Rent Carrier Command: Gaea Mission for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Carrier Command: Gaea Mission

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
3.6

206 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

So much potential...if it worked!

posted by bucklen (NITRO, WV) May 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the fluid nature of the game. As someone stated in another review, switching between aircraft and ground forces is so simple and quick. The game made me so mad in a good way, because you start to attack a defensive island held by the enemy, you'll know what I mean. This was the good 'angry' - then came the 'bad' angry. The game is literally broken. After I got half way through I was looking for the marshes upgrade for days on end retracing islands to no avail until I literally hit almost every single one.

Then after pressing through that I get near the end of the game (from what I can tell) and after a cut-scene I'm locked into this stupid view and there is no way to exit. Essentially, the game is amazing errr will be amazing once the bugs are fixed, until then steer clear.

PROS:
+ Seamless unit transitions
+ Great length of game
+ Difficulty = just right
+ Nice blend of 1st person & 3rd person.

CONS:
+ B-R-O-K-E-N
+ Lack of explanation of button controls (I learned that switching b/w FP and 3rd person was done by hitting select almost by the time I finished playing it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tragically wasted potential

posted by VeritasX (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is such a super awesome concept! You command a carrier (as the title suggests) which deploys both aircraft and amphibious tanks to take control of an archipelago of islands on an alien world. Even better then the fact that you can command your army, you can even assume direct control over one of the vehicles to get your hands dirty. Awesome! Right?
-
No, that's not right. The whole game screams of a lack of polish. The AI, especially that of your troops, is irredeemably stupid. Their path-finding is awful and they frequently get stuck, crash or wander into an enemy swarm. The graphics are weak and bland, making what could be stunning locales look like a 4th grader's papier-mâché diorama. The interface and controls are also extremely weak, lacking polish and simplicity that should have been borrowed from other console RTS games like Command & Conquer: Red Alert 2.
-
There was so much potential in the concept but it was entirely squandered. If you want to try a fun console RTS/Vehicular Combat game, instead check out Battlestations: Pacific. It's a similar concept in which you can both command and commandeer WWII subs, warships, and planes in the Asian Pacific Theater of war.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Concept, Bad Execution

posted by Box_Of_Demons (OGDEN, UT) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The games concept is awesome, should have been a 10 without a question. But the AI's path finding is so horrible that the game is not worth playing. They just got lazy at the end. The controls are so close to good, but not there. The menus are almost great, but just awkward.

Could have been a great game, but ended up one of the worst games I've played in years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow this is boring ...

posted by L33tVoltron (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So I guess I had set my hopes way to high on this one. There is a lot of sitting around waiting for assets to move. The AI sux (as most others have pointed out) and aiming the guns in any of the vehicles is very trying ... Pass this one by

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Straight to DVD

posted by Pennyinformer (KNOXVILLE, TN) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If this was a move it would of went straight to DVD. The controls of the vehicles are absolutely horrible even with a steady and methodical approach to the vehicles handling .... the command controls are worthless and the overall game would be rejected by most. I would rank this failure similar to Call of Juarez: The Cartel... i even gave the game a solid 3 hour chance and finally said screw it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really Though?!

posted by rjreeder64 (ANTIOCH, TN) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is 100% grade A mess, im not a very big strategy game fan, but I am a gamer that will try almost anything, but this game was a complete waste of life. The graphics are mediocre and the cut scenes are very choppy. I commend you if you stayed entertained past the first mission, because I struggled to stay awake during the start of the game. The first mission is a FPS based mission, which grabbed my attention and lost my attention all at the same time. I sent this game back 15 minutes after playing because I couldn't bare to torture myself with such garbage any longer. Save your time and play MOH warfighter if you want a good shooter, because this game shouldn't have even been offered a chance to make it to production, the rating 3.5 is far to high for this game. I give this at least a 1, and that's because it COULD have been a decent game, but failed in every aspect. I have been entertained longer playing snake on a bar phone than this game or putting together a jigsaw puzzle. Stay away from this game unless its the last game on earth and even then....stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Intentions, Poor Execution...

posted by IslandrFan (MUKILTEO, WA) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I some how forgot that I had added this game to my queue, and when it shipped I was pleasantly surprised. I had envisioned a game along the lines of Command & Conquer, which I love tremendously. But this game is nothing like that. It starts out with a heavy video intro that seemed to set the tone. It was about 20+ mins, and the graphics were very bland. I tried hard to get into the story and gameplay but it was hard and the controls were wonky.
I was dissappointed as I was had high hopes for this title. If they can make this to be more like C&C, this would probably be more of a purchase than a rent.
My recommendation is to pass on this title, and pick up/rent Command & Conquer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cool Concept. Poor Execution.

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Horrid pathfinding for AI controlled units. Only check this out if you think you have infinite patience. This game will surely test it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stop, Don't Touch This!!

posted by khaoticmethod (NORFOLK, VA) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I got this game thinking it would be a good example of a RTS (Real Time Strategy). Instead it was a good example of why I have never heard of Rising Star Games. The FMV’s in the game are poorly produced. The tutorials are small and not very descriptive and if I wanted to play a FPS, I would have rented Halo.
It took me 45 minutes to get to the carrier and then when I did, another hour to try and beat the island and figure out what I could and couldn’t do. That is where is stopped, I couldn’t take anymore. Please, don’t waste your time on this poor excuse for a RTS, just rent a Command & Conquer game and have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks the Big One

posted by JacksonxTracy (SOMERSET, MA) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

This game is so incredibly bad its hard to describe. First off the graphics are horrible,its like the original Xbox or a very early 360 game. Secondly the game-play is terrible. The controls are mediocre at its best. Its indescribably bad, I couldn't even make myself finish the first mission. The AI are completely stupid and provide no challenge what-so-ever. The game is extremely linear, they pre-made a path for you and you have to follow it, no exceptions. Your character is incredibly annoying, The people around say Sir every five seconds its like a badly written screen-play. Definitely not worth a rent or even reading the description.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »