Rent Castlevania Judgment for Wii
view large frontback

Castlevania Judgment

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

623 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Castlevania Regroup

posted by Lordjon (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game has a decent character selection from multiple titles mixed into it. The combat system is pretty nice. I tended to use the Gamecube controller more then the Nunchuk controls as they felt clunky to me a bit. The battle system is balanced the supers are nice and no one is really over powered. I personally like to use Shanoa the most.(not because of the DS game but because of her mix of close and long range combat.) Their isn't much plot so don't buy it for that, buy it for the ability to use Castlevania characters against other Castlevania characters. The graphics are very nice for a Wii game as well and the stages are awesome. Some of them feel like something straight out of a combination of Mortal Kombat and Castlevania. There is plenty of Nostalgia to be found in this game if you remember any of the games the characters are from. I personally liked all the Castlevania 3 characters, the music, the Symphony of The Night characters as well as the original Aeon character. This game is very good for the keep it price as well. I suggest both renting and keeping it if you are a Castlevania fan who doesn't care about plotline and wants a versus battle style game to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the deepest fighter, but fairly accessible.

posted by Dravna (CHICAGO RIDGE, IL) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I should first state that Castlevania: Judgment was the reason why I started a GameFly trial. A number of professional reviewers have written that they thought this game was terrible, but I was able to find amateur reviews on YouTube from people who enjoyed or even loved the game, so I thought it would be best to rent it.

Castlevania: Judgment is something of a mixture of several fighting games: the weapon combat of SoulCalibur, the 3-D roaming combat of Power Stone and some of the fan service of Super Smash Bros. "Some of the fan service" because there are certainly aspects to the characters and stories which bug me; if this had not been a part of the Castlevania franchise it would be a bit more forgivable. While the music features new versions of old favorites such as "Vampire Killer" and "Bloody Tears," the designs of the characters are not what one expects from Castlevania.

Once you get past things such as the odd dialogue to tie some of the stories of certain characters to each other (after all, fighting games are not known for their stories), there's a fairly good game to be played.

Controls:
I started with the Wii-mote and nunchuck and found it
was precise enough to complete the game on Easy difficulty several times over without being tiresome. The "hold down/charge a button and press another" method is a simple way to add some variation in a game which doesn't feature crouching attacks or d-pad inputs. I switched later to the classic controller for more precision. I don't see any need to use an arcade stick.

Gameplay:
You can view your characters moves while paused. A sub-weapon can be added into some of your combos to extend them. Inputs are the same across characters, but none of them suffer from cloned moves. Each character certainly has a unique play style, with some (Grant, Cornell, Dracula) having an additional use for their hyper meter than just the one-button hyper-combo (without a cinematic). Not deep, but good.

Camera:
Works well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) May 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was a little bit better than I expected. But what I didn't like was that their was a little character roster I'am used to a lot of characters. Batlles end way to fast wish you could change the fights a little more like changing damage percentage and stuff like that.And also the game to me is a little short. So overall it is an okay fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just a impressive fighting game with good controls

posted by MatthewX (JUSTIN, TX) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the castlevania games until this one.

Graphics: The games graphics is great for a Wii game. Even the designs look awesome but it doesn't come without a price and the Price is the framerate. IT in a 30 FPS and not 60 FPS.

Controls: Please do not use the Wiimote and Nunchunk! It has too much waggling involved. Classic controller the Control stick is way off track. Gamecube controller is not that loose. Only play the game with the Gamecube controller.

Gameplay: It just like any fighting game but the AI is way too predictable. It kick my butt up to 3 to 5 times.

Content: There is a lot of clothing, music, artwork, characters, and more.

Online: Online play was fun and it better than playing the Way too much predictable AI.

Last Apperl: I Think is a game you should play if your are a diehard fan so you will most likely buy this game. Anyone esle give it a rent. kids save your money and but Super Smash Bros Brawl, it better for kids, Plus you will enjoy it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wi Fi is the best part...

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Castlevania Judgment is a really fun fighting game that has I think 12 Characters and the last ones that you unlock are the best. You can use your DS Castlevania order of ecclecia game to unlock two of the four hidden characters. (Aeon and Shanoa) Like I said in the title Wi Fi is the best part of the whole game but the only problem is if you have a little bit slow internet the game gets really laggy. Although this game is not a platformer like the originals it is still fun!!! If your a Castlevania fan at least give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

castlevania judgement

posted by immobilize (NORTH VERSAILLES, PA) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game would have been alot better on a different system. not suitable for wii mote controls at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I like fighting games but...

posted by FelixFaust (ENFIELD, CT) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just not this one.

I've been a fan of Castlevania since the old 8-bit days, and when I heard that a castlevania fighter was on the Wii I thought "Doubly cool!" But alas my anticipation was dashed against the rocks of mediocre reality. I was hoping for a great game full of devistating combos and monster smashing attacks but instead found myself flinging my Wiimote around like a colossal tool! If you like Castlevania don't rent this stinker, it sucks worse than Dracula himself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Castlevania: Judgment

posted by renton7215 (MEDFORD, OR) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I was really disappointed in this game. Mainly because I don't really like fighting games. I mean I have to hand it to them the graphics are insane, but the game play was hard to learn and by the time I did, I was ready to check out my other game. Just didn't hold my interest. So if you like fighting games, you might like this one. I was hoping for more Castlevania, and I was very much let down. Please Konami come out with a cool playable Castlevania game for us die hard fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glad I Rented and Didn't Buy.

posted by kev2112 (STAUNTON, VA) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was interested in this game for a while, but something told me to borrow or rent it before buying it. After it came in the mail I understood why; aside from there not being any real storyline or plot, the contols themselves were veery jerky and hard to register, even with the classic controller. The graphics and stages were good and the dialogue great for a fighting game. All in all one only for long time fans of the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth my time

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

I bought this game because I thought it could be awesome, a Castlevania fighting game. I was wrong. It was interesting for a few battles... then just got old and I have not played it since.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Novel Idea, However....

posted by Old_Skool_Gamer (JASPER, TN) May 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

At first glance, the fighting genre seemed to be a natural progression and evolution for the Castlevania franchise. However, there are several flaws behind this choice. The controls, while easy to pick up, can be incredibly frustrating at times. The basic attacks are done by swinging the Wii Remote at various angles, and the type of attack performed depends on the angle it was swung. While it is easy enough to get through the fights, here is where the game gets even more disjointed. The storylines, while they keep somewhat true to the characters, don't really FEEL right. They feel rushed, almost as if they were thrown together as an afterthought. The voice acting of the characters....Some are decent, some are horrific. And some of the situations are comical at best. The only real joy I found in the game was the music. True to form, Konami came back with wonderful renditions of past Castlevania themes, which I found thoroughly enjoyable. However, music alone does not a Castlevania game make. It was a great, novel idea, an idea, if done correctly, would be immensely enjoyable and fun, but this one sadly feels rushed. I am normally a Castlevania fanatic, seeing each game through to the end, but with this one, after roughly 4 hours of playing through storyline after storyline, I quickly grew tired of it. Castlevania fans and fighting fans alike, I urge you to steer clear of this one, unless you feel like torturing yourself at the risk of garnering hatred for the series. I myself had to stop before it killed my love of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

<3 all castlevania games!

posted by Sonzaikami (LUCERNE, CA) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I'm big fan of fighting and castlevania games.First game I played on wii.I actually bought the wii to play it.I dunno why you ppl be voted it bad.The controls is hard to get use to. I switch off with controllers but mostly use the wii controller.The nunchunks are are for certain things but the controller you definetly got control.nunchunks are easier to pull off combos and such or if you're in a rush.For starts It better off with a controller than nunchunks.This is fun in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its a very good game

posted by Tvelik (EL CENTRO, CA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i dont see why people hate it so much,the controls are fine,the story is......
well its a fighting of course theres no freakin story
i hate that people are just mad because of the changes
like maria's obession of breasts...weird
anyway people complain of the design,the fact that its a fighting a game and thats its on the wii...
THE FIRST GAMES WERE ON NINTENDO! OF COURSE YOU IT'LL EVENTUALLY BE ON THE WII!
so i agree with some stuff it is true that the designs are ridiculous on some of them but their fine on some others as well
all i can say is that people are just plan old stuck in the past
and their being stupid about not giving things a try which makes them bland for sticky with only one style,sure side scrolling castlevania is fun and all but jeez! let them experement atleast!

personaly i like this,its fun,simple and it didnt take me a long time to understand
infact i hope they'll make another judgement and include more characters and have what ever was wrong with this game,fixed

the good:

fighting system works

pretty good controls

gets a 1 up for having shanoa from order of ecclesia

and is just fun
plus characters are easy to work with

the bad:

bad wifi

on normal difficulty its freakin weird how strong they are,which sucks if just started and right away having to change the difficulty

most of characters dont show any emotion,with shanoa its understandable,she lost her emotions...even though she can get sad and mad?

how the fans complain about this game so freakin much! all i see in review is saying that it sucks which it doesnt!

why is the gaint stronger than the rest of the characters and he barley moves!

anyway the bad was more like nitpicking but thats all i thought was bad

and about maria's breast obession? theres atleast ONE! in every japaninse game so i dont see it as a threat so this game gets

a 8/10

so thanks for reading my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Castlevania Judgement SUCKS

posted by ArmyMoMx3 (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I have been playing Castlevania for quite a few years and when I rented Castlevania Judgement I was under the impression that it would be the same Roll playing game as the ones before. I was very diappointed when I recieved Castlevania Judgement and it was more of a fighting game than a Roll Playing Game like the one prior to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

terrible

posted by Drjoegonzo (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game should be ashamed to be called castlevania

and all the copys should be burned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Catlevania with a Mortal Combat twist, not so good

posted by jml927 (MONROEVILLE, PA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I have to admit I didn't read the description of the game before I got it. I saw Castlevania, and thought from my previous experiences that it would be an RPG style game. When I started it up, I was impressed with the intro, the graphic, the music, and the tutorial, but once I started playing and realized it was a fighting game, I quickly lost interest.

I would say, that it you like Mortal Combat, this game would be for you. If you are looking for the classic Castlevania type RPG game, then I would say pass this one up. This was not one of Konami's better ideas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fatty

posted by mcneeley (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

worst castlevania

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Castlevania Judgement

posted by pbjelly (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Horrible play control! The best results came from wildly shaking the remote and nunchuck in tandem. Cheesy one-liners and unrelatable characters drain the fun at an alarming rate. I'd had enough when Carmilla says in a sultry voice "Don't you want to play with me?" The finishing moves are achieved simply by pressing down on the d-pad! And they are visually anticlimatic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A "1" for its one redeeming quality...

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

...Carmella's boobs. Okay, so that's technically two. But otherwise Judgment is an abomination to fans of fighters, Castlevania, and videogames in general. It's one of the worst games I've played in recent years.

If I had to compare it to another, I'd say it's most similar to Soulcalibur Legends (another rushed and pathetic attempt to cash in on a popular franchise) in terms of suckage.

Atrocious controls--even with Gamecube controller, frustrating camera, nonexistent move lists, unfaithful character design, just plain BAD pacing (you're forced to play story mode in a specific character order), and well, anything else you name it and it's done terribly here.

I wasn't expecting much but got even less. Don't buy and definitely don't rent, unless you're just an obsessed beyond hope Castlevania fan, and even then I don't think you'd like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A REAL LET DOWN

posted by ctvampire (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It is a real let down after playing all the other Castlevania Judgement games. All the others you went all over the place looking for everything this one just has you fighting the other people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »