Rent Cars: Mater-National for PS3
view large frontback

Cars: Mater-National

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, GBA, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
5.5

462 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Jr's first racing game

posted by LeoLeo (SCOTTSBLUFF, NE) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know at the age of 30 I'm a little to old for this game, but knowing Pixar was involved I was expecting much better graphics. There are a lot of broken boundaries where you would think you can drive, but when you try and get there, it's like running into an invisible brick wall. I can just see an 8 yr old getting mad.

The one big thing I didn't like was the load time. I was losing interest just from all the waiting, and the constant nagging of weather to save the progress after any completed level or task.

All in all, it follows the movie enough for kids to keep their interst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by GMANIFESS (PINE HILL, NJ) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite the title & despite the Target audience; Mater is not available for most of the game.Like Cars Race-o-rama: Lightning Mcqueen is the only character available for free roam.
My 4-year old just wants to drive around as Mater.
There are characters to unlock, even cheat codes to speed this process, but I have yet to confirm any other character available for free roam exploration. Many other characters available during various races & missions. But not where it counts.
If your a fan, check it out. I'd recommend Race-O-Rama over Mater-national. Despite both being nearly the same game. With Race-O-Rama being the updated version with Mater Tall tales theme races & tasks.
Hopefully the developers will learn a lesson for the inevitable 2nd movie based Cars game & take a que from the Toy Story 3 game's Sandbox & let the target audience enjoy their favorite characters in free play right from the start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hmmmm?

posted by mewesley (LATHROP, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like Mater-National. It did have its downfalls as most games do. I liked the graphics and the gameplay was easy, but almost too easy. It's kinda back and forth and that makes it get kinda old a little too quickly. It would be great for kids but not a game to buy. Thank god for GAMEFLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The MOST fun on PS3

posted by elorasmom (PRINCETON, TX) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We don't like the dark killing stealing games for our family, Mater-National is the kind of game we bought the PS3 for, wish there were more games like this one! Challenging yet funny, Mater just cracks us up!!

WHy do you need to kill or steal or see near-naked bodies that are animated to like a video game and give it a good rating???

Give Mater a try, it is fun!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horribly Disappointed! :(

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really looked forward to getting this game, after reading the glowing reviews of it as a family friendly game (sure I'm 40 but I LIKE these games over FPS or anything else..)

However. I am also deaf.. and the complete lack of subtitles or in game information as to what to even do, really totally blew it for me.

Game looked like it would be wonderfully fun, decent graphics, etc. but the lack of subtitles earned this game a big fat "3" rating.

Deaf gamers might be able to figure this out, over time, but it just totally left me horribly disappointed.

Game manufacturers take note: SUBTITLES/Closed-Captions are VERY important option to include in all games. Not everyone is blessed with the gift of hearing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What's the age level for Mater-National

posted by PapaFuzz0608 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I have a 5 and 3 yr old girls. Just trying to see what is the age level so they can play?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

expected more

posted by tink24 (PACIFIC, WA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

It was ok at first. I really expected a little bit more fun in it. my 2 boys really loved it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by phxsuns (ANTHEM, AZ) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

i found the graphics to be pretty good i saw the story line allows for a more relaxed player and it isnt exactly like the movie which will be refreshing for you the gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its Cars.... Um for the PS3?

posted by steelfreek (RENTON, WA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

The game is the classic Cars game just with new members involved. The graphics and gameplay haven't changed. I would of scored the game higher if we were rating on a 6 year old level. I didn't mind it. I just don't think It was meant for the Playstation 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »