Rent Carnival Games: Monkey See Monkey Do for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Carnival Games: Monkey See Monkey Do

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
5.6

1091 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Kinect Game

posted by adambizzomb69 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have not played a good Kinect game since Kinect Sports, until now. Me and my family (wife and two girls, ages 5 and 6) played this game all day on Saturday and enjoyed every minute of it. The graphics are great and there are a lot of minigames to choose from. Most of the games replicate the games at an actual carnival or fair.

You can also purchase prizes in game with the tickets you recieve and unlock awards for you avatar. The only con, in my opinion, is that for my girls, the sensor didn't read them accurately. That was a minor issue as it only happen 2-3 times the whole day. Good game for the whole family. I recommend to rent it first to see if it is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow and abusive, like a true Carny

posted by gameluv (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When the Wii first launched I was excited for most every new game that came out, eager to see what innovative and physically engaging new experiences developers had created. Years later I've mostly given up on Nintendo's hardware but I've fallen into that same whimsical frame of mind over Kinect. The desire to try more games and the shear luck that GameFly sent me a new release are the only reasons I'm playing Carnival Games: Monkey See, Monkey Do. It's a tried-and-true minigame collection that got its start on the Wii and hasn't learned many new tricks as it's evolved over to the Xbox 360.

Ok, there's another reason I wanted to give Carnival Games a shot: Skee Ball, or in this case 'Alley Ball' as it's called. It's one of my favorite redemption style games of all time and I'm always up for trying a new version of it that doesn't require a $1,000 machine and ball wax. Right off the bat I was crushed as Alley Ball is one of the flakiest incarnations of the game I've ever played. The cups you're aiming for have been rearranged and resized to make it extra difficult to hit and the process of simply starting a round takes ages by our attention-addled modern standards. It's not just Alley Ball either, the entire game is crippled by excessive intro, explanation, and point tallying animations where the Barker and his titular Monkey regularly ridicule you for not playing better.

It's like a one-two shot to the kidneys when a round will last just over a minute and be followed by thirty seconds of unskippable animation and dialog before you're given a chance to do anything. I know it's designed for children who may simply be content to jump around in front of a screen but I can't fathom any of them having more patience than me to get back to the action. Those actions at least include a wide range of carnival themed games surrounded by some nice visuals. There's a lot of atmosphere behind the action from familiar carnival rides to your Xbox friends Avatars who play alongside

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just like a real Carnival Game: Rigged

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It seems as if everything is just chance. Due to the fact that the kinect is never an optimal controller the issues are very noticeable in this game. This is very true when playing two player games. (limiting the play area in half)

There are times when the same moves gives off different results. Most games result in timing. So if the kinect assumes your arm moved, it will take it as a full action. This is really frustrating when playing toss and throw games.

There is some fun to be had in this collection, but as far as a go to party game for the Family... stick to pulling out the horse shoes and rings in the backyard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Family Game!

posted by TwiztidMeerkat (NORTHGLENN, CO) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is great for kids and the whole family. My wife and I played it and had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

smooth gameplay, great family fun

posted by encendida (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finally a game the family can enjoy together and the gameplay is smooth. The bright and cheerful animation is sure to be good times for all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by sabardruid (COTTONWOOD, CA) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a rating of 7 for me, because it is a great game but it is not my cup of tea, now on the other hand my niece and nephews just LOVE this game. The game is a huge family game and children will love it at almost all ages, i am more into more technical games, but for the kinect this is a wonderful game for children teens and even adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible game

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game would have been better if it want for kinect in my opinion. The sensor just doesn't do a good job when playing this games, this really shows in the game "granny shot" Where the Earth wont even get off of the ground most of the time no matter how hard you throw it. Also in the game "Golden arm" occasionally when you actually swing your arm you wont throw the ball until a few seconds later. The achievement list is just absolutely horrible, a lot of them are just based on pure luck such as the "risk taker" achievement. The achievement "True Star" is literally asking you to do bad telling you to collect 100 gold stars on gold rush mountain when they give you negative points. Just overall a bad game, I'd only suggest renting it for some of the younger members in the family. But other than that just stay clear of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by thabacons (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is a great family game. Great for all ages

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wrose game ever

posted by foxmulder241 (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

As others have pointed the controls of this game is awful plus unlike most other kinects game where the six feet is enough room this game really needs the full eight feet, there is only three games in it that are any good and they ally ball, funnel cake, and the big wheel(which cost 25 tickets to play)

I wish i could have gave this game zero stars because that is what it deserves, unless you have time to waste don't get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ATTENTION MOM'S & DADS

posted by Sippio (CHESHIRE, CT) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

-I've yet to play any Kinect game that has smooth or fluid controls. So to kill the game rating based on that is automatic for every Kinect game.
-This is clearly a kids game and my daughter is 4.8 years old. And todays 4 year olds can play most Xbox Live kids arcade type games..But the Kinect was supposed to improve the fun-factor for kids and all it does is frustrate them. "Them" being her friends who play till boredom or frustration..

-This technology was rushed & it's premature. we aren't there yet & Microsoft forced it. Now every single Kinect person i know & esp the parents don't stop complaining about Space,calibration grief, and broken in-game mechanics.

--The Kinect is in a box and my daughter is going back to games like Feedding Frenzy and Sonic & other controller kids games.

--Also,,Are they using enough RANDOM 3-6 year olds for testing? because a game like The PenguinsMadagascar SHOULDA been awesome cause it's sooooo loved by all UGE kids & most adults. And she just turned 4 and was annoyed at how repetitive the game was and kids want just fun jumping and side -to- side...That's why Fruit Ninja & Adventures are such HUUUge success. And both came with the Kinect..
/roll eyes
---Give this a try for family fun if you're kids are ATLEAST 6/7 YEARS OLD. Under 6 you should do a extra thorough research & also youtubethe gameplay.
--ABSOLUTELY NO if your little one gets aggoed/frustrated/annoyed at the control issues...

--Hope i helped a few moms & dads

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do You Feel Lucky/

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Feb 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Well if you don't then you shouldn't plan on picking up all 1000 GS from this game. I don't mind a little balance of luck and skill, but so many of the achievements are tied to being lucky that you will get burned out replaying the same thing again and again. This game was fun for a bit, but the carnival barker's constant repetition of the same things over and over again get very old. Plus it takes too long to get into each game. Sent it back well short of finishing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great break from the norm!

posted by banwar4 (GREENSBURG, PA) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was a great break from the normal "shoot 'em up" and war games that are usually played in my house. Loads of fun for all of us...even our teenage son! Much better than the Wii version.
One caution...the Kinect seems to be a bit sensitive, but it didn't hinder our good time.
Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun and excellent

posted by Bigbot (WILMINGTON, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

great game for the whole family to play, lots of fun for kids and adults

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

glitchy!

posted by tjritter79 (READING, PA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game freezes EVERY time at the same point. Becomes unplayable after a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game

posted by genya3679 (COLUMBUS, GA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Great game for kids and parents . Gets a little repeditive but fun.Would recommend renting not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game good controls

posted by gamegimp (LOGANSPORT, IN) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

this will feel just like going to the carnival, the games respond very well all of the games were good there is a update from xbox that fixes any glitches other people were having because I saw no problems with anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

challenging

posted by kamrynsmom (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

its not the best game ever but it is fun. pig race really makes you tired.strength test,launch pad and everything in coaster corner is difficult but it its really fun and a great game to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!

posted by peppers (APOPKA, FL) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

My brother and I had a blast playing this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by yungfrank (SANGER, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

How this title got released is beyond me. The controls suck, the gmini games suck. The mini games were too hard for my 4 year old and they weren't even fun to her. Don't waste your time with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by GRIMLOC (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

this game plays very bad. your movement dont register with the game correctly. and the games are stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very poorly programmed and very poorly executed.

posted by Gottlich (SARATOGA SPRINGS, UT) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

Want a video game that will drive you crazy with out inaccurate it can be. It will see you one second and then lose you the next. Horribly programmed. Went back to playing sports game that can see me perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game I had in my life

posted by kal123 (KALKASKA, MI) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is grate for kids. I love it to.I am going to pres keep

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not much fun ;0/

posted by my2miracles9902 (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Got boring very quickly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no zero ratings?

posted by jhonnnydont (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

me and the family played this as soon as it came in. we played each game 3 times to figure out how to play it. when we all got it i said do you want to play that again? the answer was no. so with less than 3 hours on the game it went back in the envelope and in the mail box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

disappointed

posted by chillye (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i am very disappointed of this game, very slow, weak and not interest at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse