Rent Child of Eden for PS3
view large frontback

Child of Eden

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.9

256 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

A truly unique sensory experience

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Oct 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is by far the most unique thing i've ever played on PS3. Before I even get started, there is a long warning for epilepsy at the beginning of the game. If you or anyone you know has seizures from flashing lights, you should stay as far away from this game as possible. plain and simple.

For the rest of us, this game is a real treat. It is highly under appreciated, I feel as though I should explain why its so unique. For one, this game was created by a Genius with a capital G. Tetsuya Mizuguchi is a masterful creator of truly original games. That should be covered before the pro's and con's. Now, why I like this game, and what to consider:

Pros: graphics, graphics, graphics. This pushes the blu ray technology to new boundries I never even knew existed. Please keep in mind this game was designed for dual motion control and 3d action. It is compatible, but to get 100% from the games true potential you need the motion control and 3d television (which-as we know-costs a fortune). Although I had neither of these things, this game blew me away from the very first second, with a regular controller and a regular HDTV.

Cons: Fast pace, dizzying fractals. To be totally honest, this game can be disorienting even for those with no history of motion sickness or epilepsy. I've never gotten motion sickness or had seizures from anything, but this game pushes your eyes and your reflexes far and fast. Which is why, for everyone's enjoyment, I suggest you take in this game in small to medium doses.

The game is best enjoyed one level at a time, with at least 15-30 min breaks in between each level. not only does it savor the experience and the graphics that way, but you'll keep enjoying it for a long time, without getting sore eyes or hands. I play one level per day, and it's the most beautiful game I've ever played on PS3.

You owe yourself a look at the trailer if your even mildly interested. it's truly unique, I strongly suggest you buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is a game to avoid.

posted by cqm2000 (LUBBOCK, TX) May 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Since these types of fantasy world games are quite appealing to me this really says something. all the flashing lights and quickly moving seens made me puke, and gave me a splitting headache. When I did manage to overlook all of that stuff the controls were super sensitive. It is really hard to explain how complicated the story line is, uhhhh, something about a dying girl or something like that and you dissapear into a computer- I just cant follow it at all and to me the story line is very important to a games appeal. i would not recommend this game to anyone- esspecially epileptics. btw i have been a member since last december. its different on the profile or whatever its called.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad, bad and bad

posted by trabs123 (DELTONA, FL) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The premise of this game is to save a girl named Lumi in the future. She is digital girl and is stuck in the internet which is now called Eden. You have to save her by destroying viruses and cleaning Eden. The good is that there is a lot of color and some good sound. The bad is that after third or fourth screen you are like why I am I playing this game. The screens are fast and if you get sick during car rides or roller coasters, this game is not for you. There is a warning in the beginning about epilepsy. This is seen in a lot of the newer games. I think this is the first game that epilepsy is a real concern. I know people who have epilepsy and the flashing lights of this game would definitely have them in seizures. The poor play and redundant action or lack there of makes me say this is a game to pass over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

well....... um.....

posted by skeet_skeet (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I suppose this game would be awesome if you are a raving etard candykid. I give it 4 instead of a 1 solely on the fact that it is very unique and unlike anything I have ever seen, therefore, respect is due to the developers I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great but interesting.

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

In this world full of cgi the cutscenes here were a welcomed sight. It all looks gorgeous but it got dull fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another on-the-rails shooter for Playstation Move

posted by cablenajun (ALVIN, TX) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

As the title would suggest, this was another sad attempt at bringing to life a genre of game that is best left to your traditional arcade. While the graphics were stunning, and the premise for the story was a great idea, the game itself failed to take off due to a failure to follow up with the expectation of supreme gameplay. Overall, very flashy with little to no substance.

On another note, the way the developers have set up the calibration for the move controller is entirely too sluggish to keep up with the maddening pace of blowing up hundreds of dazzling objects flying at your screen.

This game had the potential to be a great title, but it looks like Ubisoft made a Ubiflop once again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as Rez

posted by synce (CUMBERLAND, MD) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The music in this game is fantastic but the gameplay doesn't live up to the PS2 prequel's standards. At it's core the gameplay is the same but instead of controlling a character that evolves as you score points, you just get a reticle and a health meter. There's no points points display and the game doesn't tell you how to score perfect combos either, you're just left in the dark.

Also, unlike Rez this game doesn't work well with a regular controller. Some of the projectiles are just ridiculous, they were definitely designed with the dexterity that Move allows. This is a good rental though because the soundtrack is amazing. There are only 5 stages but you'll have to replay them several times and won't mind it a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Honest Opinion

posted by ChittyBits (FREDERICKTOWN, MO) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I love this game! It has a feel of the old PS1 game N2O Nitrous Oxide, but more chaotic and with better graphics. If you played N2O and liked it, you will love Child of Eden. It is fast paced and blinding with colors. Some of my friends could only play for a bit before getting a headache, but I can play for hours straight with no problems. This game is definitely worth checking out because there are very few games like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Some fun, much frustration

posted by DeadBob67 (SPENCER, MA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

This game substitutes repetition and difficulty for content.

The first 'level' was fun, but other levels do not open up until you get 5 stars (for perfect gameplay) on thecurrent one.

All in all, much promise followed with a kick in the groin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

If you want to play something that you have never experienced before, totally try this game. I still have no idea what I played and I am totally fascinated by the game. Cool colors, interesting music, and pretty easy mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's great in its class.

posted by T90X (ROUND ROCK, TX) Mar 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

I have been hesitant to play this game since it came out. After a good hour with it I can say that the interactive visual and the Trance music experience is amazing. The story was ok and the calibrations were awkward. Overall it a fun game for those who want to get away from shooting-to-kill games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Child of 'Eh...'

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

Here's the thing...

These kinds of games are never truly appreciated until years later. This genre is extremely shallow with few-and-far-between games as it is, end even less that are actually good or worth playing.

This IS one of those good games. But, there's a reason why it's received better on the 360 than PS3. The Move controller is good, but probably not as good as Kinect for THIS kind of game specifically. I enjoyed the gameplay (although your shoulder will hurt before the end of the first level) and the graphics and music are all good too.

Something about the game never pulled me in though. It reminds me of those Arcade Machines you play just because you have extra coins and have already played the other stuff. It's not bad in any way, but never makes you desire playing it again right away.

It's good for what it is, but it's not meant for anyone who isn't already a fan of Rez, Frequency, Amplitude and so on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

thank you gamefly

posted by iwannahurtu (CRESSON, PA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

one of the worst games i have ever played.gamefly won't be able to give these away once someoneplays it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »