Rent Cars: Mater-National for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cars: Mater-National

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, GBA, Wii, DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.4

752 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Cars-Mater-National

posted by Clayboy24 (GRANDVIEW, MO) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a very good game not only for kids but for the average gamer looking to boost an easy 1000 achievement points. A must GameFly rental. Have Fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cars mater national

posted by TonyHawkP8 (MESA, AZ) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i think cars mater national was a good game. similar to the first cars, a little repetitive but its worth a try. especially if you like easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not So Bad

posted by Azraelrs (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is pretty much the same game is the original Cars. My 3 year old loved driving around, but you will probably only want to play this one if you are an achievement junkie like myself. A couple hours and an easy 1000.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

think about it

posted by larson1001 (PORT ANGELES, WA) Sep 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

some of you idiots have to remember this game is meant for kids not game nerds like us it doesn't have to be awesome for kids to love it and mine do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cars-A kids game with a bit of adult fun.

posted by IlliniNate (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this first, if you are looking for PGR or Forza, this isnt is. Hopefully if you are picking up a game with "Cars" on it, you know what to expect.

Graphics-6/10

Cars wont "Wow" you with its graphics. Its not Bioshock or Gears of War, but it isnt expecially ugly. The graphics are passible especially considering kids are the main focus. The cutscenes are pretty and most of graphics are taken right out of the first Cars game. The textures are decent and there arent any glaring issues. Nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either.

Gameplay-6/10

This is a simple, shallow and easy kids game. That being said, you can adjust the difficulty if you find it too easy. The game is basically some races mixed into repeating the same mini-games over and over. Some are decent and challenging like "Tractor Tipping", while others like the "Monster Trucks Inc" levels are boring and easy. There is a variety of mini games and the racing parts are fun, but you have to do each mini-game 7-9 times to get the achievements, which gets repetitive after a while. Overall, it is mildly fun and has pretty easy achievements to get.

Replay Value-2/10
Unless you havent gotten all of the achievements, you wont really care about replaying this game. It took me just a few hours to beat the game and get all the achievements. It was ok while it lasted ,but I could care less about playing it again. It might be fun to play some of the mini-games with two players, but I didnt try it.

Overall-6/10
I gave it a pretty good score because the achievement were part of the game and not too hard, but hard enough that you actually felt like you did something. Not a bad game to rent especially for kids and one that anybody should have a good time with for a short period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I've been here before

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm a self proclaimed achievement addict, so I play a lot of games. But I don't think I've ever popped in a game and not been able to tell if I was playing the original or the sequel. There are more changes in Madden every year than there were in this sequel to the original.

In all fairness, there are some new mini games (some of which were better than the original) and some changes to the overall story. But in all honestly, this is a cheap cash-in to make a few more dollars on a popular franchise. The first game sold great on most systems, so let's do it again.

The gameplay is fairly fun overall. The races are pretty easy - I'd imagine even for kids. The biggest challenge can be found in the somewhat recycled minigames. The game is short with little replay value. There are many better games for kids in all respects: Bee Movie, Simpsons, Meet The Robinsons to name a few.

All that said, I mainly wrote the review to warn owners of the first Cars game to beware of this title. If your child already owns Cars, you could delete the save file and start over. It would practically be the same thing as renting or purchasing this game. Only Cars newcomers or achievement addicts should bother with Cars Mater-National.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Much for a 5 Year Old

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) May 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I got this one to play with my 5 YO son. He couldn't quite control the car with the throttle, boost, steering, etc. Kind of a bummer since he likes the franchise.

That left me alone to finish the game, which can be done in about 8 to 10 hours. Pretty easy gamerscore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More of the same...

posted by RavenDMC (WILLIAMSON, WV) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

If you've played the original Cars, then this is more of the same. It's really more of an add-on than anything. The graphics haven't changed, the maps are near identical, the controls are just as bad.

Here are the main points to keep in mind.
a)Kids will love it.
b)Achievements are easier this time around (around 6 or 7 hours to max it at 1000/1000).
c)Controls for the monster truck levels (thankfully only 3 races) suck. And I mean WAY worse than the rest of the game.
d)Fetch quests are easier.

It's not a terrible game by any means, just not a really good one either. If you have kids, love the Cars movie or are an achievement junkie, then it's a definite rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game unplayable

posted by ohcan1 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I rented this game for my son and when he tried to play it would freeze up. This happened multiple times and was never able to load fully. He never got to play a single game. it may have been the condition of the disc but when i looked it was not that bad at all. this leads me to believe that its a problem with the game and there will most certainly not be any patch to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for children

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I have played many games just for achievements and did not enjoy them. I actually had a good time with this game. The graphics are in HD and sound track has a few classic sutomobile songs in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for kids, or Easy Achievement points

posted by boiler (LIBERTY TWP, OH) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I enjoyed playing this game with my 4 year old, while he is to young to play. He really enjoyed watching me play and telling me where to go.

We had a good time playing together, and watching the cut scenes.

If you are looking for easy achievement points, this game is a good one to get as well. Graphics are average, gameplay can be a little confusing at points as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Need a 1000G?

posted by IRONBROTHA (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

The only reason to play this game is for the achievement points. It has no business being in your 360 otherwise. Truly painful to play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitched Achievements

posted by KINGxSAINT (ROCKVILLE CENTRE, NY) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

STUPID TRASH GLITCHED ACHIEVEMENTS ONLY ALLOWED ME TO GET 625 LET ALONE THIS GAME SUCKS THEY WONT LET ME GET THE FULL 1000 NO ONE BUY THIS TRASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow

posted by XBFREAK (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I played this game about 4 hours and my friend send me a message. That I am a ahhviement !#$%. He is wrong. I like this game that was really fun to play. Lot's of racing and action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »