Rent Cars for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cars

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Xbox, Wii, GC, PS2, PSP Games, GBA
GF Rating
5.4

1889 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for lovers of the movie and of gamerscore

posted by TheDon127 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for people who love the movie especcially children. It is also a good game if you are looking to get your gammerscore achievements up some

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Calling all CARS Fans to Join the Fun

posted by Paul89 (LUTHERVILLE TIMONIUM, MD) Nov 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

If you liked the movie, you should love this game. This is a basic racing game with a few cute twists. The CARS actually speak to you in the voices from the movie. The voice for Mater really tickles my funny bone.

This racing is strictly arcade type and the controls are easy to understand. The tracks are based on the movie locations and are well rendered. The only thing I did not like was that when you go off the track the penalty is too light---you magically reappear where you left the track. But this is not too annoying.

This game is strictly PG. In fact, built into the game is a younger version that would be fun for the 9 and under crowd. This game is just for fun and has many hours of playability. I liked so much that I bought it through the Keep It feature. I highly recommend this game--just for hours of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Fun

posted by wrxkid05 (HUNTLEY, IL) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty fun for a short while seeing as you can beat the game in about 6hours. This is an extremely easy game for achievements. Like someone else posted, the races are fun but the side missions are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For A Kids Game

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is a great game for kids that are fans of the movie. It lets them explore the land of cars, race around, collect items, etc.

If you have kids that love that movie and or racing type games then this game might be what you are looking for. Since there are very few kids games on the 360 this one is almost a no brainer to get or at least try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for people of all Ages

posted by puppylover (WOODSTOCK, GA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

CARS is an excellent game for kids and adults. You are Lightning for most of the levels. For some of the levels you get to be other characters. You get to do many races on this game. If you are trying to find a good present for a kid or an adult, you should consider buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game is great for Kids

posted by Gamer9577 (PALM DESERT, CA) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't made for any gamer over the age of say 12 maybe not even that. its a great game for anyone who has kids that love this movie, so if your not really young, Or have kids i wouldn't even post a review and knock this game your just talking trash about a game you prolly shouldnt even be playing i give it a 8! great for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cars

posted by FaithsDad (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

My first bit with this game is that the achievements cannot be unlocked. I made it through most of the game, and never unlocked a single achievement. I completed every race that was required, and finished first place. The game is definately on a young childs level. If you are not worried about raising your gamer score then give this one a try.

Gamer Tag: Bitis1078

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cars is not a kids game

posted by MKatherine (COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is actually pretty hard. especially for little kids. The characters are suitable for children, but difficulty doesnt match. I own over 15 racing games, and this is the hardest one ive ever played. If you get it just to do fun little races here and there, you might like it. although it gets boring really quick. If you plan on actualy doing the full version story mode, and really playing the game, and getting achievments, I would not recommend it. The camera view is not very good. Its difficult to pass some of the races and tasks, therefore you cannot unlcuk th rest of the events in the game. also the cars are difficult to control. They slide off the road easily even when powersliding and tilting. I would not recommend this to anyone. Not worth the money. If you want a really fun racing game for kids, Thats easy to do try, Sonic All-stars racing. :) Its very similiar to mario kart, and very easy to get the hang of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun

posted by carguy (HAWTHORNE, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best adaptations of "from film to game" video games I have ever seen. The game play is great the open ended environment is great more of a go as you please game play. This game is not just for kids, ant fan of the film will find it great to play with mater and lightning and others from the film. A great game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unless you hate your kid don't rent the game!!!

posted by SledDaUP (GWINN, MI) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The game is horrible. The controls are clunky, camera angle is very poor. A game for kids should be fun, this game is far from that. Without a manual this game is terrible. There is very little direction in the game. You must complete different events to progress through the game and some of them would be difficult for a child to figure out on their own. A postcard hunt available at the beginning of the game has postcards scattered around the map, some being difficult to get to unless you jump in a certain spot. Others are located on far cliffs, where you need power boost to reach them. The boost is not available until after you complete the 3 or 4 event. Please be kind to your kid and rent them a different game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but not a challeng

posted by acheron0 (ROCKWOOD, TN) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i cy i had fun but the game a little bit scatteed like i like thes little fun games i sent a lot of the time drivng tring to find a race or racing the last race just to get points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by sportsoldier99 (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i had this game for less then 24 hours and then sent it back it is not a game for me but i cant say much more because i didnt even get far in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short and sweet

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

This is a great experience for young players while etill staying fun for older gamers.

This story takes place in the piston cup season after the movie as Lightning Mcqueen helps his friend and the city s it grows. Races and challenges qualify Lightning for Piston Cup races which serve as advancement points in the story line.

The gameplay is a simple racing style suited for kids, with open sandbox style movement between races for exploring as well as getting to the next challenge.

If you liked the movie and like games, this is perfect for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Easy 1000G

posted by Crysis2PRO (MOORESVILLE, NC) May 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is a good game only for achievements... Do not get it thinking you are going to have fun. If you are someone that likes achievements than get this and go to xbox360achievements for an achievement guide you can get all the achievements in about 5 hours or one sitting... Very easy. I just got gamefly and havent gotten first game yet and I am already Pleased!!! thank you gamefly!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

play for achievements only.

posted by termsux (CLEARWATER, FL) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

most of the achievements are easy, however, some are extremely aggravating as many of the races make no sense. when your car touches so much as a pixel of another car or any wall you get stuck to that car or wall and slow down significantly. but the game is good for an easy ~500 achievement points in under 10 hours without too much aggravation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

easy achievements

posted by Rigo3220 (APO, AE) Oct 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wish I was a kid

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

I'm 25, so don't ask why I played this game. I did it just to score some easy achievement points. I like my achievement hunting games like I like my women; fast and easy.

As far as kids games go, this one is OK and I'm sure it will keep your kid occupied while you go do what you want to do for a few hours without them nagging you. It took me 5 hours to beat the game and score 900G.

I will put myself back in my kiddie shoes again. If I were a kid, this game would be pretty cool. Except I bet there are a few things that would frustrate me. Oh yea, but you can also enter 2 cheat codes for infinite turbo and a much faster engine. These don't ruin your gamerpoints or the game. I'd cheat if I were a kid.

The good is that it's overall pretty fun. It's simple to play and kids old enough to play an xbox360 shouldn't have TOO much difficulty beating the game. It should provide an average kid with maybe 20 hours or more of play. It's clean good fun. The characters are funny and the voice acting sounds legit.

The bad is that it's obviously very repetitive. You do random street races to qualify for speedway races on like a Nascar track. Those are NOT easy. I can see those being very frustrating for kids. Though the computer (SPOILER ALERT) will break at the last lap and generally let you pass them. There are also a few sidegames in which you need to beat 5 levels, each getting harder as they progress. Those were not that easy either, but still a fun puzzle. I like a little challenge.

If you're looking to rent a game for the kids, this one is pretty fun. You can throw 2 kids on this game for some quick co-op. I would buy this game for under $10 at most.

Milt Drucker - xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Let's Go Tractor Tipping

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

Cars is another game that I would consider to be a torturous kids game. It's fun from a kids perspective, but it still doesn't stop the fact that kids shouldn't have to play poor games like this. Cars is just an activities game. You race, go tractor tipping, collect things and other such activities.

-Graphics aren't much to praise about. They are just what you would expect from a low budget movie title such as this.

-Sound is fairly annoying. Mostly the same lines being pitched, not much in terms of innovation.

-Controls are fairly awkward to work around. They will confuse you a bit even after you are fully used to them.

-Gameplay is not really existent. Just a bunch of activities listed above make up the gameplay.

-Storyline is a game version of the movie, except more terrible.

FAULTS:
-Graphics are last gen
-Sound is annoying
-Controls are really awkward
-Not really much of a game
-Activities are tedious and repetitive
-Very easy, not challenging, even for kids

This game is a full-on kids game, obviously. A terrible one at that. The only reason I gave it a 4/10 instead of a lower score is because kids will play this game if they are fans of the movie. It's a good kids game, but kids don't know this kind of stuff like most of us do. Not a bad set of gamer score though. Easy 1000G, but will require some patience as this game moves at a fairly slow and repetitive rate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lightning & Company...

posted by Back2da80s (CHILLICOTHE, IL) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I loved the movie and thought the game was entertaining, even though there were points in the game that were slightly annoying, most of them during the round track races. The races in Ornament Valley, Tailfin Pass & Radiator Springs were great and it was so cool to see parts of the movie in the game. Rounding the corner through the cave and seeing the waterfall just outside of Tailfin Pass was really cool.

The game was well done and the voice acting was top-notch. I thought the dynamics of the game were good enough for a movie tie-in.

I would recommend this game to any kid, and as a matter of fact, I would recommend this game to any adult who has seen Cars or knows what Cars is. This game is very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont work

posted by crystal23 (Live Oak, FL) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

cars was broke so we could not polay it so i wish i got the chance to play it but didnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cars

posted by jungljorg (BROWNSBURG, IN) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is very fun and challenging. The colors are vivid and the game play is very smooth. I loved the music and the story-mode. I rented the game for my ten year old daughter and i ended up playing it more than her.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Okay Experience...

posted by RavenDMC (WILLIAMSON, WV) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

First off, if you're in it for easy achievements, go ahead and play this game. It took me about 8 hours of game time to get a full 1000/1000.

The controls aren't very good, but given the core audience for the game, that's to be expected and the controls are better than most licensed games geared towards kids.

Graphics weren't anything to write home about either. But let's face it, you're either gonna rent this game because you have kids, who should enjoy it, or because you're an achievement junkie, which means you'll enjoy it for the fairly easy gamerscore boost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for the kiddos

posted by 3liasg (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I got to play this game briefly.
Pretty good, the voices seem to be the same as in the movie.
Actually rented this for my 5 and 4 year old. Of course, they had a blast with it.
What surprised me is that they racked up 775 GP!
Which was impressive since normally they don't get anything.
So that's probably the target audience. Go figure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you're an Achievement junkie...

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

...then this game is for you. I myself love the gamer points so I picked up the game and ran through it pretty quickly. You'll find you have to do many tedious tasks in order to reach all the important races (but important, I mean the ones that give you the points) and eventually finish the game. Nothing should be too hard to achieve except the postcards. I advise you check a website or two for the list because a lot are not obvious. If the list isn't specific enough, YouTube has a perfect video walkthrough for them so you can check the ones you missed.

As for the game itself, it was pretty mediocre but what can you expect? I was surprised that for the most part, the game worked as it should. Some frustrating things include hitting small barriers and instantly stopping you and some controls don't always respond as they should.

The only reason you should rent this is for the points, if anything unless you actually want to sit down with the family or child or something and play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CARS GAME

posted by RDCARINIO (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

THIS GAME IS PERFECT FOR MY KID'S, WHICH ARE 2YOA,7YR AND 11YRS, THEY REALLY ENJOY THE THRILL OF THE RACING GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse