Rent Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia for DS
view large frontback

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

788 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Order" Isn't a Bad Thing

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Order of Ecclesia may play like Symphony of the Night, but the linear level design is a throwback to the classic Castlevania games. The result: fun gameplay, but because of the lack of backtracking, less game. This is not a bad thing; instead, it's a more focused, intentional game, with some clever boss battles, and a wide variety of difficult locales. (Unfortunately, the same music is recycled.) There's also an actual hub now, a town that is repopulated (Soul Blazer-style) as you free villagers from each level, not to mention some fetch quests, a few of which actually require you to pay attention to where you've been.

Most interesting of all is the new "glyph" system, which allows you to mix and match weapons and magic attacks to the X/Y buttons, creating combos and specials as you go. (The R trigger is used for defensive magic, or to alternate between glyph "sleeves" or presets.) You probably won't need to use most of that arsenal (especially since your skills don't level up), but the customization is fun, and the weapons are varied enough to make you test them.

Overall, Dawn of Sorrow's tag-team combat and painting-based exploration is still the best hand-held Castlevania. But Ecclesia's an interesting hybrid, and a step in the right creative direction: after all, after beating Dracula and exploring his castle 10+ times, you need to think outside the box (or at least, for a little while, the castle).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good.

posted by Vilago (BEAR, DE) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't understand the low reviews of this game. Sure the beginning can be difficult, but bosses aren't supposed to be easy that's why they're bosses. the only early one i had trouble with was the wall climbing crab. after that the game was challenging but not overly annoying. The point of Castlevania games (or RPGs for that matter) is to level up your character. If you don't do that, your going to have a hard time staying alive in general.

pluses: improvement on a tried a true formula for a fun game so addicting that you can't put down; extra modes in the game are actually fun this time around (albus mode is pretty amazing imo); plenty of areas to explore; weapon system takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it is pretty cool.

cons: the weapon system is good, but i feel they didnt explain it well enough. i didnt fully understand how to work it until i had almost beaten the game. story/dialogue is kinda lame (kinda expected) the mini areas in the beginning should be bigger. i felt like they were put in there as more of an afterthought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

overall it was a decent game

posted by schmidty89 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i liked this version of castlevania. but no extra stuff to go backtracking and get. so it was not fun in that category to my opinion. but i did like the gameplay how it was and seemed challenging at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont pay attention to them

posted by UpsetInKY (COVINGTON, KY) Nov 15, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The people who bash this game are obviously noob Castlevania players, it has old aspects of Castlevania 2 in it, sure it is not a Belmont that you play as but it doesnt hurt the experience of playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HOLD IT!

posted by Hobbykitjr (ANNANDALE, NJ) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

(History)This game is not like the others.
SotN is my favorite game of all time, i bought a DS just for the 2D side scrolling Castlevanias.
I still beat SotN once a year or 2.
I still own the previous DS Castlevanias.
I bought this without thinking.
This is my first gamefly review, i just had to warn other people out there.

(Review)This game is very frustrating, not just that the management is stupid or boss fights are ridiculous like the other review said. But you will be killed for no reason.
Oh that new spell you got, well it kills you. now you know so replay the last 20 minutes.
Oh that piece of what you thought was background kills you when you walk past it, now you know so replay the last half hour.
Oh this boss kills you in 4-5 hits, you have to hit him 2,000 times, you have almost no items and if you walk past this part, you are now cornered and there is nothing you can do. Also your last save point wasn't anywhere near here.

cheap ways to make your game longer just makes the game worse. This is not going to old school, this is just cheap shots. Theres a reason its OLD school because it sucked and people changed it.
Also b/c they're aren't many save points, your forced to warp back to the beginning, then leave the level, travel back to the village, and save there then travel and warp back every 'warp' room. Why? B/c the game is that annoying and its slightly better than replaying more of it multiple times.
I have not finished the game yet, im not sure if i'll be able to, id have to be pretty bored and i've already REPlayed so much of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tried to like this game but it wouldnt let me

posted by Majere (WINTER PARK, FL) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It's been awhile since I've played a platformer, but I felt I was ready for a new one. Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia is a classic platformer and lends itself to the many attributes every Castlevania game has had in the past.

Pros: It has a vast weapon system, many to choose from, plus the classic gothic stylization unique to Castlevania.

Cons: Extremely frustrating. The weapon system is NOT easy to manipulate quickly which seems necessary to defeat some of the bosses. There are WAY too many bosses. I found myself having to reload my saved game over and over again before a boss at LEVEL 9. The bosses are irritatingly difficult, (taking up to 20% of your life in one hit very early in the game) and not fun at all when you must micromanage your health items.

Overall, once I saw the way they used the weapons in the game, I was enthralled and I had high hopes especially from it's rating. However once I got a few levels into the game, I quickly realized they did not want anybody but die-hard platformer fans to really enjoy this game. Video games are entertainment, and thusly they must be fun. This game is fun for an hour or two, and then it has you screaming at the DS's tiny little screen.

In short, if you absolutely love the Castlevania franchise or platformers, then this one's worth a shot. If you enjoy entertaining games however, skip this one and try something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A nice change.

posted by Quicksilver84 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The Good: Although you play as Shanoa and not a Belmont, this is one of my favorite games of the CastleVania series. There are many references to the Belmonts and the CastleVania franchise, as well as the glyph system makes your arsenal of attacks amazing.

The Bad: Multiple endings means having to make sure you do the right thing to get the best outcome. This took me a bit to figure out the right path to take.

The Ugly: I can't think of anything....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Castlevania + Order Of Ecclesia = AWESOME!

posted by Vortex9000 (DUNCAN, SC) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

This game was... Quite neat! I liked no... NO! I LOVED IT! :D
...I'm stretching it now... Anyway! Yeah, I totally recommend it to anyone that hasn't played it! The story is cool, the gameplay is addicting, and best of all... Eh, well it's just a good game! Play it! I especially loved playing as Albus! Ehhehe..

Yeah. It's cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not for faint of heart

posted by fpsnum6 (LITTLETON, CO) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

was looking foward to this game but its to hard. the controls however are spot one, if u want a hardcore extreme challange get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid DS game

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

It was fun but honestly i liked the previous castlevania games a little more not including portrait of ruin never played that one yet. But if your a fan of the series like me def rent this one!!! I like how its a little challenging too not easy mode you can make it harder too with hard mode and selecting the max lvl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my first Castlevania game

posted by yatcha (PORT EWEN, NY) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I love this game. i have since i first started playing it. it never got boring.
the glyph system is great, and smooth. it's also really in depth. there are so many glyphs to find, and upgraded ones that you find even later. each new glyph provides a new interesting twist in gameplay, and never is that twist particularly boring. the game allows you to be able to use the glyphs you want, and using a particular one never feels like punishment.
then there is sound and visuals, i mean wow. this soundtracks one of my favorites from any video game. and the backgrounds of all the maps and platforms are really nice looking. the glyphs look great also
now to get to the thing that people are griping about like wimps. the difficulty. this game is hard. suck it up. i'm 14 and beat it just fine. you just ned to be patient, and maybe grind your levels a little, which i only figured out on my second play through. my first one i beat the final boss at level 26, granted i had every glyph, but still if i can do it at such a low level you can do it at a high one . i'm half way through my second play through at the moment, and i've died a total of 4 times. once you get the patterns that occur in levels, and enemies in them, it becomes a great deal easier. the bosses are still ridiculously hard, but if you keep patient, and watch, they become a lot easier.
there is also the problem of item lacking. i mean there isn't anything you can do about it, so embrace it, and work your way around healing items.
i know this game can be cheap sometimes, but if you just relax, and let yourself get over the frustratingly difficult aspects, you'll see a fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you loved SotN but want a harder Castlevania...

posted by BatmanKusabi (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

... than this game is for you. While Symphony of the Night is timeless, it is rather easy on replays which is where this game comes in. This game plays like a complete cross between Symphony of the Night and oddly Castlevania 2: Simon's Quest, being that you trek through different areas before going to Castle Dracula at the end. You also can complete side quests for NPCs, there are multiple difficulty levels that make the game hard(er) than it already is and finally, interesting challenges like a Level 1 play-through and a Boss Rush mode.

Be warned though- this game is hard. It's difficult in the same way Demon's/Dark Souls are and that can turn some people off. However if you're someone who enjoys a fair, balanced challenge like those two mentioned games, and wish that Castlevania would go back to being difficult like they were on the NES, but not be as cheap or unfairly difficult as those games are known to be, than this game is for you.

There is honestly no flaws to this game besides if you're easily turned off of a game being challenging but that's less this game's fault and more the players. Every boss has a learnable pattern, or every boss is quite challenging for that matter unlike the recent Castlevania games, and quite often if the game is too difficult than the player should either go level up more and learn the enemy and boss patterns for that section.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the castlevania

posted by moewahby (EASTON, PA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

the pplot is very good but the 2d
gets old very quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

waste of time

posted by dante09 (SEYMOUR, IA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game is total waste of time compared to other castlevainia games the alternate X&Y battle system is a joke and makes gameplay difficult because in order to do any decent amount of damage you have to find a rythym and with the rythym changing with the weapon it makes boss battles incredibly hard. the story line is also dreadfully bad i mean the last time i checked castlevainia was about killing dracula with a whip not some "glyph" as they put it. long story short if your like me and have a short tolerance for bad games don't rent this game. 3/10 game failure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

IT WAS PRETTY GOOD

posted by SEAN1O1 (TRABUCO CANYON, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I liked the game because it had some good action and adventure in it.
But one thing I didn't get is why you play as this girl! shoudn't you play as simon belmont like on the original castlevainia on the nintendo nes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by jb2008 (QUEENSTOWN, MD) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

worst game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

yawn!!!

posted by Notasaint (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

more of the same old stuff slightly tweeked in the story, which was uninspired. the game is extremely repetitive, the controls are sloppy at best, which made the game hard, not because it was a challenge but because you couldn't control anything correctly. i was honestly expecting more and was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Challenging

posted by Skimreview (SANTA ANA, CA) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

This game is a lot more challenging than the last two castlevania titles for ds. Very well made and the boss fights are epic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dracula should just die

posted by Moginabox (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

In every story, Dracula is known to come back to life, but this Castlevania was so horrible, I felt Dracula should of just stayed dead.

This has to have the worst gameplay, story and characters of all Castlevania series. Enough said

The graphics are decent, but you won't find any fun factor in the gameplay, story, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Challenging?

posted by Wendigo17 (DACULA, GA) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

A lot of you guys complain about how hard this game is, but as I'm writing this, my girlfriend has gotten her way through much of the game. She did say it was difficult at times, but I told her to level up some more. Since then, I haven't heard any complaints, and she talks about how much she loves the game. A little perserverance/grinding and you can make it through this game. It's not Ninja Gaiden or Ghosts 'n Goblins; you CAN level up. My girlfriend doesn't normally play games like this; she just happens to like games with female characters. I hope all you males out there feel properly emasculated because you should. Cease and desist all the whining; if you think this game is hard, try playing Castlevania on the NES. That game is much more difficult; for one, you can't level up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The series is becoming a bit stale.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I am proud to admit that I am a Castlevania fan since day 1 on the NES. I have very much enjoyed all the recent GBA and DS games. However, this most recent one almost pales in comparison to the last few. In fact, not since Aria of Sorrow have I been impressed with the direction this series has taken. Story aside, the fundamentals have not changed. In most cases this is a good thing, but when your on the 20th game or so in the series, the game does become a bit stale. Level design, enemies, and way of advancing has not changed at all. You play as a new character this time around and absorb enemy powers to use as weapons called glyphs. Its really no different than in previous Castlevania games when you find a sword or shield. Not all enemies give you glyphs, but you can assign up to 2 at a time to vary your attack patterns. After a few hours with this game, I found myself bored simply because it feels like I have done this so many times. In the beginning levels you fight the standard selection of enemies, skeletons, bats, lance soldiers, axe men, the usual lot. You pick up foods stuff, potions, and find HP or MP power ups to level up and increase your health and magic. And that's what my gripe is about with this game is that I've done this same thing dozens of times before. Rather than explore one giant castle, you travel between different locations. The more power ups you get the more areas you can explore. So there will be some backtracking. This is no different than exploring one giant castle with different areas attached to it, such as an underground water level, cave level, sanctuary level, etc. No different than previous Castlevania games. One thing good I have to say about this game is the music and control interface is as always excellent. Rent this game first before buying. And if anyone from Konami should happen to read this review, please take note. More originality is needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dungeons and Disappointment

posted by Gradius (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Maybe I'm just not a hardcore enough Castlevania fan, and I admit freely that I can't stomach most of the Belmont-only ones. But usually the ones that go outside the clan's trademark bull whip and can-do attitude approach to vampire slaying are great. This was a screaming disappointment. I wasn't expecting Symphony of the Night or even Dawn of Sorrow, but this thing wasn't even trying. Rather than the awe inspiring variety I'm used to with this brand of 'vania, I find that most of the crests you find are just better-damage versions of the basic 10 or so, and the Glyph Union thing that sounded so great ends up outclassed by Kirby 64 in terms of ingenuity and quantity. The non-glyph equipment is equally uninspired.
Maybe it's just my priorities, I don't know, but I goofed with the file that was already on there a few times and sent it back within a week. If you're more a fan of the Belmont ones you'll probably like it more than I did.
I applaud the use of a singular female main character, and eagerly await her to return and not be so boring to play as.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia

posted by DARKTICK (HUNTINGTON, WV) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

This Castlevania is one of the worst games I have ever played. The new layout is awful! It has lost all of the great game playing that was in all the previous Castlevania, where is the castle and being able to find items and sell them! The bosses are a joke it is harder sometime to get to the boss then really fight it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »