Rent Catherine for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Catherine

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $24.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

4360 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Breath of fresh air

posted by AoWdemon (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

36 out of 44 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Catherine is not like any other game on the market today, to me this is a breath of fresh air from the main games that we see over and over again. Catherine is a puzzle game at heart but has a great story to go along with, like what you would expect from any Atlus game.

I won't explain the story since others have already done so here, but one tip I will give is if you expect an easy cakewalk through the game think again. As expected from a game made by Atlus the difficulty does increase pretty quick and I've only played on Easy so far (I heard it was pretty hard so I figured I'd start on easy). I was getting Gold for a long time and foolishly thought to myself "Well this is easier then I thought it would be." And then I started dying more frequently and started getting Bronze and Silver in all the of the puzzles. But don't let the difficulty discourage you, I kept playing till I got through each night because I wanted to see more of the story.

The sound is great, similar type of music from other Atlus games. The Persona team made this so that makes perfect sense, the Jukebox in the bar also has some old favorites to unlock :D. The voice acting is also a strong point, and many old favorites return in this category as well.

If you're a fan of Atlus games I'd for sure give this a rent at the very least. If you have no clue what Catherine is I still think you should try it. It's not everyone's type of game but it is a great one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its been a long time coming.

posted by Nosferocktu (OCEANSIDE, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I picked up Catherine expecting what most people would think is a mediocre puzzle game that has sub par graphics and a horrible plot line. I could have not been more wrong. Sheep, crazy love triangles, gorgeous visuals and one of the most awe inspiring story lines I have ever played through. The game wasn't easy at all either. Making you think on your feet moving blocks around while a 100 foot demonic girlfriend with a salad fork tries to stab you to death is my idea of innovative. This should defiantly be on anyone's list if you like puzzle games and /or anime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Puzzle it up!

posted by BadAnime (MIDLAND, MI) Aug 30, 2011

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So, starting off, one might thing, "Yeah, bout time America got a romance type visual novel!" Then you open the box, put the game in and find that it isn't that cut and dry. It is different. I will give it that much. I enjoyed the few hours of puzzle and decision making that didn't amount to much until the end. No spoilers but the puzzles were engaging. The backwards function on the back button my Xbox Remote got used. A LOT.

The graphic novel part was interesting. At first it's just weird, but beyond a certain point, it gets almost engaging and then takes a turn I didn't expect. Vincent, the main character, ends up becoming a beacon of hope for those he chooses to help.

At first, it almost seemed infantile to think about moving blocks to climb, but then it becomes a session of planning, looking ahead, and a lot of, "Oh snap, that (monster from final stages before waking up) almost jacked me good!"

Lip sync sorta sucked, but it was because it was in Japanese first. Translation were pretty decent, but not perfect. There was a lot of swearing that I am not particularly accustomed to, but not really strong against either and the endings were completely dependent on the final string of questions for your ending. I found that pretty lame.

It was fun. It was engaging. I didn't walk away form it angry and it felt like it was a nice breathe of... well... different air. I hope to see another in the future. Maybe a little more content and it would be PERFECT!

Here is a great idea, in case Atlus reads this, give me the choice to play any guy at the table and you can call it a PRPG.

Graphics............7
Sound...............6
Gameplay..........9
Lasting Power.....5
Replay Value......5
Originality.........10

Overall..............8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just About Perfect

posted by brak8796 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Amazing story line. It kept me interested the entire time! It can be confusing if you don't watch it all but it was great fun. The graphics were great (even when it was the anime parts) The only bad side was the sound. It had good music and all but the characters sayings and things like that Did get repetitive but nothing too extreme. Being a completionist myself, i thought this game had an appealing story with good bonuses like modes and secret endings.
I give this game 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a game, a mini game with lots of story

posted by Jaeger (CHARLOTTE, NC) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game because I heard it was different and that your choices matter a lot and it had these great RPG elements, and it did, don't get me wrong, but thats not the game, thats just the stuff in between the insufferable puzzles. I started the game and got the the first puzzle, oh this is neat. then oh this is kinda hard for a first puzzle. Then i finished and got back to the story part. Hooray! I was having fun again. That block thing must have been just one of the things in between this fun interactive environment. Nope, thats the whole game. One very simple, yet very very hard mini game. That is your whole game, nothing else...except for five ten minutes in between. I just couldn't stand the 'game' part enough to make it back to the story that I enjoyed. Either make a real game to go with the story, or take out the game and just make it a story. An RPG where all you do is talk would be fine with me, though I know it wouldn't be with most. So they did the opposite and killed it. This game got a pretty good review, and I really wanted to like it, but it gives me the feeling that people just said it was good because it was different, not because it was good. Think of it like people that say they like jazz because they think its cool to like jazz. Jazz is different, and full of energy and expression, but lacks in many cases form, which above all is most important. That is how I feel about this game. All substance, no form...unless its the other way around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game I've played in a long time.

posted by starfire1491 (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I figured it would be good based off story-line alone. Then I found out it was done by the same team as Persona, even better. I started playing it as soon as I got it. It's one of those games where you either love it or hate it. I love it. Excellent graphics and the soundtrack is the best I've heard aside from DMC. A must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a one of a kind experience

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jul 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Catherine is a completely new kind of game were you play as a 32 year old man that seems kinda bored on his life with a girl freind named Katherine (with a K) that is strict and is constantly talking about getting married and getting kids, but your character is not much for that.

But one day things changes when a drunken girl sits next to him in a bar, the girls name is Catherine (with a C). Later he wakes up and he sees this girl laying next to him and after that things gets really complicated.

Most of the time you will spend is in his dreams were he always has to complete this challenges to experience the next day. These challenges are a little like puzzles, You have to draw the right boxes to reach the top or other kinds of things while something/someone is hunting you.
When youre not playing in the dreams you are usually in the bar hanging with youre friends or just messin around talking to others.

The game is a one of a kind and fantastic if you are tired of this shooters or you might just want to try something new. As a puzzle game this game gets a 10 of 10 toasts but as a game overall it gets 7 toasts.

But notice this game is hard even on the easiest difficulty so if you cant handle games were you die a lot this is not a game for you if you dont pay attention for a few seconds you might die.

The game is though fun and you always want to know whats happens next and that gives you a good motivation to keep on playing the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Strategy Game!

posted by Codione01 (NATRONA HEIGHTS, PA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was an absolutely amazing game by Atlus. From the gameplay, animations and graphics, or even suspense the games provides I can't say much of anything wrong with this game. Not only is this game great if your into strategy games but this also lets you get away from the mainstream shooters for awhile. Also there are 8, count them, 8 ending possibilities to this game depending on how you interact with people throughout the game, Overall one of the best games I've played in a long time I highly recomend it to any played into a good storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun!!

posted by Camzilla86 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game itself is not that good but I very much enjoyed the story line. It was fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great anime game.

posted by Venom_Mz_Ty (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Never played a game like catherine but im glad i did. it was challenging at times but once you get the hang of it its not all that bad. but you still run into a few things that leave you sitting there like... HOW DO I DO THIS? lol the story was pretty unpredictable the direction it went in i honestly didn't see it coming. if you like soaps & anime & complicated puzzles lol this might be the game for you. id say just give a try even if your a little iffy. it might be worth your while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Less of a game and more of an interactive movie.

posted by jaec91 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This wasn't really my type of game. It felt like watching a movie but playing through the boring parts. Being more of an RPG fan, (fallout) I like to control every aspect of my characters life, and this was all movies and tower puzzles. The puzzles were pretty fun and challenging though, and I really did enjoy them. Its a good rent, but if you are an RPG fan like me I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Technique is key!

posted by StonyFace (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game from Atlas is a total mind bender! If your the gamer who loves puzzles, a challenge for once this is the game to rent if you can't rent anything from your top 5 Q. I took me 3 days to complete the campaign on normal, at first I thought I'm an experienced gamer so I tried the hardest. WRONG! Because there are so many different techniques its hard to complete everything under a curtain time. Your constantly being chased up the tower by a Boss or the level falling apart underneath you. This was a fun game though if you don't get frustrated from dying all the time but if your up for the challenge definitely rent this game (Catherine) I give this game a 7-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Catherine

posted by Vendetti (ROCKVILLE, MD) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Interesting take on modern gaming. Kind of hokey at times but and a great attempt at morality play using a new medium!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Interesting with Story Depth I didn't exp

posted by Twilen (HOLLYWOOD, SC) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had mixed feelings when I first started playing Catherine but it grew on me very quickly. The mix of traditional animation and CGI was done perfectly and I felt completely immersed as I made the main character's life better...or worse.
The climbing sequences were just pure fun. It takes time to get used to all the techniques but once I did, I was almost disappointed when I reached the top. Needless to say, very high replay value since there is no one way to reach the top.
I have nothing negative to say about this game. I only wish there were more 'romance horrors' out there as fun and engaging as this game.
I will be buying this from the Gamefly stores, for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun and challenging game.

posted by sgvince21 (TEMECULA, CA) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a really good game. putting aside its provacative aspects, this is one of the few puzzle games ive actually enjoyed playing. if you're a real puzzle gamers, put this sucker on hard mode and ull be playing this thing for weeks. the story is really good too. bottom line, fun game, good story, high replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Light at the end of the tunnel

posted by Vincent37 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After suffering with lackluster games for months its finally time for the end of summer/fall game rush. First out the gate is Catherine. Awesomeness. A great story and character development as well as challenging puzzles absorb you into Vincents struggle. Multiple endings and morality changes will keep you coming back even after you get your booty kicked for hours straight during the puzzle boss's. All in all it will get you through for the rest of the month and it will do it in style. I give it a 10 and it gives me hope for all the new releases arriving soon.

(for all those out there who just want to see the great story and don't care too much for the puzzles, just hold back button with curser over "GOLDEN THEATER" option in the main menu = extra easy mode)

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

should have been called RAGE

posted by MoeJoeKing (ARAB, AL) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

cause this game will make you rage so hard.
Pro:
easy= normal
Normal=hard
Hard= D: (in a good way)

Story= 10/10 you really do care about the characters and enjoy the time between puzzles as a resting period

best puzzle game yet to hit the console (portal is not a puzzle game a 5 year old can beat it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big let down

posted by jibbsthesquib (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was okay; not terrible, not great, just okay. It had some cool things going for it, but it also fell short in a lot of ways. I appreciate them stepping out on a limb to make something new and unique. However, this was more of an interactive anime than a game, and kind of a nonsensical anime at that...which I guess is pretty common, hah... And the game play(what little there was of it) was extremely repetitive.
As the game started, I was super interested in how it would unfold. You really have no idea what Vincent's thinking in the beginning and how this psycho chick, Catherine, keeps managing to work her way into his nights without him remembering a thing. But as it continues and you find out what's really going on, it gets... stupid. The reasons behind the nightmares are goofy and ridiculous. I mean, seriously... That's why they're having these dreams? There could have been some cool, creepy plot behind it all, but they drop the ball on that, plus the characters just start falling apart and you lose interest in everything. By the time I was on the 6th stage, and sometimes before that, I just wanted to hurry up and beat the game so I could be done with it. Unfortunately, you have to wait through hours of nonsensical, dumb cut scenes before you can see the ending, which is equally unsatisfying. Yaaaaaaaaawn. If you like to do block puzzles over and over again(which only slightly vary from stage to stage) and watch cut scenes the rest of the time(with some boring texting and conversations between those) then this is the game for you. Otherwise, try playing something a little more exciting and interesting... That should be an easy goal to accomplish.

Pros:
Unique game
Nice looking anime style cut scenes
Decent graphics
Reasonably challenging puzzles

Cons:
Clunky controls(really annoying when you're rushing through a puzzle)
Story is a huge let down
Stupid, hallow characters
Cut scenes take FOREVERRRRRRRRRRRR
Repetitive sound effects(those BE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Japan is weird.

posted by Azues (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Another game from japan's finest Atlus puts you in the boxers of Vincent on a tale of two women in a form of an action/adventure, platformer, horror game. As a platformer it's pretty solid, as action adventure; it's your typical japanese affair, I didn't really get a sense of horror or dread from the story line but maybe that's because it's so ridiculous. The moral choices you're presented with are pretty basic; but a neat feature is it lets you see what other people chose as well, such as "is marriage the end of life or the beginning?" almost 70% of people said it's the beginning etc. All in all the game is very weird, but it's a refreshing change from Call of Duty and Battlefield. I would have preferred the game as a 15 dollar arcade title to be honest, but the story line alone puts it in the 40$ range. It's not a rush out and buy but if you like Atlus and you're looking for a solid platformer with a unique sheep twist, then you should definitely give this game a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is a game, so why is it a movie?

posted by Nephas (CALDWELL, TX) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

45 minutes after popping this game in, I had spent about 10 minutes with hands on the controller. The rest was movie scenes and story building. Great story, but i didn' want to watch a movie, i wanted to play a video game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible game!

posted by leftybowler2009 (CEDAR LAKE, IN) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The storyline is ok at best. I realize they went for something different here, but the gameplay failed miserably. Puzzles were not that challenging, i got bored with it too quickly. Dont waste your time getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's okay

posted by saiwen (MOHNTON, PA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the oddness of it all and the choice to be good or bad and how our answers affected the outcomes of the story. The puzzles were even fun for the most part. But man....the story scenes just drrrrraaag and I'm into serious rpg games so if I say it dragged it REALLY dragged. I actually found myself almost nodding off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THIS GAME IS ASININE

posted by gamesplaya (SPRING, TX) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For those that gave it a good review,don't listen. All you do pretty much is climb up on and move blocks and sometimes answer questions. It fun at first. But you really have to have patients to play this game. In one level,there is this really ugly giant monster that chases you on the blocks and attacks by lickin you. This game can and will tick you off. There are some power-up that are somewhat useful. Its a fun to watch anime as part of the game. I like anime better far more than this asinine game. 3 outta 10. Don't rent. there are better games than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

...snore...

posted by erisvc (WYLIE, TX) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Based on the other reviews here, perhaps I didn't play enough of Catherine to get into it. I wanted to like it, really I did.

The game is a series of cut scenes and block-pushing puzzles. After the first puzzle, I thought, "neat! this game is going to have puzzles and a cool storyline." After the fifth block-pushing puzzle, I figured that was the ONLY type of puzzle in the game. Yawn. On top of that, the game storyline interspersed with the puzzles consisted of lengthy, slow cut scenes during which I had no dialogue choices. I played for around 2 hours; during that time, I think I had less than ten choices about how to advance the storyline in any way shape or form.

I prefer to play my games, not watch them. Maybe there was a cool storyline buried in Catherine if I had been willing to watch my game instead of playing it, but that's not my cup of tea. If it's yours, definitely give Catherine a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seriously screw everything about this game.

posted by IAmDevo (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Seriously screw everything about this game. Tried playing it normal and it might as well been hard. Just not worth that level of aggravation. The scenes in between puzzles are barely tolerable, as they are long, ridiculous, and just bizarre in my opinion. The puzzles are fun at first, but by the 2nd level I was ready to launch my controller through the screen. Like I said, for as much as it was aggravating me, I decided to send it back to Gamefly already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse