Rent Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion XL for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion XL

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

367 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy 1,000G and pretty fun party game

posted by Frazzleberry (FREEVILLE, NY) Jan 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Going into this with no expectations I was pretty satisfied though there were quite a bit of issues.

The game is a beat em-up platformer that uses 20+ Cartoon Network characters from the retro Captain Planet up til the modern Flapjack.

Biggest issue - The sound effects are glitched
Basically you will hear the music and voices but during gameplay the sound effects are so low you can barely here them.

Biggest Compliment - Lots of content
26 Characters, each has four colors and a unique costume.
You obtain money you can use to buy characters, stages and video clips from the shows.

All in all it's a pretty fun game if you have some co-op friends locally! Check out my video review over at Youtube/Frazzleberry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great idea, poor execution

posted by ChrisDaly (WEST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has tons of potential. It has a gameplay style similar to that of Super Smash Bros but fails to have some crucial elements that make SSB a good game. The physics are all wonky. Its so floaty. You cant tell how hard you got hit because you'll always fly through the air at the same speed. The controls also felt very slippery. I found myself sometimes struggling to make a jump to a platform without sliding everywhere. However, there are quite a few redeeming qualities about this game. There's tons of content. Characters from Ben 10 all the way back to Dexters Laboratory make an appearance. There's also tons of references to these shows, new and old. If you grew up with Cartoon Network, especially the older shows as i did, you'll really enjoy this. Also, if youre an achievement hunter this is an easy 1000G. Got all of the achievements in 2 days. All in all, aside from the slippery controls and a few glitches, it was an enjoyable game for an old school fan of Cartoon Network cartoons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like Smash Bros and CN.

posted by Kaiser_Ren (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You will love this game. Simply put it is by far the best rental I've gotten from GameFly yet, the only reason I'm not giving it a perfect 10 is there isn't an online multiplayer option so if you don't have people to play with you in person there isn't going to be much replay value after you be the story (which isn't too hard on hard) and mop up the rest of the achievements for fighting specific people in specific ways. If you have any questions feel free to message me on XBL at Kaiser Ren.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It may just surprise you.

posted by gameking26 (LIGONIER, PA) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first you think when you see this you think, "Oh, this is some kind of pathetic super smash bros rip off." At first you would be right, but that can be looked past to the actual game. It is EXTREMLY fun and brings back hilarious memories. It has taken many features from super smash brothers, but it has made them their own. It is just as fun as super smash bros. Also it makes you feel like you are really fighting the other characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game of fun

posted by anime3154 (SORRENTO, FL) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it's not too bad as games go, but it wasn't for me. I still had fun with playing the characters in it. I would recommend it to someone who enjoys kid games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate it

posted by matthewfa (MIAMI, FL) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i hate it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok story, middle of the road game

posted by warrain (KING WILLIAM, VA) Dec 12, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This game... oh this game. First of all I will be honest. This is a Super Smash Bros. Brawl clone. Not that it's a bad thing...

First the controls are not as responsive as I would've liked. Moves tend to have a slight and annoying delay before they take effect which you can get used to after awhile but it does mean a lot of times once you fall below the stage you're probably not getting back up like you can on Smash Bros.
Second... unlike Smash Bros, this has a story. a crazy messy store but one that is actually being told in game... kindof.. these are older cartoon network characters we're working with here. They're insane in their own rights and together they are just getting messy.

Back to the gameplay... You have a main attack button where pressing up, down, left, or right gives it a different effect and tapping those directions as you hit the button gives you even more power and different moves. same with the special attack button. Here each character has a super move (PTE move) that you can use when you gather enough of the strange blue cubes that drop from hitting characters.

Now after summarizing everything about the game, here is why it gets such a low score. The controls are slow and sometimes unresponsive all together. The graphics are kindof strange looking at all the characters in 3D models instead of their more original art styles which would've been interesting. The activation of PTE moves cause a short cut scene to happen which is ok while doing story mode or playing alone, but add more people or even during standard matches that just stops the flow of everything until it's done and just hope you weren't trying to recover and get back to the stage at the time.

Overall: this game is good to bring back memories of the old shows CN used to show, but as a game.... could be better, just "tighter" controls and better simpler graphics and it would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Smash Bros. clone.

posted by DAVECATAZ (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2003

Tittle says it all. There is no balance to the characters at all. Some are almost unplayable. 90% of the story mode is just platforming witch is quite frustrating considering all the characters control very floaty and you have to jump with the Y-button instead of pushing up on the stick like in Smash Bros. There's no voice acting either, only the announcer narrates the story and all the characters just say a one liner when they are supposed to be speaking and you have to read all the dialog. The finishing moves are the coolest thing about the game as well as some of the environments. I'd skip it if i were you unless you're a super fan of late 2000's Cartoon Network shows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Phantazma1988 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I really love this game, Even though its very similar to Super Smash Bros. I really love how it is all about cartoon network. I love the story mode and the game is fun. I don't know why the critics are complaining about this game. Though I do recommend that they remake this or make a sequel that has more Characters : )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by BookWormGamer (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

First off I love Super Smash Bros. I got this game thinking it would be like it just with Cartoon Network characters. I was wrong. It was a lot less fun than Smash Bros. The gameplay is bad, and the voicing is worse. I only like how I could fight my favorite characters together. Also if you are a gamerscore hound like me, this game has some pretty easy achievements, I got them all in a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Good Idea On Paper...

posted by DarkRicochet117 (MOORHEAD, MN) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

A good idea on paper but a mess on disc...

CNPTEXL could have been a good game but "wow" does it just fall apart. I mean, I could go on and on about why this game just doesn't work but it's not even worth my time to even think about this game anymore.

If you "like", no scratch that, if you "LOVE" Cartoon Network and you enjoy playing beat 'em ups then this game may appeal to you. However, this game is too shallow and boring to really be any fun. Another year in development and some polishing up could have made a difference with this title but alas, we get this.

So, for fans of CN and beat 'em ups, this game should be fun for a couple hours. However, for everyone else, just avoid this game. Go watch CN -- you'd probably have more fun.

4 outta 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I wouldnt rent this

posted by ChuckNorris897 (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

If your thinking you like super smash brothers and you would like this game because it's like that your wrong. The game is like super smash brothers but it's a very watered down and bland version of it. I was hoping the same thing when I rented this but I was incredibly dissappointed. This game is not only cheesy but it is so boring that I could barely trugdge though it. If I had to choose between siting through a class on the history of lint or play this game It would take me a minuet to decide. Do what you want but if I were you I would punch myself for just looking at this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another thrown together game...

posted by Swentz18 (BELGRADE, MT) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is definitely one of those games that you immediately realize was just thrown together by the game devs without very much thought put into it at all.

This is a very basic game, would be great for extremely young children, but thats about it. The gameplay is exceptionally basic, without only a few moves to choose from and none of them seem to be better than the other.

The fighting style is definitely a rip-off of the very fun Smash Bros series that was on nintendo, however, it is a much more basic form that doesn't even come close to living up to that potential. When your hit, your percentage goes up, just like in smash bros. If this game would have been thought out, had a higher budget, and a better team, than it could've been an ultimately fun game. However, unless you like very basic games, you probably won't get much enjoyment out of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty fun but boring fast

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

Overall it was ok decent controls but the graphics were bad . But Smash Bros is far more superior r in every way. The thing i didnt like in the story mode the characters dont have voices just say a quote. Also some of the voices weren't original. Its good for a rent but not worth the buy at least wait until its in the bargain bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »