Rent Calling for Wii
view large frontback

Calling

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

396 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad.

posted by elmer7711 (EDDYVILLE, KY) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just recived this game in the mail today and I wont be buying it. I recommend renting it first. The controls are pretty easy to grasp but the game play itself is CONFUSING. I just spent the last 4 hous wandering through the same boring hallway, not interesting at all, of a school with 5 levels. You need to keep going to the same ones over and over again to find things in rooms. Your supposed to have clues as to what your supposed to be looking for but they are few and far between. As for horror, there is little if none. Nothing to keep you entertained or scare you a little while you rack your brain trying to figure out where your even supposed to be going. The controls are lousy as the sensor is supposed to light up when you can seldom go into a room, sometimes i missed rooms because the dont light up fast enough only to leave me more confused. I got bored and frustrated so i looked up the walkthrough and realized Id never be able to figure it out without being told what Im looking for. The whole thing makes no sense. Maybe thats the point, being stuck in an alternate reality. However, Id save myself the headace and get off the couch and go ghost hunting in real life. Id prob stand a better chance at a good scare with that. Rent this one first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by Itabob (WARMINSTER, PA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree with most other reviews where the game is lacking in some departments. However over all the game was very fun to play. There were a few times when I would just randomly wonder around and had no idea what to do or where to go. However towards the end it got a lot easier to navigate/figure out where to go next. The scares are good. Overall this is defiantly a game to pick up for anyone who like scares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No SHATTERED MEMORIES, but better than JU-ON.

posted by JTurner82 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It's not as glitchy as JU-ON THE GRUDGE, but nowhere nearly as well made as SILENT HILL--SHATTERED MEMORIES, or even memorable. That said, CALLING isn't a terrible way to pass the time for a rental. The controls are similar in style to SHATTERED MEMORIES, only not as tight. The graphical presentation is dated, however, and the otherwise interesting cutscenes have a lot of unsynched voice work (at least in English). Even so, CALLING is a pretty interesting concept, and for what it is, I have to give credit to Hudson for trying something new, even if it isn't 100% successful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hang up

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Sometime last year, a game called Ju-On: The Grudge came out, and it posed an interesting idea: make a first person adventure game where the player has to wander through creepy places armed with only a flashlight.
That idea was noble, but it had several problems with lacking content, troublesome controls, repetitive gameplay. Most of those errors have been corrected in Calling, and you can save your game at any point by clicking on a black cat doll.
But just when the old problems have been taken care of, some new ones pop up. The game still limits your ability to search through the level, and this time you have to find the flashlight before you can get into solving the puzzles. If you can’t find the flashlight, too bad - the game comes to a grinding halt. (This happened to me while I’m in the second level - the class room.)
More problems include the cyber chat room scenes which can not be skipped, and the lack of an option to quit your game, go back to the main menu and start a level over again from the beginning.
When this game’s calling, I’m not answering. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Calling Hand-On

posted by nattonline (NORCROSS, GA) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game is playable. I wish it could have a better way to fight off the ghosts and better control. Frequently, the flashlight or the pointer gets stuck at certain angle, especially during the critical moment! It can be very annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scary.....

posted by Mystic83 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

At first I thought to myself this game wasn't going to be all that. Well I was wrong. You have to play this game at night if you are a horror person. Cause at nighttime is way scarier. I just finish the first part of the game and unlocked a chapter where i can play with my second character... there is a lot more secrets and scary events to unlock. Best to me the greatest scary game ever....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

neat horror game you should playit

posted by percy1 (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its awsome its not really scary but its pretty creepy little dolls attacking you ghostly voices calling you that sort of stuff. still cool my sis screamed when the dolls attacked :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

clunky, inarticulate & boring

posted by uberphaser (ROXBURY CROSSING, MA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I received this game in error, having never placed it in my queue. I tried it out anyway, and after a couple of hours, put it back in the sleeve and back in the mail.

It's a Wii version of those Japanese "locked room" mysteries you played in Flash on Ebaumsworld in 2005. Click this, open that drawer, pick up that inexplicably named thing and move that box to get out of the house which you have no idea why you're in in the first place. The entire game has a stilted, poorly-translated-from-Japanese feel, which may amuse the mangaboys and people who didn't let grandma throw out their animes, but for the rest of us, it's just annoying.

The control interface is awkward, far too much precision is required to point at things. Your arm gets sore from trying to hold the wiimote JUST so.

There are a few scary moments, which is why I don't give it a 1, but these are not nearly enough to redeem it in my opinion.

If you're a mangaboy, japan-o-phile, whatever, you'll probably love this nonsense. Whip out some pocky and settle in your Hello Kitty beanbag for funtime game session ohhh! Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

scary

posted by joedirty619 (HASLETT, MI) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I LOVE IT!!! this game is scary, at first I was like what do I do but its real easy to play, love everything about it I give this game a 10 out of 10, I recommend this game to anyone....since its a horror game I don't recommend young kids to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tell me about it!!

posted by BIOSHOCKBOY (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I don't think this game is good enough for america to handle yet. Its based on some sort of Chinese or other language in Asia that makes it not understandible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip this one.

posted by KratosxYuan (KENTON, TN) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The controls are awkward, and the story was lacking so much, I didn't even get ten minutes into the game. Seriously; skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad.

posted by Philly9084 (LUCAS, KS) Aug 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

Obviously not a lot of people liked this game, but this was one of the first games that actually managed to make me freak out every few cutscenes. Sure, the controls were simple, and you had to wander around forever to find out what to do, but all in all the game was pretty fun! The ending was probably the best, and was the most surprising thing in the whole game! It wasn't even as scary as when the ghosts pop out of nowhere and attack you. All that being said, I think this game is meant for only a few people. If it's not in your taste than that's fine. But, I'm very glad I played this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SCARY!

posted by kauffy (OSWEGO, IL) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is by far one of the scariest wii games i have ever played! i dont know what anyone else on here says, if you play this game in the dark with the surround sound on, i guarantee you will jump out of your pants! my girlfriend played, and she screamed like a little girl..lol. i would highly recommend getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Leecon101 (PINE HALL, NC) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Its fun, creepy and challenging all in one. The levels are pretty challenging and the voices and cut scenes can be creepy. Its also cool how your wii remote is used as a cell phone and a recorder to pick voices and such. I would recommend it and the graphics are great considering its a wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can cause motion sickness

posted by pixiewings (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game itself is interesting but if you are prone to motion sickness from first person games then avoid this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True Horror

posted by Darkpocco (KILLDEER, ND) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If your looking for a survival horror game like silent hill or dead space this is not the game for you. If you want a true horror game where you run from your attackers and have plenty of screamers this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

played for 1 hour

posted by gamersisters (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Ok call me a chicken but this stuff (i wanted to say the other s word but it wouldn't let me post it) was waaay to scary for me. I played for one hour before i turned it off lmbo.. I got to level two the awakening when the ghost was chasing me down the school stairs.... ugh its like almost midinght hahaha.. T_T anyways.. if u love scares and thrills.... this game is def 4 u.. graphics were OK... audio... so n so but over-all i give it a 8-10 for gameplay... but bcuz I hate how scary it was I rate it a 2... btw I played resident Evil 4 lol and I finished it.. I didn't think that was scary..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get it

posted by JMarcus (KEYPORT, NJ) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

yeah don't bother its a pain in the butt to try and play. good at scaring you but horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by Pinkhippo (KIRKLAND, WA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is a bit short and could use some more action or things to do--but it is good for what it is and the way they used the wii mote was fun. I played it with my sister since we both like japanese horror concepts and have studied them a bit.
It actually does have some replay value because if you beat it there is unlocked content. Though pretty much just a one time through for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A waste of time

posted by DrCupCake (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

One of the dumbest games I have ever played on Wii. Graphics and effects are poor. Horror plot is ridiculous. Big waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Dull, Plodding Attempt at Horror

posted by Ricken (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

There's a big difference between scaring a player and startling a player. Calling does all of the latter and almost none of the former with a game that revolves around excessive jump scares, which is incredibly sad since the entire game is played in darkness and, in some cases, without a flashlight.

While the game controls well, the game itself doesn't offer much to do with them. Most of the game is either running around environments either too small to offer any variety or too large for their own good while checking lockers, drawers, cabinets, dressers etc. for clues and items, only to find that someone has put the exact same unusable background items in every set of lockers, drawers, cabinets, dressers etc. On the plus side, the school level has about nine dozen mops in case there's a flood.

The only people I can see being scared (not startled, scared) by anything in this game are the very young, anyone with a yellow streak the size of the Amazon River, or people who have never seen any J-horror movies or horror movies in general as the plot gets very predictable, like the jump "scares". Calling is first attempt at survival horror and, unless they rework almost everything in this game, it should be their last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not 4 me

posted by xQUEENx (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

game is creepy and scary to my expectations but moving around with the wii remote is so annoying. the motion is way too sensitive for the game. i tried to look for options to fix and there wasnt any. overall didnt seem like a bad game. i didnt have the patience to complete it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool game...but

posted by PrinceAlx (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I like this game it was very fun! But I got so dizzy and sick from the motion of it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Worth it

posted by McEwen (LANCASTER, CA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I am so glad I had a GameFly I would have bought this game and it would have been a total waste of money.
Calling is not scary or even good a total waste of time.
It's says it's a scary game and it was scary at first but it's the same thing over and over again so you just get desensitized to it.
The controls are better then Ju-On but not at all the same fear factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ah..not so good

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Maybe I just thought the graphic sucks.
I thought this game is pretty scary just sometimes the controlls are bad.
The voices (in english) was really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse