there was a bit of a warming period for the game I personally hated the game at first but after putting a bit of time into it you realize some of its charming aspects. The online play is incredible and the amount of different customizations are also extravagant. I have spent many hours just building mechs and designing the decals to put on them if you have ever wanted a mechwarrior type of game that has been done right and gives you almost complete power to make your mech any way you want then rent this title. I highly suggest that if you don't like it at first give it a few more hours or play a bit through the single player and everything will start coming to you and then ta da you realize this game ROCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"REALISTIC"

posted by Vergil (EAST LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For all of you who think this game is gonna be like mech assualt you are somewhat wrong. So i would suggest this game for mature players for that matter. This game is WAY more realistic, for example the hounds in this game dont go rediculusly fast like in mech assult. also these thousand ton mechines cannot hover with jetpacks(that was stupid). so if all u want is mindless, kiddish,killing, then play mech assult. but if you enjoy realistic combat as do i, then get this game. Besdies that, this game has excellent sounds and grafics and the HOUNDS look way better than mech assualt which looked like ripped off power ranger robots. (No offence to Mech Assualt players, just stating the differenes, as i have played both games.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best online games ever

posted by kaner28 (SOUTH LYON, MI) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one of the best online games ever. great squad tactics and team work make the game. the single player is lame though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Multiplayer Only.

posted by Naducard (PALMER, MA) Aug 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game didn't interest me at first, but I thought I would give it a try. The single player campaign isn't much fun. The online play however, is amazing! Once you find a good squad to join you can start having tons of fun with it! If you have X-Box Live and a good connection (which is strongly rocommended) you'll love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blown away

posted by DeadlyDevi (GRESHAM, OR) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, i went into this game thinking it was gonna be bad... and whal the Single player gets a 3/10 that's not where the game is at... The multiplayer is where the game has its moments..

The single player is very slow paced, their is a guy yelling at you ever 3 seconds to do something and is just boring....

The Multiplayer is an all on going war agenst EVERYONE who plays online, whal the servers are really bad (you get disconnected alot) and it takes a while to get into learning how to build and customize your mech... When you learn the ropes it is very fun...

Single player gets a 3/10

But my rating is all in the multiplayer... for a 10...out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great mechs, boring level design.

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Aug 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Chrome Hounds is pretty swell (The censorship here is beyond reasonable) fun. This game though is really meant almost exclusively for on line play. You'll find the the mission based portion of this title are fair, but clearly just intended as a tune up for on line play.
The mechs are nicely detailed, and you can really tweak up your lumbering metal monster to many degree's of your choosing.
But the mechs seemed unusually slow, and awkward to me at first. However, after a bit I found this to seem fairly realistic, in a way that one might imagine something of this size would actually move.
Still have not seen a 10 for the 360 yet, (Sorry I love Oblivion, but glitchy loads, and routine freeze ups kill a 10, 10 means absolute perfection. There are no flaws, the game is on all levels without any problems!) if this game had a more compelling single player mode, better story and some real thought put in to level design, it may just have been the 1st real 10. But that could be said for a lot of th 360 titles,if only this and if only that were just given more attention etc. But no. The levels are dull, sparsely detailed, boring, bland, and not very inspiring.
That's not to say it isn't fun, it is! But not everyone is living for games to play on line all the time, which this game seem intentionally designed for.
The weapons are great and sound amazing.
Yes the sound is better than the overall detail of terrain and levels.
The customizing options are bountiful.
The voice acting os terrible. Maybe it was supposed to sound really corny?
Overall Chrome Hounds is a "GOOD" game that really needed more single player content, and graphical pop and zip to earn anything higher than a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly Good, but lacking

posted by GKyle1016 (SAN MARCOS, TX) Aug 5, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 7. Really it deserves a 7.25 or 7.5. I will give the standard pro/con format, with my comments at the end.

Cons first. My biggest problem with this game is the game play its self. The speed of these things are incredibly slow. Advanced technology dedicated to war and I could out run these things on foot! The plot was grand, the execution was something of mediocrity. The missions were exciting enough, but they seemed to lack the in depth playability we have come to expect.

Ok, that's enough with the cons, you should get the point by now. The strongest characteristic of this game has to be the graphics. They are awesome. When someone goes out to buy an XBox 360, they buy it for this reason...the graphics, and this title takes full advantage of the power of the 360. Another pro has to be the sound. The sound is very well put together and really helps to tie in the graphics.

All in all this is a decent title, not awesome but decent. It is well worth renting and will provide with about a weeks worth of playing. It has a multilayer aspect that is suppose to be good, but it never seemed to work right when I tried. You should be happy if you rent it, but I would never own this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by gamemonkey (CORONA, CA) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. 1st is that The online aspect is really good (in my opinion), although some people are jerks . Well I guess that's the only thing good about this game. If you don't have XBox Live then DON'T rent or buy this game. The game's single player isn't fun, simple as that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slow, just too freaking slow

posted by DarFmule13 (GROVELAND, FL) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like everything about the game but the fact that it so freaking slow, and the environments are very bland. The game doesn't really "wow" me when rockets and bullets hit there targets like buildings and other hounds. I was expecting to blow off mech arms and make craters in the ground. When the buildings go down it looks pretty cheap. They needed to add like a jump or a dash to the hounds to make the game fast paced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent IF...

posted by SynReiper (FORKS, WA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

you find a squad. This is Chromehounds, any one familiar with the Metal Gear series will instantly feel deja vu at the hulking metal behemoths on two legs. Though unlike Metal Gear there are two key differences, the first is that YOU are the pilot of the walking battle tank, and the second is every one else has one too! This game puts you in the driver's seat of this walking tank in a war between three nations in which you (a mercenary working for the highest dollar) are smack dab in the middle of.
Just looking at the opening cinematic shows the potential the game has but there are things that they don't tell you.
One being that the as good as the game is, without xbox live its near meaningless as that's where this game shines in all its glory. Another is that the single player is a bit dull to get through even with the more active missions. Graphics are amazing and detailed, environments seem a bit jagged once in awhile but most of the time your too distracted to even notice. Game controls are amazingly easy to get into, near pick up and play ability. Content, well you'll often find yourself spending literally HOURS making your own personal walking death machine. Replay value comes from the ranked missions and online play.
But as said before, to really get into the game you NEED Xbox Live, things are a bit slow when you start out all alone but things quickly pick up when you make or join a squad of friends. There you and your team fight the very war you slugged through in the single player, only now you have some one to talk to on those hikes to the enemy base.
Over All
Graphics: 8.7
They don't get much better but there is room for improvement
Sound: 8.9
BANG! Need I say more?
Controls: 7
Maybe a little too easy...
Game play-Off line: 5
Very average, and slow if your impatient.
Game play-On line: 9.5
Show off your mech, chat with friends and get ready to storm nations together!
Value: 8
Still need to earn those S Ranks.
Overall: 8.5
This game rules!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Chromehounds

posted by Hostage (NEWARK, NJ) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

19 out of 33 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

When i first sat down to play this game i was thinking inpossible controls but to my suprise they wher as sipple as GTA. The graphics are on beliveable and you can custimize your mech any way you want. The only bad thing is the mechs are alittle slow. I have to say you should rent the game first and if you feel how i did BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game, Realistic in it's own way

posted by rickjames (MIRAMAR, FL) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Although I loved Mechassult for its fast paced action and futuristic look, Chromehounds is a much more realistic look at what would happen if mechs where actually real and dominated the battlefield.
The action was slow and some of the graphics were unrealistic (i.e. the mechs just melting away and not leaving any wreckage), But the games makes up for this by adding a whole new perspective on mech games. They actually allow you to customize the mech to your liking so you add your own combination of destruction upon your enemies. Xbox Live was the best ever. You play in a conquest style of gaming where three countries fight for land and dominance over the other two. But unlike mechassult's conquest, countries can be wiped off the map or "Ruined" as it is called in the game. Like in the campaign, you can customize your own mech online. It works exactly like the campaign version. you can even join a squad (i.e. 39th irregulars) and kick butt alongside your friends.
The game is not a rip off of mechassult, it is own distinct game with it's own ups and downs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Glitchhawk (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dont Belive The Critic Reviews this game is awsome. Offline Mode just seems to be like a training mode for online. if your a gamer, pick this game up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse