Rent Cars 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cars 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, PSP Games, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.5

1173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A Mario Kart knockoff, but still fun

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cars 1 was more about exploring the open world of Radiator Springs and you could do various side missions and quests, collect things and have different races. Cars 2 is more focused on tighter racing gameplay and competitive co-op similar to Mariokart, and with more than 6 game modes, there is a lot of replay value.

At the main menu you can choose from various game modes like free-play, online multiplayer, campaign, etc. You can select from more about 20 cars in all as you unlock them through progression and earning trophies. Each car has different stats so some are better for certain game modes, so you'll experiment for awhile. The only stats they give however are power and speed, so really trying to figure out who's best is trial and error mostly. That was annoying.

But the variety of game modes and simple gameplay kept it pretty fun even though sometimes it was frustrating. If you're competing offline, the goal is to pretty much get gold ratings for every challenge in the campaign on every single map. You'll earn xp and unlock new cars, maps, modes, and so on.

While you race there are tons of weapons and traps to use, turbo boosts, car hops, driving backwards, drifting, crazy shortcuts, car bumps to hit racers, and lots of tricks and jumps. You can also do aerial moves while jumping off ramps and while midair. Drifting also plays a role in earning boost power.

There are straight forward races if you don't want to deal with the weapons. In Attack races you'll have tons of weapons to collect and destroy your opponents as you race the map and whoever is in 1st place at the end wins. In Hunter mode, you'll try to destroy the AI cars in a small map to get as much points as possible. Survival mode is where you'll have to finish all 3 laps while collecting orbs to keep the clock from running out, which was intense. And there are Arena modes and co-op racing battles too. All in all it's a great kid racing game that mimics Mario Kart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cars 2

posted by purpelaustin (SIDNEY, MT) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think cars 2 is a asome game becouse you can have fun
with friends and family and they'er are lots of cars to pick
out.If you rent this game you will have lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun For The Whole Family

posted by slip420 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Not only are there tons of game modes, but it supports up to 4 players. Lots of unlockable cars and tracks. Its a great game for kids and adults alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game...

posted by XDuhhGamerXXx (GROVE CITY, OH) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Im having a blast with Cars 2 prolly the best animation game ive ever played ! RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cars is fun im a kid and this game is fun

posted by ironkid (MAULDIN, SC) Jul 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

if you like cars play this game it is fun for all kids and me and vote for me ok and put yes ok i love this game and its fun for dads to play to and its ok for dads and fun for kids i hope this game has add on packs and tell me if you ilke no if they have it ok and vote yes ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for kids to watch, fun for adults to play.

posted by No0BDuDE (SUSSEX, NJ) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

I have a 3 year old who loves the Cars franchise. I was afraid I was going to get stuck playing a overly easy, boring game for his enjoyment. To my surprise, this game was actually a lot of fun. It took me back to my Mario Kart days in a way. Not as good obviously, but almost as fun.
My son loved watching me play it too, just make sure you watch your mouth when you get hit with a missile right before you cross the finish line making you lose 1st place!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cars 2

posted by olumese (ALLEN, TX) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

that game was horrible it sucked i hated it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for all ages

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

This game is for kids, but thanks to the ability to play 4 players, anyone young or old can join in to play Cars 2.

Just to warn you, the MISSION mode as it is called, starts off easy, then becomes hard, but then goes right to downright insane. The game on the harder levels cheats so badly you may not want your kid around while you are cursing at the game as to why you just finished 5th after being bombarded by power-ups in the last couple minutes of the race after being in 1st.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game for older kids

posted by famof5ohio (SWANTON, OH) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I got this thinking it would be like cars 1 but was disappointed with all of the "comic" violence. The cars have machine guns and rockets on them and the goal is to shoot at other cars to knock them off the road. No blood and gore...I just don't want my kids thinking guns are a toy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

okay......but rental only.... if that

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

So I got this game because my dad wanted to play this and I have to say I am dissappointed. You have to do a lot of trainning before you can even play the game. When you finally get to play it isn't that good. If your lookin to just get a game, it isn't to bad. I like some levels because you get to shoot other cars which is more of my speed. The graphs are good. The controls are simple once you do the training. The shooting is awesome but that is the only good parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

At least its got avatar awards

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

i havent seen the second movie but i saw the first one, and its easily one of my top 3 pixar movies, the gameplay starts off confusing, but it gets better as you go on, id like to put it like, for the people that havent played mario cart, heres your chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kinda Boring..................

posted by EvanIsSoCoolLik (KEIZER, OR) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

it got really boring when yo have to do all the dumb training first just to get to free play but i would say not a good game to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cars 2 Great or All Ages

posted by Gamerdad06 (JOAQUIN, TX) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

My 4 year old has been plaing xbox 360 sence he was 2 he loves this nw cars game all of the cars games have been great he loves them if you have kids you should try them keeps kids occupied for hours well tks GF keep up the good work best rental place ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cars 2

posted by Titan0911 (GILBERT, AZ) Aug 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

Cars 2 in my opinion is a great game...a game the whole family can enjoy...the grafics are top notch...the gameplay is awesome...we will probably wind up buying this one. my 9 year old daughter..(destiny) drives better than i do...and i drive for a living...LOL from jeff...:-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game

posted by halo9684 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the cars 2game was fun but idk i thought it would stick with the storyline instead of just doing missions all the time in the chrome training acdemey but other wise its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Achievements Broken!

posted by chodathecat (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

Multiplayer achievo's are broken!!! Fun to play but if the achievements won't pop for my friends they will get bored quick!

Yes they are signed in, haha, any award they earn gives ME the achievement. While this is kind of epic hax, it makes the game lame for your buddies, and face it, you're going to be playing with friends because who toon-races alone?

So yea, this seems like a patch-able fix but I don't know why it seems like nobody else is talking about this?!!

Fix this, add an in-game mini map, more HUD and this game would be awesome!

Also can't get The Queen DLC car to show up, downloaded and re-downloaded a few times, oh well.

Seems like a lack of polish but just enough spit shine to show a faint glimmer of hope amongst a dark room of Animation Movie-to-Video Game contenders.

FIX THE 'CHIEVOS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by jjsmoove (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Ok so i thought this was going to be pretty boring but when i started playing it i found it to b very fun. YOu dont just only race, but you race with style being able to cross the finish line first by using gadgets such as bombs, lasers and rockets to slow down your opponents. There are also new costumes for characters including lightning mcqueen who has a radiator springs lightning mcqueen costume and a carbon fiber lightning mcquee. The new characters add a great taddition to cars 2 . New game modes such as C.H.R.O.M.E. missions are great to but the only thing about it is that is takes a while to pass considering a certain number of points to accumulate to pass that particular level. All in all, this game is good for casual gamers and gamers who just want to have fun and kids who are a fan of the cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Multiplayer was awesome

posted by 11111111 (BLUFFTON, SC) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The multiplayer was awesome. I don't know if the campaign was good or not because i played at a friends house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »