Rent Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow for DS
view large frontback

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Castlevania : Dawn of Sorrow

posted by Dusk666 (LA PLATA, MD) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The games graphics are near flawless and the game play isn't bad either. The monster aspect of the game is creative in every aspect. But when it comes to the game controls it could be a little better and the side scrolling got a little repetitive but not enough to make it bad. The feature allowing you to use the spell circles was amazing and the boss battles were a challenge but once u get used to the level up system you can beat the bosses with ease.
My personal favorite part of the game is the ability to bond souls to your weapons to make them better than you could have ever imagined. In short this game is awesome and I recommend it to all the users of gamefly those of which who have a Nintendo DS of course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid Action/Adventure Game

posted by A7XGamer (SPRING, TX) May 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 8
Gameplay: 9
Value: 15-20 hrs. Gameplay

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow is the best Action/Adventure for the DS by far and I'll give my reasons. To start of the graphics haven't improved much since Aria of Sorrow but they have added some new things. Like blood and weather effects. The gameplay is the highlight of this whole game. First off the map being on the top screen and the action on the bottom was pure genius. Pressing start all the time to figure out where you were at was a pain in the butt in Aria of Sorrow. Theres also alot of items to collect if you have the patience of finding them all. The replay value of the game is great. The first time through the game is excellent but the second time is superb. Just play the game and you'll know why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Required Gaming for DS Owners

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night changed the face of the Castlevania franchise (you got Action-RPG in my Platformer! You got platformer in my Action-RPG! Together they ROCK!). Now, the formula that worked for the early Metroid games (and SotN) work equally well with the DS's dual-screen setup. The gameplay is fun, and the multiple endings make for great replay value.

This one's definitely a "must have" DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Game.

posted by J2ThaD03 (HOLLIS, NY) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this game, the touch screen gimmick is a bit lame, but it offers a new and unique challenge. its still the same old castlevania puzzles, if you enjoy the castlevania series, this is a must have. The game play is fun and long lasting. The story continues from the 'Aria of Sorrow' game on the GBA, the graphics are amazing, and the music is still as beautiful as ever, this is the reason to have a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad title

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wasn't one of my fav Castlevania games, but definitely not one of my least favorite either. I really enjoyed the way you could capture certain enemies abilities. This game also has the RPG element of leveling up and upgrading gear etc.

About the only thing that kept me from fully enjoying this game was the annoying use of the touchscreen and symbols. This would have been a neat feature for things like opening doors, discovering a secret passage, etc. However it just seems uncalled for to require you to draw these symbols perfectly in order to defeat a boss. It was this point that I quit playing the game and mailed it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun sequel.

posted by Quicksilver84 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The Good: A sequel to Aria of Sorrow, Soma has new challenges to face with his wide range powers and new enemies to push him to the limits.

The Bad: If this is a sequel, why don't you still have all the old souls you collected before. I know, too OP.

The Ugly: Just when you thought you were out.... the pull you back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WHY SO AWESOME

posted by dallash Dec 22, 2012

this is awesome but why does abaden have to be so hard on Julius mode soma is easier WAY easier!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by leapers (BLACKWOOD, NJ) May 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Not what i expected it to be. seriously lacks graphics and the combat is horrible. looks like one of the games that just came out when the first ds did. if you liked radiant historia, don't get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Phenomenal in nearly every way.

posted by godsmith2 (WILLIAMSTOWN, WV) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Although the Castlevania series has had 3D games for quite a while now, the best of the series still lies in 2D games in the style of 1997's Symphony of the Night. While the story is rather weak, the gameplay is spectacular. The ability to take souls from monsters and use them to benefit you returns from Aria of Sorrow, and now you have the ability to use these souls to upgrade your weaponry. Progression wise, it's the same as your usual Castlevania, explore the castle, find a boss, beat the boss to get a new ability that lets you move on. The game took me 8 hours to beat, but there's a lot to do after the credits roll, you can play the game again as Julius, or in a New Game+ mode. Overall, a spectacular experience.

The only two problems I have with this installment are the awful anime art style and having to draw on the touchscreen to defeat bosses, but don't let these flaws discourage you from playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

um ok

posted by domnics (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 question why in japan? they have enough trouble with godzilla dont they?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An okay Action RPG for the DS

posted by Vegito (DULUTH, GA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

A good play through, with the ability to absorb souls and use their abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What the......

posted by wizard1985 (MORTON, PA) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

NO DRACULA AT THE END???? other than that it was good but your in the castle the whole time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

gamer

posted by led518 (PARKERSBURG, WV) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

Good game. Unfortunatly I was unable to save.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Well, its Castlevania.

posted by Teyaric (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

What we have here is a basically functional, and completely competent Castlevania game. There's no glaring bugs, nothing of incredible awesome, the bad map design and poor leading is offset by the incredible collectability and smooth combat. If you've played any of the modern Castlevania games and enjoyed them, you'll enjoy this too. If the formula dosent quite do it for you, then, it wont do much for you, either.

A definate 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Cheerful Sorrow

posted by alucardfan (DORAL, FL) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

I recently played Portrait of Ruin and It was my first Castlevania game. I was hooked and had to rent the next game. Dawn Of Sorrow did not dissapoint. It had everything i expected from a Castlevania game and ALOT more! The soul system is briliant, and every boss battle had me at the edge of my seat!! It was an amazing game. I won't reveal anything, but with all of it's amazing modes, extensive story, and great effects, Dawn of Sorrow was everything i loved from PoR and with new thrills! This game has amazing fan service and great gameplay so even if you're a veteran vampire hunter or new to the series, there is something for everyone to love! Summer is vampire hunting season so get your whip, holy water, and DS and prepare for a great time! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For kiddies only

posted by jonfry (LOMBARD, IL) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Basically, if you are an adult living in the HD era, you shouldn't play this or any other DS game. The gameplay could be decent if it wasn't on a 4 inch screen and you need a stylus to play. This product is intended to keep children quiet in grocery stores and the backseat of cars. Serious gamers need not apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow

posted by cooolpyro (WATERFORD, MI) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Pros. 1. Great game play really easy to get the controls and no long combos for moves so anyone can play.
2. multiple endings and separate modes. For example Julius mode (only available after you beat it in the medium ending)the game I sent back should have it.
3. Multiple weapons i myself was a fan of the axes great power and great range but go with whatever you prefer.
4. soul capturing is nifty when you beat monsters you can sometimes get their soul and get a neat new power some are on all the time as a point booster like + def or strength. Also certain ones are used as materials to upgrade your weapons so try and get 2 if you like the power it gives you and if it upgrades the weapon(s) that you like.
5. Breakable walls. Not just walls but the ground too so i advise if u like the small but fast weapons carry a mace or axe with you and check the walls and ground they lead to neat treasure.
Has Wi-Fi stuff but I can't help you on that stuff..
Boss fights can get really annoying. For example when you kill a boss you have to use the touch screen and draw a pattern called seals. Problem is you have to do it before the little fires go out and accurate too. At first the designs aren't hard but they gradually get harder. However they do have the option in your menu to practice them. I strongly advise practicing.. I myself didn't at first but then i found myself getting killed constantly by the bosses cause of the seals.
2. Some of the monster souls are very very rare For example the great axe armor soul. I gained literally levels 30-35 and 42-45 by trying to get his soul. it upgraded the axe to become really really strong but i never got it.. Also try to get as many different kinds of souls. some monsters may look the same but aren't the same. Some of their skills are used to break walls. these you will know by seeing their picture on the wall. some lead to treasure areas and others lead to very important areas so bust em all down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

still going good

posted by Gloos101 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this is not the best Castlevania out there however it is still good i gave it a 10 and i plan on keeping that rating for this game it has different levels that u can easly go to back and forth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Keeping it consistent

posted by FillVigo (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

When I first played Symphony of the Night, I was blown away. Was it possible that the Castlevania series could use elements from Metroid and still be original? Fortunately the answer was and is yes. SOTN proved that 2D action titles were still relevant even on a system that was largely made to play 3D games.

Now we are in the DS and Wii generation. Games are no longer about who has the strongest graphics engine but who can make a game that hasn't been played before. And while Dawn of Sorrow is still largely based on SOTN in style and game play, it still finds a way for to make Castlevania feel new again.

I loved being able to see the map at all times and check my status without having to enter a menu. Or being able to navigate a menu with the stylus. The addition to using Spells by drawing them on the touch screen was awesome!!!

The only thing I hope they introduce in the next Castlevania game is a way to utilize the mic on the DS. My hope is that when you want to cast a say fire spell, you can just say fire, and the spell will be released. And while the voice technology is not there yet, it is an idea that I think the developers should look into.

All in all, this game only gets an 8 because it is similar to it's predecessors. although the touch screen adds a new element to the game play, the majority of the game still plays like most of the Castlevania games to come out since SOTN. Still, this game is fun, challenging, and worth playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GRAB THIS GAME!!!!

posted by Gamer100 (GAHANNA, OH) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

Castlevaina Dawn of Sorrow is a great game that should be in everyone's collection, even the people who think killing people is bad because everything you fight in this game are monsters or demons. You even can fight and kill Death himself! Now, you are probably wondering why I gave a 9/10. Well, the Magic seal is a pain in the butt. Fortunately, that is the only bad thing about it. You can get new weapons by buying it or making a new one by using a soul you got. This game is perfect for the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good old castlevania is back!!! on the DS

posted by 968death (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

The first thing I have to say is no wip!!! :( but everything else is back including the puzzle solving and pretty much the same battle system which is good but it gets a tiny bit repetitive to press Y and occasionally A button for pretty much every battle. But the best part is the Unlockables <3 like a whole other story mode with julius!!

Story:9/10
Length:10/10
Difficulty:9/10
Gameplay:9/10
[OVERALL] ..........9/10.........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So So DS version

posted by fleagle (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

Not too shabby. Certainly better than the first Castlevania for the DS, but I've seen better on past generation consoles and on Game Boy Advance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game Totally Worth It

posted by Zealot (CLEVELAND, TN) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game is very good. This is the first Castlevania I've played that has guns. The weapons are really good (get the Claihm Solais). Within the game you can upgrade most weapons to get them more powerful. Some of the souls you get in the game are really fun such as the Iron Golem (play the game to find out why). The only thing that kept the game from getting a 10/10 from me was that throughout the game you might find yourself helplessly going back and forth to get a certain soul. Other than that, the game is awesome and worth renting. But my favorite is still Symphony of the Night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A class act.

posted by blueoyster (Fair Lawn, NJ) Oct 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I have never played a castlevania game, but this game has made a fan out of me. It is really that good! It might take some time to adjust to RPG elements, which is another genre I have never played, but once you get the hang of it, the combination of weapons and souls, incredible boss fights, intelligent level design and the depth of the game will have you hooked. The music, no body raves enough about it, is one of the highlights of the game. Every level of the game has a different theme. I wish I could get a soundtrack.

This one is definitely not a pick and play game, at least in the beginning. It is a little hard but very rewarding game. It has a lot of replay value too. You are missing one of the finest games on DS if you haven't played it yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent addition to the Castlevania series!

posted by NyteWalker (FORT PIERCE, FL) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game is very reminiscent of Castlevania: Symphony of the night for the original Playstation console. Undoubtedly one of, if not THE, best castlevania game ever made! This is a great game all around. The game doesn't rely too much on the touch screen, which is nice. You only really use it when your finishing a boss and need to draw the "seal" which will finish them once and for all. Other then that there are the "crystal" blocks you can break by running your stylus over them, which you usually have to use them to create a staircase or path of some sort, But those are the only two uses for it in this game. The controls are pretty easy to use, and the game itself is a lot of fun. Going back and forth across the castle got easier in this game with the addition of "teleport" like rooms that can transport you to other "transport" rooms in the castle, Saving you time to play instead of travel. Overall, Excellent game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse