Rent Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

574 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated Game! Hard to please everyone!

posted by louielouie (IRONDALE, AL) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was fun and I enjoyed it. If you like GOW you will enjoy it. Yes the ending is not fulfilling but leaves it open for another game. Some things could have been done better but we can say that about any game. Its not a silly RPG its an action adventure game and has all the elements. It should have gotten at least a 7.5 on IGN but they cater to certain labels. These people that have to high expectations and give it a 5 or below score are silly. Dont listen to them. Its worth renting and playing all the way through. Maybe DLC will make it worth buying. Try it its a good game, not great but good and has fun elements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A public service annoucement

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Before renting or playing this game keep in mind that professional reviews are reviewing this game based on peer industry standards. This does not negate whether you will enjoy the game or not, a alot of movies have gotten horrible reviews and gone on to surpass oscar winner's in total gross. Also remember that Lords of Shadow was not acclaimed right away either, a lot of negative reviews came in, and it wasn't until the sequel was announced that people actually started giving the game a chance, and deemed it epic.

That being said, I think Mercury Steam kind of enclosed themselves in regard to the design based on the ending of the last game. It was cool, but in practice it did not set the series up for a great game. In trying to please the fan's (ie. open world, free camera, bigger environments, deeper combat) the time was taken away for what would've given a great story. This company is not Naughty Dog, or Sony Santa Monica, and I feel that they bit off more than they could chew with out Kojima over seeing the project (even in a small amount); or even outside project testing. To their defense I feel that given the time period chosen, and the subject of the game the sneaking is appropriate; not saying it was the best choice but it did fit the story.

It seems to me that it would've been better for them to skip putting mirror of fate on 3DS and include the story into this game, and that it would've made a better argument in the long run. For what they set up at the end of Lords of Shadow, I feel they did a good job. Was it the epic story I was expecting, no. But it is good enough that it should be given a chance for each individual to decide how they feel about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Huge Fail!!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 3, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to Lords Of Shadows 2 having very much enjoyed the first one. After seeing countless gameplay videos, it made it even more enticing to want to play because action was the main focus. Finally, a Castlevania game that went back to it's roots. After having played it, however, I have to say that as great as this game looks and sounds, nothing else is worth your time. First of all, the story is horrible. Set in some future time period, most of the first half of the game has you exploring some biochemical facility with the occasional flashback to the castle to regain some lost power. The level design allows for a more open world experience, but as you navigate each part, you're still really on a linear path. Dracula's weapons are cool and fun to use, much like Dante's different combination of weapons in Devil May Cry. The gameplay takes a page from God Of War and you'll find that you use many of the same techniques and combos to kill your enemies. As you collect experience you can level up your mastery of your weapons by gaining 100% for each skill. All this sounds great, but it gets very repetitive and is not as smooth or fluid as God Of War's style of combat. Some additional gimmicks are thrown in, for example, stealth sections that require you to move undetected by turning yourself into a rat or by distracting your enemy as you slink past them. What makes these areas frustrating is that they're totally unnecessary, poorly played out, and just downright stupid. The game even goes as far as disables your weapons during these sections. The second half of the game fairs a little better, but you're still going through the same motions as you did in the first half. And not a good thing when the game takes about 15 hours to complete. A couple of things this game has is an awesome soundtrack that fits the mood and a slight improvement in graphics. It's worth renting to see what the hype is about, but I wouldn't shell out $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Castlevania 2

posted by Ted37 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 18, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

There was lots of blood and not enough story. I couldn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very sexy graphics! Loved this game!!

posted by Jugalugalo (OCONOMOWOC, WI) Sep 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

It's your typical Castlevania game and I loved it. Lots of blood spilling all over the place, the graphics on his face when he drinks blood, it's visually beautiful. Controls are very easy and user friendly. Story is smooth flowing. For a rental I give it a 10 for sure. Just might keep it for the fact of the detail in the graphics, very awesome job!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Castlevania: Lords Of Shadow 2

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Sep 2005

I've always loved the Castlevania games they have all been great. This game was awsome I really had fun playing this game. The graphics were amazing, the cut scenes were great, the story was really cool. Castlevania has always had great music this game had great music, the upgrades for the whip, void sword, and chaos claws were awsome. This game to is rated 50 in my book but I could only give it a 10. Konami your the greatest and always will be my favorite video game company, and Gamefly your the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even worth the rent.

posted by bturner (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 5, 2014

Member since May 2011

Well I had heard the negative rumblings about Castlevania. LOS 2 but figured maybe it was fan boys of the original who were being too hard on the sequel. Alas I was wrong. I tried so hard to like this game as anything that allows you to play dracula should be impossible to make not fun but I just couldn't stomach it. The story is mind numbingly flimsy and uninteresting where your character Spoilers
entire goal is just to find a way to kill himself.....yay how fun. Spoilers end
It plays out in a typical god of war esque hack and slash mindlessly killing minions then some bad platforming which could maybe all be forgiven if not for the terrible stealth sections. My god are they bad. Poorly set up, boring, hard in a clumsy broken sort of way and take forever to get past. You frequently find yourself wondering what part of them game is supposed to be fun. I guess the boss battles if you have the fortitude to slog through the hours of tedium to get to them. Dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An ok game

posted by tankvet (CAMP LEJEUNE, NC) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

This game is ok. The graphics are awesome but you watch the game more than you play the game. The story line is pretty linear as well. I was hoping for a game that the outcome was not so scripted and based more on the choices I make as the player. The cinematics got to the point where I did not even finish playing the game before I sent it back. Personally I like games with little to no cut scenes. You can skip them and in this game you will have to skip them often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NO GRAPPLE OR SWINGING WITH BLOOD CHAIN WHY T F

posted by Michaelalfy3 (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) May 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

I loved Lords of shadow 1 but they took everything cool and threw it away, very frustrating game. mid-game it feels like the creativity slipped away enemies lock on from off screen like guided missiles, could not finish, i play games to chill or challenge me not tick me off but great graphics and the new camera angles sucked (but it looks great)like thats all that mattered and that was lame for open world very linear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For some reason

posted by rivencleft (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

This game couldn't keep my interest, I played the first one and hoped to like this one as well but it just didn't peak my interest as much, played for around 6 hours and just decided to send it back, the gameplay was kind of boring to me, the fighting just wasn't the same, but all of this is just my personal opinion, who knows, you may wind up loving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good.

posted by US2WEIRDOS (AUSTIN, TX) May 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

If you like to watch games instead of play them, this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game!

posted by Angelofwrath88 (PULLMAN, WA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I have always been a big fan of the Castlevania franchise, and with this game I was impressed yet again. The game had a very interesting plot line, great graphics, killer skills, great battle sequences, and fun finishing moves. I think this game deserves a 10 out of 10. It has a wide variety of aspects and challenges that make it a fun game for beginner to advanced gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i didnt even want this game. glad i got it

posted by steveninga (SAVANNAH, GA) Apr 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

I gave this game an 8. I really didn't know what to expect but I was very happy with the game play! give this game a chance if you are unsure like I was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not 4 casual gamers

posted by Geko (NAZARETH, PA) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great game and it is not for casual gamers also the story is not spoon -fed to you/Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of fun

posted by minastirith81 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

I enjoyed this game very much. It was a great addition to the story of Castlevania and if it wasn't for the fact that you have to buy additional content to get the rest of Alucard's story, I would have given this game higher ranks. All in all though it was a lot of fun and I definitely recommend playing this game. Castlevania Lords of Shadow and this game have an awesome story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by fourtyfour (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at first... then just repetitive.

posted by brazilianloser (ORANGE, TX) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Game its okay. A good past time and somewhat fun for anyone that likes the Castlevania series... but among the initial fun the game just becomes repetitive after a while. Instead of making enemies more challenging they just throw more numbers of them at you... and the final battle was probably one of the most boring battles in the game. Anyways a recommended rent but not a buy for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Does not work with 3rd party controller

posted by Arman10 (OAKLAND, CA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

I cannot give a proper review of this title because I cannot move the character. I was so looking forward to playing this cause who does not want to play as Dracula. So a warning if you are using a 3rd party controller you will be unable to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

posted by cmeeks (ARLEE, MT) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

The graphics the outstanding, I had a ton of fun playing this game. There are some difficult parts to this game but, over all it was a great game and I would gladly buy it and keep it in my collection. If you are old enough to remember the original games this is a big jump.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty BAD

posted by B13 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

The trailers made it look inviting. But the game it self not so much. At first OH MY GOD wow. Then later so annoying. Its almost like playing the first all over again, some of the new powers you get make it seem easier. If you do finish the game you will thank god its over. Start NEW GAME+ then it'll be easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this game.

posted by Isalon (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

This game is horrible. I've played at least half of the Castlevania games across multiple systems from NES onward and this is by far one of the worst if not THE worst.

I picked it up because the original LoS was refreshing and I enjoyed playing through. I have multiple complaints that made me quit about 33% through the game.

- For once, the music really sucks. WdaF Konami?

- Combat controls suck. I'm CONSTANTLY fighting with the controller to do what I want. I find myself attacking in one direction when I've held the analog stick towards another direction.

- Combat is complicated. Dodge this attack, guard that attack, combo the enemy to get mana but don't get hit or your combo breaks. Battles require blocking. REQUIRE. If you want to get through even the basic of minion fights - many of which are unavoidable to begin with - you need to block. If you dont, they take at least twice as long.

- For the Prince of Darkness, I'm surprised I have to depend on a mana pool for my L1 and R1 weapons. The boss battle that made me ragequit the game involves several mechanics: 1. I'm "poisoned", so damage I take brings me permanently closer to death 2. The boss has a protective shield that I need to bust through with use of a magic ability 3. That magic ability is no longer useable without mana 4. I have to land a required number of combo hits on minions the boss summons in order to REGENERATE mana 5. If I take damage while this happens, not only do I become permanently closer to death (See 1.) but my combo meter resets (RESETS) which means I start over. Ridiculously difficult boss battle.

- I played the game on the EASIEST difficulty, and still have the above complaints.

- For being Dracula, I feel EXTREMELY weak.

I love open world exploration, or even non-linear exploration with hidden bonuses. But between the frustrating difficulty and sucky combat (which is 75% of this game) it's not worth my time.

My time is precious to me; if yours is to you, skip

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Castle Gear Solid Gaiden Sigma 2

posted by DrakesInception (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

Wow. I just finished LoS 2 and I'm speechless... and not in a good way. Lords of Shadow 2 may very well be the worst game I have ever played and this is coming from someone who really enjoyed the first Lords of Shadow. LoS 2 somehow managed to fail in every single way possible: Game design, level design, environmental design, writing, art direction, setting, story, gameplay, and voice acting. If I were overseeing LoS 2 I would've scrapped the entire game and started over. This is supposed to be Castlevania... not Ninja Gaiden-Metal Gear Solid with overly emotional vampires. Also I didn't rent LoS 2 to play a rat simulator. The ending was complete garbage too - this game deserves a 1 out of 10. Thank god I rented this game, because I was so excited I almost bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »