Rent Cars 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Cars 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

742 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

suprisingly fun

posted by igame4trophies (ANOKA, MN) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

for being a kids game this is actually pretty fun. the trophies/achievments are super easy to get and it is pretty easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

actually fun licensed game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
Cars 2 is a kart racing game with weapons (ala Mod Nation or Mario Kart). Amazingly this is actually a good licensed game (especially for a kiddie game). It doesn't support online play, but at least supports local multiplayer for up to 4 people.

Pros
==================
1) fun kart style racing with weapons
2) local multiplayer for 4 people

Cons
==================
1) no online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kidz Game

posted by Thunderga (ANTELOPE, CA) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a kids/Family type game it was pretty good. Had some challenging points but mostly it was all just fun to play. Not many kids games are good now days but this one was really fun and I'd probably play it again. If you are interested in a fun racing game to rent then i would go with this one. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fun

posted by immortalgr81 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game was well thought out, very engaging and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by borris92 (Anderson, IN) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

me and my fieance love this game. and our boys will love it to. they are not old enough to play it to understand what to do. but they just love cars. and i like how you can change your charaters but my fieance and i just love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good for a licensed game :)

posted by SuPerfLY92174fw (HENRICO, VA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

Surprisingly, Cars 2 was fun, challenging, and addicting for a kids game. The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is easy to get used to. The only problem is there's no online play. :(

Other than that, Cars 2 was a good game and you should definetly rent/buy this. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really fun, especially multiplayer.

posted by Newah (SPOKANE, WA) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Like I said in the title, multiplayer four players was the star of the show here. It was amazing playing a kind of deathmatch with three of my other friends. And the singleplayer campaign ain't bad either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good But Needs More

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) May 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

If you enjoyed the movie, you will love this. This game is continuing the movie's story. Lightning, Mater, Fillmore, Frencesca, and all the other cars join Finn and Holley at their spy training facility and then participate in missions to take down Prof. Z... again.
I enjoyed the racing, survival, and most modes. The one I hated was the hunter mode. Oh, man, that was stupid.
Racing is almost like the Mario Kart in one way. You will pick up items and weapons to knock opponents out of the way. Survival mode is where you keep your shield full by collecting batteries along the racing path. Hunter mode is where you chase lemons all over the place and use various weapons to destroy the lemons.

I was disappointed that some characters can only be obtained online, such as Rod Redline and Chick Hicks. I would love to have them, but the online store for this is closed now. I wanted Redline and Chick so badly. But they are not available. Many other cars that were in both movies are also not available for the same reason. Thats the one thing about online games that is a disappointment. I can understand closing after several years, but after only one year? What were they thinking?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent game even for adults

posted by CH1274 (ABINGDON, MD) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Cars 2 is a decent game even for adults. It combines a little of Need for Speed type driving action with the Cars cast. Says for 10+ likely someone as young as 5-6 would enjoy this. The little one would just have to be able to use multiple buttons and triggers on the controller to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT

posted by HEY1992 (MARYSVILLE, CA) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

FUN AND GOOD GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Fun Game

posted by SykoPenguin (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I won't deny it, I got this game to get easy trophies/achievements. However, in the end I ended up having a wonderful time playing this game completely. The single player missions are fun and fast with a surprising bit of challenge for players of all ages. The multiplayer really shines in how simple and fun it is with multiplayer races and battles, with variations on capture the flag and deathmatch to fit the motif.

The controls are easy to master and very responsive. The graphics are colorful and well rendered to compare to the movie characters. The soundtrack is a bit lackluster, with the same few tracks constantly repeated and character sound-bites spouted ad nauseum.

All in all, a wonderful racing game for anyone to play if they just need a break from some of the more advanced ones. Simple and fun, with easy to earn trophies. A great kids game, for children of all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great for kids

posted by cesarman123 (OREM, UT) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

It is really fun for 7-12 year olds. and it is also fun to mess around with if your older. it has really good graphics for a disney game. my game came very scratched up and it kept freezing a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cars 2

posted by teto25 (IRRIGON, OR) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I received the game today and inside of the sleeve was a wii game title country dance, was not the want i wanted I'm going to send it back tomorrow 8/10/11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cars 2

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

First off if you don't know this, this is not for hardcore gamers. With that said, this was a well made game. The one thing I truly loved off the bat was the huge selection of charaters! You even unlock more body designs as you progress through the game. The combat missions were the best where you collect different weapons and take out other cars or enemies. It was getting a little old playing the same missions over and over but that's just me. I'm sure kids will love this reguardless!

The single player campaign is not really a campaign. Every mission is pretty much a training simulation. There's no story to this game just all training simulations. So if you haven't seen the movie this game shouldn't ruin any storyline from the film.

Like others said multiplayer is Local only which sucks because the 2 multiplayer modes would have been awesome online! Area mode is pretty much a deathmatch style game and Disruptor is a game of 2 teams of 2 where your job is to grab the Disruptor device somewhere on the map and bring to your enemies base and it will explode. The first team to destoy the other base wins.

The only downside I saw at points is where the AI seems a little relentless near the final stages. There was a point where I couldn't even catch up to first place. But once you find the right car to use then its a little better but I think you should be able to beat any level with any character.

Overall great game! Any kid who loves the movies should like this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Massive repetition - No campaign

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Not a bad racing game, but it's just the same thing race after race. Some trophies are easy, but they made sure to make some completely impossible forcing you into massive repetition. Just a simple quick start trophy to start a race , we all tried about 60 times and none of us could do it,,,,not fun at all just a game company saying how can we make this game annoying and repetitious.

No story, no campaign, just going in circles, so the fun would be in getting trophies, but you cant get them because it's to annoying unless you dedicate your life to doing things over thousands of times. Yeah !! Fun.

Don't buy this game,, rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So-so...

posted by Floman_of_Games (ANAHEIM, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The imagery and weaponary was superb, but the game is way too repeatitive and gets boring after a while. Not one I would like to keep and returned it after 3 days. It's worth trying out though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty fun

posted by ybgir (SAN PEDRO, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i like playing all types of games. this game is actually fun and very easy. Great game for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cars 2

posted by joh (MANSFIELD, TX) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Its good. It was fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »