Rent Captain America: Super Soldier for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Captain America: Super Soldier

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.8

3053 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent offering for a super hero game.

posted by Jeremus (DAVENPORT, FL) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game got pretty poor reviews. I was really bummed out, because Captain America is high on my list of all-time coolest heroes out there, and I was really hoping for a good game. The good news is that the bad reviews were really a bit exaggerated.

Let's start with where they were wrong. There are a lot of great things about this game:

1) The story. It's a nice blend of Cap from the comics, and Cap from the movie. They shelled out and got the voice actors from the movie as well, which is nice. The plot is not exactly a nail-biter, but it is a decent original story that is true to the heroes and villains involved. It also builds speed for a pretty dramatic ending.

2) The combat! The combat system is very satisfying. Cap can throw his shield, use it to block, or bash enemies silly with it. He is also a great brawler, handing out kicks and knuckle sandwiches like they are candy. It even slows down when you do a really sick move to show off how cool you are. Very satisfying indeed.

3) The collecting. There are a lot of things to collect. The up side is that (as long as you are thorough) it is not too tough to get them all on the first play through to unlock all the bonus stuff.

There are a few downsides:
The control isn't always as smooth as you would like, especially when platforming or puzzle solving out of combat. It's not terrible, but it's no Arkham City.

The cutscenes are a bit choppy, even with the game installed. Just poor frame rates, which there is no excuse for.

It is SHORT, first time took me less than 8 hours to complete story mode.

Lastly, you have to do some pretty un-hero-like things for achievements--like destroying priceless art or blowing up everything in a room you are supposed to be sneaking past.

Overall, this game was a really good one to Gamefly. I give it a 7, bumped to 8 if you love Cap. It's not as good as the Batman games, but it is a very satisfying one-time through hero game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by Bizr7 (SURPRISE, AZ) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like the fighting style of batman arkham city than you'll enjoy this simplified version of it. I had a lot of fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really not bad at all...

posted by usmc_craig (LITTLE ELM, TX) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall gameplay was a little repetitive, but the storyline was an original one, meant to coincide with the movie but not mimic or replace it. Appreciated good overall graphics and a "true to Cap" experience. If you enjoyed the films the game is a good addition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deja Vu?

posted by DeadBite (BRONX, NY) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hey we all know games copy other games, whether it be a certain control style or gameplay function. If it works and everybody likes it why not copy it?

It copies one of the best Batman games of all time, Arkham Asylum

Which in my opinion saves this game, the only things this game shares with the movie is Chris Evans voice, Caps appearance from the movie and some other characters looks and voices as well. The story for the game is original its no prequel or side story…it follows Cap sneaking into Hydra’s Castle trying to figure out what they are up to and stopping them. The castle is pretty much your Arkham, you’ll run around completing missions, fighting Hydra Henchmen and bosses. You’ll also find hidden items scattered through out like journals from Baron Zemo and film reels.

One thing I didn’t find out till the end was that the castle has a sewer system you can use as a way to travel quickly through out the castle. Combat tries its best to copy Batman’s but doesn’t nail it perfectly, its easy to use and sometimes fluid but too many times I would press a button to counter and get stuck in a animation before I could. Cap’s shield is put to great use, you can throw it and of course shield your self. You can also ricochet enemies projectiles back at them, which is always fun to do. You will also encounter alot of areas where you have to swing from poles and jump off beams ala Prince of Persia. You can do this quickly if you time your button presses right, he also has an instinct vision that highlights useful objects and paths for you. I beat the game in 5 hours on the normal setting but missed a couple of hidden items and objectives. There is also some challenge rooms you unlock and vary from from fighting waves of enemies to getting through areas fast.

Captain America: Super Soldier saves itself from being a crummy movie tie in game with fun combat, a solid story, alot of fan service and some nice variety in challenges to keep it from getting repeti

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

CAPTAIN AMERICA!!!!

posted by gunslingga10 (FRESNO, CA) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Suprisingly fun. Combat and gameplay alot like batman arkham asylum in the fact that Cap has some sort of FREEFLOW system and that you are infiltrating A secret Hydra Base where the game is set. Boss Battles pretty easy considering, counters are available along with super strikes that take downthe bosses health even more by dodging,evading,and countering certain attacks.
Has an original story (NOT BASED OFF THE MOVIE) but has elements from the movie such as Caps voice,costume,characters etc.
All in all a fairly decent game. Not anything 2 brag about but if you want achievements just by beating the game alone on EASY gives you almost all of them.

Graphis: 7 (although CAP and SHIELD look good) a little glitchie at times though and framerate slows moderately a certian times (not 2 bad though)

Sound: 6

Replay value: 4 ( doesnt have much replay value other than the challenges much like B:AA)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

solid

posted by jones29 (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

overall it was a good game, solid combat (arkham), not being able to jump over railings or jump at all was kinda of annoying, but for a movie based game it ranks really high. Not repetitive, varied enemies, some nice free run action. the only problem i have with this game is its too short and way to easy and theirs not an ounce of replay value. At max difficulty the only time i died was when i fell into a gorge, tons of stuff to find but i found 99% of it without really looking, i had to free roam to find a zemo diary and blow up an AA gun after i finished the game, and the challenges....is it even possible to get lower than a gold medal on them they took like 30 minutes to finish....good for a weekend or if you want a very easy 1000 achievement points....took about 7 hours to complete it 100%.....good fun game but theirs not a single challenging part in the whole thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Captain America reveiw

posted by poormexican76 (FRESNO, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is an action adventure combat focused game. It was designed to play just like Batman Arkham Asylum. Game play revolves around fighting the bad guys, completing mostly simple level objectives and collecting items that are scattered around the whole game. You can upgrade The Captain with more effective attacks and a few new moves and 2 unlockable costumes that bump up some of your stats. The upgrades unlock buy getting Intel points. You get Intel point’s by collecting all of the hidden items, combat, and unlocking and beating all of the 10 challenge modes. A play though of this game will take 5-6 hours for an experienced player to complete.

Everyone knows the rule when it comes to movie games. But after playing Captain America Super Soldier, I would have to fully recommend this game for any fan of this type of game. It is fun to play. It controlles well. Graphics are Acceptable with minor drops in frame rate, but not enough for most people to notice. Voice acting is good. The game is basically a clone of Batman AA. I would say Batman is probably the better game as far as Graphics and game play go. But in the other ways Captain America is on par or better than Batman. Better? How? I feel that since this game is shorter it doesn’t drag on and on like Batman does. Also there were way too many collectables and secrets in Batman. I found everything there was to find in both games. In Captain America you don’t really have to do that much backtracking in the levels as long as you take a few seconds in each new area you visit and look around; the items easy to find 95% of the time and the 5% that aren’t are pointed out on your map. I probably spent 3-4 hours after beating the joker in Batman finding all the secrets in that game. The challenge modes in Captain America are much easier to get though so it doesn’t feel like a pain playing the same challenge over and over. It doesn’t overstay its welcome, a perfect action rental.

Thank you for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Captain America!!!

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I would like to start off by saying I read a few of the reviews people have been posting here. they were complaining that this game has nothing to do with the plot of the movie what so ever and i have to say they must not have watched the movie. This game takes place in the middle of the movie where captain america rescues the american soldiers. In the movie they don't show a lot of what happens they just show him going in and a few cuts later he's walking them to the american base camp. this game is pretty much the story of what he had to go through to get them out. and if you actually stay through the credits of the game you will see what I mean.

Now on with my review =P. I put this game up there with Wolverine origins,awesome gameplay,very addicting and amazing graphics. the game feels like you're trapped in a maze at times and you will get lost...I know I did, but that's a good excuse to find all the collectibles and upgrade caps fighting skills while your figuring out where to go. The fighting mechanics in the game are very well polished and a lot of fun to flip around kicking bad guys in the face lol.

Bottom line is this is a very solid game and def worth the rent or even a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is under-appreciated!

posted by supervike (ELK RUN HEIGHTS, IA) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited to see the Captain America movie reach the theatres, but avoided this video game because of a long history of Film titles (especially superhero ones) becoming terrible video games.

Early reviews made this game look like it would fall into that same pattern, but I decided to give it a chance anyhow.

VERY pleased I did. This is a solid game, much in the vein of the BATMAN game. Not quite an open world, but it simulates that pretty well. The fighting is extremely enjoyable, with realistic moves, counters, and crushing blows.

No online play, and the achievements are relatively easy to get, if you are diligent enough. The story is not a direct retelling of the movie, but has all the World War 2 Cap that made me want to play this. Like a great comic adventure.

Even as I finished the game (after a week or so) I decided to start it again.

It has a few flaws, such as goofy camera angles at times, and a lack of enemies in certain areas, but this is a diamond in the rough. I wish there was a bit more variety in the enemies (there were some cool 'left out' baddies in some unlockable concept art), and I also would like to see Cap pick up a gun or two (he does it in the comics and movies). But all in all, this game makes you feel like the First Avenger.

I really hope there is a sequel (in both films and video games!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Captain America: Super-Soldier

posted by gamerdaily (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Graphics- The Left-Over Character Models Is Frustrating

Controls- Not Very Good Put It At That

Sound- Voice acting from the movie Isn't so good

Visuals- Chunky Eniviorments and messy Visuals

Value- Good Game based On The Movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Clunky

posted by Emeraldus (VANCOUVER, WA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Only played this a little bit before sending it back. Combat was okay, mildly interesting, but the jumping and climbing parts were really off-putting, as both are relegated to pressing the A button at the right moment. They should have simply left it to the player to negotiate the climbing and jumping rather than leaving it to a prompt. Graphics were also lackluster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another bland movie title game

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Aug 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Captain America the video game is about what you'd expect for a low budget game designed to promote the movie. Even though it's better than some other Marvel gems like Iron Man or Hulk, Captain America is a game you'll beat and never play again. The game can be completed in 4-6 hours.

Because the Cap doesn't use any guns, you..well, don't use any guns. So your trusty shield and hand-to-hand melee combat are all you have, but there is a decent amount of variety to keep it interesting for a few hours. The Cap can evade, block & counter, dodge, jump, punch guys, shield bash, and throw his shield to stun/hit multiple foes. You can also do finishing moves if guys are stunned or on the ground.

The Cap also has some special moves which use parts of your special ability meter. Press RB or LB with either ABX or Y and it does various offensive and defensive moves. For Ex: you can power up the shield to bash forward through a group of foes, or smash the ground to create a small earthquake to push back foes. You can also aim your shield like a gun to be thrown at enemies, where you can also target snipers and such to take out.

The game has some prince of persia type acrobats as well, when trying to move across a level. But mostly you'll push A at timing intervals to keep jumping/swinging to the next ledge. It was a nice change of pace from a flat level design though. The levels were surprisingly big, but like 75% of the map was just useless space to stuff stupid collectibles and hidden objects.

Seriously there were like 500 glowy secret objects to find, which was pointless. I'd rather spend time fighting more guys than roaming a map with no enemies, picking up a golden envelope in every single crevice of the map. Make it more challenging than looking behind every box to find the 50 collectibles in each level. The problem lies in the lack of upgrading the Cap's melee and shield moves in such a short, average, action adventure game.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

captain america: the not so super game

posted by bonecutter (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

So first of all the graphics and intro of this game is decent. But then it rolls down hill. There are very few challenging enemies, and does not follow the movie or the comic. It follows its own path and then seems to loose funding. You get all worked up thinking your gonna have one big battle, but in the end you achieve, nothing. You finish nothing, except to fight another day. Where the movie wraps up the action sequences and quickly gets to the point while still telling the story of Rogers. The game gets stuck on a single mission in a single place. The fighting techniques and agility of captain America seem comparible to the late spider man games, but you make very few improvements or new moves. You basically are set on the continues path of saving your friends , and by the time that ends, the game is over. some gadgets,vehicles, or free roam would have helped this game, but its obvious they spent little time and money on the making and more time on the release. Better of playing the demo, because that is all this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

surprisingly fun

posted by Sn1peTs (ASHBURN, VA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

so i was at gamestop yesterday and i traded some games in and as i left the cashier said there was a bunch of movie adaptations so i was looking at what they got and i saw the captain america game i got home and poped it in my disc drive and it was fun! the combat is like batman arkham asylum (which is somethin that developers should be picking up on) graphics are pretty good, but the bosses r REALLY REALLY HARD.

Graphics-7
Combat-10
Story-8
Enemies-Stupid
Bosses-HARD ESSPESCIALLY MADAME HYDRA
Overall-8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Timed boss fights-Terrible controls. Terrible game

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 42 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Wow is this game bad. My son couldn't play it. The poor controls, timed boss fights with abysmal lag, forces unwanted repatition. None of us in the family could get past this poor excuse for a game.

Those type of games where you have three minutes to defeat a boss and his health keeps regenerating as AI spawn endlessly and shoot at you....you you've played this junk before.

Again another reason not to buy games. Game companies are ripping themselves off, they continue this course no one is going to trust them any more.

Junk, not worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by gecko (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's stupid because you can't replay the levels and it's very very easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most has been mentioned

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Boring, frustrating controls, stupid boss battles. Rent if you must. Purchase not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The word America is fantastic, not the game

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jul 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Too begin Im not a Comic con fan but, i still enjoy playing this kind of games sometimes.

My recommendations are always the same, never buy a game based on a movie in this case barely rent it.

The controls are bad, the graphics are fair the campaign is is fair and there is no online at all and the campaign is not very long. The thing I hate most is that you really can feel that they rushed the game since they skipped online and just made a short story when you almost constantly is using a few attacks agains a few different sort of enemies and sometimes boring boss matches...

I have some people i know thats Comic con fan and not even they enjoyed this game so dont buy it but u are free to rent it.

If youre not really sure in which of the new super hero games to get i recommend this in front of green lantern with big marginals.

If you havent tried DC universe online and you are looking for a super hero game thats the game you should get...

Since the game neither has online or a fun campaign with maps that looks alike and gets played alike this game gets 4/10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I would have expected

posted by Hakeemtwohyphyy (BOISE, ID) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

great for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cap. america

posted by gamerscore1979 (DALLAS, TX) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

i liked this game very much. it had action, fighting, and a pretty good story. fans of cap. america or the marvel universe will like it i think. the combat takes some getting use to as all games when you start but after that it gets easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible game

posted by chevy313 (DETROIT, MI) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

the game was to one two button not good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a weak game

posted by auntierayray (LANCASTER, CA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

captain america was the weakest game i ever played. the part where you had to match the letters and numbers was just stupid. and all that leaping stuff could have been better.the movie was better than the video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Toooo boring!!!!

posted by Michaelm7lca (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It was soooo boring! The whole game you were finding stuff. You rarely got to beat up the bad guys. It was just borig to me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!

posted by michaelvick (YORK, PA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I give this amazing game a ten because
graphics 10
gameplay10
combos 10
storyline 10

there is my reveiw

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

turn in capytin america

posted by Joey17 (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

hi cn u TURN CAPTIN AMERICA AND ALIEN VS PREDTAOR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse