Rent Catherine for PS3
view large frontback

Catherine

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

3879 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You just have to give it a chance

posted by GriffyThaKid (YODER, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, anyone that started off their review of this game with, "I turned it off after 10 minutes." are just too dumb to play it. I like most, did not know this was a puzzle game, I didn't even know it was made like a cartoon either. With that being said, I started off like "Ok, what is this garbage they sent me." Then the story kind of took a hold to me so I went along with it. Then when the game play started I was really upset, I had no clue it was a puzzle game and I am definitely not a puzzle kind of guy. Fortunately though, I have an attention span greater than 10 minutes and stuck it out. Well long story short, I am now on the 6th level and I WILL NOT send this back until completed. Hope this review helps guys, good luck and good gaming to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Atlus games never disappoint!

posted by akimbotimbo (COSTA MESA, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

33 out of 43 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game looks like a quick cash in for sexual appeal, but oh boy it's not. It's a journey of a young man who has an affair with his long time girlfriend. It's the players choice to side with Catherine or Katherine. The game consists of two modes, day and then sleep mode(nightmare). During the day you socialize with the characters to further the story, and then in nightmare mode the game play consists of block moving and hopping. I'll admit I'm not a big puzzle fan, but I really loved playing the nightmare sections just to further advance this great story. The nightmare mode gets harder as it goes on, including more strategies, enemies, etc. The game has a really good soundtrack, and the graphics looks like its from an anime which looks quite nice. It's a great game for a puzzle fan, or anyone who wants to enjoy an interesting story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A unique experience for gamers

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jul 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

It's been said before but it's worth saying again- Atlus's "Catherine" is unlike any other game out there. This is a unique experience, a mature game for mature gamers, tackling themes rarely if ever seen in a game before. At its core "Catherine" is a puzzle game- by moving blocks, you need to work your way to the top to an escape before the blocks below you crumble away or the boss of the level catches up to you. As you progress, different block types add to the challenge- blocks with spikes, ice, those that explode, all guarantee a nasty end and your starting over. You can build up quite a few continues while climbing the puzzle towers, which is a good thing, as you will die often. Run out of continues, and it's "Game Over", and then you need to restart from your last save point. While it's tough, it's not impossible. This is not only a puzzle game, it also tells a story- that of Vincent, a man plagued by nightmares and commitment issues, caught between long-time girlfriend Katherine and bar tryst Catherine, each of whom would make things very unpleasant for Vincent if she found out about the other. In this aspect, the game becomes sort of a relationship sim, with a slight RPG element- you play the role of Vincent and choices you make through conversation affects the game's outcome. The nightmarish puzzles also bring a survival/horror element in as well, as the bosses that try to kill you during the game's nine stages can be quite creepy and bizarre. The game controls fairly well, and both the puzzles and cutscenes due a good job of ratcheting up the suspense. The graphics are well done in an anime style, which suits the game perfectly. The voice acting is terrific, and the music sets the mood well. It's not perfect, as the camera sometimes works against you. It's not for everyone-those craving big action set pieces or more traditional RPG trappings are bound to be disappointed. For those looking to try something different, this is well worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a excellent game, don't be afraid to p

posted by Jack_V (BRONX, NY) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a puzzle game at its core, and if your just another mindless sheep following the herd waiting to shoot your friends in the face for a UAV, you best keep walking, oh lamb. I played and beat this game in 2 days on normal, im no brainiac but im no quitter either, the trick to this game is thinking. If you try to solve the puzzles with out any planning you'll find yourself in an impossible situation. At first it will seem ridiculously difficult, but just like any game you gotta let the mechanics sink in. You might find that its not as daunting as you first thought and possibly even addictive. You might even discover you have a talent for it, and there is nothing better then feeling your smarter then you were the day before like that Portal 2 feeling. I mean i feel smarter the the people that commented that "it was too hard, and i quit after 10 mins" BOO HOO! People, there was a demo don't be mad at Gamefly because of your carelessness. The story is very well written but the in game cut-scenes leave a bit to be desired, but it still gets the job done well. Anything else is told through great looking anime scenes, and if you enjoy anime (I do) you'll enjoy this.The story is one of those changing to your actions type of deals with instead of you out right chosing being bad or being good, your seemingly pointless interactions have effects on your state of mind which is what your character (Vincent) will base his actions on, in the story that deals with adult themes like love, lust, infidelity, loyalty and the complex relationships between men and women. With a whopping 8 possible endings it's best to be true to yourself and do what you would do in that situation, for your an ending that you'll love, which can end with a perfect farytale ending, a indecisive ending or a WTH did i just see happy ending, ect. So yeah, a great story, rewarding gameplay, and even local co-op and competitive, with global leader boards. But with no online i give it a 9 out 10. PLAY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a one of a kind

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

25 out of 40 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Catherine is a completely new kind of game were you play as a 32 year old man that seems kinda bored on his life with a girl freind named Katherine (with a K) that is strict and is constantly talking about getting married and getting kids, but your character is not much for that.

But one day things changes when a drunken girl sits next to him in a bar, the girls name is Catherine (with a C). Later he wakes up and he sees this girl laying next to him and after that things gets really complicated.

Most of the time you will spend is in his dreams were he always has to complete this challenges to experience the next day. These challenges are a little like puzzles, You have to draw the right boxes to reach the top or other kinds of things while something/someone is hunting you.
When youre not playing in the dreams you are usually in the bar hanging with youre friends or just messin around talking to others.

The game is a one of a kind and fantastic if you are tired of this shooters or you might just want to try something new. As a puzzle game this game gets a 10 of 10 toasts but as a game overall it gets 7 toasts.

But notice this game is hard even on the easiest difficulty so if you cant handle games were you die a lot this is not a game for you if you dont pay attention for a few seconds you might die.

The game is though fun and you always want to know whats happens next and that gives you a good motivation to keep on playing the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This Game is......

posted by nandaholmes (LAUREL, MD) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NERVE RACKING!!!!! The primice of the game is good. The cut scenes are way too long and the climbing stages are difficult even on easy. Plus this is the first video game with morality question. If u want something different this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Letdown

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When i was starting to play this game i thought the game was interesting, which the story line is. However the game play is not, at least not to me anyways. It was really frustrating to try to climb the tower of blocks to the point where i could not play it anymore and had to send it back. But i gave it a shot and it was a good game but didn't like the game play much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting

posted by boredbren (SCHENECTADY, NY) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to try this game, but it wound up being fairly mediocre. I enjoyed the story, but found it a bit long winded. The puzzle mechanic was fun. The arcade game in the bar is more of the same with an 8 bit skin, and to be honest, i could have done without it.

Now as far as the pros, it is twisted, and fun, and something that I have never played before. It is a worthwile rent, and thankfully gamefly is around so you can play a title like this, and not feel like you spent too much on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is a great game to some crowds.

posted by croy10067 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game's story is mostly like a anime so if you don't enjoy anime at all don't play this game.I personally like anime to a extent.If you don't like puzzlers like Qbert or tetris, you will not like this game. It is a fun game and the game rewards with fun and addicting gameplay if you love puzzlers.I haven't beaten the game yet I up to the 5 night. where they introduce ice blocks which really change gameplay.Ok now I will talk about the story and I will try not to give out major spoilers. Ok you are dating a girl named Katharine and she wants to get married to the main character (Vincent). He freaks out and ends up sleeping with a girl named Catharine but with this love triangle Vincent gets nightmares where he stacks block and stuff like that.So as he goes on in the story your choices are effected by your mood and your karma.Also during the lobby stage right before every puzzle before the first one of the night you get to answer a question, which effects your karma but the cool thing is that after you answer it you get to see other players results.The graphics are awesome.The sound of the game is great.I suggest before you rent it try out the demo out on the market or psn store if you like the demo you will love the game. Also here is a note when you get to night 4 I think where you fight the baby boss that thing is freaking annoying and creepy. Also that level is freaking hard and you want to get to the checkpoint as quick as you can. So you cover this all this game is only for a specific crowd. It is made for people who like anime and puzzlers if you like 1 or both of these things give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for me

posted by Skyrimfan (MONROE, MI) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

got this game today not realizing it was so puzzle involved. only played a few minutes in it and did not like it at all. But for players who love puzzle games this one would be perfect for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game, difficult puzzles

posted by alex9876 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i would rate this game a 9/10 but the puzzles are just too dang hard. im 29 years old and i was really looking forward to a mature story driven game, but those puzzles are too much to deal with. maybe i'll come back to it sometime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different game, flaws keep it from perfection

posted by worldagainstjos (SANTA MONICA, CA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Catherine the videogame is unlike many games out there. It mixes a story with provocative adult themes and gives you choices which determines that ending of the game. the gameplay outside of the stories revolves climbing a block tower. You essentially have to push and pull and set up blocks as steps to the top, dealing with the ocassional enemy, boss while the blocks at lower level fall away. This game is very difficult, even on the easy difficulty, and I had to look online for help by the middle part of the game. There's a ton of trophies, many which are obscure. Decisions in the game also affect which of a few endings you get. Cutscenes are skippable. Give Catherine a try, if the scale allowed it, i would give it an 8.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG GET IT!!

posted by erocker (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Catherine is in my top 3 favorite games ever played no doubt, right there with god of war 3 and MY ALLTIME favorite PORTAL 2!! but ....catherine is omg amazing! i sat down on wednesday morning when the extremely anticipated game finally came in the mail and i played from 6pm-1230pm , and was shocked at how good it was and i couldnt wait to get home from drivers ed the next day and be able to put it in and finish it off!! the game was released on tuesday and i had it beat on thursday, quite possibly the best game i have ever played, i recommend to all , that maybe you may not want to give it $60 out of your pocket, but atleast give it a spot in the Game Q, IT IS SO WORTH IT, you will be sucked right in!

CATHERINE GOTY!!!!!!!!

oh and it has 8 different endings so if you like as much as i do and want to platinum it, it has a high replay value, because i hated the ending of mine...i got the sad ending...):

but otherwise GREAT GAME!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a letdown...

posted by Gurnett (BUFFALO, NY) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 31 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of Atlus games for years and I had this game at the top of my Game Q for months. I was so excited that I was able to get the game right after it came out. Then, I played it.

As much as I'd like to enjoy this game, it's just not any fun. The 'sleep' puzzles are more annoying (leading me to grind my teeth in stress) than fun. The 'awake' portion of the game is even worse. They have what is the equivelant to the good/evil system that Infamous has, but it's based on things like what you text message your girlfriend with. They give a selection of 3 or 4 text choices per line of text, without offering the kind of freedom that a modern video game should.

What a drag. I'm glad I got it on Gamefly instead of buying it.

~ SirWilliamIdol (check me out on Twitter to see my "quicky" video game and movie reviews).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

in love with Catherine

posted by ChrisInDC (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

It's always nice to see a game developer breaking away from the majority and Catherine does that in a big way. The extreme difficulty is going to put off a very large amount of people but there is a heck of an experience here if you only have the patience for it. During a time when developers are scared of creating anything that isn't a FPS million dollar seller, the fact Atlus managed to publish something as special as this is truly commendable and I'm so happy it came to the US. Best of all, it's not just a weird game, it's a great one, too.

Catherine is a sexy adult themed game, both the characters and the story. The tower climbing puzzles can be really frustrating so if you don't appreciate a challenge you might not like this game as the majority of gameplay is the tower puzzles. If you do enjoy a challenge you will love the feeling of accomplishment when you reach the top of the puzzles. One will especially appreciate the style and setting if anime is their thing. As in most anime some of the characters are very awkward but also hilarious.

The only other aspect of gameplay mostly takes place in the local bar, where you can talk to people and send text messages on your cell phone. You cycle through different responses you want to send on your cell phone which then affects your experience in the game with other characters as there are different endings. There is also a mini game where you can practice the block puzzles they throw at you in the story. Thats how you know it's hard, they give you a mini game of the same thing.

There really is not much here on the surface, it is repetitive but look deeper and you will find that through a fantastic setting and style this game can pull you in and drag you along for the ride.

If you are craving for something different and enjoy a good challenge you will love this game.

8/10
Might be a bit high but in a summer of bad games this is a needed breath of fresh air!
game is definitely 18+
Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Which one: Katherine or Catherine?

posted by Firebird12 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics, addictive puzzle gameplay, and a seriously BIZARRE story! The story alone makes this game worth it. My only quibble is that you can't adjust the audio. Other than that, I love this game. Even though it's not part of the Persona series, if you're a fan of those games, and like twisted, erotic horror, this game is for you. Just be careful which of these two ladies you choose. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Cool Game

posted by abcdfg (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You haven't played anything like this in a while, trust me. Make no mistake, this is a puzzle game. Wrapped up in some kinda story that reminded me of Heavy Rain, but a puzzle game. With normal selected, you'll be throwing your controllers around halfway to stage 8. It's very challenging. If you want to jump right in and start climbing, there's a mode for that to. It's fun and different, worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the game catherine

posted by dagon45 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of Life

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Read the title again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brutally great game with a unsatisfying ending

posted by SnowOkami (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'll only mention the bad:

Karma Choices are hard to figure out:
A lot of the choices you are asked to make often time are hard to dicipher. By this mean it's very hard to tell whether the things you say will reflect in a good light on your karma or bad. I wanted Catherine bad and I said a lot of hateful things (at least I thought) to Katherine and it gave me nothing but good karma. For the people in the bar, I tried to encourage them but ended up pushing them further to the edge. I'm sure its some masterful use of a karma engine that I am missing completely but for me it was very frustrating and I missed out on a lot things I wanted to do because of it.

Ending:
The ending I got for putting in almost 16 hours of gameplay talking to everyone, listening to all the stories and what not was very, very disatisfying for putting that much time and effort into. There is alot a plot hole I found that makes a large part of the story a bit hard for me to understand. I won't mention it here due to spoilers. I think the ending I got was due to the karma system messing me up so much.

Co-Op:

Co-op is extremely fun, but its only local! I would love for this to be online it would add so much more to the game.

Babel:

A warning to those who play this on easy mode: (which I am sure many new to puzzle games will be FORCED to do) You cannot access ANYTHING in this mode unless you unlock the Golden Prizes in either normal or hard mode.

Overall this game is great as all Atlus games are. But be warned. It is BRUTALLY HARD and very UNFORGIVING. I mean this is the Demon Souls of puzzle games. I recommend everyone do their first playthrough on easy. Normal mode is INSANELY difficult and I am veteran at these sort of games. I really want to see the other endings to the game, but with the current implementation of the karma system and the very long campaign, it would take at least 12 hours per ending to see them all. Overall I loved the game. I just think it has a few flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even worth a rent.

posted by CognacRhino800 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

12 out of 41 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is the most repetitious and boring game I have ever played. Push blocks around for three levels (boring), watch 10 minutes of cartoon (boring), walk around a bar drinking and participating in dry conversation (boring), and then rinse and repeat. I played up to the fourth day in the game and just couldn't take anymore. I very rarely send games back right after I get them, but this is definately going back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wanted to send it back the day I got it...

posted by Certifiedclutz (MARTINS FERRY, OH) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I myself am more of a Survival Horror chick. I love the Resident Evil Series and I am just in LOVE with Fatal Frame and Silent Hill. The puzzles in those games were the best part and when I saw Catherine and heard it was a pretty interesting puzzle game I actually wanted to buy it. It wasn't until I joined Gamefly that I was like "Oh! I can just rent it and keep it if I like it! Awesome!"......No. The day we got it I got home from a 12 hour shift and thought I would unwind on the game...the FIRST level I wanted to rage and send it back (rage quit xD) I figured I was ticked from work and just went to bed. I tried it again the next day and got further into the story. The Story itself...was.....interesting at first. He's guilty by sleeping with this new girl but then KEEPS SEEING HER! Who actually says she's going to kill herself if you don't say she's the only one....Crazy much? So between a control freak girl with a ball in chain to a girl you have to please or she'll kill herself...the story was...a little out there for me and COME ON I play Silent Hill! All and all if you like puzzle games. Out of wack controls that make you wanna throw your controller at your TV then this is a game for you. RENT IT! Do NOT buy it! I honestly wouldn't even say it's worth renting but I'm glad I didn't drop 64.19 when it first came out and not be able to get that money back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I don't agree with the other reviewers

posted by CptnSilence (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

So far the reviews mostly say this is a great game, which makes me wonder if we were playing the same game. I thoght the game mechanics were poor, the story wasn't at all gripping, and the "mature" content was lacking.

This puzzle game left such a bad impression on me that I have moved Portal 2 way down on my Q until I can get something to make me forget this.

It is a puzzle game in which not only do you have to carefully plan out a solution, but you have a short period of time in which to do it. Challenging, but that should have made it worth while. It didn't. The character movement lags and thus timing your moves becomes almost random, and extremely frustrating. Hold the control stick to the left for a second and one time the character just turns to the left, the next time he turns and moves 2 blocks to the left. For this type of game, tight controls should have been manditory before release. The camera angles are only slightly controlable and often the main difficulty in solving the puzzle, this is especially true on levels where you have to race against an enemy. Everyone seems to agree that the game is hard. I started the game on the normal setting and then found that you can't change it in the middle. As I type that I still am left not believing it.

The story is lacking and never answers some questions. You have only too choices. You can stick with your current girlfriend who is a cold, controlling woman who treats seems to think you are incapable of taking care of yourself. Or you can choose the new girl you met, who is a hyperactive carefree psycho. Wow, what a choice. The only level headed woman in the game is the waitress, and the storyline of the game suggests that she isn't a woman, yet it never takes this subplot to a resolution. Likewise, in the dream realm you find your friend sorry for betraying his best freind, but you never get to find out what that was about.

W/ 30 games in my Q, I wish I hadn't wasted time on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worthless!

posted by SlickJC (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. I hate that I wasted my time renting & waiting for this game to come in the mail. What looks to be an interesting story is ruined by these terrible puzzles. They're not even puzzles, just moving blocks, trying to climb up to a door. Something else could have been done for these nightmare scenes. I can't even get pass the first "puzzle" after meeting Catherine & I'm on easy. REALLY? What were the developers thinking when they came up with this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetative gameplay

posted by Button (DALY CITY, CA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game caught my attention since I thought it introduced something different. Different isn't alway better. I thought it would be interesting but there were many elements that annoyed me with this game. I was thinking it would be a drama/fantasy bunny boiler turned into a role-playing game with puzzles. It's not an RPG. The core gameplay is about the puzzles that takes place every time the main character dreams at night. You are rewarded for how fast you complete them yet the controls were not that responsive when you're fighting against the clock. The designers of this game are a little behind on modern gameplay mechanics. It all of a sudden comes off to be an arcade style game, giving you a limited amount of retries before the game is over and you have to load up your last save. There's no point in quantifying the amount chances you get when there are save slots. The puzzles become really repetitive, removing any fun factor to them. It tries to introduce a new block type every chapter to stay fresh but the convention is still the same that is to complete the puzzle as fast as you can with the highest score. The puzzles are not even cleverly crafted. Completing these puzzles are partially luck and not so much strategy. It's not a brain game although it tries to be. You're not even suppose to think too long about it. As you grind through the puzzles the only reason you feel the push to continue is for the main story.

There is no option to have it in Japanese with subtitles. The game contains an echoed narrator that tries to hint you along but it states the obvious and provides basic information which you probably discovered already. The music is monotonous and sounds like something you would hear an elevator. I would become annoyed by it since it frequently ruined the cutscenes as it loops throughout the dialogues. The animation style in the cutscenes was the game's highpoint but when it came around to the gameplay it was inconsistent in comparison.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse