Rent Cars Toon: Mater's Tall Tales for Wii
view large frontback

Cars Toon: Mater's Tall Tales

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

294 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Dad's Thought

posted by KidsGame (HAMPTON, GA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While this game is simple to do, its meant for kids. I give this one an 8 b/c the games are more geared to kids NOT adults. My son of 5 had trouble with some of the games but others he loved and wanted to play over and over. Repetitive games are GREAT for this age level! Hope this help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Use of Great Film License

posted by MovieGuy (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first Gamefly review, but I wanted to warn others looking for a great Wii game based on the Cars movies. This is not one.

My 4 year old son naturally loves Cars/Cars2: t-shirts, shoes, even mac & cheese and juice boxes, he literally eats, drinks, and sleeps Cars. We're making our way through the Cars Wii-game series. Cars 2 was very good. Not quite an A+ game, but a very good use of the Cars license. Cars Race-O-Rama was actually not too bad. Kind of a GTA-style game with lots of races and things to do. It could have been better, but was very playable. We have yet to play the original Cars or Mater-National.

Mater's Tall Tales was extremely weak. It's a collection of mini-games, 5 mini-games for each of 6 sections based on the Tall Tales series. You have mini-games based on Rescue Squad Mater, El Materdor, Tokyo Mater, Mater The Greater, Unidentified Flying Mater, and Monster Truck Mater. The player has to play through each of the 5 mini-games, in order, before unlocking the next, and all 5 have to be completed in a set before the next set is unlocked.

The 1st set based on Rescue Squad Mater wasn't too bad, a little bit of racing and a little bit of putting out fires. My son wanted to quit after only playing part of the first game, a horrible version of simple matching, in the El Materdor area (the 2nd set). I got him to stick in through that set and half way through the Tokyo Mater (the 3rd set) before hanging it up. None of the games were hard. Some were confusing trying to figure out the goal at times. Normally, my wife and I have to pry my son's hands off the Wii controller when a Cars game is playing, but no such hassle happened here. I had to finish some of the minigames myself because he was too bored to continue.

We didn't get to the ones that seemed like more fun (he really wanted to play Monster Truck Mater). It only took us an hour of playing to get through almost half the game. Rent before you buy. But in this case don't even rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best of the Cars Series...

posted by JeffreyLee (LATROBE, PA) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

All I can say is we rented this and Super Mario for Wii, and our 6 year old sent it back already. My child loves the cars games and couldnt wait to get this one but seemed to lose interest pretty quick. I am glad we rented it before we bought it. Worth a try to rent and let your child make up his or her own mind before you would purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get real

posted by tonysks (MANSON, IA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

my son is 2 and loves the movie. also loves they so called boring mini games you are adults saying that a kid game is no good get a life. it was not meant to be the flag-ship game for the wii remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

isn't it time they stopped ripping kids off

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

how many dollars has a parent shelled out on this bad idea for a series alone when the movie isn't even good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by ceejay11 (RENO, NV) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

I liked the Car Toons videos but this game is terrible. Lousy interface, boring mini-games, and hard to navigate controls. I can't say I've ever seen such a poor use of the Wii remote to control a game. In addition, the character animation and art is bad as well. Another example of an awful game adaptation of a cool title. I could only play this for about 20 minutes before I couldn't stand it any more. Don't waste your time with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »