Rent Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion for 3DS
view large frontback

Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.2

246 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

CN punch time explosion not half bad

posted by MaxGLEE1030 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cartoonetwork punch time explosion is suppose to be a clone of our famous nintendo seris super smash bros but hold the phone did pappaya studios and crave games did a good job or is this just a rip off to tell you the truth i have seen lots of reviews for this game its not that bad so first lets talk about the characters i was pretty impressed with the final selection but there is some that did not quite catch on with me like the monkey and ben but i started to like ben monkey is okay but oh well the stages are great my favorite is probably the samurai jack stage or the The fosters home for imaginary friends. Brings back lots of nostalgic memories. Any way the story I got a little frustrated the flapjack stage was probably the hardest stage and one thing that happened when i was playing the game froze once i dont know if its my game or something i thought the final charcter you get i was really disaapointed but thats probably for you old schoolers. That remote contral for the final boss was pretty frustrating but i got through it takes the rights characters also another thing multiplayer was great but no online disaapointing but if you got a couple of buddies who have a 3DS and have dont or do have the game its really fun but my friends did not have game so we could only use 4 characters ben, buttercup, dexter, numbah one. Really sucks but still really fun. My favorite character in the game might be shocking but its Flapjack or captain knuckles. I think this is great game make sure you pick up some friends and tell them to get this game and have a blast and for you cartoonetwork fanboys this is great i think you will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cartoon Network Punchtime Explosion

posted by gameguru937 (BRISTOL, NH) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A fighting game featuring cartoon characters may not sound so good on paper, but the end result is not that bad. This end result is Cartoon Network Punchtime Explosion. The game features 18 characters from popular CN shows such as Chowder, Ben 10, and Powerpuff girls. So it's good for nostalgia, however I feel that more characters should have been added. The graphics are very sharp and impressive, esspecialy when a super move is used. The story mode is good and is quick paced. Two things keep me from thinking this game is amazing.
1 The controls are a little slow somewhat unresponsive making it so you use moves you don't want to.
2 The voice actors. the voices sound unfitting and the characters are talking all the time. Having to hear, "Science, why have you betrayed me?!?" or, "I'm not your boyfriend!!" over and over again makes you just want to turn the sound off. So aside from that this game is quite good if you are a cartoon network fan, this is for you, if not, stick with smash bros. or street fighter. Overall I give this game an 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

okay for a Cartoon Network game

posted by Edfail (COLLEGE POINT, NY) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's alright for a third party game, but if you're going to compare it to other games then this one is a joke. It can easily be considered a Super Smash Bro. Rip off, even a cheap imitation. I was very disappointed with it. Story mode was too short, they could have done WAY more with it, but they didn't. It's fun while it lasts, but it doesn't last long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a good game for me

posted by eman603 (LUMBERTON, NJ) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I did not like this game because when you lose all of your lives, it sends you back to the beginning not to where you left off.
I got to Chowder and Ben Ten and then kept going back to the beginning of the level of Ben Ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cartoon network punch time explosion

posted by herbay (RONKS, PA) May 12, 2012

Member since May 2012

cool scroller game and not to hard but cool for my 8 yr old son and he thinks all the different moves are cool. lots of characters to unlock

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

CN can do better

posted by alex1609 (WESTON, FL) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The main idea for the game should get a perfect score. However, the realization of any CN fan is far from achieved in this game.

Graphics: One of the first 3DS games, the graphics may look a bit unpolished sometimes, like something was lost in the transition from 2D cartoons to 3D characters. The movies could use more work too, like having actual animation instead of still 2D characters moving in a paper-like scenario, which somehow doesn't fit with the game's melee style. The 3D effect could've been exploited here as in every other aspect of the game. PTEs are the only thing in the game worth of playing in 3D.

Plot/Story: Well, nothing original here. Characters facing off through different cartoon dimensions can't be that different from other crossovers. Some were more fun than others, and the ending was sort of unexpected.

Sound: Well, here's something that didn't come out right at all. Music was not as memorable as I would've expected. There were a couple of tunes I enjoyed but not all of them. SFX was OK but the character's voice over bits were horrible. If you don't want to do the whole track ala Zelda rumblings I understand, but there were some catch phrases thrown in there just for the sake of it. Sometimes, they didn't even make sense. This was a major fail.

Gameplay: If you're looking for SSB look alike, you got it here. Things are pretty random even when you think you've mastered a character; yet, that's what we like about these games. However, some stuff felt a bit unbalanced. Not only the character but the way the percentage thing works: it's much more harder to throw your enemies out of the fray than it looks. Multi-player suffers the same feeling. The special parts in the story mode could be more interesting but give a nice touch. The grab button is a bit buggy sometimes, which is a shame given the items and assists are really good. I like the way PTEs were carried out, is more entertaining than the Super Smash mechanic.

My Score: 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprisingly Good

posted by JLM264 (OMAHA, NE) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

When you look at various rating sites, you will always find a large amount of negative reviews on this game. I rented it because it look interesting and there are very few good 3DS games out right now. When you start out in story you will see there are various worlds and many characters with their own fighting style. The story is nothing new but can still hold your interests through to the end. The levels feature basic side scrolling from beginning to end with enemies and obstacles you need to go through. The controls work well enough for the platforming and even the fighting (which most people hate) works pretty well, though there were times I died because the controls were not responsive enough. Going through the story is a little repetitive, though the settings do change enough to make it a small treat to wonder through your favorite character`s worlds. The only major problem I find with the game is its boss fights. While some work(like the final boss) some also are very difficult because they either trap with with overpowered moves or can just blow you away without warning. With story completed its time for the Battle mode. This is your basic 1 vs 1 all the way to 1 vs 3. The game sticks with the Easy-Medium-Hard setup. Unlocking characters in this mode is a bit harder than through story(those unlocked in story are not unlocked in Battle). You need to win X amount of game in order to unlock all characters. In battle mode you also have Local play and Download play. I love the download play option allows for 4 people to battle with only one cartridge. The only downer is there is only 4 characters to use and you cannot unlock more(battles won go towards unlocks in regular mode) Those characters are Ben Ten, Dexter, Buttercup, and one other i cannot remember... Overall the game is very solid and worth it if you have friends with 3DS`s or just need a good game while you wait for Smash Bros to come out(it was announced for 3DS & Wii U)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cartoon network

posted by christine111 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

is the amazing word of gumball in this?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mediocre

posted by Jdavis490 (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

When I seen this game for the first time, I thought the game play was going to be similar than Super Smash Bros series and man, I was wrong. The graphics in this game are okay for a 3DS game, somehow the characters and the stages have that same generic 3d graphics that you see in a PS2 game and the camera angles are on point either. Every time use a character, the camera focuses on mine but never on the opponent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cartoon network puchtime explosion

posted by cjtsamjoe (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this thing sucks it is broring this is a bad game but game fly is a cool rentl website ok by

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sucked!

posted by ijarritos1 (CUMMING, GA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I didn't really like it. I sometimes watch cartoon network, I liked the Chowder part and all, but it seemed too hard to get through the levels. There was this one part where fire is shooting at you and you are falling down a tunnel. I had to restart the level 8 times just to beat it. I spent about an hour on that.

If you're a real big fan of Ben 10 and the old cartoons they cancled, you may like it. But the game wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Cash In!

posted by mrkatamari (HYNDMAN, PA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

When I first heard about this game, I knew that it was going to be copying the Super Smash Brothers formula--and that was fine with me. I wasn't super excited to get it, but thought I should at least give it a try, even if I'm older than the game's target demographic and haven't watched a single episode of Ben 10.

Anyhow, the game is quite frankly, broken. The controls for combat is are really rather atrocious, and the pre-set button mapping just isn't enough to make the fighting feel fluid or natural. It lacks depth, polish, but most of all--its just not fun.

Maybe even worse than its technical flaws is the fact that the game is actually not very good at using its characters to appeal to its target audience. Yeah, you see characters and they interact to an extent--but the game lacks any of the style or substance of the shows its cast comes from.

I also found the difficulty to be erratic. I'm not the best gamer in the world, but I'm likely more skilled than an 11 year old is. So the fact that some portions of this game were hard and tedious for me means that a kid would probably either lose interest or just get super upset. It just isn't fun. Go watch Cartoon Network instead, or play Super Smash Brothers Brawl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »