Rent Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

664 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated Game! Hard to please everyone!

posted by louielouie (IRONDALE, AL) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was fun and I enjoyed it. If you like GOW you will enjoy it. Yes the ending is not fulfilling but leaves it open for another game. Some things could have been done better but we can say that about any game. Its not a silly RPG its an action adventure game and has all the elements. It should have gotten at least a 7.5 on IGN but they cater to certain labels. These people that have to high expectations and give it a 5 or below score are silly. Dont listen to them. Its worth renting and playing all the way through. Maybe DLC will make it worth buying. Try it its a good game, not great but good and has fun elements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A public service annoucement

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Before renting or playing this game keep in mind that professional reviews are reviewing this game based on peer industry standards. This does not negate whether you will enjoy the game or not, a alot of movies have gotten horrible reviews and gone on to surpass oscar winner's in total gross. Also remember that Lords of Shadow was not acclaimed right away either, a lot of negative reviews came in, and it wasn't until the sequel was announced that people actually started giving the game a chance, and deemed it epic.

That being said, I think Mercury Steam kind of enclosed themselves in regard to the design based on the ending of the last game. It was cool, but in practice it did not set the series up for a great game. In trying to please the fan's (ie. open world, free camera, bigger environments, deeper combat) the time was taken away for what would've given a great story. This company is not Naughty Dog, or Sony Santa Monica, and I feel that they bit off more than they could chew with out Kojima over seeing the project (even in a small amount); or even outside project testing. To their defense I feel that given the time period chosen, and the subject of the game the sneaking is appropriate; not saying it was the best choice but it did fit the story.

It seems to me that it would've been better for them to skip putting mirror of fate on 3DS and include the story into this game, and that it would've made a better argument in the long run. For what they set up at the end of Lords of Shadow, I feel they did a good job. Was it the epic story I was expecting, no. But it is good enough that it should be given a chance for each individual to decide how they feel about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Huge Fail!!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 3, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to Lords Of Shadows 2 having very much enjoyed the first one. After seeing countless gameplay videos, it made it even more enticing to want to play because action was the main focus. Finally, a Castlevania game that went back to it's roots. After having played it, however, I have to say that as great as this game looks and sounds, nothing else is worth your time. First of all, the story is horrible. Set in some future time period, most of the first half of the game has you exploring some biochemical facility with the occasional flashback to the castle to regain some lost power. The level design allows for a more open world experience, but as you navigate each part, you're still really on a linear path. Dracula's weapons are cool and fun to use, much like Dante's different combination of weapons in Devil May Cry. The gameplay takes a page from God Of War and you'll find that you use many of the same techniques and combos to kill your enemies. As you collect experience you can level up your mastery of your weapons by gaining 100% for each skill. All this sounds great, but it gets very repetitive and is not as smooth or fluid as God Of War's style of combat. Some additional gimmicks are thrown in, for example, stealth sections that require you to move undetected by turning yourself into a rat or by distracting your enemy as you slink past them. What makes these areas frustrating is that they're totally unnecessary, poorly played out, and just downright stupid. The game even goes as far as disables your weapons during these sections. The second half of the game fairs a little better, but you're still going through the same motions as you did in the first half. And not a good thing when the game takes about 15 hours to complete. A couple of things this game has is an awesome soundtrack that fits the mood and a slight improvement in graphics. It's worth renting to see what the hype is about, but I wouldn't shell out $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very sexy graphics! Loved this game!!

posted by Jugalugalo (OCONOMOWOC, WI) Sep 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's your typical Castlevania game and I loved it. Lots of blood spilling all over the place, the graphics on his face when he drinks blood, it's visually beautiful. Controls are very easy and user friendly. Story is smooth flowing. For a rental I give it a 10 for sure. Just might keep it for the fact of the detail in the graphics, very awesome job!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic Castlevania aspects with poor platforming

posted by DevilPunisher95 (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Dec 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

This game isn't the nightmare people make it out to be. The fighting seems simple at first, but if you play at max difficulty along with every learnable fighting technique at hand, it turns into a pretty solid action game that makes you think on your feet.

The platforming isn't bad, but it's not good either. Average platforming is acceptable in an action adventure game, but there are no redeeming features that make it stand out in the game.

One complaint I understand about the game however, is the tedious and completely unnecessary stealth sections. I mean come on, the prince of darkness, the flagship character of horror and gothic literature, DRACULA, needs to sneak around the human world to avoid confrontation when he is supposed to be an all powerful creature of the night that rips everything to shreds without mercy? How about no.

Now, although the stealth section seem terrible and obnoxious, they can literally be solved in a matter of seconds if you know what you're doing. When it comes to stealth, Google will be your best friend. When you find yourself stuck at a stealth portion of the gameplay, simply look it up on Google, and the puzzle will be solved in under 30 seconds. So although the stealth sections of the game seem terrible, they are extremely easy if you know the solution beforehand.

The game is split between a modern human world and Dracula's castle. If the entire game took place within the castle I probably would have given this game a perfect score. I don't have a problem with Castlevania in a modern setting, I just feel like it was poorly executed and took away from the horror and majestic gothic themes of the infamous Dracula castle we all know and love.

The story can be a little confusing, but it's actually very good if you pay close attention. The reason people write off the story, is they don't think it makes sense because of Dracula's frequent flashbacks to his golden age of horror. The plot indeed makes sense if you stick w

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that amazing

posted by dmcnabb84 (ALBANY, OR) Dec 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

I was excited about this for sometime. I loved the first one and this was boring and lame.... easy and too simplistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it

posted by DaMiz (WHITINSVILLE, MA) Dec 3, 2014

Member since May 2013

Definitely better then what other people are given it credit for. I think if you played and beat the first one then this one is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Under rated devastator

posted by eg2589 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Dec 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

This game was totally under rated, the mechanics on it are above average...it reminds me of god of war and the graphics are great especially on a good HDTV or monitor. The continuing story of Gabriel Belmont isnt as good as the first, i say the story needs work. But the action is fantasic! The blood is fantasic! The raw gore is FANTASTIC!!! Only thing is if you havent played the first game, you will be a little lost, so i advice you to play the first then hit this game hard! Its a great sequal. Oh yeah....dnt expect much at the end. Lol ^~^

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game. Not like the first.

posted by ramrod3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

Lords of Shadow 1 was a classic in the league with Symphony of the Night. This game while very good, didn't quite make it. The plot was pretty good throughout. The change in the classic Castlevania story line was done pretty well. Gameplay is similar to LOS1 so that was fun. It felt like the end of the game was rushed, and the last battle, and ending weren't very satisfying. The environment was not quite as amazing as LOS1 either. Still a good game, fun to play, and good story. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by zenith (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Oct 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game is amazing considering most sequels are not as good as the first. but I was impressed the gameplay was smooth besides the blocking and the a.I was a little crappy but besides that 10/10 review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I liked it

posted by slothy (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The game is fun. I never finished it due to parts where I had to sneak and I dont like having to sneak. I like run and gun or pray and spray games if you will. I liked that the game was a not a total button masher but there is definitely mashing of buttons to be had. I may rent this again to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Castlevania 2

posted by Ted37 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 18, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

There was lots of blood and not enough story. I couldn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Castlevania: Lords Of Shadow 2

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2005

I've always loved the Castlevania games they have all been great. This game was awsome I really had fun playing this game. The graphics were amazing, the cut scenes were great, the story was really cool. Castlevania has always had great music this game had great music, the upgrades for the whip, void sword, and chaos claws were awsome. This game to is rated 50 in my book but I could only give it a 10. Konami your the greatest and always will be my favorite video game company, and Gamefly your the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even worth the rent.

posted by bturner (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 5, 2014

Member since May 2011

Well I had heard the negative rumblings about Castlevania. LOS 2 but figured maybe it was fan boys of the original who were being too hard on the sequel. Alas I was wrong. I tried so hard to like this game as anything that allows you to play dracula should be impossible to make not fun but I just couldn't stomach it. The story is mind numbingly flimsy and uninteresting where your character Spoilers
entire goal is just to find a way to kill himself.....yay how fun. Spoilers end
It plays out in a typical god of war esque hack and slash mindlessly killing minions then some bad platforming which could maybe all be forgiven if not for the terrible stealth sections. My god are they bad. Poorly set up, boring, hard in a clumsy broken sort of way and take forever to get past. You frequently find yourself wondering what part of them game is supposed to be fun. I guess the boss battles if you have the fortitude to slog through the hours of tedium to get to them. Dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An ok game

posted by tankvet (CAMP LEJEUNE, NC) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

This game is ok. The graphics are awesome but you watch the game more than you play the game. The story line is pretty linear as well. I was hoping for a game that the outcome was not so scripted and based more on the choices I make as the player. The cinematics got to the point where I did not even finish playing the game before I sent it back. Personally I like games with little to no cut scenes. You can skip them and in this game you will have to skip them often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NO GRAPPLE OR SWINGING WITH BLOOD CHAIN WHY T F

posted by Michaelalfy3 (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) May 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

I loved Lords of shadow 1 but they took everything cool and threw it away, very frustrating game. mid-game it feels like the creativity slipped away enemies lock on from off screen like guided missiles, could not finish, i play games to chill or challenge me not tick me off but great graphics and the new camera angles sucked (but it looks great)like thats all that mattered and that was lame for open world very linear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For some reason

posted by rivencleft (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

This game couldn't keep my interest, I played the first one and hoped to like this one as well but it just didn't peak my interest as much, played for around 6 hours and just decided to send it back, the gameplay was kind of boring to me, the fighting just wasn't the same, but all of this is just my personal opinion, who knows, you may wind up loving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good.

posted by US2WEIRDOS (AUSTIN, TX) May 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

If you like to watch games instead of play them, this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game!

posted by Angelofwrath88 (PULLMAN, WA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I have always been a big fan of the Castlevania franchise, and with this game I was impressed yet again. The game had a very interesting plot line, great graphics, killer skills, great battle sequences, and fun finishing moves. I think this game deserves a 10 out of 10. It has a wide variety of aspects and challenges that make it a fun game for beginner to advanced gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i didnt even want this game. glad i got it

posted by steveninga (SAVANNAH, GA) Apr 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

I gave this game an 8. I really didn't know what to expect but I was very happy with the game play! give this game a chance if you are unsure like I was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not 4 casual gamers

posted by Geko (NAZARETH, PA) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great game and it is not for casual gamers also the story is not spoon -fed to you/Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of fun

posted by minastirith81 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

I enjoyed this game very much. It was a great addition to the story of Castlevania and if it wasn't for the fact that you have to buy additional content to get the rest of Alucard's story, I would have given this game higher ranks. All in all though it was a lot of fun and I definitely recommend playing this game. Castlevania Lords of Shadow and this game have an awesome story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by fourtyfour (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at first... then just repetitive.

posted by brazilianloser (ORANGE, TX) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Game its okay. A good past time and somewhat fun for anyone that likes the Castlevania series... but among the initial fun the game just becomes repetitive after a while. Instead of making enemies more challenging they just throw more numbers of them at you... and the final battle was probably one of the most boring battles in the game. Anyways a recommended rent but not a buy for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Does not work with 3rd party controller

posted by Arman10 (OAKLAND, CA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

I cannot give a proper review of this title because I cannot move the character. I was so looking forward to playing this cause who does not want to play as Dracula. So a warning if you are using a 3rd party controller you will be unable to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse