Rent Child of Eden for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Child of Eden

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.9

2324 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Child of Eden - Best Kinect game yet

posted by bambam27 (BOILING SPRINGS, SC) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

43 out of 47 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is one unique game. It's under the genre of 'shooter' but that is very misleading. It's so much more than that. The world has been over taken by a virus and it's your job to 'purify' everything back to normal. It's not bloody or violent like other shooters. It's unlike any other game that i've played. You can use your controller or your Kinect, but i found the experience so much better using the Kinect.
There is a learning curve, but after 2 or 3 times playing it you pretty much get the hang of it. The tutorial tells you everything you need to know. The visuals are amazing as well as the audio. You don't feel that you are playing a videogame, you feel you are part of mind-blowing adventure. This game is very different from any other game out there, so this is a perfect game to rent from GF. This is one game that every Xbox owner, espicially Kinect owners, should at least play once. By far the best game for the Kinect yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyably phantasmagoric, but short.

posted by kaos_manifest (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Impressive. Original. This is one of those games where if there are other people in the room while you play this game, they will feel compelled to watch it played. I would tell you the story, but that's just peanuts to the actual experience of playing it. The visuals, just like Rez, are nothing short of moving art. The music and sounds, albeit J-poppy, are appropriate and match the upbeat atmosphere of the game nicely. I played it on both kinect and controller to establish which worked better. The kinect gameplay emulates conducting a symphony of electronic ambience, and though this is VERY aesthetically pleasing, it sacrifices speed and precision. The controller gamplay's reticle moves noticeably faster and possesses more precision but lacks the aesthetics of making sound with your hands. Either way it is really easy to enjoy the art and sounds of this game so long as you have two ears, eyes and heart. The most defining dissappointment in this game is it's brevity. It is very short, despites it's attempts to add length with a "challenge mode." It has replay value, but it is still really, really short. It WILL leave you wanting and craving a lot more. Really though, thats the only issue. If it was longer it would've easily recieved a 9 or 10 in rating. Again, due to it's brevity, I'd say rent it. However you play it, this rail-shooter's soundscapes and visuals will stay with you for quite some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The first real reason to own a Kinect.

posted by Zacharuni (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I won't lie, my review for this game may be a tad biased. Since it's reveal, I have followed this game closely, waiting for it to launch. Now that's it's here, I'm happy to say it's kept to my expectations -- this IS the first taste of what a ground-up Kinect game is capable of.

While the story seems a little thin, the game itself is the main attraction. The visuals are appealing, and the music is a consistent, upbeat trance-style that combine together to make an experience that consumes your attention. Once you pick this game up, good luck putting it down. But therein lies the games one true problem: this game is short.

Most people say a three-hour experience: I'd have to agree. There's five true levels, with one level taking between 10-15 minutes each. You'll beat this game shortly after you begin, leaving room for so much more.

Thankfully, there is a replay ability to the game. You'll want to come back, whether to continue unlocking achievements, play the game through again on the (much) harder Hard mode, or to play through the (technically) sixth level which is a challenge mode of the previous five levels.

If you are planning to play this game using a controller instead of Kinect, you will still enjoy this game. Having played the game using both the Kinect and the controller, I enjoyed both, playing my first time on Normal via Kinect. The second run I used the controller for the precision on Hard mode.

The achievements will take multiple play throughs, and if you're playing with Kinect, your right arm WILL hurt far more than your left. I promise.

If you're not into the aspect of dying and restarting a level, there is an optional difficulty called "Feel Eden" that allows you to explore the game without the worry of taking damage. It's nice for those that just want to explore, not worry about health.

Overall, this game is a great rental title. You'll be hard-pressed to not smile while playing this entrancing game -- though it will leave you wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beautiful and beyond creative...yet still lacking

posted by Twilen (HOLLYWOOD, SC) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For those who have played games like Rez, the basic gameplay of Child of Eden will be easy to grasp. What makes this game wonderful is the skillful integration of music and visuals, creating a gaming experience that is mind blowing. The problem, however, manifests itself with the lack of depth offered to players. I was disappointed that after clearing the five main levels, the game ended and all I had left was an "endless" mode.

Why replay the levels? Certain collectibles are offered at the end and these get added to the digital "garden" which is also the level select screen. There is also a gallery and videos to be unlocked as well. It's a nice touch, but hardly enough incentive to make me play a level more than four times. As a Kinect owner, I truly enjoyed it and switched to the controller when I got tired of waving my hand around. Often times, the game wasn't as responsive when playing with the kinect and there was a delay between what I did and what happened on the screen.

Overall, Child of Eden is a beautiful game which also uses the Heavenly Star album by Genki Rockets as its soundtrack. With stunning visuals, it's a truly wonderful gaming experience but it lacks a strong foundation; making the replay value moderate. It stands on its own and can't really be compared to other games, but there are still core elements that makes a game enjoyable and worthy of spending 40 dollars. The game is extremely short considering a level can be completed in 11-15 minutes.

Rent it and enjoy. I only wished there were more features, levels and gameplay depth to make it worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its...Ok...I think?

posted by GameflyMastr (NAPERVILLE, IL) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Interesting game and original sort of plot/interpretation of events, however, no checkpoints! Be prepared to continually have to go back and redo a lot of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The reason to own a Kinect...hands down.

posted by BlaktimusPrime (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely phenomenal. This is the closest thing to a Dragonball Z experience you will get in the Kinect at the moment. It is one of the most visually stunning games you will see. You may get overwhelmed by it to the point of confusion but play a little longer and you will get used it. It is a blast and quite the work out on the arms. Also it doesn't hurt that music from Genki Rockets was used in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely awesome!

posted by SharkdrivR (CENTER POINT, AL) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thanks the gods! I finally got a new game that's good! Since I like this game so much I'm gonna put exclamation points after every sentence!! This game is a point and shoot style shmup that's visually stunning and audibly brilliant! I strongly suggest everyone check this out! Play this game with the sound up! Play this game with your tv bright! This one has totally got my attention and it should have yours too! In a word...awesome! Awesome, awesome, a thousand times awesome!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gorgeous..not much else.

posted by NickMare (HEDGESVILLE, WV) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didnt play this on Kinect, I played using the regular Xbox-360 controller, I beat it in a few hours. It was a good experience, but not a great experience, I recommend this to anyone that appreciates gorgeous graphics and good music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Colorblinded

posted by WSxRyden (CENTERTON, AR) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To be frank, this game is REALLY HARD if you are colorblind. It regularly fires "bullets" from off screen and only gives you a circle in the middle of the screen with a little arrow on it. problem is that the little circle tends to be the same color as most of the backgrounds. Its some kind of purple or blue. Either way I couldn't hardly see it which led to this game being nearly impossible for me. Try if you'd like, its just gonna be hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but could be a little better

posted by netkid_100 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game a lot, but that's considering i liked the old school games like Galaga, and Asteroids. This game, although well written, plays a lot like a 3d version of the old 70's and 80's video games since all you're doing is sitting or "Standing" there shooting the target with your couple of special attacks, or the main gun to destroy the viruses infecting "Eden", a.k.a. the future internet used to house all memory of earth and it's former inhabitance. I'll rent it again, to finish playing the Kinect aspect of it, but I personally would not buy it because of it's short game play and throwback simplicity. could use a level or two where, as Lumi, you are a 3rd person shooter going at it with the boss virus or something...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but disappointing

posted by RPG_FPS_GOD (TOPEKA, KS) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i rented this game from the public library since its free and after about 4 hours i had it beat and returned. this was the most confusing game i ever played at first - there no talking period, it gives you a couple small tutorials but thats all you need seeing as there are only 4 buttons used through the whole game, everything is extra colorful which is both confusing and stunning - but fun i read all the hype and dont understand its just an arcade style shooter where the game moves you forward on a set path and you just aim with the left stick and fire set to some funky music and recurring visuals of a semi-hot asian(?) chick who i assume to be the musical artist

gameplay is pretty bland and the story is pretty stupid some chick, a goddess i think, died and is digitalized the purify the internet (not the world they made that pretty clear in-game) of viruses and on top of that they make you replay levels in a obvious desperate attempt to make the game longer and to earn stars to advance and the grading scale is totally unfair - 100% purified, 100% items found, no damage taken, no special weapons used, and basically everything needed for a "perfect" go through only gets me 2 stars while a poorer performance on the same level nets me 3 stars - it doesnt make sense

its game style is old and played out but that doesnt change the fact that it was fun and the music is kinda catchy not worth a buy and i feel sorry for everyone who paid $60 for it when it came out but its worth playing once. oh, did i mention there are only 5 levels?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just rent it cause its unique

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just saying this is the most visually stunning game on the market. Its not realistic like Battlefield 3 but the vibrant colors make the special. This is not an FPS its a rail shooter when you have missile lock and some sort of colorful machine gun thing to kill viruses and other stuff. Child of Eden is the successor to REZ an old playstation 2 classic that just feels better than Child of Eden.
If your looking for a visually stunning game than Child of Eden is definitely the answer but if your looking for a more free realm open game than run away from this game. Anyway the best choice is to try out REZ HD on Xbox Live arcade which is better than Eden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but not for the controller in mind!

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2002

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I made it to stage 4 then I had to quit it was extremely frustrating without KINECT! But other then that the game is cool and has a really cool Sound track I do however wish it had Custom Sound tracks! Trance would have been a much better selection!.. It feels like your in a dance club!.. Enjoy gamers in KINECT its worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Die start completely over, ruins game. No save!

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful, and fun to play, but gets too frustrating and painful to play without a save feature.

If you play 19 minutes and 55 seconds and die you will need to start over. They left out the a save feature to make the game seem longer by making you keep starting over and over.

Can't recommend this game as it's too frustrating despite the fact the controls work pretty well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful. Absolutely Beautiful.

posted by Gam3r_Dud3 (CLAYTON, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The music is well integrated into the gameplay (You have to time your shots for a good multiplier). The visuals are amazing, although all the different particles and effects can get distracting. Even though the menu can get confusing, this is probably the best kinect game to date. A tip of advice: don't get this game if you don't have kinect. It ruins the experience, and doesn't feel natural.
Overall, a good, solid game. Much worth the playthough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Afraid this one was really over-hyped ...

posted by Lurking_Grue (OCALA, FL) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game, I really did. I was told over and over how mind-blowing the visuals were and that the experience of playing it via Kinect could possibly elevate one to higher level of consciousness. ;)

Alas, I didn't really find anything that special about the visuals. Sure they're neat at first, which seems to be a theme for this release, but overall, the game felt like I was merely playing an updated version of the 80's arcade game Tempest. Playing CoE via Kinect was neat at first but really doesn't overcome what I found to be a very monotonous game.

Now, to be fair, this type of abstract game is not really my cup of tea. If you like that sort of thing, then this might just be the game for you, especially if you've been looking for something fun & different to do with your Kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun at first, but dying is painful

posted by Zatanna (ISSAQUAH, WA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Liked
- Visuals
- Music
- Sci-fi-ish story, as light as it was

Disliked
- Awkward controls, even more so with Kinect. I'm not that coordinated.
- Having to start the entire world over if you die.
- Not always clear what I should be shooting at or how.
- Not being able to progress in "feeling" (explore) mode.

I returned it after an hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is your mind...

posted by Gumpppppp (Gorham, ME) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

...and this is your mind on Child of Eden. This quirky shooter seems to have flown under the radar (due to the concurrent release of Duke Nukem), and many people are ignoring it based simply on its Kinect heavy design. However, for those willing to broaden their gaming horizons, Child of Eden presents a fun, if not slightly flawed experience.

The story of Child of Eden is briefly presented, loosely followed, and essentially unimportant. The memory of the first girl born in space, Lumi, is stored on the internet, now called Eden. A virus takes hold of Eden and threatens to corrupt Lumi, who holds memories and images of Earth. It's a little strange and not exactly well formed, but as stated, the story really doesn't matter for this game.

Gameplay involves travelling through vibrantly colored sections of Eden, and "purifying" targets in rail shooter fashion. Your two weapons are a fast shooting, weaker blaster (usually required to expose tougher enemies for a more powerful attack) and a lock on blaster. This is how you get higher scores. For every time you lock on to eight targets and successfully release it in time with the music, you will receive a perfect score multiplier. It takes some getting used to, but as you begin learning the levels and getting accustomed to the gameplay, it becomes second nature. Also at your disposal are "Euphoria" bombs which clear the entire screen of enemies; this can be very handy.

The visuals of the game are great, particularly once you unlock the "trip" filter, and the soothing music adds a nice touch. It is a very calming, trance like game.

However, Child of Eden is woefully short; without pursuing any achievements or high scores, the game will likely take three hours to beat. Going for the achievements, on the other hand, means playing the levels over and over, which takes away some of their charm.

Despite these shortcomings, Child of Eden is definitely worth a rent, even for those without Kinect; using a controller works fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tempest meets Centipede

posted by t4yl0r (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After reading all the hype, I was almost excited when Child of Eden came in the mail. After finishing the tutorial, I asked myself, "is this IT?"

Don't get me wrong, I LOVE old skool games, but it's 2011 and I expected more than Tempest meets Centipede.

I had no idea what I was supposed to shoot/not shoot. I ended up just shooting at anything moving and colorful, but I got bored FAST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too repetitive...

posted by MikeG85 (LAKE GENEVA, WI) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the look and the color of it. Even the idea of it but it was WAY to repetitive. Maybe I didn't give it much of a chance but I put in a few hours and just didn't care for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tempest 2011

posted by wykd (ROMULUS, MI) Jun 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Ok if you are old enough to remember tempest from the arcade, this one will bring back memories. However the difficulty was beyond me (an avid gamer). I tried with kinect and controller and could not pass the tutorial even with no die mode on, without passing with 1 star you cant do anything else and redoing the tutorial has the tutorial stuff popping up every couple seconds ruining your flow so you cant do better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Winner of the "What the Heck is Goin On Award"

posted by FCgeist (YOUNGSVILLE, LA) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Literally, this is a bizarre idea for a game, the story makes no sense, and you find yourself just waving your hands around and not knowing what you're doing or what your shooting at.

Incoherent, confusing, and abstract, albeit attractive. One of my biggest gripes is the choice of using Pink and Purple as two of the most important colors in this game... the problem being that if you're one of the few people who are color blind, this becomes an issue when you don't know which weapon to use or what to shoot at.

Interesting premise, poorly executed. Soooo glad I rented this first..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Better with Kinect?

posted by Bunyan (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Utter disappointment. I would've never considered playing this with a controller based on the fact that it was developed with Kinect in mind from the get go.
After trying twice to play this game, I constantly got Kinect error messages; when nothing in my play space had changed.

I spent more time calibrating my Kinect then playing the game;
and I can say with certainty that nothing is wrong with my Kinect settings.

I had hoped that this would be the first Kinect game that would actually be awesome...back in the envelope the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Colorful trip

posted by XEliteXDominicX (NEWARK, OH) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game so far is one of the best kinect games I have played to date. Very vivid and dynamic colors. This is one of those games that is considered "better" with kinect. That is kind of mixed. It's much more fun using kinect than it is a controller, but it's much harder. I have found myself getting frustrated and going for the controller way too much. The basic concept is very simple. Destroy the virus that is taking over Eden, Which is done simply by purifying 5 archives. The game is short, But each level has some replay value in them. And the end of each level you select a reward to display at the main screen also know as "Lumi's Garden." Once completely unlocked they provide and stunning and interactive menu screen. And the claims that "This game has no point" Should really learn to read. It states why your doing what you are in the beginning of the game. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes flashy art and gameplay, But if your a hardcore fps fan, This game isn't for you. Also on a side note, The music is nice and is basically a majority of techno.

PROS-Very Colorful, Not too easy, Good music

Cons-Short, Can be frustrating at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Borrinngg

posted by geekofsteel (PIKEVILLE, NC) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Dude, it has amazing visuals and all and its a decent idea, but its not worth my time its just a bunch of random shooting and eventuallly your arm gets tired from shooting for soo long, and the music was annoying after a while, like there is one point while your shooting the same beat keeps going over and over again, i just think they could have made it better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse