Rent Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion XL for PS3
view large frontback

Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion XL

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.0

280 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

just like super smash bro.

posted by babygirlfms (LITHIA SPRINGS, GA) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

IF u like super smash brother then i think i would like this game. they took the same idea and put it in this game. just put cartoon network stuff in there. its ok for a while but it gets boring because the movies suck and it just makes me wanna play super smash. i wouldnt buy this just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

papaya studios tries harder

posted by Sonic123 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It's a good game. If they had the original voices from the shows it would be a bit better. The synergy attacks are good they can turn the tide of any battle. The punch time explosion cinematic scenes are shorter, leaving more time for the battle. Overall not that bad of a game. P.S. Don't get caught in Samurai Jack's punch time explosion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty neat game. I did finish everything in less than 6 hours playing time though, so it is a very short game. There really isn't anything else to do once you beat everything unless you want to play the story over again or just play local multiplayer for fun. Definitely not a buy, but good rent. Very easy platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Me and the kids didnt like it

posted by siedamills (AUGUSTA, GA) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

we did not like this game i thought it would be good but it wasnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't go in expecting a flawless game.

posted by McFordmanson (BOCA RATON, FL) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The party brawler genre is one that is hard to do right. Everything has to be just right. The physics, the control, the graphics, and even the sound effects. PTE has the graphics, but falters on the rest.

Let's get the bad out of the way first. No online multiplayer. The physics feel really floaty and the controls are a bit loose. Landing an attack feels really weak and there's little feedback to your actions. From all this bad, you'd think it would be a terrible game.

And in a way, it is. BUT...

It's also a very fun game. This is the game you play when you want a silly, nonsensical good time with a friend.

The number of modes is pretty good, and the cast is huge. From new faces such as Flapjack and Chowder, all the way back to obscure characters like Captain Planet.

The story is incredibly fun, and the game oozes personality, with each character moving and bouncing around like they would in their own strange world.

In short, if you want a quick brawler fix, love Cartoon Network characters, and have a friend or two around, give this game a shot, but don't expect the best thing ever made. Set your expectations accordingly and you will certainly not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ugh...maybe if I were 10 years old LOL

posted by metalaries (ALAMEDA, CA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I loved watching most of the shows this game is based on but oh geez man. this game looks like it belongs on the PS2 and I was expecting something more...i dunno...playable for someone older...oh well...if you've got kids that love the cartoon network and love the shows that this game is based on, then by all means rent this if they like games like super smash bros or any games along those lines. but for me, a guy that's been around since PONG....no LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no. just no

posted by pathar (OXFORD, OH) May 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This game is awful. Seriously. It's like a clone of Super Smash Brothers with some annoying platforming mixed in, all set to an incredibly annoying narrator. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Smash Bros

posted by kaeista (CAMARILLO, CA) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

if you like cartoon network and super smash bros you will love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Super Smash Punch Time

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

Do not get this unless you REALLY liked Super Smash Bros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »