Rent Captain America: Super Soldier for PS3
view large frontback

Captain America: Super Soldier

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, Wii, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
6.9

2214 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

I enjoyed the game ALOT

posted by Randman1 (NEWARK, NJ) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Usually if I don't like a game I will play it the 1st day recv'd then wait 2-4 wks before I play it again. I like CA alot; I beat it w/in 5-6 days, 9 hrs total. The only boss that gave me a hard time was "lady madame"-Chapt 10. Only thing I didn't agree with was fighting the hydra boss "side by side" then when you try to aim the shield it doesn't automatically aim at target, you have to manually turn CA around 1st while hydra is running at you. (CA should at least turn around automatically toward his enemy) That became the case thru out the game & unless I'm wrong, it's doesn't aloud you to deflect when you want too.
(That was my reason for rating it an 7) Overall it reminds me of "Batman" BUT having the shield made the game more interesting. Looking forward to part 2(new upgrades & enhancing of the game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Captain America: Super Soldier (ps3)

posted by cdckgb (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start with saying that this game is in my top 10 favorite games. You feel like Captain America, and his shield is AWSOME! I really liked the different skins you could unlock too. There is the movie version, original Cap version, and the Hydra base rescue suit from the 2011 movie. Over all, a VERY good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

arkham asylum for kids

posted by discoking (CAMDEN, DE) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

those looking for an easy platinum, look no further! captain america is that easy platinum.
when playing it's good graphically, and story is good too.
but the backgrounds are not as detailed as say arkham.
and story is not as deep or twisted as arkham.
the game plays, feels, looks, and sounds like a watered down arkham asylum. (which is not a bad thing, because arkahm asylum was a great game) so the source copy material was great to begin with, watered down a little still makes a good game.
much better than thor, better than green lantern. n
this is not really a movie game. this is a totally seperate story.
enjoyable and easy. what you will be doing most of the time.
exploring a castle for collectables (they give you more than you need, some are highlighted on an inscreen map for you, and most are along the necessary path.
occassionally run into 4-8 hench men. there is no trophy for difficulty level, and if you play on easy, they fall down by blowing on them :)
beat 4-5 bosses (cake on easy) thats it, end of game. just a frew challenges that usually take 1 try. 2 or 3 may take you 2 trys.
what you finished the game and missed a collectable! shame on you! well once beaten feel free to roam the castle in free roam, and use the sewers (teleport me to a level) to go where you need to finish off your platinum.
ok got the the idea yet? easy platinum that is good and fun to play so what you waitin for click rent now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very solid game

posted by CaptTrips (MASCOTTE, FL) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Color me impressed. I took a chance on buying this game based off some youtube videos I've seen. One of the best movie-tie in games I've ever played, but it's not without its faults.

The gameplay is HEAVILY inspired by Batman Arkham Asylum. From the vicious takedowns, various melee attacks and acrobatics, throwing the shield like Batman's boomerang, etc, it draws much from Batman AA. The combat feels extremely fluid.

However, the game does feel slightly rushed to match the timing of the movie release. The frame rate suffers from time to time. Graphics aren't bad, but for this point in next-gen gaming, should look better. It's far from horrible per se, but there is definitely room for improvement.

The game is relatively short. The campaign took roughly 6.5 hours. Adding in collecting artifacts, news reels, schematics etc with the challenge modes, it took around 10 hours total to get the easy platinum trophy. Hard to recommend as a full priced purchase due to the length, this game is perfectly suited towards GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

an awsome game

posted by mrbrendon (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is awsome! it is hard in parts but you have to learn ALL of his moves to get the hard parts. i love the graphics and his awsome moves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Keeps You Entertained

posted by Kratos_Killz_ (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm sure after reading everyone else's reviews, you'll get the idea that Captain America is an entertaining game, but not without a few flaws of course. These can be overlooked because once you start getting into the flow of combat and the endless amount of collectables to discover, you'll notice that minutes of gameplay turn into hours. And yes, just like everyone also has been saying over and over, the gameplay resembles Batman Arkham Asylum. Is Batman the new trend-setter for this type of 3rd person combat now? Just like any game remotely resembling God of War is going to be accused of copying GOW lol

Graphics = Decent
I have to say the gameplay is pretty slow. Cap America moves slow, the reaction times of most enemies are easily predictable because it seems like you have all the time in the world to dodge when you see them coming. Otherwise, it's a decent movie-based game than most...definitely worth renting but i wouldn't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun way to earn a Platinum

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Apr 15, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a really fun game to play. The final challenge got frustrating to win in 4:00 or less to get gold. Little did I know that changing uniforms to the old school uniform would be all it took to get under that count. Thus, it also earned the platinum. Goes to show that the old school uniforms are always the best.

Recommended for all as this was a really fun game, but beat it in just a couple days. So rental is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by jpauley (DALLAS, GA) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

probably the easiest and most boring game ive played. the only reason i kept it and played all the way through was just to say i did. i dont even know why red skull had an appearance in the game, you never even get to battle with him at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing Special

posted by JuicyJews (COLUMBUS, GA) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Pretty much what you'd expect from a movie-game. The combat was surprisingly decent though. It plays a lot like Arkham Asylum with the same beat-em up style. You can tell the game was rushed though because the frame rate is craptacular to say the least. It could have ran a LOT smoother. You'd think that since these developers were told that it didnt have to tie into the movie and to just make "the best game that you can" they would've actually attempted to smooth out the rough edges but I guess timing the game release with the movie is always going to be more important than quality. The graphics are fairly decent and the controls are easy to master. The environment and enemies get pretty repetitive; probably because of the fact that the entire game is in a huge WW2 installation. I got bored with it right up to Chapter 4 and quit. Check it out for yourself if you must. You have been warned....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EASY(even on hard) BUT FUN

posted by AbsolutePain (LINDEN, NJ) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

If u want platinum then look no further, this is the game to play, there is trophy for difficult so u can play it on normal. bosses are ok nothing super hard and challenges could be a little tricky if u dont know the mechanics of the game which is (a watered down batman arkham) which is good since those mechanics are awesome. So if u interested in having fun like the old days then this is the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, surprisingly

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) May 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

For a movie tie-in game, "Captain America: Super Soldier" is actually pretty decent. The graphics, music, and story are nothing to write home about, but the gameplay is solid, and the combat (clearly inspired by "Batman: Arkham Asylum") is varied, visceral, and fun. There are lots of collectibles to pick up (if you're into that sort of thing), and exposition is fleshed out by Baron Zemo's diary entries and Arnem Zola's research films. Cap's dialogue is well-written, though not delivered particularly enthusiastically.

If you're a fan of Captain America, this game is definitely worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unadulterated Hero Action

posted by LordMogra (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game rarely slows down, it's just rooms of pseudo-nazis ready to eat vibranium shield and super soldier fist. The difficulty (on hardest setting) was moderate, providing some challenges that were overcome by perseverance. The game tries too hard to not be linear, but should have just accepted its beat'em'up heritage and given up on "revisiting areas".

If you like Captain America and desire to throw your mighty shield at villains, you'll like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by fullert0465 (ELKHORN, WI) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game was a lot of fun to play and I would've rated it higher, had I received the game closer to when the movie came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty cool game

posted by jruiz8703 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

not many movie type games do well. but captain america did great. the fighting mechanic is good. the upgrades help you out and give you a advantage. the bosses are a challenge but easy enough to defeat them if you know what your doing. just one thing, i wish cap had a tommy gun. in the movie he uses a thompson, and a m1911 hand gun. think of this game as a heavily mission based game but with assassins creed like fighting style. overall its a good game, but is a rent game only. the only replay value it has is if you want to collect all the artifacts and stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by LOS301 (BRONX, NY) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I like it but it needed to be a little bit longer. Hopefully in the next one if there is. Maybe the it could be more about how he became a super soldier and then after he woke up from his 60 or 70 years of sleep. It would be great is to get into the whole war between cap and the red skull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

waiting for my game in the mail

posted by iamawsome (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i am still waiting for the game but i am pretty sure the game will be good even though i havent seen the movie lol but i will always love captin america so i think the game will be just as good as the movie was witch idk becuase i havent seen it but the cover looks cool so i picked it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Captain America!!!

posted by ofenderz0 (OCALA, FL) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Super Soldier is a very good game with a good storyline, graphics, and gameplay. The only thing that bothered me was that they did too much of what Rocksteady did for Batman: Arkham Asylum, like go into any area at any time and it also had the same fighting style as Arkham Asylum, but it was still a very enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Shade Imitation of Batman

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Wonky camera controls, average targeting system, and the feeling of a Batman Arkham Asylum/City type of vibe trying to happen with the game are all you need to know about it. Storywise the game is mediocre, gameplay becomes repetitive and lacking the feel of you actually stepping into the boots of Captain America himself even though all you're doing is stomping on nazis left and right and occasional robots. However the overall playing experience is enough to keep it afloat among the other video games that play off of their movie counterparts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Captain America

posted by Olsen_Reviews (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I enjoyed this game , but it wasn't "right" for me. The graphics could have been way better ,but the story made up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Captain American: Super Soldier

posted by saaal (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game is not bad or great but had the potential of being a much better game. I didn't understand the fast travel sewers, It didnt give a reason to travel to previous areas only to get missed collectables. (Spoiler Alert) (I felt really disapointed that you don't get to battle Red Skull). But as a huge Cap fan it was a fun game oh and an easy platinum for those trophy hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A 4 Part Movie

posted by anthonydietrich (BOUNTIFUL, UT) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game was overlooked, for the most part, due to some of the lower budget aspects of the game. That broad statement aside, Captain America: Super Soldier, is a solid PS3 title that uses the trusted formula you may have seen in Batman: Arkham Asylum.

You will find yourself climbing, jumping, flipping, dodging, punching, sabotaging, and throwing your shield through 19 chapters of a story that takes place sometime during the events of the film. Combat, story elements, overall mechanics, look & feel are all very similar to Batman: Arkham Asylum. If you enjoyed that game, chances are you'll like this.

There are a few aspects to Rocksteady's formula that are not emulated very well. This tends to give the game somewhat of an overall dull feel and mechanical flow. The story is interesting, but ultimately simple and something we've seen before; evil scientist is trying to recreate the Super Soldier formula to create his own minion, etc... That said, it's enough to keep you interested and coming back pretty easily. Plus, the game is pretty short, which is fun for me since my time is limited. I liken the story and length to a good 4 part movie. With the action, cinematic sequences, and involvement with the movie (it's a bit of a prequel), it's really just a good time.

I enjoy Captain America, so that may sway me just a bit, but this is a fun, albeit short game; perfect for a rental. Pick it up if you wanna feel like Cap over the weekend and don't need the most polished experience to enjoy a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blaze's Quick Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I rented the game only for the THL competition on ps3trophies.orrg This game was very short for me at only about 9 hours of game time to 100% Platinum it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cheap !

posted by jeremysmith17 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jun 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

Cheap version of batman arkham city not impressed at all. movements are horrible. Graphics were ok for the most part. Weapons were not very impressive but were ok. I was very bored with the game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crappiest game ever!

posted by zdude456 (METAMORA, IL) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game is horrible!The missions suck and just the way the game is, is horrible do not rent or buy this game i have never hated a game so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible Movie Game

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Controls are clunky.
Graphics are weak.
Options are lacking.
Combat is poorly designed.
Context is proper.

Overall, unless you are a Captain America fan, the game is pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse