Rent Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

513 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow pace, surprisingly little action.

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) May 9, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was expecting an action packed game, since it's Castlevania branded. I got to fight every now and then "Devil May Cry" style, but this game misses on the design and you end up just mashing buttons. Most of my gameplay was either waiting for story to play out, mashing A to climb around, or rolling my eyes at uninteresting stealth sections.

I feel like this game just tried to mash together cool game mechanics from other popular games, and managed to botch all of them so it's just a mediocre pile of blah. Super disappointed. yet another failure of the Castlevania brand in the 3D action space.

Gave it a 4 because it at least LOOKS Castlevania, and I'm not sure the story is bad (although making Dracula God's chosen warrior on a mission to defeat Satan in current day but also in an old castle is a real stretch for me).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What Happened?

posted by CaptMagnifico (THORNTON, CO) May 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Brandon here from the Bloody Screen Podcast with a quick review of Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2. Check out the audio at bloodyscreenpod.com

So to this game I was a fan, a big fan of the first Lords of Shadow. Sure it wasn't very Castlevania like but it was fun and interesting. This game seems to forget what Castlevania is or ever was.

The game is set in modern times with you playing as Dracula. You think they would do anything new and original with that. Instead they put you in generic city taking on the same enemies. You play as Dracula, now I thought that I would be killing templar knights and take on the Belmont family. Instead I'm fighting demons and jumping back and fourth through time; which they never explain how I do that. Dracula is just a mopey emo kid, not even close to being this suave bad mother. The story is lackluster end that seemed like they made it up in a afternoon.

The gameplay is similar to Lords of Shadow but forgot the area of being fun. It starts out fine but when you end up fighting generic mutant number 5 every 10 minutes you get tired of it pretty quick. They also add a stealth mechanic which is the most broken thing in this game. It is so tedious and dumb all it does is bring the flow of the game to a complete hault. It brings me to ask how can Dracula take on the head demons but not the doorman.

Overall the game is fundamentally broken but it isn't the sequel anyone wanted to the first. I would say play Mirror of Fate for a good sequel and sweep this under the rug.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Another just like it....

posted by Cptnspraynpray (HAMMOND, OR) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game has a good story, but when it comes to gameplay it is just like Dante's Inferno. Not to say it's a bad game, but I have played it before.... I didn't really wanna play another just like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Different twist on the franchise

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

I actually liked this game. It was a different twist on the franchise. Spoiler alert for those that don't know. In all the past games I have played you a a good guy trying to get to draculas castle to kill him. Well in this one you are cursed from the first game and you actually have became Dracula. If you liked the first game chances are you will like this game. I recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Looks pretty. However...

posted by Cryptiknight (NORFOLK, VA) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I absolutely enjoyed the first game and Mirror of Fate on the DS and was looking forward to enjoying this instalment, but the joy of playing it after the first 2 hours wasn't there. The game looks very nice, improving upon the outstanding visuals of the LOS. The only thing lacking was the action. There was very little action in the game, but the action that was there though was very lack luster. It seemed that the further you got into the game, the more that the enemies you encountered would have some sort of shield to protect themselves from your attacks, everything ranging from little shotguns, to actual shields, to impenetrable armour where the only way to get through them was to use you chaos powers to heat up and destroy the shields, which if you run out of chaos magic, prepare for a lengthy grind of killing the small guys just to slowly build up your magic again. Even then the battles seem to result in you just dodging attacks from multiple enemies at once or with every monster having some sort of area damage and barely being able to get a hit on your foes resulting in even the basic of battles become nothing more than a chore. Not to mention that when you're in a boss or mini-boss battle that if you don't defeat the main target, lesser foes continuously spawn and distract you while the big guy quickly drains your health bar and magic.

Sadly I only played though about the first half of the game before I sent it back in disappointment. The storyline is weak with you once again defeating Satan's acolytes to prevent his return and the excruciating quest to repair the Mirror of Fate for some character who portrays as your second son. Almost nothing that made the first game great made it into this game and that's really disappointing seeing as how LOS, while not perfect, was a really fun game.

I may come back to this game in the future, but as it stands right now, it's one of the few games I have left unfinished in 15 years of gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very pretty, but...

posted by zekemelias (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 2, 2014

Member since May 2010

The graphic and artwork are amazing, and the story is definitely in-depth and captivating. The gameplay and gaping holes of logic however brings the rest to a halt. Following the story for the first game, Gabriel Belmont is now Dracula and awakens in modern times. However, this Dracula feels more of a wimpy goth kid hiding in school hallways from the jocks. Apparently everyone is stronger than him, and you have to "stealth mission" several times in the game. Brings the action to a grinding halt and demeans the whole basis of Dracula, Prince of Darkness, The Dragon. Then the fact that it has 2 storylines running at the same time, neither of which ever interact with each other. The 2nd one involves Dracula mysteriously (teleporting/shifting/appearing) in his old castle via (time travel/memories/his own mind). Which is it? No one seems to bother to explain. Only reason game wise is that's where you get your new powers, cause I guess modern time monsters can't be bothered to have anything nice.
The combat is rather...off putting. At times it flows smoothly and can create a fun while challenging experience. Then the game goes unforgiving mid-battle, punishing you if you attempt to dodge too soon/too late, and refusing to let you maneuver yourself into a more strategic position. All monsters are unaffected by your combo attacks and will freely attack in the middle of your combos (which you HAVE to use several times in combat to "upgrade your weapon," I say in quotes cause I see little to no improvements). They show very slight/no movements that they are about to attack with exceptions to non-blockable attacks, which can still be frustratingly difficult to even dodge mid-combo.
After hitting a rather time-consuming and extremely frustrating stealth game, I called it quits and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Old Story.

posted by KuykieKrisps (JOINT BASE LEWIS MCCHORD, WA) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I enjoyed the game for the most part, but it felt like the same old game. two lords of shadow die and the last battle is satan. In LoS 2 two acolytes die and your last battle is satan again. Aside from that Konami seems to have failed the whole open world scene with no side missions and a very limited map. I give it an 8 because despite it's failures it had very smooth combat and a very well coordinated skill tree for each of your skill categories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by 909fien (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 24, 2014

Member since May 2014

Great game from the start as soon as i put the disk in my console i was addicted great story so far still making my way further in the game dracula is a beast the onley bad part is mashing buttons all the time gets frustrating allways having to hit combos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step backwards in every possible way.

posted by mvidaure (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

As a huge fan of the first, I was tremendously disappointed with this game. No genui9nepuzzles, boring environments and enemies, forgettable boss fights and story, uninspired combat-- it was all so mediocre compared to the first game. Without even comparing it to the first, the questionable design choices and awful attempt to borrow from other currently-popular series just makes this a mess. I forced myself through it, honestly, and the unsatisfying ending makes me wonder why. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PRETTY COOL

posted by ericscott (MERCED, CA) May 5, 2014

Member since May 2012

This game started off awesome with an amazing backstory and entertaining first few levels, I was very impressed after expecting little. However, at the game goes on it gets repetitive with long boss battles and the same enemies collecting the same upgrades with little to no replay value after completing the game. However, I enjoyed it and thought maybe it was a little too long. Some players have complained about the difficulty but there are several hints and the difficulty can be changed at anytime in the options menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Flawed Sequel

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) May 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Don't take the "5" I've given here as a bad score. I would attribute this score to an average, middle of the road game which is exactly how I feel about Lords of Shadows 2.

After playing the original LoS, I was looking forward to the sequel. LoS was a good game and a nice "reinvention" of the Castlevania formula, the first good one I've played in 3D. Unfortunately, the developers of LoS2 chose to add a few elements to this game which drag it down, causing frustration and annoyance throughout.

First, the graphics are beautiful, and this is coming from someone who has played Ryse etc. on Xbox One. LoS2 is definitely one of the best looking games on Xbox 360, it really is eye candy. The game runs smoothly and the combat is (generally) fun, with a few minor blips that come up from time to time. The story is a direct continuation from LoS, and if you're into the Castlevania lore/story, you'll probably like this.

As for the rest of the game...there's nothing broken here, but there are some serious design flaws which caused me a good deal of annoyance as I played through the game. In particular, the stealth areas really ruin the pacing of the game and can be frustrating areas of trial/failure. Navigation, platforming, and climbing can also be annoying due to the camera which can get downright stupid at times. Some enemy encounters feel cheap at times as well, and the checkpoint system can definitely use some work.

Overall, not a bad game. It's decent, but don't go in expecting the same quality or fun you experienced with the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like it

posted by SS22 (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Game play is good actors are big names and well done story is good all around well done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Castlevania: LOS2

posted by DangerBabe (PENDLETON, IN) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2009

For the most part, I enjoyed the game - good length of play, graphics pretty good, gameplay easy (though with zillions of combos, I find myself sticking to half a dozen or so throughout)...but the travel in this game, from location to location, was extremely trying on my patience and memory. I hate resorting to online maps and guides to find things, but there was nothing intuitive or easy to navigate with in this game. Just trying to get back to the Chupacabra's Shop was the insanity that made me put this game back in the mail to Gamefly. I wanted to round out the items and level everything up after the main storyline was finished - but it was so horrible to travel all over the place to do it, I just gave up.

I guess regarding storyline, I just don't know my Castlevania history as well as I thought I did - I don't remember all the characters involved, if they did exist. If they were new for this game, there was no real explanation for who they were or where they came from. The ending tried to tie it all up, but didn't really pull it off. Still, worth playing in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a major improvement

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

I enjoyed the gameplay of the first one but it lacked with everything else. I wanted to LOVE this one. It was very enjoyable but the flaws flowed over the this one too. Throwing it in the modern world for majority of the game was a let down in the environment too.

Good: The gameplay, storyline, and cut scenes were great. It continued off of the first and finished the great story. It finished a little weak in my opinion though.

Bad: It isn't a real long game and is worth a rent only.

Ugly: Too many collectables. All of the enhancements and health are increased with many many collectables. Both the first and this one are not achievement friendly. Too many B.S things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by Mayonaka (OMAHA, NE) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

The game isn't nearly as good as the first one. The story seems lacking and could have been much better. It doesn't make up for the lack of fights and annoying reoccurring fights. The combat controls can be frustrating as they don't respond in time causing you to suffer major damage. This can be impossible to recover from since, unlike the first, it doesn't save the stage of the boss fight you're in. The bosses have also become easier so if your looking for a challenge you'd be better off playing on hard mode. Overall decent game that I recommend playing, but not nearly as good as it's predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tale of Dracul

posted by Zman623 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

Lords of Shadow 2 has received rather negative reviews from gaming sites and such, so here's my honest review:
Story-wise, this game is not as strong as its predecessor. There a few loose ends and questions that remain unanswered regarding the two "timelines" that are playable. However, seeing Dracula throw down against those who oppose him is pretty sweet (This game gives off a Revengeance feel--where the plot just barely works but you stay for the action).
The gameplay seems a lot more fluid than the original Lords of Shadow, and the Chaos Claws and Void Sword mix up combat in a way similar to light and dark magic, but they just seem more entertaining aesthetically. The open world is a good addition, making going back to collect previously unreachable items more convenient than trucking through an old chapter. The "Kleidos Mirror" challenge mode adds a bit of extra... well, challenge to the game and tests your ability to effectively use Dracula's skills.
The leveling system remains rather unchanged from the original, save for the mastery element of it (use a weapon/skill more, become more deadly with it).
Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2--though it stumbles a bit with storytelling--is a quality game, and is extremely deserving of a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dracula's Curse

posted by Alcades (SELLERSVILLE, PA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

I just finished and very much enjoyed Castlevania:Lords of Shadow 2. I also played and found first LoS and Mirror of Fate and found them to be a lot of fun. In addition I've also played the majority of the Castlevania games that have come out over the years.

If you enjoy action games such as God of War or Devil May Cry, you are going to like the action/combat and mechanics of this game quite a bit. You may want to bump the difficulty up to Lords of Shadow if you enjoy a challenge though. The default difficulty is totally fine and I found myself only dying when careless or when not paying attention to enemy patterns but the game will punish button mashing. LoS 2 is challenging but its not nearly as punishing as the first LoS. Yes some of the stealth sections are rough around the edges and may frustrate you due to their trial & error nature. There are also not that many of them. However in order to get through some them successfully you only need think about one particular ability you gain during the game that could make you say "Disappear into thin air" if you were being hunted down. There are also plenty of secrets to find and large two-side map to explore. To find everything will probably take a lot of time. I did really like that there is an item that will assist you in locating some of the harder to find items. Even with that being said, I finished the game at around 75%. My recommendation is that if you enjoyed a the first Lords of Shadow game, then its pretty likely you'll enjoy this one. The Lords of Shadow series was a different take on the Castlevania series and I think it achieved what it set out to do.

I wouldn't let a few rough spots or scathing game reviews stop you from enjoying an otherwise superb action with great production values, challenging combat and an interesting story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Once again a terrible game!

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2003

I played the original one and liked It but this one is terrible. Too many cut scenes for one.Either make a game or make a movie not both people.
Now on to my greatest complaint. I made It all the way to "pan's garden" from that point It was totally impossible to play! I died over and over again. After several attempts I put the darn thing in It's mailer and said to heck with this game! A message to the developers: If your going to make a boss battle part that is this difficult to beat then please for the love of God and games include a skip feature that after so many times dying the player can or not opt in to use! I HATE games that ruin my fun factor like this one did! I won't ever play them again nor buy them even If they cost a dollar! This game was around a6.5 until that point, after that..unplayable! I don't have patience nor time for games that get super hard for no apparent reason right in the middle of them!
To all gamers, this is most definitely a rental, If you like It afterward then good for you, as for me I wouldn't take a free copy of this game If you offered It! Good luck with "Pan" you'll need It!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by krazikurt (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

Awesome graphics,great gameplay,descent story too.stealth missions are short despite the bad criticism about them and not many any way.Bosses are wild and overall I loved this game.finished campaign now to finish collectibles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Castlevania POS 2 I mean (LOS) Lords of Shadow 2

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Such a disappointing game, I couldn't even finish it i'm going to ship this curse back to GameFly. Its just such a boring game I was nodding off. The combat is really poor for some reason they added this stupid slow motion thing in the game that kills you more then being useful. The cut scenes ohhh my the cut scenes every 5 mins there's a cut scene , I knew I should have listened to the Xbox when it fell asleep during the opening cut scene. There is a lot more I could say but I think this is sufficient. Play the original AVOID this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »