Rent Cars 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Cars 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

1031 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A Plentitude of Racing Options

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

With a name like Cars 2, it’s easy to see what sort of game this is going to be: a racing game.
But the makers of this game have put a lot more into the product than a simple racer. You’ve got several modes in this game.
First, you get the racing game where you race against the AI or up to three other players. Here, you can perform tricks like driving backwards or on two wheels to build up turbo – which you use to go faster.
There’s the Battle Mode, which is the same as Mario Kart Wii – except the weapons are more real life based: machine guns, oil slick, missiles.
There’s the Survival Mode where you have to pick up batteries that are laid out through the tracks.
There’s Attack Mode where you have to destroy several cars called lemons (driven by the AI) with weapons you would get in the Battle Mode.
There’s the Arena where you battle against the AI or other players with those same weapons.
And finally, there’s the Disrupter Mode, aka Capture the Flag. Here, an object is placed in the middle of the arena, and it’s your task to get that object into your opponent’s base.
With this wide spread of modes, 17 race tracks, 6 arenas, and 36 cars, this game has quite the content to it. And up to four players can play any mode - which makes it a good choice for a party game.
But first, you have to get through several missions and get beat several challenges to unlock most of the content – which can annoy some players. Why do they lock up so much material.
And I’m having trouble figuring out what it Power Rating means. Do their weapons do more damage? Do they get more ammo?
Still, Cars 2 delivers the racing and battling fun that I expect from a game in the genre. It’s definitely worth a rent, and possibly a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Surprised at how much fun this is. Guides you gently into the controls and the story and pretty soon 2 hours has gone by. Fun and immersive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Racing and Battling Blast

posted by timothyrulze (GRANTS PASS, OR) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Racing and Battling are just the basics of this game. You can also do other modes such as Hunter where you chase down enemy cars and destroy them. You can also Race and Battle.

Two modes are multiplayer only. Arena is one of them. In arena, you v.s. other players and compete for the best score. You can also team up with friends and v.s. friends. You can also do multiplayer in mission/adventure mode. Where you and your friend work together to defeat Z.

There are many things to unlock. Such as modes, stages, and cars.

Just like Cars the first one, there are cheat codes. Use them to do fun stuff.

You can also do online missions and get on the World Of Cars Hall Of Fame. However, this costs $5 a month. You can also get good rewards from doing this.

So if your a Gamer who loves action and racing and adventure games (Like Me), you will love this game.

I give this an 8/10.

Thank you for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN

posted by kdcheese (WAUKESHA, WI) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has better cars then other Cars games and has better racing style. Although i thought it would be better if it had some sort of cruise mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont Waste Your Time

posted by BlackOps1998 (COVINGTON, GA) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Cars 2 is Terrible.The graphics are okay, there's no story line online sucks and the gadgets are lame.I wouldn't recommend it to someone 10 or older. It's nice for kids but sucks if your older like me.I'll sum up the game in 2 words.DON'T BOTHER!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cars 2? Don't Rent A Waste Of Time!

posted by coolmint5000 (SMITHFIELD, UT) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When playing this game, I found it mostly boring. The game didn't have a plot or story line at all. The Graphics could have a lot of tinkering with, the controls where very bad, and there were very few levels on the C.H.R.O.M.E. missions.
Firstly when I started the game it showed a short opening movie. The graphics in the opening movie were so bad, I could literally see the pixels on the water, boats, road, and the cars. The Opening movie didn't even show what happened in the actual movie. They should have gone with the entire story in the movie rather than take one small part and put it there in the game.
When I played on the controls, they barely responded. I tried turning left & right slightly: nothing happened, I kept going straight. I turned all the way to the left & right: I barely turned! With the sharp turns in the game, I either kept on crashing onto the wall or fell off the cliff into the water! I swear you WOULD have better luck teaching a cat how to juggle.
Lastly, they should have put more levels in for C.H.R.O.M.E. I played 4 totorials and 4 races and then after that there was what, 5 more levels?
Over all, I say that the creator could have done a LOT more work on the game. I played the game once, and an hour later I wanted - no - NEEDED to sent i back immediately. It was to agonizing to play it, I would've thrown it away if it weren't for me renting it (Thank God!)
I would say if you are about to rent this game, exit out of the browser, log off, shut down the computer and get as far away from it as you can, because really, it was a waste of time to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No, Just No.

posted by EpicCole99 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I loved the movie Cars 2. I was expecting alot from this game. When I rented it... I can't even explain it. Its was horrible.
First off, the story. Well, it really isn't a story at all. Basically, you never really go out on any field. Everything is a simulation. I think they could've done alot better. Why not re-create the movie's key scenes? Or maybe take place AFTER the movie and acually have a storyline?
The Graphics? They're terrible. The cars look like they were modeled and textured by a 9 year old. McQueen is one bland shade of red. Look at Super Smash Bros. There's no excuse why they couldnt make the graphics HALF DECENT.
How about the control? Worse than anything in the game. What you have to do is simple. You hold the WiiMote sideways and tilt it left and right to turn. The problem is: its unresponsive. I try to turn slightly and I keep moving straight. When I force it, I keep moving straight. Do you have to let go of Accelerate to turn? If so, it's really awkward.
Remember, this is the WII VERSION REVIEW!!! I haven't tried the PS3 or Xbox version yet. I mean I can get over the bad "story", but it's the control I can't stand.
In Conclusion, its terribly terrible. It's almost as bad as Sonic Freeriders. No wait, it IS as bad as Sonic Freeriders. One out of Ten. I mean, seriously. Super Smash has great control, great graphics, and a great story. Kirby's Epic Yarn. Good story, great graphics, great controls. Cars 2 Wii is terrible. DO NOT EVEN RENT IT. IT IS NOT WORTH THE WAIT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2

posted by gamefly3 (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game i sware to god cars two sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but not as good as others

posted by historymomma (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

The game was fun, but only held my son's attention for one day. he's rather play with Mario games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by BestGirl2Play (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I didn't really like this game because obviously it has to do with cars. And what you did mostly was race with other cars. But what i did like about this game is that the things we hit other cars with. And it had more car moves then a regular draft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the game with the go

posted by esc (HAMPTONVILLE, NC) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I didn't really like this game from the first minute I started playing. They tried to make it too much like a game that uses people insted of cars. But the game is sure diffirent! The graphics are bad, the AI drive perfecly, and the cars slow down the more you drive them. It has some problems, but it's not bad. Try it before you buy it and see if it's right for you. I assume it will not be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wish it had storyline and sensible mission

posted by nitz (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

graphics are good but i really wished that it had good storyline.. i.e. if you could pursue a mission and make a sense out of it rather than just doing laps and repeating similar things...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Expected More

posted by cljake (ESCONDIDO, CA) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

We were expecting more action and free play maps. Can't buy other cars or upgrade gear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »